• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP has failed miserably

I'm not saying they should be culled as that is rather inhumane. However, I do believe the law of natural selection should be allowed to take its natural course.

Amongst the motley crew of under achievers, a handful will realise the error of their ways and rise to the occasion and become very successful.

So by extrapolation of your principles....we should not tax the rich a cent and let nature takes its course? There is a serious flaw in your belief ...

Taxes are fine when used for infrastructure development, defense, basic healthcare and education for the benefit of all.

However, they should never be used to fund the lazy, good for nothings of society.

Taxes are fine when used for infrastructure development, defense, basic healthcare and education for the benefit of all.

However, they should never be used to fund the lazy, good for nothings of society.

The wealthy loves to lump tjose who do not have money as lazy...:D

People who run Ponzi schemes are not rich. They have negative equity.

When it comes to infrastructure, there is no way of cheating. It's either there or it isn't.

You keep claiming that the PAP has "failed" but exactly what yardstick are you using? My yardstick is to compare Singapore with other first world countries and having experienced life in NZ, USA, UK and OZ, I'd have to say that they have been spectacularly successful in comparison.

However, the PAP members cannot walk on water or fly like superman. They are still mortal at the end of the day so "failure" is relative.

With hospitals beds lining up the corridors and in tents ...oops!...sorry that's not a structure. I rest my case.

Singapore is one of the most successful nations on earth. The government must be pretty fantastic.

Was Successful, was fantastic, but no longer, we are going down. The next generation of 'leaders' like Chan Chun Sing will pull us down even faster.

stupid sinkies, how come sinkies want to say that the next leader is Chan Chu Sing and yet do nothing to change it..luckily i stay away from stupid sinkies.

Your country next leader is Hissamuddin aka Mr Keris man.

Singapore has more millionaires per capita than anywhere else in the world so it has to be doing something right.

And take a look at the car sales figures. Where else in the world would Mercedes and BMW top the car sales charts in a country where a car costs 3 times more than anywhere else on earth.

When it comes to foreign exchange reserves, we are number 11 in the WORLD despite being a tiny nation of only 690sqkm.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_foreign-exchange_reserves

People like Leong Sze Hian may continue to bleat about the plight of the bottom echelons of society because it suits his agenda but in reality the bottom 20% aren't important as they'll never be a factor in determining the destiny of the country. These are the flotsam and jetsam of society ie worthless encumbrances that Singapore has no choice but to put up with.

I don't have details on the millionaire part, but I do hope it does not include the inflated hdb/condo. If it is, then every condo owner is a millionaire.

As for the luxury marques, it is caused by the flawed COE system. When you have to pay almost 100 grand for COE, it makes more sense to buy conti then a Chery QQ. In addition, you have failed to note that most of these purchases are through loans, sometimes up to 100%. So I doubt its really an indicator.

That bit about Foreign Reserves, I am not sure if its still there....

There is this famous American who ran a ponzi scam to cheat in stocks and equities...I can't remember his name.
The fact is, he was extremely rich but the truth is, he is a cheat.

The facts you put forward are still facts but the truth is, PAP has failed now.

Was that Madoff? He ran a huge scheme that they are still unravelling. Recently JP Morgan had to settle out of court

I don't have details on the millionaire part, but I do hope it does not include the inflated hdb/condo. If it is, then every condo owner is a millionaire.

It shouldn't, if the inflated hdb/condo is for accomodation. If it's an investment property, then it can be included in the net worth calculation.
Woiuldn't be too surprising if those property for accomodation were wrongly included in the calculation......................

With hospitals beds lining up the corridors and in tents ...oops!...sorry that's not a structure. I rest my case.

This sort of things happens in every country as it is very difficult to forecast the exact number of admissions at any one time.

The problem with frog in the well sinkies is that they have not seen enough bad governance in other first world countries.

I can assure you that whatever does go wrong in Singapore happens far more often in other parts of the world where nothing is ever done about it.

With the PAP, you can be assured that they will work very hard to fix all the issues. Not so in countries like NZ and Australia. The government will simply sweep the issue under the carpet and hope that it is forgotten before the next election.

Patients forced into corridors

By Jared Savage
5:00 AM Sunday Nov 12, 2006

Patients recovering from major surgery are being forced to sleep in the corridors of North Shore Hospital because there are no empty beds.

Elderly patients have to use bed pans in the hallway, while others sleep on medical trolleys and share pillows in the emergency department corridors in conditions described by furious visitors as "like a Third World country".

The Waitemata District Health Board has admitted that the situation is "unpleasant", but staffing shortages means little can be done to fix the problem.

Health minister apologises for patients in Royal Adelaide Hospital corridors

Updated Wed 12 Jun 2013, 3:29pm AEST

Health Minister Jack Snelling has apologised for 15 patients being moved into corridors of the Royal Adelaide Hospital on Tuesday night because of overcrowding in the emergency department.

The Health Department said it had no choice but to move patients due to an unprecedented surge in demand for treatment.

It said there were 98 patients requiring care and the hospital was unable to divert patients because other hospitals also were full.

Mr Snelling said moving the 15 patients to corridors did not harm their care, but he apologised for the disruption.

This sort of things happens in every country as it is very difficult to forecast the exact number of admissions at any one time.

Interesting,
with all the facts you put forward earlier now you ask me.

The steerman for the Singapore sampan is bringing it closer and closer towards the the brink and bring us asunder. Every ministry is falling apart at the seams and making mistakes upon mistakes. Poor planning of population growth, with more haste in taking foreigners in as citizens and taken by surprise by shortages in infrastructure. Passengers are doing the SMRT Walk pretty often, some old, some in high heels and some carrying babies in their arms. Like the MCE, everything is done in haste, resulting in chaos and haphazard damage control. Remember the ponding, housing shortage, riot and Mas Selamat? Why is this happening when everything was running like clockwork in the past? Long queues at the polyclinic since 2000 was already an indication that hospitals will run out of bed, even when there is no epidemic occurring, but what if there was one? Are hospital tents the answer?

Bad governance by those in high office who claimed they are managing the country better than their predecessors who were paid much less? LHL better reined in his ambitions and take stock of what he is doing to the country and her people or else his reign will soon be over(pun intended).

You should see what happens with the NHS in England. Underfunded and overworked, there have been quite a few cases where people were literally left to die in some dark corridor, there was one case where this patient wasn't even fed or given anything to drink, he was simply forgotten by the system, that chappie eventually died from thirst.

The steerman for the Singapore sampan is bringing it closer and closer towards the the brink and bring us asunder. Every ministry is falling apart at the seams and making mistakes upon mistakes. Poor planning of population growth lacking infrastructure, with more haste in taking in foreigners as citizens and taken in by surprise by shortages in infrastructure. Passengers are doing the SMRT Walk pretty often, some old, some in high heels and some carrying babies in their arms. Like the MCE, everything is done in haste, resulting in chaos and haphazard damage control. Remember the ponding, housing shortage, riot and Mas Selamat? Why is this happening when everything was running like clockwork in the past?

Bad governance by those in high office who claimed they are managing the country better than their predecessors who were paid much less? LHL better reined in his ambitions and take stock of what he is doing to the country and her people or else his reign will soon be over(pun intended).

Your sweeping statements are hardly backed by facts and figures. Whatever shortcomings you may see from time to time exist in other countries to a far greater degree.

You should see what happens with the NHS in England. Underfunded and overworked, there have been quite a few cases where people were literally left to die in some dark corridor, there was one case where this patient wasn't even fed or given anything to drink, he was simply forgotten by the system, that chappie eventually died from thirst.

Same thing in NZ... the health system is falling apart at the seams. If I broke my ankle and needed an operation, I'd have to wait up to 5 days before anything was done. In the meantime, I'd be languishing in some hallway because of a shortage of beds.

"Health Minister Jack Snelling has apologised for 15 patients being moved into corridors of the Royal Adelaide Hospital on Tuesday night because of overcrowding in the emergency department."

Our health minister on the other hand will point fingers at us and accuse some of putting relatives in hospitals so they can go on holidays. Don't expect our minister to eat humble pie.:rolleyes:

There's the difference.

"Health Minister Jack Snelling has apologised for 15 patients being moved into corridors of the Royal Adelaide Hospital on Tuesday night because of overcrowding in the emergency department."

Our health minister on the other hand will point fingers at us and accuse some of putting relatives in hospitals so they can go on holidays. Don't expect our minister to eat humble pie.:rolleyes:

There's the difference.

Apologies in Australian politics are a dime a dozen. They mean nothing and nothing will come of it. "Apologies" come under the same category as "promises".

Why Sinkies are so hard up for "apologies" is beyond me.