So garment admits then that the playing field is tilted against Singaporeans in our own bloody country and we need to tilt it back.. Fuck them lah!!
It isn't tilted against Singaporeans. It's tilted against anyone who expects high wages without corresponding productivity gains. It just so happens that most Singaporeans fall into this category.
If foreigners in Singapore started demanding outrageous salaries while contributing nothing, I'm sure they'd be treated just like their Singaporean counterparts.
A commentary by managing editor Han Fook Kwang last Sunday, however, raised the point that firms might have good reason to prefer foreign candidates as workers here might lack hunger and skills.
It isn't tilted against Singaporeans. It's tilted against anyone who expects high wages without corresponding productivity gains. It just so happens that most Singaporeans fall into this category.
If foreigners in Singapore started demanding outrageous salaries while contributing nothing, I'm sure they'd be treated just like their Singaporean counterparts.
I've known since way back in the 80s and early 90s that Singaporeans are generally inferior when it comes to putting in an honest day's work and being flexible enough to accomodate changing job requirements.
This is exactly the same thing that an SME boss told me recently. He's in IT so most of his IT staff are men. He said that the Sinkie man will get 'very distracted' by phone calls from his wife/GF/Mummy when he require them to work OT. His Malaysian staff live alone so he don't have that problem with them.
However, not all FTs are like that. I've got Auusies, French, Koreans etc complaining about the long working hours and the absence of work life balance here.
We prefer to outsource the government and media to foreign talents.![]()
if dey say official working hrs is from 8-6, dey xpek 2 oso c u around after 6 ... sinkies mentality is dat dey pay u a li'l bit of moni, dey want u 2 do 4 dem mor dan wat dey pay u ...I often find it very strange that Bosses in Singapore actually "expect" their employees to do OT. I always thought that if those hours are required, then it should be in their employment contract. If a boss decides to hire a person from 8-6, then that should be what is expected of the employee. If significant amount of hours are required, then it clearly shows that the company is severely under-staffed and he/she is not willing to hire to save cost.
I often find it very strange that Bosses in Singapore actually "expect" their employees to do OT. I always thought that if those hours are required, then it should be in their employment contract. If a boss decides to hire a person from 8-6, then that should be what is expected of the employee. If significant amount of hours are required, then it clearly shows that the company is severely under-staffed and he/she is not willing to hire to save cost.
A commentary by managing editor Han Fook Kwang last Sunday, however, raised the point that firms might have good reason to prefer foreign candidates as workers here might lack hunger and skills.
Let's outsource to Obama at a fraction of Pinky's pay.
Breeding laziness not a way to solve the problem.
PAP HAS DONE WELL FOR SG AND WILL CONTINUE TO DO WELL.
SG Workers must shape up or be jobless! Quit complainng folks. Most of SG workers sucks.
PAP HAS DONE WELL FOR SG AND WILL CONTINUE TO DO WELL.
SG Workers must shape up or be jobless! Quit complainng folks. Most of SG workers sucks.