• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Question: Do we USUALLY profited from the sale of our first HDB?

As you guys know that I'm making plans to run road overseas, the biggest concern is my pigeon hole. I have a choice to rent it out or sell it outright if I needed more cash. Being a first time home owner, I need to know if we usually make a profit. The info is as below.

1. It is a resale flat when I bought it. Once it has cleared the time bar of selling resale or not makes no difference . It's the location

2. Grant 11k If you intend to make a profit and had considered that a pigeon hole was 'an investment' rather than a residence. you SHOULD NOT have taken a grant. If you had, you will have to pay pigeon hole levy on selling.

3. Hdb loan Since you have not fully paid up. You would have to return whatever outstanding + interest to Con People Fund unless you have make more than the initial amount coughed out so it penny change to throw it back to them

4. Planning to sell at its 5th year You can't plan to sell this way, you have to time it as a investment guru in property would.

5. Monthly installment 600 by CPF and 360 by cash Since your cash outlay is small it makes more sense to rent it out long term till you have fully paid up. The $$$ in % gained would be much more ( this is unless the property market does poorly) but then in the long term you gain to rent it out as property market have it's ups and downs

Assuming market demand stays the same, will I make a profit?
As above I would have answered this question for you if you rent it out but if you intend to sell in the current market , you should be able to make a profit but not much ( I won't know when you had brought the hole so can't know by how much your hole is now vs when you had brought it) Take for example if you had brought the hole in the Asian Financial crisis, you should roughly have a hole valued twice or more, the amount which you brought it!

Lastly you owe me a BIG favour so up my points BY ALOT is appreciated! Cheers

This type is during my father time. Now our generation cannot dream liao. In one of the thread post by LTB, I mentioned that the dog lover Jason was my ex colleague. I realised he bought his 3 room flat for 400k. What the fish...

If you had bought a resale flat directly from HDB about 5 years ago. today you might actually profit 100k to 100% profit, depending on the flat type and location.

As above I would have answered this question for you if you rent it out

Lastly you owe me a BIG favour so up my points BY ALOT is appreciated! Cheers

Ok bro, after I regain my power. If I forget, please remind me :D

If you had bought a resale flat directly from HDB about 5 years ago. today you might actually profit 100k to 100% profit, depending on the flat type and location.

You mean those new BTO? That one sure make money. But as my wife is not PR, I can't get BTO.

Resale flat how to buy directly from hdb? Have lah but it is rare unless hdb seized it from previous owner due to loan default or other reason. Since Raiders have a 11k grant, I suppose he bought it as a Single. Raider tio bo?

As you guys know that I'm making plans to run road overseas, the biggest concern is my pigeon hole. I have a choice to rent it out or sell it outright if I needed more cash. Being a first time home owner, I need to know if we usually make a profit. The info is as below.

1. It is a resale flat when I bought it.
2. Grant 11k
3. Hdb loan
4. Planning to sell at its 5th year
5. Monthly installment 600 by CPF and 360 by cash

bro, depend your financial plan involve your run road,
regard the profit, generally after 5 yrs u can cash out 150k plus minus, the way of calculate one of the bro had post it. if u do not need a hugh sum, renting out still the better choice.

but understand sometime caught in a neither here or there situation, rent out has monthly steady income but sometime need a figure of sum to "execute" your run road plan. but if situation permit, rent it out first, once situatuin mutual, sold it away, cash out, discharge red card get the cpf $$$ back. who know when wii the dirty garment change new regulation to stop migrate citizen withdraw the cpf $$$

key word, act fast after consideration, sometime in life we can't afford too much time to make a decision

Last edited by a moderator:
Resale flat how to buy directly from hdb? Have lah but it is rare unless hdb seized it from previous owner due to loan default or other reason. Since Raiders have a 11k grant, I suppose he bought it as a Single. Raider tio bo?

Yeah. I could not get more as my wife is not PR. now I regretted taking that cheap grant :o

I am also for the renting out idea. A 3room flat can rent out for about 1500 monthly. It is a steady income and can even sustain your expenditure if you don't have large spendings.

but understand sometime caught in a neither here or there situation, rent out has monthly steady income but sometime need a figure of sum to "execute" your run road plan. but if situation permit, rent it out first, once situatuin mutual, sold it away, cash out, discharge red card get the cpf $$$ back. who know when wii the dirty garment change new regulation to stop migrate citizen withdraw the cpf $$$

key word, act fast after consideration, sometime in life we can't afford too much time to make a decision

Thanks brother. Your post basically sums up my plans. I'm also worried that one day, our CPF might be completely locked up.

By the way, please pardon me for editing your post. I've added a ] to the quote tag for you so that you will not get infracted by Sam later :D

I am also for the renting out idea. A 3room flat can rent out for about 1500 monthly. It is a steady income and can even sustain your expenditure if you don't have large spendings.

But bro, rent it out at 1500, and my monthly hdb payment already 960. In the end, I take back about 500-800 if the rental is between 1500 to 1800. Might as well sell the flat.

Actually, my wife had asked me to go ahead overseas first by myself. If I managed to settle down there, then she will quit her job here, move there and sell our flat here.

2. Grant 11k
3. Hdb loan

Assuming market demand stays the same, will I make a profit?[/QUOTE

bro, depend your financial plan involve your run road,
regard the profit, generally after 5 yrs u can cash out 150k plus minus, the way of calculate one of the bro had post it. if u do not need a hugh sum, renting out still the better choice.

I agree with what you had said but sometimes or most Sinkie I know, want to run road but still want to stick one foot or some toes here.

The whole truth and nothing but the truth is the MIWs stink sky high and will change the rules for ppl running road soon so that they cannot run way with everything inside their Con People Fund and close the account for good.

So for those who would run road clean and for good, that's simple, tiime the sale of pigeon hole for maximum gain and take back EVERYTHING inside Con people Fund of what's yours.

But for those you want to stick a foot here, they will still be caught with the $150k or more with passing of time, retained. But if you can stay out and can rent the hole out it would still be a gain.

But at all time even if you're 'outside' WATCH OUT for the rules change that might affect you.

It's said, to out smart the bastards in white, you have to plan 10 years or more ahead of them and make sure you have less 'complications' and can act fast if you need to before the bastards catch you with their rules.

Cheers.

if brand new still there are some $$ to be make,as for resales flat it depand when you pruchase the flat, but only HDB will make the most $$$ from us be it brand new or resales flat.

2. Grant 11k
3. Hdb loan

Bro Raider,

May I ask which location did you bought your resales flat ?

Is 3-rooms, 4-rooms, 5-rooms or Executive flats ?

Anyone who have bought any property anytime before 2.5 years ago out not have lost money. Used to be when sell HDB flat sure make money......not sure about now but should be still....only make more or less nia.
This is what is keeping the 60.1%........that is why pappies die die must prop up property prices.

You mean those new BTO? That one sure make money. But as my wife is not PR, I can't get BTO.

No, I meant that HDB had a listing of flats of those who had either given up or been repossessed in older matured estates.

Actually, my wife had asked me to go ahead overseas first by myself. If I managed to settle down there, then she will quit her job here, move there and sell our flat here.

Care to tell us whereabouts you intend to migrate to? ASEAN, Hong Kong, China, or US, OZ or Canada, etc? How do you plan getting PR in that country?