• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Satanic Verses

Erudio

Residents may end up paying more in S&C charges if high-rise littering worsens
By Satish Cheney | Posted: 11 July 2010 1949 hrs

SINGAPORE : Residents may end up paying more in service and conservancy charges if the problem of high-rise littering gets worse.

This possibility was raised by Parliamentary Secretary for National Development Dr Maliki Osman when he launched an anti-litter initiative in Admiralty on Sunday.

Grassroots organisations will be using community pressure, like roping in residents to keep a lookout for those who litter from their flats.

The number of complaints against high-rise littering island-wide has been increasing over the last few years.

In 2008, there were 2,499 complaints.

This jumped to 3,474 complaints last year.

In the first half of this year, there have been 1,965 complaints.

Dr Maliki said: "When we have a littering problem and we have a cleanliness problem, the conservancy costs will go up because the workers will have to come in more regularly.

"That would increase the cost because from a normal cleaning situation where you just clean the common corridors and the lift lobbies, now you have to go into the individual households to try and clean it

:oIo: Wat the fock !?!?!? Now the focking perverted PAP wanna cum into my hse to clean n then up S&C !!! Evry focking xcuz to hike !!!! Tis must b a world 1st !!!! Next time police wanna lower crime rate, they will build police stn in my living rm then charge me protection fee !!! KNN !!!!

"This is unnecessary for the residents because the higher the cost, it will be transferred to the residents. We do not want that to happen.

"We want them to try and minimise the need for them to pay extra just because of irresponsible behaviour. At this point in time, we have not raised the conservancy charges at all because we have been able to manage, but I think we can continue to contain it even better if residents take responsibility.

"The chances of increasing costs will be there if we do not contain this, because the idea is to look at the natural situation where previously you will not need workers to go into individual households.

"Now, (in) one HDB block, you have an average of 100 units. Just imagine if half of that required cleaning. The costs will tremendously increase.

"If we do not need that, then we can actually reduce the cost and maintain the cleanliness at the common corridors spaces and common area, and we really do not need to increase costs if everybody is responsible." - CNA/ms

Erudio

:oIo: Get it?!?!?!?!
ST Jul 14, 2010
Six officer cadets hurt by lightning during training
5 are back in training, 6th to join them soon
By Jermyn Chow

SIX full-time national servicemen (NSFs) were injured, while under a shelter during a training exercise, when a bolt of lightning hit the hill they were on in Marsiling last week. (Last week SG has no newspaper....)

:oIo: N wat is tis so called "shelter"?

The NSFs, undergoing training to become officers, are believed to have taken shelter under a tree from rain at the time, when the exercise was temporarily suspended.

:oIo: A tree as a shelter fr lightning??!!! Latest SAF doctrine?

The officer cadets, mostly in their late teens, were taking part in a platoon field-defence mission, which required them to capture the top of the hill and set up chest-deep bunkers there to protect themselves against the 'enemy'.

:oIo: Protection fr lightning by being at the highest pt in the region???!!? Latest SAF doctrine??

Responding to queries from The Straits Times, Defence Ministry spokesman Darius Lim said the exercise was 'temporarily suspended due to inclement weather'.

Colonel Lim said the cadets were tended to immediately by medics on site and a military doctor at a Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) medical centre.

One officer cadet was released at the medical centre while the other five were sent to a hospital for 'further medical checks', said Col Lim.

The Straits Times understands that one of them now has hearing difficulties.

Col Lim said the six cadets were granted medical leave. Five have resumed training this week, while the sixth is expected to join the rest next week.

Col Lim added: 'The SAF has investigated the incident and has found that the unit had adhered to the stipulated training safety requirements.'

:oIo: Wow !!! Latest SAF training doctrine : When got lightning, stay on top of a hill under a tree n pray fer redemption.

Singapore has one of the highest rates of lightning activity in the world. The hot and humid weather here creates ideal conditions for lightning-producing storm clouds to form.

Figures from the National Environment Agency (NEA) show that 0.35 deaths were recorded for every one million people here between 2000 and 2003. This figure is higher than Britain's 0.2, but still lower than the United States' 0.6.

Between 1982 and last year, the NEA detected lightning on an average of 186 days a year.

November has the highest average number of 23.4 lightning days a year; lightning and thundery days are also prevalent in April and May.

Lightning expert Liew Ah Choy of the National University of Singapore's electrical and computer engineering department explained that when lightning hits the ground, its voltage spreads.

'When someone has two feet on the ground, the difference in voltages will push the current through the legs into the body and electrocute the person,' he said.

A person who is standing up to 100m away from where the lightning current enters the ground may also be electrocuted.

Direct hits are fatal. About 200,000 amps of electricity, enough to power half a million 100W light bulbs, will course through the person's body. This can stop the heart, burst blood vessels and leave burn marks.

Last October, Mr Soh Lye Huat, 57, was struck by lightning while playing golf with three friends at Tanah Merah Country Club. He died from multiple organ failure two weeks later.

The last reported lightning-related training incident was in 2000, when nine SAF servicemen were hurt while they were on a battalion field-firing exercise in Jurong.

Lightning struck a tent under which they were taking shelter from the rain.

Two of them had slight burns.

[email protected]

Erudio

:oIo: Besides the focking useless Mai Hummy, not 1 single ministar grade focker has said anything abt the floods... until now, of all ppl, Freak Show Lui !!! N guess Y?? Bcus his naval sampan was trap by the flood, not bcus u peasants r suffering !!! Fock the evil demonic PAP cult !!!!

ST Jul 19, 2010
Lui wants PUB to explain floods to residents
By Tessa Wong

A DAY after floods hit Singapore for the third time within five weeks, Acting Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts Lui Tuck Yew would like national water agency PUB to meet affected residents to explain the situation.

Mr Lui, an MP for Tanjong Pagar GRC, said that he would speak privately with the environment ministry about conducting on-the-ground dialogues.

'I think the most important thing is for people to have an explanation and better understanding of what the situation is, as well as to know what plans PUB has in place to alleviate the situation,' said Mr Lui, speaking on the sidelines of a community event yesterday.

He added: 'I know the PUB must be also very concerned about the situation. They are doing the best that they can. Some of the plans they have to improve the drainage will, of course, take time.

'But nonetheless I think being able to touch base with people on the ground is important at this point of time.'

He said that a few parts of his constituency, such as Cambridge Road and Dorset Road, were affected, 'worse than the two previous occasions in June'.

Mr Lui himself, together with his wife, had difficulty leaving their Telok Kurau home on Saturday morning.

'When we got out of the house, within 30m we could see a car stalled, so we quickly reversed and went the other way. We went along Lorong L, and halfway through, we said 'the water is too high', we reversed and got out as well.'

Meanwhile, one Lorong L resident plans to quit the area soon.

Pub owner Adrian Houghton, 38, who has been living in a rented house on the street with his wife and 15-year-old daughter for more than a year, wants to end his lease as soon as possible.

It was the second time his home had been flooded in the past three weeks.

Questions about the recent floods are set to dominate today's Parliament sitting.

Erudio

Mah "If i can afford u can afford" Bow Tan :

ST 2 Sep 2009

"We subsidised you when you buy (HDB flat) and we increased the value of your flat when you live in it and... facilitate you to monetise it when you grow old. This is the best form of investment and welfare for the people."

Parl 19 Jul 2010

"The HDB flat is not the cash cow that allows you to cash out and to spend the money."

:oIo: Once a demonic liar, always a demonic liar. N a stoopid liar is the worst sort of liar !!!!

Erudio

Cow "Send ur old mother to die in JB" Boon Wan CNA 24 Jul 2010 :

"We all know the waiting problem in Tan Tock seng. My own target was make sure all patients should not wait more than 10 hours."

:oIo: Such is the std of so call 1st world healthcare as defined by tis mother focking demon. Less than 10 hrs of torturous wait n dats his KPI !!! Burn in Hell evil minions of Satan Lee !!!

New Khoo Teck Puat Hospital helps ease bed crunch at hospitals: Khaw
By S Ramesh | Posted: 24 July 2010 1133 hrs

SINGAPORE: The burden on Singapore's other general hospitals is easing now with the opening of the new Khoo Teck Puat Hospital in Yishun says Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan.

He says the results are showing.

Speaking to the media at the new hospital Saturdat morning, Mr Khaw said an additional 200 beds have been added to help ease the crunch on hospital beds.

Furthermore, the Accidents and Emergency Department's seeing more than 200 attendances a day while the outpatient clinics are seeing more than 800 cases a day.

Mr Khaw said: "Tan Tock Seng as we all know has been more than a crowded hospital and occasionally we have had to have diversions, ambulances being sent to the other hospitals, causing problems at the other hospitals and that has eased. It has not been completed eliminated yet mainly because the ambulances have not been coming to this hospital yet".

Mr Khaw added that ambulances will start bringing patients to the Khoo Tech Puat Hospital from Monday.

The Minister is hopeful that after next week, the situation would improve further.

"The new hospital is already busier than the Alexandra Hospital. So Alexandra Hospital therefore will be able to provide a very small relief to NUH. So Tan Tock Seng workload has eased a bit.

"We all know the waiting problem in Tan Tock seng. My own target was make sure all patients should not wait more than 10 hours. So last few months, we still have a small percentage of patients and that one is not hassle-free.

"For two three weeks now, no patients have to wait for more than 10 hours and most of them waited less than four hours, three hours. So clearly we can confidently say that the problem has eased, but not yet 100 per cent but after next week, I am optimistic that it should be but it will take some time to run in".

Meanwhile, Mr Khaw also revealed that the Health Ministry is not giving up the old Alexandra Hospital site as yet.

The old hospital will be used to prepare for the new Jurong General Hospital in the West.

The additional beds at the current Alexandra Hospital will also serve as a buffer in the event that extra beds are needed.

On the new Jurong General Hospital, Mr Khaw says the planning is now in a very advanced stage and he believes the ground breaking ceremony is likely to take place before the end of this year.

The Jurong General Hospital is due to open by 2015.

With a very strong build up on the population in the Sengkang and Punggol areas, the Health Minister says a site has been identified in that region for another general hospital.

- CNA/jm

Erudio

:oIo: Tock so much cock !!! Come back n lecture peasants when u can get ur focking princes to work in the factories !!! Focking piece of demonic sludge !!!!

ST Aug 15, 2010
Factory sector 'needs young Singaporeans'
By Goh Chin Lian

Good jobs available

'Many young Singaporeans, including my two sons, want to be in high-tech, in financial services, in R&D, but there are very good jobs as hands-on... engineers and technicians.'

TRADE AND INDUSTRY MINISTER LIM HNG KIANG

Factories are a key engine of growth in Singapore and will continue to be so.

Countries that neglected the manufacturing sector have found they were left with less ballast for their economy, warned Trade and Industry Minister Lim Hng Kiang yesterday.

Young Singaporeans, too, have a part to play in this sector, he told a forum of 150 mostly young working Singaporeans aged 35 and below.

Mr Lim said they should consider being engineers and technicians, adding that foreigners are currently filling these positions on factory floors.

He also urged young Singaporeans to learn a regional language like Malay, Vietnamese or Tagalog, as South-east Asia - not just China - has potential for growth.

The one-hour dialogue at Resorts World Sentosa centred on the nation's economic health for the next 10 years.

It was organised by West Coast GRC youth clubs from the People's Association Youth Movement.

Nine people raised issues ranging from the soundness of Singapore's economic strategy to the plight of the lower income.

Financial analyst Alan Goh, 29, asked about Singapore's future engines of growth if manufacturing's current 25 per cent share of economic growth declines.

In his response, Mr Lim felt that Singapore could still play to its manufacturing strengths, in electronics, petrochemicals and biomedical sciences.

The vote of confidence came from such players as oil giants ExxonMobil and Shell, which have invested billions of dollars here because of the superb infrastructure that Jurong Island provides.

Infant formula producers Wyeth and Abbott have also set up plants here.

Ms Grace Chen, 22, a vice-president at youth leadership organisation Aiesec, asked Mr Lim what the Government wanted of youth.

The minister said that when he toured factory floors, he observed that not enough engineers and technicians were Singaporeans.

'Many young Singaporeans, including my two sons, want to be in high-tech, in financial services, in R&D, but there are very good jobs as hands-on... engineers and technicians,' he said.

Exciting engineering careers await them in new sectors such as oil and gas, and aerospace, he added.

Erudio

Satan Lee St 16 Aug 2010 :

"To build such a Singapore, we need an exceptionally strong Government, with the ablest, the toughest and most dedicated of leaders. We head-hunt for them, test them out in heavy responsibilities"

:oIo: Dat explain the bodoh Yaacob n the fock up one-in-50 days flood joke, the no-IQ Teo Chee Hien wif the fock up SAT tsts fer Uni entry idea, the lying Shanmugam n his fock up bullshit, the 100% inept Wong Cunt Head n the hopeless police force, the ass-brain Mah Bow Tan wif his focking affordable flats, the KNN Lim Hng Kiang n his fock up SARS handling, .................

Gd thing all these mother fockers failed the Satan Lee tests. Wif the kindda of $$$$$ they R earning fer failure, SG will go bankrupt if they were competent !!!!!

Erudio

Goh "Singaporeans gripe like vuvuzelas" Choke Tong ST 5 Sep 2010 :

"It is important that we do not complain too much when we can't get the house that we want, we can't get the carpark that we want, when the MRT trains are a little crowded. We are in fact quite fortunate. These are problems created by our own success. There are many people who are not able to benefit from our overall success."

:oIo: Failures r now sold as success. The more gov failures, the more successful a nation is. Like dat, Zimbabwe, N. Korea, Haiti, Sudan, Afghanistan, Congo r most successful nations in the world. Lucky we didnt listen to advice of a wooden sage to go aft Swiss std of living, we wld hv been living in a failed state wif true democracy, transparency, accountability, n happiness !!!! Focking lucky SG, focking lucky !!!

Erudio

:oIo: Read the news 2 -3 times, then ans the qns at the end ......

Seven new schools join the Integrated Programme
By Hoe Yeen Nie | Posted: 01 September 2010 1854 hrs

SINGAPORE: From 2012, seven new schools will offer the Integrated Programme, bringing the total to 18.

A new junior college will be built in 2017, to serve students from three of the schools.

The seven schools are Victoria School, Cedar Girls' Secondary, Methodist Girls' School, St Joseph's Institution, Catholic High School, CHIJ St Nicholas Girls' School and the Singapore Chinese Girls' School.

They will follow a common core curriculum, while retaining the flexibility to develop their own programmes.

From 2012, Victoria School and Cedar Girls' Secondary will be paired with Victoria JC, which already runs the programme.

The rest will begin in 2013.

Methodist Girls' School will partner the Anglo-Chinese School (Independent), which currently offers the International Baccalaureate while students from St Joseph's Institution will also take the IB.

Temasek JC will expand its programme to take in Year 1 and 2 students.

Students from Catholic High, St Nicholas Girls' and the Singapore Chinese Girls' School will take their A-levels at a new junior college to be set up by 2017.

The new junior college will also take in students through the O-level track. The Education Ministry gave the assurance that for those taking the exams, there will be enough places for them at the junior colleges under the Integrated Programme.

A ministry spokesperson noted that "there is a minimum of 20 percent of JC1 places at each IP JC today set aside for O-Level students. This will be retained following the IP expansion".

The schools were chosen based on their proposals.

Dr Ng Eng Hen, Education & Second Defence Minister, said during a press conference: "I would describe it as "facilitated matchmaking". But the partners must be attracted to one another in the first place. MOE doesn't force-fit marriages."

On the pairing up of Catholic High School, CHIJ St Nicholas Girls' School and the Singapore Chinese Girls' School, Dr Ng noted that, "It's quite an interesting mix, it's not an existing configuration of three schools, and I want to be pleasantly surprised by the outcome."

Currently, some of the IP schools accept students at Secondary Three.

Lee Pei Xuan from Cedar Girls' Secondary has applied to take up this option at Victoria JC next year, and is readying herself for the challenge as she also likes having more time to prepare for her A-levels.

"Personally, I think skipping the O-levels is actually not a big issue, especially when you know for sure that you're going to university and JC," she said.

Despite the new changes, the seven schools will still retain the O-level track.

Mr Low Eng Teong, Principal of Victoria School said: "Students may come into the IP and decide after a while that they are more suited for the O-levels.

"And vice versa, a student in the O-levels who may not gain entry into the IP in the first place, a sort of late-bloomer, may find that they have the attributes and be allowed to cross over."

About 10 percent of each PSLE cohort will be eligible for the Integrated Programme.

Rachel Tay, a mother of three girls welcomed the new changes.

"With a renewed emphasis now on the humanities and the arts, children have to learn that in different ways, not necessarily through taking exams. So if they were to do more project work and multi-media work, that would actually help them in terms of learning," she said.

Her eldest daughter, Hannah, who is in Primary 6, said if given the choice, she would take up the Integrated Programme - where top students are able to skip the O-levels.

"It's something new, and I think it would be fun to do activities with people from other schools, and not just stay enclosed within our own school grounds

"The O-levels, I think it's quite challenging and very stressful, so maybe sparing me the stress a little bit might do me good." - CNA/fa

:oIo: Duz the notion "Elite graduate parents" n "neo-eugenics" ring a marriage bell ???

Erudio

:oIo: Do u tink its REALLY a probm wif RWS promoting casino, or evil PAP gov protecting the profit margin of the bus coys of the satanic PAP minions?

ST Sep 10, 2010
Resorts World to stop free heartland bus services
Amid Govt probe, IR says free bus rides will end from Sunday night
By Chong Zi Liang & Andrea Ong

RESORTS World Sentosa (RWS) has decided to pull the plug on its free shuttle bus services between Housing Board heartland areas and its integrated resort.

Its decision came a day after the Government said it was investigating the services amid concerns that the free rides would encourage heartland residents to gamble.

RWS announced the cancellation on its website late yesterday, and issued a statement saying it was 'voluntarily withdrawing its shuttle services in the spirit of collaboration with the Singapore Government'.

It said that from 11pm on Sunday, its free bus services would no longer be available to Bukit Merah, Queensway, Bedok, Choa Chu Kang, Bukit Panjang, Tampines, Jurong East, Bishan, Ang Mo Kio and Tiong Bahru.

RWS bcum free bus svc connx hub !!!!

It will continue to provide shuttle services within the central business district and Orchard Road.

The free shuttle to and from the heartlands was at the centre of controversy this week.

The Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports said on Wednesday it would investigate the free transport services offered by the two IRs to establish that they are not aimed at getting locals to go into the casinos.

In a statement at 1.30am today, MCYS said it would be taking action with the Casino Regulatory Authority 'to stop these shuttle services', and that the formal directive would be issued later today.

Members of Parliament and the National Council on Problem Gambling were among those who expressed concern that the free shuttle buses would encourage heartlanders to gamble.

The Marina Bay Sands IR has a shuttle service to and from the airport and hotels in the Marina Bay area. RWS buses run in the city as well as to several HDB areas across Singapore, with plans to add more, including to Marine Parade.

Last night, Marine Parade GRC MP Lim Biow Chuan told The Straits Times he was happy that RWS had decided to end its heartland bus services.

He had been sceptical about claims that the services also catered to people visiting the IR and Sentosa for reasons other than gambling.

'All I need is for 10 per cent of the passengers to gamble at the casino, and I am sure I will hear from many unhappy family members,' he said.

Comparing the free shuttle services to cruise operators who offer free cruises to travellers, he added: 'They tell you that you don't have to gamble, but once you see the table, chances are, you might try it.'

Singaporeans interviewed yesterday were divided on the issue of giving free bus rides to heartlanders.

Those who supported keeping the services to cater to non-gamblers argued that RWS contained more attractions than the casino - including the Universal Studios theme park, restaurants and concert venues.

But the gambling danger loomed large for Holland-Bukit Timah GRC MP Liang Eng Hwa, who was among those who raised the alert about the free shuttle services.

He said last night: 'I am glad RWS has made this decision. While stopping this free service will not eradicate all problem gambling, at least it is not helping to worsen the problem.

'As a society and community, we have to do our bit to minimise the social ills of gambling to our fellow citizens.'

[email protected]

Erudio

Rhetoric

Zaqy "PMET shld accept lower pay job 2b competitive" Mohamad ST 17 Sep 2010 :

"If you're talking about people who are aged 21, they already have access to a lot of this material, whether the R21 films are in the heartland or not. The question is whether the community is ready to receive such films in the heartland. The younger ones would say 'We can handle this' while parents would be more concerned - and I think that the parents' view is the majority view."

Reality

Parents can vote, their under 21 children cant !!! "Majority view" my ass focking demonic hypocrite !!!!

Erudio

Zaqy "R21 allowed in heartland if voting parents say so" Mohamad Parl 16 Sep 2010 :

"Perhaps ministers' speeches could be shortened and the details given out to MPs in text. It would be nice to have more sparring in Parliament instead of reading from prepared speeches."

(BUT)

"Perhaps we (MPs) could read speeches from iPads in the future. It would be more environmentally friendly and it would allow us to be more productive."

:oIo: Focker dun wanna listen to his masters' speech, but wan others to listen to his speech !!! I sugg he give his speech in text oso so dat other MPs can toss the trash into the bin !! N i hv a gd mind to believe he wan iPad in the chamber to watch R21 movies to bcum more "productive" !! Fock these bodoh P65 kanina idiots !!!

Erudio

:oIo: Do u tink its REALLY a probm wif RWS promoting casino, or evil PAP gov protecting the profit margin of the bus coys of the satanic PAP minions?

ST Sep 10, 2010
Resorts World to stop free heartland bus services
Amid Govt probe, IR says free bus rides will end from Sunday night
By Chong Zi Liang & Andrea Ong

Any more doubt its abt protecting the PAP cronies earning salaries n dividends fr public tpt coys ????

IRs must remain accessible by public transport: Public Transport Council
By Milton Sau | Posted: 16 September 2010 2158 hrs

SINGAPORE: Free bus services from the heartlands to Singapore's integrated resorts (IRs) were stopped last Friday.

But the Public Transport Council said the IRs should remain accessible by public transport.

This is why public buses are allowed to offer the paid service.

Apart from casinos, there are also other attractions within the integrated resorts which appeal to the public.

And the Public Transport Council said public buses would continue to offer the same services initially provided for free by the IRs.

Some commuters told MediaCorp that after the recent development, they had to make some adjustments to their routine.

One commuter said: "I (used to take) the bus Bishan so it was very convenient for me to go to Sentosa. I (would) prefer if (the shuttle service is available) in the neighbourhood, so (that) I can (go) to Sentosa more often".

Another said: "There are some people who go there for (other) purposes (apart from visiting the casinos) so (they will be affected too)".

SBS Transit said it has five trunk services that ply the Marina Bay area.

It said the move was to cater to the travel needs of commuters, as a result of new developments there, such as hotels and a convention centre there.

-CNA/wk

Erudio

:oIo: SSSSssssshhhhhhhhh .... Dun tell the SG peasants ok? They'll laugh at the evil PAP cronies ....

U.K. Warthog Armored Truck Delayed
By ANDREW CHUTER
Published: 23 Apr 2010 11:34
Defence News

LONDON - Introduction of a new Singaporean-built armored vehicle destined for the British Army in Afghanistan is behind schedule, according to the Ministry of Defence's procurement minister Quentin Davis.
Despite promises to speed up delivery of the Warthog to British forces, there continue to be delays in the project. (U.K. MINISTRY OF DEFENCE)

Last year, Prime Minister Gordon Brown promised to speed up the delivery of the articulated Warthog vehicles to better protect the troops fighting the Taliban. Just over 110 Warthogs were ordered in a 2008 deal valued at 150 million pounds ($230 million) between Singapore Technologies Kinetics and the Ministry of Defence.

The Warthogs, purchased as an urgent operational requirement, were meant to replace the smaller and less protected BAE Systems Viking Mk1 machines in theater starting this month.

In an interview last month, Davis, who keeps a scale model of Warthog on the coffee table of his MoD office, admitted the program had suffered delays.

The first Warthogs were handed over to the British on time last year from the Singapore factory of ST Kinetics, but the vehicle failed to pass British acceptance tests. The first unit slated to get the Warthog, a Royal Dragoon Guards regiment, is deploying to Afghanistan without it.

In response to a March 11 question in Parliament, Davis said no Warthogs had been delivered to the land forces by that date. He said delivery was to be wrapped up by autumn.

An MoD spokesman said the Dragoon Guards had trained on the vehicles and they were on "track for delivery in the summer" where they would be on the front lines.

Other sources said the vehicles could be up to six months behind schedule.

A spokeswoman for Thales UK, which has a 20 million pound vehicle integration contract with ST Kinetics, said that training vehicles have been handed over to the British military.

"So far, we have delivered the required number of training vehicles to the MoD and continue to work on the Warthog at our west Wales site," she said.

Industry and MoD sources said 2 tons of armor have been added to the 19-ton vehicle to counter improvised explosive devices in Helmand province. That resolved the issue of blast protection but has created knock-on problems with reliability, and wear and tear on components.

The MoD spokesman said the vehicles were "undergoing extensive reliability trials along with integration activities."

The Warthogs have been undergoing trials at the armed forces Armored Trials and Development Unit at Bovington in Dorset for several months.

The Singaporean company wouldn't comment on why the Warthog program was behind schedule, but in a statement, Patrick Choy, executive vice president-international marketing, acknowledged the vehicle would not enter service until later this year.

"ST Kinetics is working closely with the MoD and Thales UK to make Warthog the most advanced all-terrain vehicle of its class. We are pleased to know that the British soldiers in Afghanistan will soon receive improved protection against mines and increased mobility for all operations when Warthog enters service later in the year," Choy said.

Warthog is the first armored vehicle Britain has purchased from an Asian company.

Brown has mentioned the platform more than once in response to criticism from political opponents and others over Britain's record in equipping its forces in Afghanistan.

Last September, Brown announced that Warthog deliveries would be accelerated. The details of that move were never released, but industry executives said they believed the government was looking at compressing the program to get final deliveries earlier than planned rather than speed introduction of the first vehicles.

Warthog is an uprated version of STK's Bronco tracked all-terrain vehicle, which is in service with the Singaporean armed forces.

The deal was part of a 700 million pound package of urgent operational equipment upgrades announced for Afghanistan in 2008 by then-Defence Secretary John Hutton.

The British ordered a version with better armor, longer range, different weapons and other changes.

The British Royal Marines and the Army already operate the Viking Mk1 in Afghanistan. The vehicle has been criticized for its lack of protection. The British ordered 24 of the improved Viking II vehicles that had lost out to Warthog to replace the earlier model. The last of those Mk II vehicles were delivered recently, and MoD sources said about half have been deployed to Afghanistan with the Royal Marines.

Erudio

Zainudin "Unemployed r not gung-ho" Nordin ST 26 Sep 2010 :

"We cannot assume help will always come from the Government."

:oIo: Y R we so NOT surprised ??? Fock !!!

Erudio

Hawazi "Homework = Video Games" Daipi ST 27 Sep 2010 responding to a Marsiling Secondary School student who asked for a students-only bus service 913 so they would not be late for school :

"We take time to travel. If you need to wake up early, you just have to wake up early. Just don't play so many video games late into the night."

:oIo: Ask him fer help wif bus crowding out students n tis focker ask u to wake up at 5am to catch first bus, then blame u fer not sleeping early bcus u hv tons of homework (asshole calls them "video games") to do. Burn in Hell fascist minion !!! Who the fock voted fer tis jerk ???!!!

Erudio

Welcum back to Hell Balaji, n focking stay there !!!

March 13, 2006
TV licence fee should be abolished

DURING the Parliamentary debate on the TV licence fee, Dr Balaji Sadasivan (Senior Minister of State for Information, Communications and the Arts, and Health), Non-Constituency MP Steve Chia and Potong Pasir MP Chiam See Tong all missed the point.

If the subject is about funding public service broadcasts, we should not expect a commercial enterprise to fund the programmes. The funding should come from the government if the service is for the public good.

As it is, the annual TV licence fee is a regressive tax and should be abolished as the lower-income group is the hardest hit by it. To solve this shortfall it is better for the government to provide the funding.

The government can, if it wants, recover this source of expenditure from the personal income tax, which is a more equitable tax.

Dr Balaji mentioned that the licence fees for countries like Britain, Germany and Japan ranged from $245 to $627 ('TV stations don't make enough to fund public service shows'; ST, March 4). I suppose he was trying to put the cost of our licence fee in perspective.

I believe the median salaries in these three countries are higher. I would like to point out that most countries in Asia do not levy a licence fee on TV owners.

In Australia, the TV licence fee was abolished in 1974 on the grounds that it was an unfair and regressive tax. The Australian government in turn funded part of the expenditure through a government grant.

New Zealand abolished the licence fee in 1999. Tan Swee Keng

Erudio

Welcum back to Hell focker Balaji, n burn fer eternity !!!

May 20, 2006
INSIGHT
Two GRCs move into full gear for work ahead
By Li Xueying

THERE will be gently swaying palm trees, drinks by the pool - and a high-powered laptop.

For three days in the last week of next month, 100 grassroots leaders from Cheng San will be descending on a resort in Pattaya, Thailand.

But it is not just rest and relaxation. They will be working, and putting the laptop to use.

Ang Mo Kio GRC MP Balaji Sadasivan tells Insight: 'We will discuss the needs of Cheng San residents and consider what measures or programmes will increase their sense of well-being and happiness.'

Similarly, the Aljunied GRC MPs are working hard to build a 'core support' that will not be easily swayed during the heat of the campaigning, says Mrs Lim Hwee Hua.

Within the week, they will be sending out a thank-you card to 80,000 homes in their GRC. On it: the new dates and times for Meet-the-People sessions. The team is holding an extra session each week.

Such work would help tackle some of the reasons that residents listed when asked what compelled them to vote for the opposition.

Among the seven GRCs contested, the battles in Aljunied and Ang Mo Kio became the ones to watch.

Aljunied GRC was a hot spot from the word 'go' and the PAP team's winning margin was the most narrow among the GRCs.

Ang Mo Kio was a cold spot that turned sufficiently lukewarm when the Workers' Party sent its youngest team there to contest.

Insight looks more closely at the two GRCs.

Erudio

May the souls of the thousands who died in Soe Win's hand eat ur focking rotten cancer cells, evil Balaji !!!!

S'pore leaders send condolence letters to Myanmar
By Bhagman Singh, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 13 October 2007 2335 hrs

SINGAPORE: Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong and Foreign Affairs Minister George Yeo have expressed Singapore's condolences to Myanmar on the death of its Prime Minister General Soe Win.

In his letter to Acting Prime Minister Lieutenant General Thein Sein, Mr Lee said he is saddened to learn of General Soe Win's death and recalled the warm hospitality the late General had accorded him and his delegation during his introductory visit to Myanmar in March 2005.

Writing to his counterpart, U Nyan Win, Foreign Affairs Minister George Yeo said General Soe Win fought his illness to the last with courage.

He said the General was also a strong supporter of greater ASEAN integration.

Senior Minister of State for Foreign Affairs Dr Balaji Sadasivan will represent the Singapore government at the state funeral of General Soe Win in Yangon on Sunday.

- CNA/so

Erudio

4 yrs on n wat is the evil fascist PAP gov doing? Closing schs !!!! N focker satanic Balaji sit on his hands in 2006 while ppl suffer !!! Burn in Hell mother focking asshole Balaji !!!!

March 18, 2006
Virulent strain of HFMD virus resurfaces

Enterovirus-71 strain of hand, foot and mouth virus, which killed several children here during 2000 outbreak, is now the main strain here, warns Ministry of Health headline missing

By Salma Khalik
HEALTH CORRESPONDENT

AS CHILDREN prepare to resume classes next week, kindergartens and pre-schools have been told to take precautions against the spread of hand, foot and mouth disease (HFMD), a virulent strain of which has re-emerged here.

CHECKS: Kindergartens and preschools have been advised to take children's temperature every day, check them for signs, and isolate and send home any child suspected to have the virus, as was done during the 2000-2001 outbreak here (above).

In the first week of this month, 348 children were infected with the virus, surpassing what is known as the 'warning threshold'. An epidemic is declared only when more than 500 cases are recorded in a week.

More worryingly, the main strain of the virus now circulating here is the potential- ly deadly enterovirus-71 (EV71).

This is different from the strains that have been prevalent in the past two years, which means any child who has had the disease in recent years is unlikely to be immune this time around.

EV71 was the strain that killed at least four of the seven children who died here during a 2000-2001 outbreak.

That outbreak led to the closure in October 2000 of childcare centres, nurseries, playgroups, enrichment centres, play areas in fast-food restaurants and shopping complexes - anywhere children could gather and spread the disease.

The Ministry of Education (MOE) is taking the situation seriously.

In a warning sent to kindergartens yesterday, it said: 'EV71 infections can be potentially serious and are associated with complications such as myocarditis, viral pneumonitis, asceptic meningitis and encephalitis.'

All of these conditions are potentially fatal.

Myocarditis is an inflammation of the heart muscle, and viral pneumonitis is an infection that causes irritation, swelling and congestion in the lungs.

Asceptic meningitis is the inflammation or irritation of the brain lining and encephalitis is an inflammation of the brain.

The Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports has sent a similar letter to childcare centres, urging greater vigilance.

A Health Ministry spokesman told The Straits Times there have been no deaths in Singapore so far this year.

But more than 4,000 children have been infected in the current outbreak in Malaysia, which has claimed the lives of seven children this year.

Kindergartens and pre-schools have been advised to take children's temperature every day, check them for signs of the disease, and isolate and send home any child suspected to have the virus.

HFMD is a common, highly contagious disease that mostly affects children under 10 years old.

Spread via bodily fluids like saliva, it usually causes a mild illness lasting up to 10 days.

Normally, there are about 220 cases a month in Singapore throughout the year.

There are about 80 different strains of HFMD, of which EV71 is the most virulent.

Senior Minister of State for Health Balaji Sadasivan told The Straits Times there is no question of closing schools at this stage.

'While we want to control HFMD, sometimes we are concerned about closing the schools down. But if we close the schools down, and since HFM is a year-round disease, we have a problem.'

To prevent the spread of the disease, MOE urged parents to cooperate by keeping children who have the disease at home and to 'avoid contact with other children until they have been certified by a doctor to be fit to return to the kindergarten'.

Ms Ruth Low, head of operations at the PAP Community Foundation, which has 60,000 children at its 266 kindergartens and nurseries, and 30 childcare centres, said the children's palms and soles are checked every day for telltale rashes.

The National Environment Agency will brief kindergartens later this month on how better to protect their children from catching and spreading the disease.

Additional reporting by Lynn Kan

[email protected]