• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ponggol nasi lemak tok chai tao to recover casino losses...

BusNo64

remember nasi lemak seller son lose millions in casino? ...so now ponggol nasi lemak boss start to tok customer's chai tao to recover losses liao...so u pathetic sinkie go pay exorbitant price for dat tasteles ponggol nasi lemak..u r just settling his bloody ahsiakia son gambling debt...LOL :rolleyes:

Would you pay $6.60 for a packet of 'famous' nasi lemak?

would_you_pay_660_for_a_packet_of_famous_nasi_lemak-thumbnail.jpg

STOMPer Gill was shocked that a packet of nasi lemak from the famous Ponggol Nasi Lemak stall located at Upper Serangoon Road cost him $6.60.

The STOMPer feels that local hawkers are overcharging customers. He says:

"I realised that the majority of local hawkers are really overcharging customers.

"As I happened to read the recent case of how much a packet of nasi lemak can cost, I decided to share my experience which I had with Ponggol Nasi Lemak (located at Upper Serangoon Road).

"Recently, I happened to pass by the stall and noticed the long queue.

"Out of curiosity I decided to try (though I had to queue for half an hour) the famous nasi lemak in Singapore.

"I was shocked when I had to pay $6.60 for that few dishes.

"I did a rough calculation of the profits that Ponggol Nasi Lemak might be making; perhaps five times the original cost?

"For example, 30 eggs cost about $4.00 at a supermarket and Ponggol Nasi Lemak sells it at $0.70 each.

"Chicken wing is sold at $1.30 (imagine the cost to purchase a pack of 5kg chicken wings), the cheapest drumstick cost $2.30 and the 'ikan bilis' cost $0.60.

"You must even pay for the rice!

"Now I understand why some stall owners can afford to stay in a big house and drive a big car.

"These unreasonable hawkers are just trying to sharpen their knives and 'chop' customers.

"The authorities should control the price or get stall owners to clearly display the price.

"By the way, Ponggol Nasi Lemak occupies three stalls at Upper Serangoon, but only one stall is used to sell food.

"The other 2 stalls are used for cooking and storage purposes. Could that be the reason why Ponggol Nasi Lemak is selling food at a sky high price?"

LoveSingFade

Price is not the real problem, it is this 'famous' nasi lemak's taste a total disappointment to me, I will never eat even it is given to me free, I am serious!

Dreamer1

Well,it is no good for them,this reporting.

I still remember that curry puff seller who made millions quietly until one day when he appeared in the newspaper to annouce the no of curry puffs he sold.

He was fined a few millions.

commoner

KNN cannot afford, go queue 1+1/2 hour for fuck,,, buy then kbkp,,,, KNN this type of idiots is the type of people that kbkp about PAP, then at the end still vote for the PAP fuckers,,,,,,,,,

in chinese is called jian

no_faith

KNN cannot afford, go queue 1+1/2 hour for fuck,,, buy then kbkp,,,, KNN this type of idiots is the type of people that kbkp about PAP, then at the end still vote for the PAP fuckers,,,,,,,,,

hahaha, yes yes. always kpkb govt keep on increasing prices, yet ask will
dey vote for opps? answer: NO :oIo:

i dunno wats so gd? yet many willing to Q so long and kana chop carrot head?
is almost the same kana chop carrot head by the govt.:eek:

TracyTan866

The business wont cover the casino losses.

The casino will kill the business.

It's wise to concentrate on doing the business rather than be distracted by the "thrills" and "fun" of the casino

lurpsexx

Hallo, people go buy food dunno the price ma.. the seller also no price list one.. how to know so ex?? so pls dun anyhow stereotype people la.. u think others so eng queue so long if they know the food so damn ex n lousy meh...

So next erection you vote who??? :biggrin:

silverfox@

I still remember that curry puff seller who made millions quietly until one day when he appeared in the newspaper to annouce the no of curry puffs he sold.

This reporting should not harm them if they have been declaring their income as usual. The curry puff seller has been under declaring his income but stupidly went to declare the thousands of curry puffs he sold monthly.

So if they never under declare, all this newspaper reports wouldn't harm them :p

Dreamer1

This reporting should not harm them if they have been declaring their income as usual. The curry puff seller has been under declaring his income but stupidly went to declare the thousands of curry puffs he sold monthly.

So if they never under declare, all this newspaper reports wouldn't harm them :p
Do u think this Ponggol fully paid his IRS due.

I do not think so.My guess

These people are in the wrong business, they should have joined the PAP.

The PAP MPs making millions from many sources and yet they don't have to pay income taxes :rolleyes:

alvin36

Price is not the real problem, it is this 'famous' nasi lemak's taste a total disappointment to me, I will never eat even it is given to me free, I am serious!

agree. taste is disappointment too. I tried once, is too expersive and not nice. will not go for 2nd time.

There is one at Yishun St 81 , blk 848 or 846 (cannot remember), beside ntuc. i think is nicer and price very reasonable. 2 fish, chicken wing, egg, peanuts and long beans... only $4.

Hawkers have been some of the most habitual gamblers since illegal gambling den days. Good cooking and hawking may be lucrative but it's a tough and dirty job, and many hawkers harboring dreams of easier way to make more money are naturally attracted to gambling. But from then, they developed habit and addiction.

Instead of the initial idea of gambling to win so much money that they could quit their hawking business, it became slogging more on the business to feed their gambling habit. They were ideal customers for illegal gambling dens, bookies and loansharks, since hawking is a daily cash-flow business with lower risk of default.

Now with legalised casinos, the hawkers have a better place to go without worrying about police raids. The better established hawkers are now modern upscaled businesses, some even corporatised. They can qualify for bank and casino credit lines. They're not really cooks and hawkers anymore. They hire other people to do the works. They've become business owners and overseers with lots of money, casual and discretionary time about what they do. The casinos are natural attractions.

As for Ponggol Nasi Lemak, from food quality point of view, I think it has already gone the way of past illuminaries like the once-famous Scissors Cut Curry Rice, Eng Wah Beef Noodle etc. Nothing to shout about compared to common fares from unknown hawkers. But this is Singapore; many Singaporeans have funny sense of taste.

Kuailan

When you're in the Public eye, media says you earn million!
you're doom! irs has got plenty staff looking at u!! they will do
a research/counter check/tally on you! finally they got u and
hang u! for not paying income tax!!

Just like Victor Tan 33 yrs old, yaya papaya, Young Enterpreneur of the Year,
following yr chop chop!! caught cheating Nokia got 4yrs 8months holiday in
Changi Bungalow, now release already lah!

Windsor

Overated and standard gone down much. Will never eat there anymore, plus not worth getting a traffic fine.

silverfox@

The success of Ponggol nasi lemak lies in the overall packaging.

1stly, they don't serve you cold food. The food is always hot. Once they keep to this standard, it will not taste lousy.

2nd, the way they present the food is clean, bright. Visual effects makes people want order more.

3rd, the way they created the brand, Expensive to most means good.

They don't need to create the best nasi lemak, they just need to produce nasi lemak with a minimum passing standard served piping hot.

With all this being said, I also think Ponggol nasi lemak is very expensive. Hup Lee Nasi Lemak (franchised) $2 also can fight. Even if you add more ingredients, it will not hit that amazing $5-$6.

There is a reason why Ponggol nasi lemak is successful. However much we don't like it for the kind of price it charge, there are still people queuing up to buy their nasi lemak. :o

But that stomper also order a lot

Chicken wing $1.30
egg $0.70
otah $1.50
ngoh hiang $1.50
sambal long beans $1.00
rice $0.60
Total $6.60
I breakdown in this manner, so actually stomper if don't add ngoh hiang is $5.10, don't add otah is $3.60

$3.60 for that normal layout of rice, chicken wing, egg, sambal long beans and rice is still expensive.

Another tok chai tow place is Marine parade central hawker centre corner economical rice. This stall is not economical at all. One of the most expensive chap chye perng stall in a hawker centre and the price can rival many of those teochew porridge stalls in geylang.

BusNo64

albert centre hawker centre @ blk 270 also got great nasi lemak...always long Q...and somemore cheap...$2...come with piping hot chicken wing + egg/luncheon + ikan bilis.....and the chili veri good also......

i always hav lunch there when i go SLS or sungei rd....:wink: