• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Questions On Singapore Laws - Arrest, Remand, State Courts

If he is to be deported then he will be brought back to prison to be process out.
The same day he will be transferred to ICA.
Prison dun keep inmates for even a day longer that what is stipulated by the court.
ICA will handle the deportation. He’ll be locked up in ICA and escorted to airport and put on a earliest flight.
If there’s time this would had been arranged beforehand that is while he is serving remaining time in prison. Else he needs to spend 1-2 days in ICA lockup till the paperwork is ready.
He won’t be let out to pack belongings but he can instruct someone to pass belongings to ICA. You also can’t send him off or see him throughout.
He’ll be escorted thru special customs channels.

That’s about it.

As for remand prison it’s 99% just like prison.
Only they are known as remandees instead of convicts or prisoners.
They can keep their hair. They wear brown shorts as opposed to sentenced inmates who wear blue shorts. Drug Rehab wear black shorts.
Their routine also 99% just like prisoners BUT some say it’s worse as remandees can’t work, can’t study, no religious counselling etc.

I ask everything ok in prison..they treating you well, you eat well...said OK! guessed they sleep & does nothing, watch TV maybe?. Those arrested with get a free medical check up right for all sorts of diseases, VD etc..right, to get a clean bill of health, right?

Yes first day in will have blood test and basic checkup.
Watch TV one hour a day Monday to Saturday during yard/dayroom time. The only time they’re let out of cells. Tv program is pre recorded from tv years ago. Can report sick to see doctor Monday to Friday. If on medication they will come to the cell to feed you by the Pinoy male medic escorted by warden.

Lastly I would like to share with you the hassle of visiting a person, arrested by the police, transferred after 48 hours to remand.

1. When the person was arrested, was not even told, where the person is being held, not even mentioned ( like being caught by the Gestapo).
2. When I acquire when the person is being held & can I visit the person being arrested being held, " I don't know" & much probing in Prison. Can I make a request here to visit, much probing..."I don't know". Can I have prison number.." I don't know"...then gave the prison feedback number.
3. Called the number, gave full name to person answering the phone, can I have the ID number...heck!..."green card" ( fortunately I managed to get the person WP ID number from the IO) after a while, yes, being held. Ask for location " Can't tell you". I want to visit, gave me an email address to write in.
4. Managed to search the internet on the number to call to visit...Call up the number, spoke to a person ask me for the Prisoner Number (?)...go through hoops, name, WP ID number...gave me a number to call...prison link.
5. Called spoke to a person...ask for relation to accused...etc , reasons, after much begging, leave full name & NRIC...they will call back in three days time, through an unlisted number, if not call is made after three days..call again. After two days, received a call..."asking for reasons, relations' & then proceeded to explain the visitation protocol...can bring 3 books in in soft covers..then tell me wait pass to B.O. (?). B.O. came to the phone, same through the hoops, now, we are talking!. Gave me the Prisoner number, the cluster in which the person is held...say they call me tomorrow.
6.Missed the unlisted call, so I call prison link number, but can't speak to any person, no person answered the call, went into automated menu choices, was cycle through choices on, how to visit etc..managed to get a selection to speak to a person ...then to another number, where the cluster is & spoke to the officer, who asked for Prisoner Number, ID etc...blah, blah, blah..call prison link number.
7. This time, a person answered the call, I identify myself, & person answered, knew my name, NRIC, my mobile number I am calling from, meaning that, they have already placed me on record. So I ask, when can I visit my friend? Answer, did you write in? no I said emailed two days ago. Checked my email address, says...waiting from Superintendent for approval...so I started begging...was told, fax in your request stating your reasons & the following:

A. Full Name, NRIC NUMBER
B. Prisoner Full Name, ID Number ( as in WP), Prisoner ID Number, Location of Cluster
C. My Mobile contact number
D. The reasons, why I would want to visit prisoner

& fax in now...happen to be near a fax machine & faxed in all the requirements...then I was asked, " do I have any records"? I know what it meant, I said no...then silence...I think must be checking the computer & then said " OK'! & proceeded with the visitation etc.. We will contact you..

I called the prison link number again to ask if they received the fax...the person answering the phone, identified me & then said, we have received your fax..it takes 2 weeks to process (wtf!) I went begging like a dog for a bone!...OK! we will look into this & pass to the superintendent...WE WILL CALL YOU, THROUGH AN UNLISTED NUMBER.

Now, I am waiting to strike "lottery"..

I understand the law, the protocol etc...why make it so difficult to contact or visit a person who was arrested? like being caught by the GESTAPO ( can't divulge police station), pay a visit to prison...at least, to know this & that...pass info gets info...like being held in ALCATRAZ.

So, if you steal $1 & you got reported & lands in Police Station & gets arrested...God Help You.

I am waiting word from " ALCATRAZ"...just to share with you all, the entire process of being arrested...to getting visiting rights at prison.
KNN be a very obedient sinkie and everything will be good KNN the moment you are arrested (for any crimes) you are temporary just an object KNN

Yes first day in will have blood test and basic checkup.
Watch TV one hour a day Monday to Saturday during yard/dayroom time. The only time they’re let out of cells. Tv program is pre recorded from tv years ago. Can report sick to see doctor Monday to Friday. If on medication they will come to the cell to feed you by the Pinoy male medic escorted by warden.

Do they get dental treatment too? if the accused have a bad tooth? Free Dentals?

Ok a brief summary, of what I had read through here...

The sentencing will depend on the judge on the sentencing. I can only wish for my friend is, the judge, I am sure will take into consideration the full amount of money made in restitution as in mitigation as presented. The sentencing will be either discharge the case ( I hope I got this right?) or sentence to two weeks, back date to date of time sent in remand, 14 days. The accused goes free, gets deported. It will take at least two days to get released from remand & then handover to ICA.

This is what I am hoping for.

Do they get dental treatment too? if the accused have a bad tooth? Free Dentals?

Ok a brief summary, of what I had read through here...

The sentencing will depend on the judge on the sentencing. I can only wish for my friend is, the judge, I am sure will take into consideration the full amount of money made in restitution as in mitigation as presented. The sentencing will be either discharge the case ( I hope I got this right?) or sentence to two weeks, back date to date of time sent in remand, 14 days. The accused goes free, gets deported. It will take at least two days to get released from remand & then handover to ICA.

This is what I am hoping for.

Dental is only extraction and/or filling.
No other services ie cleaning or root canal.
But I doubt he’ll get to see the dentist....only on Wednesdays (once a week) and the request takes at least 4-6 weeks before you get your turn.

Dental is only extraction and/or filling.
No other services ie cleaning or root canal.
But I doubt he’ll get to see the dentist....only on Wednesdays (once a week) and the request takes at least 4-6 weeks before you get your turn.

Even one gets a toothache? The person in jail, only get to come out for meals & 1 hour TV & sleep all day & night right?

All Meals also inside cell. Unless some who work in certain jobs can have meals outside of cell.

Toothache report sick and doctor will give you painkiller. The Dentist supposedly only comes to prison on scheduled days

Not automatically discounted, but when sentencing both the accused or the lawyer can make such application to judge. It is up to the judge to take this in to consideration. DPP have right to object against this. However this case not so bad as far as I am reading here. May not even deport if lawyer knows how to defend.

The best deal is Pleaded Guilty and make good mitigation story, express remorse.

When you PG means no trial, means DPP got no chance to induce any evidence e.g. landlord as witness to poke his ass on witness stand, and no mata IO as witness etc.

Lots of foreigners committed stealing here, still allowed to work here.

During mitigation Lawyer can submit to judge supporting testimony of employer college or any authority figures, to say good words, or guarantee. If the guy got any good deed that have proof must let lawyer submit to judge, as a part of mitigation argument.

Was not able to talk to the person, to know what is really happening. One call at police lockup, say, lawyer say, better pay back the entire sum stolen, gave me IO Name & Contact & I did that. Second call was after the 1st court appearance, that I noticed the brown coloured attire, a second call was made to me, " how are you,, good, treating you well yes.. " I paid the money you took to IO, is it!, but I am still in jail"..phone cut. During the 1st court appearance, prosecution mention case, prosecution mumbled something I could not catch, judge said, adjourn to another day & time, same court.& person was given a piece of paper & was led off. Now waiting for the nex court appearance. I calculated...14 days in remand.

I went through the hoops to get visitation permission, up to they gave me, the location where the prisoner is held "cluster x" even they divulge to me the prisoner number..the blah blah blah on visiting a prisoner & then call in 2 days later. 2 days later I call in...told me to fax in my request stating prisoner name, ID Prisoner Number which Cluster, my full name, NRIC & contact number & relationship & reason for visiting prisoner. Call again...told they are processing the visitation card...which will take two weeks..

If my friend gets a backdated sentence, say two weeks, or a conditional discharge or...if sent off from Singapore. Will the entire processing including discharging frpm prison to ICA ( as I have been told) takes 4 - 5 days. Will the person, be allowed to gather belongings...like luggage etc? I have not been able to talk longer than two minutes..will this person be allowed to contact me longer time to make arrangement, if any? after sentencing??

Not automatically discounted, but when sentencing both the accused or the lawyer can make such application to judge. It is up to the judge to take this in to consideration. DPP have right to object against this. However this case not so bad as far as I am reading here. May not even deport if lawyer knows how to defend.

The best deal is Pleaded Guilty and make good mitigation story, express remorse.

When you PG means no trial, means DPP got no chance to induce any evidence e.g. landlord as witness to poke his ass on witness stand, and no mata IO as witness etc.

Lots of foreigners committed stealing here, still allowed to work here.

During mitigation Lawyer can submit to judge supporting testimony of employer college or any authority figures, to say good words, or guarantee. If the guy got any good deed that have proof must let lawyer submit to judge, as a part of mitigation argument.

I have not been able to talk to the person & conversation is only 2 minutes, anything else if a mystery, that is why I started a thread here to find out & others can learn too, if they encounter someone they know gets arrested for theft & in this case, a petty one.

There was mentioned of a "lawyer".." "lawyer says...better pay back the entire sum stolen". I asked around the state will appoint a legal representative for such cases. Pleasing guilty I am sure, the accuse will do, express remorse will be a yes, mitigation story, I am not sure, mitigating factor, with full restitution , yes ( the entire amount of money was given to IO, I was given a receipt). But looks like pleading guilty...person still going to trial, as in the second court appearance. Whether gets a conditional discharge, drop charges or two weeks remand as jail term...not sure.

Theoretically, after reading & sieving all information given, the person is still innocent until proven guilty right? The person if held in REMAND not sentenced to jail, will be sentenced to jail until the judge passed judgment. Time spent in REMAND may take time, as long as prosecution have not completed their investigations or fresh evidence or other matters being introduced or the prosecution, may just be, what we say "ngeow" make the prisoner 'enjoy' another week in REMAND. Two weeks is the allowable time spent in REMAND right? & any further time, they have to apply to the court...righto?

Spending time in REMAND ( as in jail in another form)...the person is still not proven guilty.

Was assessing the state court hearing list for my friend, just noticed one listed, in which I am curious, for example:

PP vs XXXXX, Date, Time, Court number, Charge number , Offence Description listed twice?

Sorry I have so many questions..during the sentencing judge says sentencing will run concurrently....didn't mention about the 2 weeks spent in remand prison? Will the 47 days less 14 days?

Short sentence ie any sentence below a year not entitled to work. Even some above 1 year sentence never get to work. Unless a few months sentence ie above 6 months can request for work and I’ve seen those given jobs.

Backdating sentence not a given.