• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious PAP Good PM Lee Promises To Help Sinkies Find Good Jobs During Restructuring Of Economy! Majulah PAP!

kc-pm1101.jpg

SINGAPORE - Amid the national push to upgrade and restructure the economy, Singaporeans can be confident that there are programmes in place to help them cope with the changes, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said on Friday (Jan 11).

The journey is not easy, and many people are anxious, and may worry about their career prospects, job security and families. Older people, especially, may be more worried about new technology, he said.

"We have the resources, the plans and the resolve. We will help everybody to get through difficulties. We will help you, walk together with you to overcome these troubles," he said.

"In Singapore, we have spent a lot of effort to put in place quite comprehensive procedures, and already have some experience. So Singaporeans should have confidence."

The changes Singapore faces are unavoidable, but the way forward is to become more productive, do better jobs and earn better pay, he said, speaking to reporters after his first visit to the Careers Connect centre of Workforce Singapore in Paya Lebar, which is where jobseekers can meet career coaches and access career resources.

He also said the economy is doing well and productivity has been high, which shows the economy is not just expanding but is upgrading and improving.

But the gains are uneven, with the export-oriented sectors upgrading rapidly to stay competitive, while domestic services are slower.

The domestic sector needs attention because many of the companies are local enterprises, which employ the bulk of Singapore's workers. "We want to make sure that we have programmes to reach them and can upgrade them and the workers in them," said PM Lee.

For example, the Lean Enterprise Development Scheme helps companies improve their productivity and profitability through applying technology and becoming less reliant on labour.

PM Lee said he was visiting the facility because he wanted to see first hand the work being done to help people transition to new jobs, and meet people affected by the transformation as well as those helping them through it. He spoke with former jobseekers and their career coaches.

"I am very happy to see the enthusiasm here, and that they are seeing some results," he said.

He highlighted the growing number of people placed in jobs through Adapt and Grow programmes. There were 30,000 placements last year, a rise from 25,000 the year before.

The Adapt and Grow initiative run by statutory board Workforce Singapore (WSG) provides programmes for Singaporeans to learn new skills and adapt to changing job demands as the economy undergoes restructuring.

"If you get the help and if you make the effort, well you can navigate the journey and improve your life."

When asked how Singapore is doing on its restructuring journey, he said a lot of progress has been made.

"In eight years, our economy has grown, our productivity has gone up, our workers' wages have gone up, we have kept our unemployment down, and our employment rates have gone up, for the old people particularly, for the women also. So we've made a lot of progress."

But the journey is not over, he said. "I don't think we'll ever be done. Ten years from now, I'm sure we'll still be talking about productivity growth and upgrading, but 10 years from now, if we do our work right, we'll be in a stronger position than we are today."

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...govt-will-help-them-cope-with-job-changes-and

bobby

I think the key word is ... promise.

Biggest Broken Promise

In the realm of broken promises, the PAP has had its fair share. Singaporeans have on the whole chosen to turn a blind eye, to live and let live.

But Minister Chan Chun Sing seems to have conveniently forgotten about it. He, like PM Lee Hsien Loong, has been talking about building trust and keeping promises in recent months. Speaking at the inaugural S R Nathan Hard Seats Lecture, Chan reiterated that the key to building and maintaining trust is for leaders to be accountable and responsible, stressing: “That means making good on promises.”

Must Chan be reminded of the greatest of the promises not made good, the one that rankles the most, the one that ought to have consequences for the PAP? The promise is this: If we get paid what we want (i.e. the world’s highest salaries) we will deliver clean, efficient government, corrupt-free institutions and men and women with the highest integrity and performance.

They got exactly what they wanted. Ministerial and Civil Service salaries have been benchmarked against the top private sector earners since 1994. For a quarter century now, our politicians and top civil servants have been the world’s highest paid by a long, long mile.

Let us ask the Minister then, has the PAP made good on its promise for being rewarded with top dollar?

Costs keep going up but standards of public services (like the sluggish SMRT and the short supply of hospital beds) keep slipping. The Auditor-General has in recent years been rapping government agencies for lapses ranging from inefficient and inadequate financial controls and unauthorised investments to poor management of public funds and irregularities in contracts and procurement of services. Government agencies have been cheated and scammed, it seems, far too easily. Not only has performance been compromised, so too integrity – public servants and GLCs been been nabbed for corruption.

Over the years, the PAP has made very robust defence of the policy of paying top wages. None more robust than the speeches by Lee Kuan Yew. It’s worth revisiting what he said in Parliament in 2000, in his final very impassioned defence of the policy:

“Our market based pay and allowance give no excuse for slippage. It is the duty of Ministers and MPs of all parties to be alert, to report incidents of KKN (Corruption, Collusion, Nepotism), and to set the example by maintaining high standards in protecting the integrity of our institutions. And you need two things for Singapore’s continued well-being: strong institutions and good men to run them.”

The thrust of the promise: with such high wages, there is no excuse for slippage and Singaporeans can be assured of top notch integrity and unblemished performance.

Lee Kuan Yew put in no uncertain terms what Singaporeans get in return for paying their leaders top dollar. But today not even the PAP can argue that there has been no slippage, and that integrity has not been compromised. If fact, Singaporeans can turn around and say there has not only been slippage but dearth of accountability and dearth of solutions to problems.

Yet Ministers continue to see salaries (with provision for up to 12 months’ undisclosed bonus) befitting their performance. As Ng Eng Hen said: “I will tell you squarely in the face that you’re getting a bargain for the Ministers you get.” While Grace Fu had the cheek to warn that cutting salaries “would make it harder for anyone considering political office.”

Let’s get real. Chan Chun Sing and his colleagues cannot claim that the PAP has always made good on its promises. The title that our political leaders hold – the world’s highest paid – is an albatross around their neck because it begets the biggest broken promise of all.

borom

When these bunch of people say Singaporeans , they do not mean singapore local born.
They include also foreigners (PR's who hold foreign passports) as well as residents-meaning all and sundry here.
Remember he said that “Singapore belongs to all of us”, which he said included “Singaporeans, new arrivals, people who are on permanent residence here, people who are on employment pass here.”

In fact foreigners have more privileges like can apply HDB without serving NS, first gen PR no need to serve NS, can withdraw all CPF at 55, generous scholarships ect2.
Look at how the man treat his own nephew, brother, sister in law and sister and its clear to all what kind of person we are dealing with.
What kind of person sue people for attaching a link on FB?

Hypocrite-The

When these bunch of people say Singaporeans , they do not mean singapore local born.
They include also foreigners (PR's who hold foreign passports) as well as residents-meaning all and sundry here.
Remember he said that “Singapore belongs to all of us”, which he said included “Singaporeans, new arrivals, people who are on permanent residence here, people who are on employment pass here.”

In fact foreigners have more privileges like can apply HDB without serving NS, first gen PR no need to serve NS, can withdraw all CPF at 55, generous scholarships ect2.
Look at how the man treat his own nephew, brother, sister in law and sister and its clear to all what kind of person we are dealing with.
N yet the 70% voted for such a narcissistic 2 bit dictator. From the beginning when CAQ entered politics... something was amiss. Goh Keng Sweet was forced to step down. N later on dum dum balan n Richard Hu also step down. There was also talk about his incompetence n of course Wooden said CAQ was ready to smash n so on... For such a person to be PM is a curse on singkies n yet the 70% love him with open arms

I am very touch by the PM's assurance. Rest assured, my family and I will vote for your team in the coming elections. Majullah! :thumbsup:

blur sotong

Well said. I can't help but give you a "like" and bump up your reply!