• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Recession in 2013?

TracyTan866

No way sinkieland will ever have any recession. By definition GDP is total income of residents. through continuously importing more immigrants and exponential increment of ministers and admin service salaries to offset the total income of the remaining 99%, GDP will never fall, can only rise.

that's what the pap thought too...but be surprised! you will be shocked that despite pumping in cheap labour, recession will still occur in 2013..that's how bad the situation will be

TracyTan866

guys, recession is a word used by the pappies when they squanderd all your cpf and to scare peasants into believing only the pappies shit can bring peasants out of recession. please trust this retiree who have seen all the tricks. luckily, i open eyes wide, if not, me will be cleaning tables at hawker centre liaoz.

ok...i will learn to trust you

TracyTan866

Are you sure you know enough to make that statement?

"NEWS

AVIATION | Staff Reporter, Singapore

Published: 22 Nov 12

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

0 0Google +1 8
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sadly, Singapore Airlines' cargo unit will churn out more losses

It has already shed 3.5% in yields.

According to Nomura, SIA’s cargo business will likely remain loss-making owing to weak demand, with a 1H13 operating loss of SGD99mn as cargo demand and yields declined by 4.7% and 3.5% y-y, respectively.

Here's more from Nomura:

We attribute the loss to weak global air cargo demand, as customers are focusing more on low-cost transportation alternatives. At the 2Q13 analyst briefing, management painted a bearish tone for its cargo outlook citing weak global economies.

However, on the positive side, management said it is acutely aware of the problems and is withdrawing capacity, with its recent announcement that it will park one of its cargo freighter aircraft from Jan 2013 to May 2014, of its total fleet of 13 cargo aircraft.

We estimate SIA’s cargo business will remain loss-making in FY14F, as we estimate cargo yields will decline by 1% y-y, following a 5% y-y decline in FY13F.

Cargo traffic at Changi Airport has declined of late and remained stagnant through most of 2012. In the first nine months of 2012, Changi Airport cargo traffic fell by 1.3%, according to Changi Airport statistics.

With recent Changi Airport data also showing no signs of recovery (October cargo down 8% y-y), we think that a recovery in freight volumes may be delayed.

However, Nomura’s economics team forecasts show a rebound in Singapore’s GDP for 2013F after bottoming out in 2012F, which should support cargo volumes and possibly lead to a recovery going into 2013F, in our view, given GDP growth has been a leading indicator of cargo volumes historically.

That said, the recovery momentum would likely be anaemic, given that our economics team forecasts Singapore GDP growth of only 2.4% y-y for 2013F, after downgrading from 4.2% in November. Cargo accounts for 17-18% of SIA’s revenue but a large part of the losses – hence, a recovery in cargo would be a positive for earnings, albeit very slow.

TracyTan866

recession cumming stil dunwan 2 sel ur shares? ...

sold kep corp at $11 and bought back when it went to $10.10 recently

sold Sem marine at $5 and bought back at $4.30

bought wing tai at $1.35..now gg at $1.745...may sell soon

Principality

when economy booms, pap will claim credit...

when economy falls, the pap will blame it on external factors and other countries.

And they will tell you lots of crap about 1965 and how they had to 'sacrifice' and borne the 'pain' to convert this 'fishing village' into a metropolis today. My grandfather's and father's hard work and sacrifices also became his somehow. Singapore was a ghost town before PAP was elected. :mad:

economy good, pappies will claim 1000% credit when everywhere else are equally good.
economy no good, pappies will claim due to external factors beyond pappies control. sinkees song boh?