• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Pioneer Generation Package

Getloud

PAP finally doing something about it.
Wanna guess how far PAP will go to appreciate the pioneer generation?

SINGAPORE — A package by the Government to help the pioneer generation age in place will be a long-term commitment.

Social and Family Development Minister Chan Chun Sing said the Pioneer Generation Package will take care of the seniors for the rest of their time as Singaporeans.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong will announce the details of the package on Sunday (Feb 9).

Mr Chan said: “It is not about giving them something for one year and that’s it. It is more than that. It is a package… to take care of them for the rest of their time as Singaporeans, and the rest of the time they are with us.

“We want to make this commitment because it is a testimony to what we believe as a nation, that as the Chinese say, ‘yin shui si yuan’, (meaning) when we drink from the well, we will remember the source.”

Mr Chan was speaking at a Chinese New Year dinner for residents from Tanjong Pagar GRC.

He added that a key focus of the package will be on healthcare costs, noting that this will help those who are taking care of the pioneer generation.

Mr Chan said: “And we also understand that for many younger parents, the younger generation people who are supporting the pioneer generation, that healthcare has been a main focus for them.

“And because of this, we will focus the first step of the Pioneer Generation Package on giving the pioneer generation and their families a sense of assurance that their healthcare (needs) will be taken care of by the society as a whole.”

Some 600 Tanjong Pagar residents attended the Chinese New Year dinner at the Buona Vista Community Centre. Also present was Senior Minister of State for Law and Education Indranee Rajah.

It is the constituency’s first Chinese New Year dinner at the community centre. CHANNEL NEWSASIA

fark lah...................at most give the old people another couple hundred bucks.................more discounts at hospitals AFTER they raise prices.........or discounts for bus, MRT AFTER they raised prices........all the peanuts lah............

the PAP's view old people as unproductive and redundant liabilities..............those that aren't rich should drop dead

Uh oh... whatever public and overt show of generosity the pappies do, you can bet your last dollar that they're conspiring to take back multiple times of what is given. :wink:

rotiprata

You mad ah! How many of these old men left, Pioneer NS boy still have plenty, tell me how to give?

cant u see they're playing pork barrel politics with these old pioneers.....if they do the same with us old soldiers, die die i will vote for them also if package is too good to refuse....after all, it's tax players money...not the PAP

ZorrorroZ

Uh oh... whatever public and overt show of generosity the pappies do, you can bet your last dollar that they're conspiring to take back multiple times of what is given. :wink:

exactly... everytime the PAP "helps" anyone, we end up paying even more... be afraid.. be very afraid.

presby

Older people are generally PAP supporter. This is populist policy to ensure they get all the votes from this group of people

ykhuser

You mad ah! How many of these old men left, Pioneer NS boy still have plenty, tell me how to give?

$9 billion for Pioneer Generation Package.
Assume not many left maybe 2000 left.
each get $500 cash
the balance go where sia?

no_faith

When pappy says they care and wants to help, better wary.
Remember they said raise GST help the poor?:rolleyes:

Pioneer Bribery Package....and dumbfuck sinkies fall for it..oh man..what a sinkie!!!

Nowadays, old people are not so stupid. They'll take the package, say thank you and then vote for the opposition parties in 2016 !

sinkies only wait for 2016... how can people respect them.. they allow their govt to take their rights away.. pathetic..

borom

The steep increases in alcohol (25%), gambling(10%)and tobacco(5%) taxes will fund the so called pioneer generation package so the govt is not out of pocket.
Ironically the main consumers of alcohol and tobacco and betters with Singapore Pools are the elderly-so they are actually funding themselves while the pappy take credit for it.
Of course the 60% are happy as usual-ignorance is bliss?

enterprise2

The steep increases in alcohol (25%), gambling(10%)and tobacco(5%) taxes will fund the so called pioneer generation package so the govt is not out of pocket.
Ironically the main consumers of alcohol and tobacco and betters with Singapore Pools are the elderly-so they are actually funding themselves while the pappy take credit for it.
Of course the 60% are happy as usual-ignorance is bliss?

Not all lah!! Lots of elderly don't smoke, drink or gamble. My family is one eg