• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Professor Tey says kangaroo court was politically motivated

It is not a good enough sign. The only good sign I recognise is when the idea of RULE OF LAW is grasped by the vast majority of the citizenry even those without university degrees. They should not hesitate to challenge authority and take on those with sky high points.

What rule of LAW are you talking about? Even the AGC does not understand basic law, they are there to fix political enemies of the PAP. Look at his quote from the above article.

"The presumption applicable for public bodies has been triggered, and this means that the Accused (Tey) has to explain why his conduct was not corrupt," an AGC spokesperson said.

The accused in most courts of law have to explain nothing. The AGC has the burden of proof that he committed corrupt acts. The AGC has to proof beyond reasonable doubt that corruption took place. It is the accused's role to refute the AGC's evidence. The only time an accused has to explain his actions is during the investigative phase. If the AG does not believe his explanation, than go to court and fight it out. Explain simi lancheow stuff in court?

President John F Kennedy:

Third, and finally, the educated citizen has an obligation to uphold the law. This is the obligation of every citizen in a free and peaceful society--but the educated citizen has a special responsibility by the virtue of his greater understanding. For whether he has ever studied history or current events, ethics or civics, the rules of a profession or the tools of a trade, he knows that only a respect for the law makes it possible for free men to dwell together in peace and progress.

He knows that law is the adhesive force in the cement of society, creating order out of chaos and coherence in place of anarchy. He knows that for one man to defy a law or court order he does not like is to invite others to defy those which they do not like, leading to a breakdown of all justice and all order. He knows, too, that every fellowman is entitled to be regarded with decency and treated with dignity. Any educated citizen who seeks to subvert the law, to suppress freedom, or to subject other human beings to acts that are less than human, degrades his heritage, ignores his learning, and betrays his obligation.

Certain other societies may respect the rule of force--we respect the rule of law.

The fault lies with the educators and the parents of the young. The parents have a duty to teach their children their rights in Singapore. Whether these are "paper" rights or real rights they can really enjoy, is not the point. The school has a duty to teach the same rights to the children in order to make them a better citizen. But the whole process is subverted by the govt's deliberate attempt to hide and obfuscate the rights of the citizens. In my younger days, I had to go to the reference section of the National Library, show my IC and what not, and than be able to check out a copy of the Constitution of SIngapore. It was a revelation to read it. I had to do it because no teacher would tell me what it is, and my parents could not either. Of course today, you have the internet and the constitution is actually on the the net. But which parent bothers to go over the whole constitution with their children? The constitution lays out your rights and responsibility as a citizen and also the govt's rights and responsibility. It has to start here. You do not and cannot know how you have been exploited if you don't know that you had those rights in the first place.

gingerlyn

Prof Tey said it right: ***
“I have no confidence in the Singapore judiciary, and I do not think much of Singapore’s prosecutorial regime," he said.

You just need to know how PAP is controlling the Legal System in Singapore:

http://news.nus.edu.sg/press-releas...g-joins-nus-law-as-first-distinguished-fellow

Mr Chan returns to alma mater to pursue research, writing and teaching in law

The National University of Singapore’s Faculty of Law (NUS Law) is pleased to announce that former Chief Justice Chan Sek Keong has joined the faculty as its first Distinguished Fellow, with effect from today. The term of appointment is on an honorary basis and will be for an initial period of three years.

As a Distinguished Fellow, Mr Chan will pursue research and writing projects, and engage with current students through “fireside chats” and lectures.

One of NUS Law’s most prominent alumni, Mr Chan was in the pioneer batch of law graduates in 1961, from the then University of Malaya, NUS’ predecessor institution. “After being involved in the service of the law for more than 50 years, as a practitioner, judge, attorney general and Chief Justice, I am delighted to be able to return to the NUS Law School where it all began. My appointment will give me many opportunities to discuss the law in action with the students, and to encourage them to look at the law in all its manifestations,” said Mr Chan.

Said Professor Simon Chesterman, Dean of NUS Law, “At NUS Law, we are privileged to have been an integral part of Singapore’s rich legal history. It is a tremendous honour that one of our most outstanding alumni is returning to share his vast experience and knowledge after more than five decades spanning every aspect of the profession. I know that my colleagues and our students will benefit from spending time with former Chief Justice Chan.”

In 2010, NUS had conferred on Mr Chan an honorary Doctor of Laws in recognition of his leadership of the Singapore Judiciary, his outstanding contribution to the development of Singapore’s criminal justice system and constitutional law, distinguished service to the nation, and long-standing and continuing support to NUS Law.

Please refer to Annex 1 for a brief biography of Mr Chan Sek Keong.

singapore legal system is hopeless if you have this kind of man to teach in NUS.
In 1992, he was appointed Attorney-General of Singapore. Acting in this capacity in 1997, he submitted an opinion to the Government of Singapore that although the Parliamentary Elections Act forbade unauthorized persons to loiter within 200 metres of polling stations on polling day, this did not apply to unauthorized persons who were inside the stations. Chan was asked to render this opinion following a complaint by the Workers' Party of Singapore that during the 1997 general election former People's Action Party Members of Parliament had loitered in polling stations.[4]

Do you think our AGC is independent?

From 2008. Donch pray pray with all these Kangaroo court comments ah. PAP has no sense of humour. Fuck the PAP

THREE men who wore T-shirts depicting a kangaroo dressed in judge's robes and found to be in contempt of court were sentenced on Thursday.
Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) assistant secretary-general John Tan Liang Joo, 47, was jailed for 15 days, while the other two - full-time national serviceman Muhammad Shafi'ie Syahmi Sariman, 20, and activist Isrizal Mohamed Isa, 33 - were sentenced to seven days jail each.
All three also have to pay the Attorney-General costs of $5,000.
The Attorney-General's Chambers (AGC) initiated contempt of court proceedings against the trio for having 'scandalised the Singapore Judiciary by publicly wearing identical white T-shirts, imprinted with a palm-sized picture of a kangaroo dressed in a judge's gown, within and in the vicinity of the New Supreme Court Building'.
They wore the T-shirts between May 26 and May 28 at the Supreme Court.
This was when they attended hearings before Justice Belinda Ang to assess defamation damages that the SDP, its leader Chee Soon Juan and his sister Chee Siok Chin had to pay Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong and Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew.
At Monday's hearing, Deputy Solicitor-General Jeffrey Chan sought stiff jail terms and cited two reasons.
Firstly, the worst insult that someone can level against the judicial system is to call it a kangaroo court, he said.
The term is generally understood to mean a court that is characterised by unauthorised or irregular procedures, or sham and unfair legal proceedings.
Secondly, the men's refusal to apologise reaffirmed their contempt of court.
Mr Chan urged Justice Prakash to pass a sentence that would denounce such a show of contempt and deter others from acting in the same way .
The men argued separately that they had no intention of publicising their actions, which they said were merely a form of self-expression.

gingerlyn

Shameful and shameless Singapore Law Society as it is so timid and no courage to speak up himself and let a lone lion Prof Tey Tsun Hang to speak for Singapore Law Society Independence.

In the book, he also referred to clashes between the government and the Law Society in the 1980s, and voiced his belief that the Law Society had its role and authority diminished over the years, amid the rise of the Singapore Academy of Law, part of a plan to divide the legal profession and an exercise of co-option.
In February 2012, former Chief Justice Chan Sek Keong criticised his writing. Two months later, he was taken in for investigation by the Corrupt Practices Investigation Bureau.

Shameful and shameless Singapore Law Society as it is so timid and no courage to speak up himself and let a lone lion Prof Tey Tsun Hang to speak for Singapore Law Society Independence.

In the book, he also referred to clashes between the government and the Law Society in the 1980s, and voiced his belief that the Law Society had its role and authority diminished over the years, amid the rise of the Singapore Academy of Law, part of a plan to divide the legal profession and an exercise of co-option.
In February 2012, former Chief Justice Chan Sek Keong criticised his writing. Two months later, he was taken in for investigation by the Corrupt Practices Investigation Bureau.

Takes two months to dig up shit on Professor Teh mah. Otherwise, would be faster. This kind of shit is the only investigation CPIB can do. Ask them to investigate PAP elites and their corruption, no sound from them.

In S'pore, best not to be hospitalised for long and/or major illness. Will cost you a bomb. Also, never go to court. Expensive process. Let's just imagine NBG deciding to plead guilty out of convenience and to save money.
Now, prof Tey. If didnt appeal? Every day in court involves $. Every next step too. When cleared cant claim any
$ back. Fair or not? NBG's case? Easily 800K. Prof's? 100k?

gingerlyn

Singapore Chief Justice SUNDARESH MENON was part of the system that fixed Prof Tey.

This is because he was the AG of Singapore till 24 Jun 2012.
Prof Tey was charged in July 2012.

In S'pore, best not to be hospitalised for long and/or major illness. Will cost you a bomb. Also, never go to court. Expensive process. Let's just imagine NBG deciding to plead guilty out of convenience and to save money.
Now, prof Tey. If didnt appeal? Every day in court involves $. Every next step too. When cleared cant claim any
$ back. Fair or not? NBG's case? Easily 800K. Prof's? 100k?

You can claim court costs if you win against the other side that brought you to court. That is the theory part, the reality is that you will never be awarded court costs against the PAP.

Singapore Chief Justice SUNDARESH MENON was part of the system that fixed Prof Tey.

This is because he was the AG of Singapore till 24 Jun 2012.
Prof Tey was charged in July 2012.

I believe he was AG when NBG's case surfaced. Siva Shanmugam is a brave man.

presby

He did no wrong with his screwing of a female student?
I know only of a father n son who can laws (social n legal) and get away with it!!

What integrity ? What creditability ? The moment he screwed his student, he lost all his integrity and creditability. He is not a high school or JC teacher. His is the Law Professor of one of the most prestigious university in the whole of Asia. He should know how to behave himself. If cannot control, he can always go to geylang.

What love ? Why didn't he divorce his wife and marry the girl ? This is surely an abuse of his position. I can't believe he is acquitted because there is love. Every men trying to get into a girl's pants always says he loves her but after f already, he just move on. I doubt all the men at SBF believe this bs about love.

gingerlyn

DEAR brothers and sisters,

spend 1 minute to think of it and connecting the dots....

Prof Tey was charged officially in Jul 2012.
One Month later, Ex AG was promoted to Chief Justice

Prof Tey was convicted in May 2013.
One month later, Tan Siong Thye was promoted to Supreme court Judge

connecting the dots....

WongMengMeng

I agree with you that attitudes towards sex are more liberal these days, but still it is unprofessional for a teacher to sleep with his student, or a doctor to sleep with his patient, or a lawyer with his client. Some lines shouldn't be crossed in one's profession.

I agree with you that attitudes towards use of the judiciary to silence critics were more "liberal" in the past. To wit, most Sinkies then tolerated it so long as the Pappies delivered the economic goodies, but we're now living in the Internet era.

The lines that have been crossed by PAP in this saga are far more grave than any personal indiscretions between two consenting adults.

These lines are:

1) Use by CPIB of torture to obtain confessions;

2) Trial by media using Shit Times and the ubiquitous IBs;

3) Waste of CPIB and AGC's time and effort (ie. taxpayer funded resources) to silence a critic when normal University procedures would have resolved any issues that student and teacher relationship posed;

4) Use of judicial written decisions to slander with questionable facts and even more questionable out of date moral judgments in the course of delivering an acquittal;

5) Continued trial by media even after the judicial process has issued an acquittal.

Prof Tey was unprofessional, but perhaps he wasn't corrupt as the news media had portrayed him to be.

Corrupt or not is a question of law for the judge to decide based on due process, not based on your Ah Gong's personal opinion and out of date "moral" principles. Credit though to Pappies for acknowledging the power of mainstream media to sway public opinion has waned and the job opportunities it creates for "professional" people like you in alternative media.

In 1992, he was appointed Attorney-General of Singapore. Acting in this capacity in 1997, he submitted an opinion to the Government of Singapore that although the Parliamentary Elections Act forbade unauthorized persons to loiter within 200 metres of polling stations on polling day, this did not apply to unauthorized persons who were inside the stations. Chan was asked to render this opinion following a complaint by the Workers' Party of Singapore that during the 1997 general election former People's Action Party Members of Parliament had loitered in polling stations.[4]

he's not only a judiciary genius but a brilliant quantum physicist. he explained quantum mechanics so clearly that even heisenberg had a problem grappling with the simultaneous precision of particle location and momentum. this chap says we can have it both ways, and thus he should also be awarded the nobel prize for physics. :biggrin:

Hans168

DEAR brothers and sisters,

spend 1 minute to think of it and connecting the dots....

Prof Tey was charged officially in Jul 2012.
One Month later, Ex AG was promoted to Chief Justice

Prof Tey was convicted in May 2013.
One month later, Tan Siong Thye was promoted to Supreme court Judge

connecting the dots....

PAP rewards job well done....... nothing wrong as PAP also pay themselve fat bonus inspite of huge salaries n perks

kukubird58

hahaha....the usual blame everybody else except oneself......
u got away with it......conspiracy theory....
u got convicted....conspiracy theory......
there are many political leaders (cst, ltk, sl, etc) that had been active for decades......how cum they don't get into troubles????
are u saying that they are papee approved political activists????
lidat good for their credibilties meh????
being a gong cb kukubird is really a bliss......lol.

gingerlyn

ignorant stupid fool like you is hopeless and no wonder you are a slave of PAP and continue to receive scum benefit from PAP millionaires.

Dear brothers and sisters,

how are you there? Ginger just had curry dinner at Little India and Ginger specially requested for additional curry powder to be added.

Many academic dissents who have backbone and speaking out their idea have been persecuted by Singapore and different techniques were used to fix different academicians depending on the situation to give the impression to the readers of mainstream media that these academicians are evil with low moral value.

Dr Rey Buono persecuted for his negative and critical comments on the building of Singapore Esplanade.

Dr Cherian George persecuted for his no hold bar style of blog.

Dr Christopher Lingle persecuted for criticising Lee Kuan Yew authoritative economy management.

Dr Chee Suan Juan persecuted for his political idea which is different from mainstream.

Dr James Gomez persecuted for his involvement in WP election.

Prof Tey Tsun Hang persecuted for his academic articles (mainly published in Hong Kong University which is headed by Prof Michael Hor) that are critical Singapore jurisprudence.

All the above academicians were persecuted with the aims to silent them from making negative comments to Singapore.

You may want to read the full artcle below which was published by Online Citizen.

http://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2014/02/academic-freedom-in-singapore/

Academic freedom in Singapore?
By Jess C Scott / Photo: Yale-NUS College

According to AAC&U, academic freedom also allows for those working within a scholarly community to “develop the intellectual and personal qualities required of citizens in a vibrant democracy and participants in a vigorous economy.”

Students and professors need the freedom to share their ideas publicly and responsibly, so as to develop critical judgement by exploring a wide range of insights and perspectives.

Do academics in Singapore have a safe environment to express their own views?

Here is a brief look at some of the academics who “expressed their views” about the Singapore government.

1. REY BUONO

rey buonoRey Buono taught in Singapore for nine years between 1987 and 1996. He was hired by the MOE to establish the first Theatre Program in the Singapore educational system.

In 1994, he wrote an article criticizing the architecture of the proposed Esplanade building. He said:

“The subtext of the article was the rigidity of the PAP government and the oppression of local artists. This was enough to result in the non-renewal of my contract. Later, I found out that my phone was tapped, I was followed by police, and the Ministry had in its files detailed information about what went on in my classroom.”

2. CHERIAN GEORGE

cherianDr. Cherian George is a writer and academic engaged in journalism research, education and advocacy.

In September 2012, he delivered a talk at Singapore Management University about the restriction of the press, government accountability, and the co-existence of online journalism and traditional media in Singapore.

In 2013, Dr. George’s second application for tenure at NTU was rejected. Despite petitions and an international outcry, NTU has maintained the stance to deny him tenure. Karin Wahl-Jorgensen, a Cardiff University professor, said the news suggested that anyone “critical of the government” was not going to get a permanent government position.

3. CHRISTOPHER LINGLE

christopher lingleDr. Christopher Lingle began research for his book, Singapore’s Authoritarian Capitalism, during his fellowship at the National University of Singapore.

Work on the book was disrupted when police questioned Dr. Lingle about an opinion piece published in The International Herald Tribune, where he had written that some East Asian governments relied on a “compliant judiciary to bankrupt opposition politicians.”

Although Lingle’s published comments did not name any country or individuals, Mr. Lee Kuan Yew insisted it was clear Dr. Lingle was referring to Singapore.

The paper agreed to pay $214,285 to Mr. LKY, who asserted that he had been defamed.

4. CHEE SOON JUAN

chee soon juanDr. Chee Soon Juan is the well-known leader of the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP).

In 1993, Dr. Chee was fired from his position at the National University of Singapore for allegedly using research funds to mail his wife’s doctoral thesis to the United States. Dr. Chee denied misuse of the funds and staged a hunger strike in protest.

5. JAMES GOMEZ

gomezDr. James Gomez is a politician and academic from Singapore. His first book was written in 1999 and titled, Self-Censorship: Singapore’s Shame.

In 2006, Dr. Gomez wrongly accused a staff at the Election Department for misplacing his minority certificate which he promptly apologized for. However, a police report was made against him and the police acted to investigate him for “criminal intimidation”.

The incident was played up by the local mainstream media. Mr. Lee Kuan Yew seized the opportunity to call Dr. Gomez “a liar” and a “bad egg.”

6. TEY TSUN HANG

tey hsun hangTey Tsun Hang was an NUS law professor, former district judge, and seat counsel in the Attorney-General’s Chambers.

Prof. Tey has been critical of Singapore’s legal system, as evident in his publications such as Death Penalty Singapore-Style: Clinical and Carefree.

In 2011, Hong Kong University Press published his book, Legal Consensus. The blurb states that the book “hints at the power relations and dynamics between the political establishment and the Singapore judiciary.”

In April 2012, Prof. Tey was arrested by the CPIB for investigation on charges of corruptly gaining favours from students. A year later, Prof. Tey was found guilty of corruptly obtaining gifts and sex from former student Darinne Ko, and sentenced to five months’ jail in June.

Darinne Ko said that she had been pressured into agreeing with CPIB on her witness statement after being told by Mr Teng that she could also be charged for corruption.

As Ray Buono wrote:

“I am not the only lecturer to have this happen. I can name two of my contemporaries (and there are many more). . .who were expelled for political reasons.”

One has to wonder how “many more” academics have been treated in a similar manner — and how much of a factor this is in contributing to the steady brain drain whereby many of Singapore’s best and brightest leave for a better life elsewhere.