• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Radio DJ Chris Ho has kicked the bucket

You got ulcer means symptomatic liao.

In Singapore anyone go for OGD will have the H pylori test done. I can't remember the name of it I think is CLO test. CLO +ve means H Pylori +ve.

North America I think they different cos not so common.

So it is diet?
it’s not genetic nor hereditary. my chiobu gastroenterologist said its typical vector was via shitstuff we eat. she also said some poorly prepared sushi may pose a problem, but food poisoning thru’ bad sushi was more immediate and severe and could cause death. my ulcer was caused by an effervescent pill i took for a headache. i made the mistake of not powderizing it before consumption. i swallowed it whole, and it burnt a hole in the tummy.

nayr69sg

Staff member
it’s not genetic nor hereditary. my chiobu gastroenterologist said its typical vector was via shitstuff we eat. she also said some poorly prepared sushi may pose a problem, but food poisoning thru’ bad sushi was more immediate and severe and could cause death. my ulcer was caused by an effervescent pill i took for a headache. i made the mistake of not powderizing it before consumption. i swallowed it whole, and it burnt a hole in the tummy.

Effervescent pill for headache? Wah lau I think deadly combination!

For headache I guessing it was some sort of NSAID? eg Ibuprofen? NSAID already can be very bad for gastric lining and cause ulcer. But usually after repeated use over time. Effervescent highly acidic right?

So did the gastro chiobu say it was the effervescent quality that burned the hole or the NSAID? So if someone swallowed effervescent Vit C eg Redoxon will burn hole too?

Jia lat man! Must remember to warn my family members.

Yeah so yours was asymptomatic but picked up when you developed the ulcer via iatrogenic reasons. Your chiobu gastro agree that H Pylori is big risk factor for gastric cancer?

porcaputtana

Not sure what the latest recommendations in SG are. But I remember during my time as an MO in Gen Surg the gastro specialist surgeons were still debating whether to call H. Pylori a gastric cancer risk factor or not. But during my time as GP and in Polyclinic I do not recall ever doing asymptomatic H. Pylori screening as evidence based medicine.

The private GP health screening packages will have the H. Pylori serology as part of some higher more sexpensive package but not EBM.

@porcaputtana any thing to add on this?

H. pylori is considered a carcinogen. Undetected and untreated H. pylori increases ca stomach risk by 2% compared to general population

Presence of antibodies does not mean there is no active infestation. And does not address the issue of intestinal metaplasia which indicates progression towards malignancy

Gastroscopy with histology is still gold standard and recommended for the elderly . However there its no national guideline on ca stomach screening as the incidence is declining

Personally I would urge anyone and everyone to find a reason to go for a screening gastroscopy . Any reason. Personally I have seen enough patients (like X Ho) cut down in their prime because of gastric cancer. The last I saw 10 years ago was a 30 something lawyer, recently promoted in the firm, wife pregnant and he dead in 3 months with disseminated disease .

I myself go for 5 yearly with my colonoscopy. Fuck the MOH guidelines. When you die they will not send flowers.

nayr69sg

Staff member
H. pylori is considered a carcinogen. Undetected and untreated H. pylori increases ca stomach risk by 2% compared to general population

Presence of antibodies does not mean there is no active infestation. And does not address the issue of intestinal metaplasia which indicates progression towards malignancy

Gastroscopy with histology is still gold standard and recommended for the elderly . However there its no national guideline on ca stomach screening as the incidence is declining

Personally I would urge anyone and everyone to find a reason to go for a screening gastroscopy . Any reason. Personally I have seen enough patients (like X Ho) cut down in their prime because of gastric cancer. The last I saw 10 years ago was a 30 something lawyer, recently promoted in the firm, wife pregnant and he dead in 3 months with disseminated disease .

I myself go for 5 yearly with my colonoscopy. Fuck the MOH guidelines. When you die they will not send flowers.
Thanks for sharing.

So start doing 5 yearly OGD with colonoscopy from what age?

Indeed many things cannot just follow guidelines and recommendations. But if you kena complaint and say got complication eg perforation then get sued I think they will aak why you do and not follow guidelines?
Specialist big shots will get away with it lah.

porcaputtana

Thanks for sharing.

So start doing 5 yearly OGD with colonoscopy from what age?

Indeed many things cannot just follow guidelines and recommendations. But if you kena complaint and say got complication eg perforation then get sued I think they will aak why you do and not follow guidelines?
Specialist big shots will get away with it lah.
MOH recommendation for colonoscopy is age 50. The US has brought it down to 45 in recognition of younger trend of colorectal adenocarcinoma

There has been a call for MOH to reduce the age to 45, but the pencil dicks refuse because they worry the 45-50 group will start using and depleting Medisave

Why you worry about recommending GI endoscopy? In competent hands the risk of perforation is less than 1%. And if it happens the endoscopist answers not you.

Btw failure to refer for endoscopy when indicated is also an SMC offence . Safer for GPs to just refer and let the specialist (with the proper MPS coverage) take over.

nayr69sg

Staff member
MOH recommendation for colonoscopy is age 50. The US has brought it down to 45 in recognition of younger trend of colorectal adenocarcinoma

There has been a call for MOH to reduce the age to 45, but the pencil dicks refuse because they worry the 45-50 group will start using and depleting Medisave

Why you worry about recommending GI endoscopy? In competent hands the risk of perforation is less than 1%. And if it happens the endoscopist answers not you.

Btw failure to refer for endoscopy when indicated is also an SMC offence . Safer for GPs to just refer and let the specialist (with the proper MPS coverage) take over.
In Singapore hard to practice like that lah.

Patient will think I quack dr everything refer to specialist jiak lui only or something. Even do UBT also will ask why leh how much leh.

Canada ok lah. I usually do the UBT treat. But if persistent symptom then I refer.

Anyhow refer to specialists also cannot lah.

Anyway these days are long gone for me liao hopefully.

I have not ordered a single test not even simple tests zero since June 2019.

porcaputtana

In Singapore hard to practice like that lah.

Patient will think I quack dr everything refer to specialist jiak lui only or something. Even do UBT also will ask why leh how much leh.

Canada ok lah. I usually do the UBT treat. But if persistent symptom then I refer.

Anyhow refer to specialists also cannot lah.
Singapore GPs refer at the drop of a hat

Trust me on that one

No one will want to risk missing a lesion after the recent SMC debacle on Kawasaki and corneal ulcer

Effervescent pill for headache? Wah lau I think deadly combination!

For headache I guessing it was some sort of NSAID? eg Ibuprofen? NSAID already can be very bad for gastric lining and cause ulcer. But usually after repeated use over time. Effervescent highly acidic right?

So did the gastro chiobu say it was the effervescent quality that burned the hole or the NSAID? So if someone swallowed effervescent Vit C eg Redoxon will burn hole too?

Jia lat man! Must remember to warn my family members.

Yeah so yours was asymptomatic but picked up when you developed the ulcer via iatrogenic reasons. Your chiobu gastro agree that H Pylori is big risk factor for gastric cancer?
she never mention “cancer”, otherwise can scare her patients. for cancer cases including warning signs she must refer to oncologist. very territorial here. she wrote those spots (from h. pylori infestation) could develop into “complications” causing discomfort when i got older. gp looked at it and advised me to be tested, and if positive to get treated. he also dared not mention “cancer”, or any possibility it would lead to cancer. over here, docs are very careful with diagnosis and reports. but may be because it’s high ses area in sillycon valley.

nayr69sg

Staff member
she never mention “cancer”, otherwise can scare her patients. for cancer cases including warning signs she must refer to oncologist. very territorial here. she wrote those spots (from h. pylori infestation) could develop into “complications” causing discomfort when i got older. gp looked at it and advised me to be tested, and if positive to get treated. he also dared not mention “cancer”, or any possibility it would lead to cancer. over here, docs are very careful with diagnosis and reports. but may be because it’s high ses area in sillycon valley.
Ah...

Yeah during my residency I had one patient young boy came with mother complain knee pain.

I always offer to do X ray lah cos simple test and you never know what you may get. So mother asked me why do X ray. I said can exclude fracture, stress fracture, calcifications, osteoid osteoma or osteosarcoma. Unlikely but good to exclude cancer. (I work in ortho before so saw many referral kids with osteosarcoma is found on incidental X ray)

Anyway mother complain to my preceptor why I use the word cancer.

Guess it is a North America thing lah.

Medicine very garng kor one. Everyone want to have their own idea what is right or wrong every patient every doctor.

Sianz...

Muthukali

Still too young to go. Met him at Zouk some 17 years ago. Took the time to engage with some small talk with our group regarding music. Friendly humble chap. I remembered him telling us to listen to then new station Lush FM as he was just made a DJ there. From then on, I was converted to jazz, lounge, chill out music, a big difference to my past music interests of big beat, rave and drum and bass. RIP Chris.
Do we know in each other in real life? :biggrin:
Phuture was launched in 1997-1998, one of my best time in zouk. BIG BEAT.
Lush 99.5 was also best with X'HO. indie folks, down tempo...

dredd

Bhai,

Your uncle should have heard of Larry Lai and Eric (not sure if surname is Lim).
Larry Lai still around? Gosh, he must be 80 by now... His buddy gone liao in 2015...

Veteran radio, TV presenter dies of cancer at age 77​

DECEMBER 19, 2015PUBLISHED AT 5:00 PMByANJALI RAGURAMANTHE STRAITS TIMES
20151219-sweelong.jpg

Veteran radio and television personality Tan Swee Leong died from rectal carcinoma, or rectal cancer, at about 5am yesterday. He was 77.
He had a long career with Rediffusion, Singapore's first cable- transmitted commercial radio station, where he was part of a popular DJ duo alongside Larry Lai.
More from AsiaOneRead the condensed version of this story, and other top stories with NewsLite.
Mr Tan hosted various local television shows produced by Radio Television Singapore and the Television Corporation of Singapore, such as variety-cum-game show Guthrie Hour, and was a household name from the 1960s to 1980s. He also held the franchise for the Miss World pageant in Singapore and was a promoter for it.

Before the cancer diagnosis, he had suffered two strokes, the first of which was in December last year.
Mr Tan spent time at the All Saints Home in Tampines and made regular trips to Khoo Teck Puat Hospital for his treatment.
His long-time friend and former local TV sports presenter Peter Boudewyn, 57, said: "The cancer came to light only a month ago, when he started bleeding."

Mr Tan is survived by a sister, three daughters and three ex-wives - one in England, the second in Australia and another in Indonesia.
His former radio partner, Mr Lai, who is now retired, met him on his first day at Rediffusion in 1960. They remained friends ever since. The 75-year-old remembers Mr Tan as "a fun chap who never took anything too seriously".

"At Rediffusion, we were billed as the terrible twins and pitted against each other in friendly competition," he recalled, adding that it was all for the entertainment of their listeners.
Choking up, Mr Lai said of his friend's death: "This is one race I am really not so glad to be the last man standing."
Mr Tan is also remembered as a mentor figure to younger presenters and bands.
Veteran sports commentator and radio presenter Brian Richmond, 68, said Mr Tan was the reason he got into the industry. "I was inspired to get into the business by this man when I was a teenager," Mr Richmond added, admitting that he modelled himself after Mr Tan and adopted his self-deprecating and easy-going hosting style.
Their paths crossed at Rediffusion and again on television in Guthrie Hour, which he hosted. Mr Richmond was a guest on the game show.
"It was easy working with him. Even if he was nervy, it never showed," recalled Mr Richmond.
Mr Vernon Cornelius, who is in his 60s and the singer of popular 1960s band The Quests, said he was a huge fan of Mr Tan, who encouraged the band a great deal.
"He was very fond of the band, and more like a mentor to us."
He lived up to his reputation as an entertainer, said Mr Cornelius, recalling that he used to go to pubs and clubs with Mr Tan, who would often go missing with a woman. He said: "His life was one big party!"
Though they never worked together, former 938 Live producer- presenter Andre Ahchak, 55, remembers Mr Tan as "more than just a disc jockey", adding that he was well respected "because of the professional standards he kept".
A wake will be held from noon today at the void deck of Block 322, Woodlands Street 32. A memorial service will be held at the same location at 11am on Monday, while the cremation will be at 1.30pm in Hall 2 of the Mandai Crematorium and Columbarium.