• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Pappie MP blasts trouble-maker Tommy Koh, helping the poor is not “within my pay grade”

greedy and cunning

Like sharing ur Porn site to all for free!

1543892503226.gif

3_M

I don't think foreign investors will run away just because they need to pay that extra money for workers at the lowest tier. Would a MNC decides to halt investment here just because the govt decided to impose minimum wage for that one dozen office cleaners?

For political reasons, gov doesn't want to be seen to be giving in to opposition demands for minimum wage.

shittypore

The gist of it is that die die must keep the wages low, this is how they benefit of earning millions on lavies from cheap foreign workers.

kryonlight

What's wrong with all of you? Good Zainal is just telling the hard truth! His conscience is crystal clear to God!

bobby

This Tommy Koh must be a very big shot...cos he is Singapore's Ambassador-at-Large.

hofmann

I'm all for taxes and I have no problems with the wealthy paying a higher percentage so that money is available for the common good like defense, infrastructure, education and health. However what I disagree with is the way the money is spent giving handouts to those who can't be bothered to pay their own way in life.

I also fully support the concept of a caring society. However care is not something that should be subcontracted to the government. Caring is within each and everyone of us.

How about road digging? 4 times now in 2 years outside my house. Handouts to contractors is acceptable for wasteful infrastructure projects but not to feed the poor?

Where is the logic in that?

Stop taxing my high SES income to feed your pork barrel politics. We are not stupid and see right though it.

How about road digging? 4 times now in 2 years outside my house. Handouts to contractors is acceptable for wasteful infrastructure projects but not to feed the poor?

Where is the logic in that?

It all adds up to the country's GDP and higher GDP means higher bonuses for the MIW. you get the logic now? ......

batman1

WHAT's the Minimum Wages for a PAP Minister in S'pore so that he won't have to sleep in HDB void deck ???

KNN that's why you need a minister for sinkie losers KNN this person will tackle the legitimate with self inflicted losers and prevent the latter from becoming poorer by having controls in place KNN

hofmann

It all adds up to the country's GDP and higher GDP means higher bonuses for the MIW. you get the logic now? ......

No, because free handouts to the poor will also raise GDP as they will spend most of it within the local economy.

Construction on the other hand results in massive outflow of dollars as the foreign workers and conglomerates repatriate their incomes

Both will boost GDP, one with more negaitve financial effects than the other.