• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Redditer: Girl blew $430k on a 50y HDB lease for the "aesthetic," but still lives with her mom because she's lonely. We need to stop normalizing this.

Insouciant

Stupidman

Girl blew $430k on a 50-year HDB lease for the "aesthetic," but still lives with her mom because she's lonely. We need to stop normalizing this.​

I cannot take another one of these "slow living" TikToks. You know exactly what I'm talking about. The lofi acoustic beat drops, some influencer does a slow pan over a knocked-down wall, a S$2,000 retro SMEG fridge, and a living room full of Taobao furniture—all while trying to gaslight us into thinking a 50-year-old resale flat with a decaying lease is the ultimate flex because they "prioritize lifestyle over ROI."

Spend your money how you want lah. But we seriously have to stop romanticizing this as some aspirational blueprint for younger Singaporeans. Behind the pastel Pinterest filters, this entire trend is just pure financial loss p**n dressed up with good lighting and a macrame chandelier.

The specific person I'm talking about is waffleflat She even got featured in an AsiaOne article recently where the media completely ate up her "home instead of asset" narrative. Go watch her yourself on TikTok_ — I'll wait. So let me walk you through the actual miserable reality behind this "curated aesthetic journey" they are trying to sell us.

First thing. She drops over $400k on the unit. Then blows another $30k hacking it apart to build her "forever home." And then—and I cannot stress this enough—she admits she still lives with her mom half the week because of "inertia" and loneliness. Filial piety is beautiful, sure, but let's be honest about what actually happened here: she blew half a million dollars and torched her retirement plan to create a highly aesthetic weekend staycation pod. That's it. That's the whole story.

And these people love to preach about ignoring ROI to "live intentionally." Cute. But they conveniently gloss over the brutal math hiding underneath all of that. The government literally looked at her 49-year lease and went, yeah, this flat isn't going to outlive you, and heavily pro-rated her loan because of it. She had to bleed out her own liquid cash savings just to cover the massive upfront shortfall. She willingly wiped out her bank account to hold a bag that will be worth exactly $0 the day HDB takes the keys back. Intentional living indeed.

Oh but it gets better. Because she blew her entire reno budget smashing down walls and going to war with contractors over tiny "aesthetic" subway tiles, she literally had no money left for furniture. Her first housewarming party—the guests had to sit on the bare floor drinking wine because the only seating in the entire flat was a single S$630 Taobao sofa. Half a million dollar home. Floor seating. Let that marinate.

Beyond the $30k reno itself, the sheer unhinged nature of every single decision within it is what truly gets me. She paid a demolition crew to violently smash apart perfectly functional, high-quality built-in wardrobes—not because they were broken, not because they were ugly—but because a Feng Shui master told her the bed geometry was off. Fine, okay, some people take Feng Shui seriously, I get it. But then. THEN. She commissioned a custom mustard macrame chandelier specifically to physically hide the traditional wooden Feng Shui gourd hanging from her ceiling because it "clashed with the mid-century modern aesthetic." She is hiding her Feng Shui cure with a $400 handwoven art piece. I don't even know where to begin.

Because the whole "slow living" vibe on that page is completely performed for camera and the cracks are everywhere if you actually watch closely. Bolting fake glowing French baguettes to the wall as actual home lighting. Spending an entire day scrubbing heavy industrial glass blocks so she can glue them together into a jagged "brutalist" bedside table. Opening her prized S$2,000 SMEG fridge on camera only to reveal it is completely barren inside because she forgot to buy groceries. Tapao-ing $4 hawker food in a sweaty plastic bag and then meticulously, painstakingly plating it onto expensive pastel designer ceramics just for the gram. This is the slow living dream, guys.

And the "glamorous independent woman" facade completely screeches to a halt the moment the cameras keep rolling past the aesthetic B-roll. We are watching her i get physically trapped and genuinely fighting for her life inside a duvet cover because she lives alone and there is nobody to help. We are watching her frantically blow-dry spilled orange juice off a curated striped tablecloth in a total panic because the shot is ruined. This is what "living intentionally" actually looks like at 2am in your half-furnished $430k weekend pod.

But wait. The absolute cherry on top? The real reason she’s probably still living with her mom half the week? I just found her flat listed on Tagvenue. That’s right—this deeply personal "slow living sanctuary" that she boldly claimed to AsiaOne was a "home instead of an asset" is currently being pimped out for S$80 an hour as a commercial photoshoot location. In a recent CNA interview, she literally admitted she is a "creative freelancer" with an "unstable" income, and her mortgage is $1,200 a month. Do the math: just 15 hours of renting it to strangers completely covers her mortgage. For someone who loudly preaches about "ignoring ROI to build a slow-living sanctuary," she sure pivoted to an aggressive ROI side-hustle the second the real-world bills came due. You literally cannot make this up.

Look, I'm not here to tell anyone how to spend their money. But please, for the love of god, do not let AsiaOne, or anyone like her gaslight you into wiping out your entire life savings on a decaying 50-year lease just so your living room can look like a photoshoot set for six years before the whole thing collapses. When that lease hits zero, HDB is taking back the keys and you are going to be sitting on a Taobao corduroy sofa in your mom's living room wondering where it all went wrong.

Girl blew $430k on a 50-year HDB lease for the "aesthetic," but still lives with her mom because she's lonely. We need to stop normalizing this.​

I cannot take another one of these "slow living" TikToks. You know exactly what I'm talking about. The lofi acoustic beat drops, some influencer does a slow pan over a knocked-down wall, a S$2,000 retro SMEG fridge, and a living room full of Taobao furniture—all while trying to gaslight us into thinking a 50-year-old resale flat with a decaying lease is the ultimate flex because they "prioritize lifestyle over ROI."

Spend your money how you want lah. But we seriously have to stop romanticizing this as some aspirational blueprint for younger Singaporeans. Behind the pastel Pinterest filters, this entire trend is just pure financial loss p**n dressed up with good lighting and a macrame chandelier.

The specific person I'm talking about is waffleflat She even got featured in an AsiaOne article recently where the media completely ate up her "home instead of asset" narrative. Go watch her yourself on TikTok_ — I'll wait. So let me walk you through the actual miserable reality behind this "curated aesthetic journey" they are trying to sell us.

First thing. She drops over $400k on the unit. Then blows another $30k hacking it apart to build her "forever home." And then—and I cannot stress this enough—she admits she still lives with her mom half the week because of "inertia" and loneliness. Filial piety is beautiful, sure, but let's be honest about what actually happened here: she blew half a million dollars and torched her retirement plan to create a highly aesthetic weekend staycation pod. That's it. That's the whole story.

And these people love to preach about ignoring ROI to "live intentionally." Cute. But they conveniently gloss over the brutal math hiding underneath all of that. The government literally looked at her 49-year lease and went, yeah, this flat isn't going to outlive you, and heavily pro-rated her loan because of it. She had to bleed out her own liquid cash savings just to cover the massive upfront shortfall. She willingly wiped out her bank account to hold a bag that will be worth exactly $0 the day HDB takes the keys back. Intentional living indeed.

Oh but it gets better. Because she blew her entire reno budget smashing down walls and going to war with contractors over tiny "aesthetic" subway tiles, she literally had no money left for furniture. Her first housewarming party—the guests had to sit on the bare floor drinking wine because the only seating in the entire flat was a single S$630 Taobao sofa. Half a million dollar home. Floor seating. Let that marinate.

Beyond the $30k reno itself, the sheer unhinged nature of every single decision within it is what truly gets me. She paid a demolition crew to violently smash apart perfectly functional, high-quality built-in wardrobes—not because they were broken, not because they were ugly—but because a Feng Shui master told her the bed geometry was off. Fine, okay, some people take Feng Shui seriously, I get it. But then. THEN. She commissioned a custom mustard macrame chandelier specifically to physically hide the traditional wooden Feng Shui gourd hanging from her ceiling because it "clashed with the mid-century modern aesthetic." She is hiding her Feng Shui cure with a $400 handwoven art piece. I don't even know where to begin.

Because the whole "slow living" vibe on that page is completely performed for camera and the cracks are everywhere if you actually watch closely. Bolting fake glowing French baguettes to the wall as actual home lighting. Spending an entire day scrubbing heavy industrial glass blocks so she can glue them together into a jagged "brutalist" bedside table. Opening her prized S$2,000 SMEG fridge on camera only to reveal it is completely barren inside because she forgot to buy groceries. Tapao-ing $4 hawker food in a sweaty plastic bag and then meticulously, painstakingly plating it onto expensive pastel designer ceramics just for the gram. This is the slow living dream, guys.

And the "glamorous independent woman" facade completely screeches to a halt the moment the cameras keep rolling past the aesthetic B-roll. We are watching her i get physically trapped and genuinely fighting for her life inside a duvet cover because she lives alone and there is nobody to help. We are watching her frantically blow-dry spilled orange juice off a curated striped tablecloth in a total panic because the shot is ruined. This is what "living intentionally" actually looks like at 2am in your half-furnished $430k weekend pod.

But wait. The absolute cherry on top? The real reason she’s probably still living with her mom half the week? I just found her flat listed on Tagvenue. That’s right—this deeply personal "slow living sanctuary" that she boldly claimed to AsiaOne was a "home instead of an asset" is currently being pimped out for S$80 an hour as a commercial photoshoot location. In a recent CNA interview, she literally admitted she is a "creative freelancer" with an "unstable" income, and her mortgage is $1,200 a month. Do the math: just 15 hours of renting it to strangers completely covers her mortgage. For someone who loudly preaches about "ignoring ROI to build a slow-living sanctuary," she sure pivoted to an aggressive ROI side-hustle the second the real-world bills came due. You literally cannot make this up.

Look, I'm not here to tell anyone how to spend their money. But please, for the love of god, do not let AsiaOne, or anyone like her gaslight you into wiping out your entire life savings on a decaying 50-year lease just so your living room can look like a photoshoot set for six years before the whole thing collapses. When that lease hits zero, HDB is taking back the keys and you are going to be sitting on a Taobao corduroy sofa in your mom's living room wondering where it all went wrong.

Was this article written by our sister Claire? The English is very cheem and powderful.

This is what happens when you monetize user-created content. You will have fuckwits out there trying to earn some money with their clickbait short videos. :rolleyes:

Another toxic culture exported from China. Similar to having QR codes enter every orifice of your life, 'beauty filters' and having online sales when the number of the day and month are the same e.g. Jan 1, Feb 2... Nov 11, Dec 12. Tiongs started this bullshit. :cool:

By then, she will Be dust. No beneficiary. Single
more like a sludgy mess on the floor with lower tummy acids melting and seeping thru’ grout and porous concrete to the floor below. by 69 she will still be overly sensitive and insufferable to the point of sextreme ocd. one accidental touch and she will jump, triggering all her juices to flow in an otherwise dried up and clogged body. she will pretend not to flinch and glance, but will sexhibit signs of arousal a sexperienced male will notice. when alone with unfortunate male she may launch a pre-emptive attack.

That's why I very scared when aunties swim nearer to me at the pool. One graze and she could explode in the pool with discharge

There is a reason why women cannot be trusted to manage any money. This woman is one very good example.

Do you want to be a script writer for a horror movie?

i’m already one. i have been writing and warning about hundreds of million tiongs dying and disappearing into oblivion by not getting a chance at birth since the early 90s when i was invited to give a talk in beijing. i told them their one-child policy was a demographic disaster in front of officials, researchers, university professors, xinhua news reporters. they did not detain nor arrest me. i was free to go home after the talk.

Sinkies not very smart in the first place.

Notice how I never say stupid because Sinkies can memorize and pass tests well. But don’t get academic smartness mixed up with real intelligence.