Sinkies are fucked! Graduates no good jobs until PAP have to create 800 trainee jobs! 1,8k-2.4k salary with no CPF!

in3deep

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...t-fresh-graduate-economic-uncertainty-5306581

1755944945821.png

SINGAPORE: Up to 800 traineeships will be offered by private firms and the public sector from October amid concerns from fresh graduates about a tepid job market.

Under the Graduate Industry Traineeships (GRIT) scheme, trainee allowance will range from S$1,800 (US$1,400) to S$2,400 per month depending on the scope of each traineeship, the Ministry of Manpower (MOM), Workforce Singapore (WSG) and the Public Service Division (PSD) said in a factsheet on Friday (Aug 22).

The government will fund 70 per cent of the monthly allowance for trainees, and the host organisation will fund the remaining 30 per cent, said the agencies. Each traineeship will last between three to six months.

WSG will work together with various agencies to identify companies in growth sectors such as financial services, information and communication technology, and manufacturing and wholesale trade, the factsheet said.

Apart from placements in these private sector companies, there will be a separate GRIT@Gov scheme, which is coordinated by PSD, to support trainees in public sector agencies.

Speaking to reporters on Friday, Manpower Minister Tan See Leng said the programme is designed to help fresh graduates gain industry experience and practical skills via traineeships, which can then help them explore their career options while also raising their employability.

"One issue we have heard from graduates in their job search is that while there are jobs available, many employers are also looking for individuals with years of relevant working experience to fill them," said Dr Tan.

"But graduates cannot obviously obtain the required experience if they are not offered the opportunity in the first place."

The details on the traineeships come after Prime Minister Lawrence Wong said in his National Day Rally speech that a government-funded traineeship scheme would be launched to tackle job concerns.

It would kick off with a “more focused rollout” and be expanded if the economy worsens, he said.

The new traineeship scheme is aimed at fresh graduates from universities, polytechnics, the Institute of Technical Education and other educational institutions, the factsheet stated. Graduates with master's degrees or PhDs can also apply.

Singapore citizens and permanent residents who graduated in 2024 or 2025 are eligible for the scheme.

Those who graduated earlier but completed National Service in 2024 or 2025, and those who will only receive their qualification in 2026 but have completed their studies will also be eligible, according to the factsheet.

Trainees are encouraged to complete their stints but can exit the programme early for valid reasons, including accepting full-time roles in the same organisation or elsewhere, said the agencies.

Companies that take in trainees will not be required to make Central Provident Fund contributions or provide employee benefits because there is no employer-employee relationship involved.

Non-monetary benefits may be offered on a discretionary goodwill basis, according to the factsheet.

Applications will open from October this year, but fresh graduates can register their interest ahead of time.

The only jobs created are the trainer jobs. The PAP cronies in the education industry. :biggrin:

Daft Sinkies need to always remember this wisdom from American Uncle Ronnie. :cool:

Chenghu is not a benevolent parent figure, or a problem solver, or Santa or Fortune God bringing gifts. Wake up your idea. :wink:

So this is how modern slavery looks like. Pay u a wage that can hardly cover food and rental. Then call it an ‘opportunity’.

Wtf NS exploitation still not enough?
Pap can only think of ways to exploit sinkies.
Previously was another training program also paying less than 1k for mid career switcher that cannot find job.
Work as slave in big company for that few hundreds. Hor gau kan lo

These are not actual long-term employment opportunities, but rather a temporary training program designed to divert attention away.

Wtf NS exploitation still not enough?
Pap can only think of ways to exploit sinkies.
Previously was another training program also paying less than 1k for mid career switcher that cannot find job.
Work as slave in big company for that few hundreds. Hor gau kan lo
Old man is booking out today, samsters can try to complain

Increase to 9% GST, can only create 800 trainee positions…

Seem like we need 25% GST to help more people

Imagine in the past once you graduate, you are considered good enough for a company to take you on, train you and pay you a full time salary

But now under pap, after graduation you are not good enough and need to undergo training for a slave wage. Isn’t that what internship was for??

20 years ago when I graduated with a honours degree .. I remembered a good SME offered me a salary much higher than a lousy MNC can offer me :D

They just fuck you in other ways. I will never work for a local SME

SME looked after me much better than any lowly MNC that I ever worked in …

SME gave me a good salary as a departmental manager, fixed 13rd month & loyalty bonus with good flexible benefits :thumbsup:

More importantly the SME provided me a long term stable income :D