• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP's recent concerted effort to justify more foreign workers

The why not you come back and feel it for yourself?

Has anyone thought there might be a chance that the PAP policy of importing foreigners is actually very sound and is Singapore's only hope of survival? :rolleyes:

SgParent

Has anyone thought there might be a chance that the PAP policy of importing foreigners is actually very sound and is Singapore's only hope of survival? :rolleyes:

If you are talking about painkiller that has zero health benefit and absolutely not a sustainable method, yes.

methink

It's happened in the past. The Brits allowed the population to grow from a Malay fishing village to a teeming mass of humanity by letting in boatloads of coolies from Southern China.

Was the quality of life lowered or did it lift the economy 10 fold and move Singapore from 3rd world to 1st in one generation?

There always a reason, time and space for everything. In the colonial days, we need all the help we can get - coolies, infrastructure, plantations, industries, etc... to make this place grow and fast.

Space was then abundant. Now we are reaching critical point. Space is a constant constraint. Only the elites in their own kingdoms have the luxury of space. Peasantry are living in a cocoon.

Salary hasn't gone up. Quality of life has gone down. What improvements are we seeing? More foreigners fighting for space and jobs with sinkies is good?

Singapore is moving from 1st world to 3rd in one decade! We are the only 'Ist world' where citizens are treated as 3rd world scums - no debates, no free press, no consultations, no demonstrations, no real unions, no identity! Where everyone is daft except the old man and his clown prince!

Good for Sam. Good for PAP. But for sinkies? We are now daft coolies!

SgParent

In any society, it is the decision makers that matter as they're the ones who are responsible for the progress of the nation. It is therefore perfectly reasonable that their interests should be taken care of above that of the lower strata of society.

Agree, somewhat.

But taken care of by how much? More than President of US? Combine salary of the top develop country leaders? Million dollar?

By how far? Wife? Family members? Friends, lackeys?

===EDIT===
To add, if you think you deserve the pay, then earn it. If not it's considered thief, robbery, etc, etc.

congo9

Agree, somewhat.

But taken care of by how much? More than President of US? Combine salary of the top develop country leaders? Million dollar?

By how far? Wife? Family members? Friends, lackeys?

===EDIT===
To add, if you think you deserve the pay, then earn it. If not it's considered thief, robbery, etc, etc.

You are right, by how much and how far ? Once again, the rich has their own selfish agenda to fullfilled in the expense of the working class.

You can't expect the working class to benefit to the same degree as the rich. What's the point of being wealthy if you don't enjoy a much better life than a mere peasant. :rolleyes:

watchman8

You can't expect the working class to benefit to the same degree as the rich. What's the point of being wealthy if you don't enjoy a much better life than a mere peasant. :rolleyes:

Leongsam, don't keep using same debate technique, can? Please demonstrate other methods to enlighten us on PAP's propaganda tricks.

Propaganda is when you pretend to care about the plight of the underprivileged. I don't indulge in that aspect of interaction.

methink

No one is denying the rich their dues. What irks the samsters here is that, the rich and powerful use the peasantry to their benefits. Instead of protecting their own needy ones, the poor and the old... the papzis open the flood gates to foreigners.

This makes the peasants poorer and despondent. While the papzis are living it up, their poor countrymen are unemployed or having a hard time looking for a respectable job.

Ministars and up-and-coming stars are paid obscene salaries while their subjects are treated as coolies with no decent or minimum wages! The lower stratas of society make to feel the burden. Is this right?

Stop the foreigners from taking the jobs of sinkies! Are you listening Big fat Ah Loong?

saratogas

One way to reduce foreign worker/manpower issues... Make public & civil servants clean their own toilet, remove rubbish just like during NS!

SgParent

No one is denying the rich their dues. What irks the samsters here is that, the rich and powerful use the peasantry to their benefits.

Totally agree.

As I'd mentioned, if you think you are worth your pay, earn it. Anything else, exploiting the trust, abusing the power the daft, silent Majority give you repeatedly decades after decades, etc, etc, is just another way of thief, robbery, etc, etc.

And it is worse if your wife, family, relatives, friends, lackeys also become part of the leeching system. Leeching Singapore, true pink Singaporeans and their children

No reason, least excuse can explain away that.

Capano2121

1. $3k dishwasher, $7k taxi driver. Slightly subtle way of saying sinkies have many high paying jobs even for lowend jobs, hence more immigrants will not make sinkies suffer more. (Real First world country uses less for such low end cleaners jobs because the real first world encourages companies to invest in machinery & training so that cleaners can do the jobs of at least four operating the machines & still get back in time for quality family time after 8 hours of job & with a decent real first world salary!)

2. A long study that praised the Finnish education system, and highlighting the the Finnish school has 50% immigrants. Trying to imply that immigrants improve the quality of education in Finland, and hence sinkie schools should allow even more immigrants. (The PAP dogs did not mentioned the calibre of the immigrants the Finnish govt attracts to their countries, i can safely say they are more interested in prime quality than just mere quantity)

3. Getting the more powerful foreign chambers of commence to publicly complain about the uncertainties of impending restrictions on inflow of foreign workers. (If the PAP dogs only allowed High technology, high performance & high intellect manufacturers & distribution companies into companies, then a "shortage" of labour will not exist or are the PAP dogs implying subtlely that their educational system is a complete failure & the banglas education is better thus they are needed?)

4. Scaring sinkies on costs and problems of aging population without any further huge influx of foreign workers. Additional cost of $13b required for aging population by 2025 being one of such "news". (If father & son only have all good intention then this scenario of aging population, rising healthcare, dying birthrate & overspending & suppressed salary would never have been present in the first place!)

It is a sad sad day when the populace can just sit there & have abuses hurled at them by dogs that are fed fat & chubby with a beautiful coat of white fur by each & every tax paying citizens of Singapore!

larue

No one is denying the rich their dues. What irks the samsters here is that, the rich and powerful use the peasantry to their benefits. Instead of protecting their own needy ones, the poor and the old

Exceptional failure of logic there.

watchman8

It's happened in the past. The Brits allowed the population to grow from a Malay fishing village to a teeming mass of humanity by letting in boatloads of coolies from Southern China.

Was the quality of life lowered or did it lift the economy 10 fold and move Singapore from 3rd world to 1st in one generation?

Everyone has their own views of what's just right. At the end of the day, it's the results that count. Singapore is an exciting, vibrant and wealthy nation thanks to the recent influx. There is no concrete evidence that it cannot support a population of 6.5 million or more.

It is true that the infrastructure has a bit of catching up to do but I have full confidence in the PAP that this will soon be a thing of the past and everyone will be happy and wealthy once the dust has settled.

In any society, it is the decision makers that matter as they're the ones who are responsible for the progress of the nation. It is therefore perfectly reasonable that their interests should be taken care of above that of the lower strata of society.

Propaganda is when you pretend to care about the plight of the underprivileged. I don't indulge in that aspect of interaction.

Boss, you are pretending to care in your earlier posts. Now you are pretending to forget about your earlier posts. Is amnesia one of the techniques? :biggrin:

Or you are not pretending, i.e. you do care? :*:

Fook Seng

It is true that the infrastructure has a bit of catching up to do but I have full confidence in the PAP that this will soon be a thing of the past and everyone will be happy and wealthy once the dust has settled.

The dust will only settle down when the construction stops.

Tension68

Japan is paying a heavy price. Do you want Singapore to end up the same way just for the sake of cultural purity?

boss, r u saying that by limiting migrant workers, Japan hor can't get out of their "lost decade"?
but i tot it was cos of their asset bubble burst that started this "desend"..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lost_Decade_(Japan)

migrant workers limitation is not a major problem for Japan's woes leh.
u got any data to back that up?

Tension68

There is a free flow of labour within the EU. It is one big happy family. Citizens from the basket case economies cross borders to work in countries such as Germany and the end result is a win-win for both parties.

ah.. EU big family... Big... but singapore small leh.. and msians come here, pinoys come here, banglas.. indons.. indians.. ah tiongs.. where got so much room and jobs to sustain them ha?

sg not Germany or EU leh... small red dot.. so many ppl come.. then.. "the sinking of Sinkapore" will be a new movie in the making ya?