• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Pay Singaporeans a decent wage and they will take on most jobs.

Just to share with you guys, I just came back from a holiday trip to tokyo, and with the help of a japan friend, i got to talk to a japan public electrician, something like the PUB in singapore.

His job is to, when needed, climb up a ladder with his team members of 4, to replace the electricity cables in tokyo, do checks on the wires etc.

Job description:

Title: public eletrician

Salary: USD2500 + pension + japan's government medical insurance (if you do not know about how good the japan govt medical insurance is, you better go read it up)

Working days: 5 days week, but the off days may not be weekends. meaning your off days can be monday or thursday, depending on shifts.

Attire: provided with shoes and helet

education: Secondary and above

AND THIS JOB IS ONLY FOR JAPANESES. IF NO JAPANESE TAKES THE JOB, THE GOVERNMENT HAS TO INCREASE THE SALARY OR BENEFITS TO A POINT SOME JAPANESE IS WILLING TO TAKE THE JOB!

"what do you think of your job?"
"I am honored to be of service to the japanese people"

if they can do it, why spore cannot?

That is called taking good care of your fellow citizen, with a set of decent wage and benefit.

And we are not talking about the Civil Service. Wiill there be a day when a Singaporean say, "I am honored to be of service to the Singaporean People."

Just to share with you guys, I just came back from a holiday trip to tokyo, and with the help of a japan friend, i got to talk to a japan public electrician, something like the PUB in singapore.

His job is to, when needed, climb up a ladder with his team members of 4, to replace the electricity cables in tokyo, do checks on the wires etc.

Job description:

Salary: USD2500 + pension + japan's government medical insurance (if you do not know about how good the japan govt medical insurance is, you better go read it up)

Working days: 5 days week, but the off days may not be weekends. meaning your off days can be monday or thursday, depending on shifts.

AND THIS JOB IS ONLY FOR JAPANESES. IF NO JAPANESE TAKES THE JOB, THE GOVERNMENT HAS TO INCREASE THE SALARY OR BENEFITS TO A POINT SOME JAPANESE IS WILLING TO TAKE THE JOB!

you siao ah?

why pay a sinkie almost $4000 a month where by they can get away by paying the bangla only less than 1K a month..??

i worry for Singapore after 6.5mil is reached :confused:

what else can they do to keep the GDP engine going? :confused:

Open more casinos. That is brilliant. But increase the Singaporean/PR levy to $1,000 a day. Casino is to suck in other people's money, not our own people's money.

When u talk, does shit come out of your mouth? U sure know crap about what's going on. the real beneficiaries of cheap labour in S'pore are MNCs and GLCS. They are the ones that pressure MOM and the PAP to allow large amounts of cheap labour in, so they can report larger profits. The upper and middle class as a percentage of the singapore populations is very small. The impact of cheap labour on them is minimal. MNCs and GLCs which hire 100,000s of cheap FTs reap much more benefit.

and Who works in MNC and GLCs? the senior managers etc who are the upper class. followed by the middle managers who would squeeze into middle class. the rest are the cheap foreign labour.

and what utter rubbish are you talking that the middle class is small in Singapore??? by definition, "middle" is everything not high or low.

far as I know, upper class is upper class. They don't care about whether labour is cheap or not, they will still hire because they can easily afford it. Don't bullshit here, oil change is $250 in other countries. Maybe u are so stupid, they con you into that. the only $250 oil change I know is for a Porsche. I doubt u are smart enough to afford one.

that's exactly what i said u twit, the upper class (and lower class) will be beneficiaries of a minimum wage policy.

you open your mouth only to show yourself as a frog in a well. and sorry, porsche does not appeal to me. big v8 blocks are just vulgar in the current ecological climate. maybe a tesla if they could get the batteries to work longer...

the Tibetans have a variation on the frog in a well story... so when the frog in the well finally goes to see the ocean, his head explodes as he's overwhelmed by the vastness of the ocean.

i don't want your head to explode.

p/s you don't have to be smart to be rich, and you don't have to be stupid to be poor.

you siao ah?

why pay a sinkie almost $4000 a month where by they can get away by paying the bangla only less than 1K a month..??

you hit the nail on the head, they pay the bang 1k a month because THEY CAN GET AWAY WITH IT.

the japanese gov can't because whichever party opens the doors to mass immigration will be quickly booted out by the people.

but here, the electorate is not willing to boot out the PAP.

SG is enjoying the growth - very good !... it would be nice not at the expense of its people..

the old social contract was "you (citizen) work hard, we take care of you"

unfortunately, the new social contact has become "everyman for himself"

Job description:

They only job that is only for SINgaporeans are the jobs in parliament, if no body takes them they increase the salary & benefits; so much so, that a cancer specialist consider his salary & benefit CHEAP as compared to the private sector..and many of them consider themselseve cheap...those are the only jobs available EXCLUSIVELY to sinGAPOREANS.

Wheras the lesser mortals are left to their own devise to compete with the avalanche of foreign workers, and forever accused of not taking or shun jobs.

We have a government that takes no pride in the SINgapore workers... how do you expect the workers here say, : I am honoured to be of a service to the SINgapore people??:p

you siao ah?

of coz i know they wont pay more than 1K for such a job, but that does not mean THEY ARE RIGHT!

why do the japs only use japs? not because they are racists, because they take care of each other! and they know only a Jap will response with a favor the same size as the one they offered, rather than to TAKE IT FOR GRANTED! it's a culture we should have in singapore! but under the PAP, we all become money chasers...can do anything for money

back to the topic, i dont believe there is such thing as "jobs that singaporeans dun want to do", it's always about "is the wage justifiable for the job?"

the young people dun like to get dirty, they dun like shifts, the want to look glam, they want to look smart in suits, what if i offer 5K for a road sweeper job? you sure no one will take?

of coz, i am sure we dun need 5k salary to be offered before someone offers to be the roadsweeper.

the point is...IS THE PAY YOU OFFERED ABLE TO LET AN AVERAGE SINGAPOREAN PAY FOR HIS HDB, WIFE, CHILDREN'S 3 MEALS? if not, even if they are willing to be roadsweeper, they still wont take the job because it cant support his family!

Good point ! I have noted when S'porean grumble, or express views about the country/economy.. our leader always find reasons to bash them.. i.e unemployment - bcoz sinkies are choosy..

It is never their wrong judgement or policy..