• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

"Oyee Oyee Oh, Tarzan Bo Cheng Ko"???

You beat me to it.
Perhaps the grandparents taught the kid but unlikely too as now kids dun speak a word of dialect

Good morning Narong. :) What's csb? I saw that in Micro's post. I still couldn't figure that out.

The Tarzan "bo cheng kor"..literally means, wear no pants & indeed Brazen wore none, only a loin cloth. The other would be, a funny rhyme to the " Oyee Oyee Oh!...it rhyme & cheekily, it refer to something else why Tarzan not wearing any pants...

Then, we have , when we see a Bayi, we shout & slap someone on the back..." Bayi CHOPE!.... ahh! bay rhyme with chope...chope from the Hindi, means silence...you see a Bayi...you keep silent..like don't pick up that bar of soap!.... ha ha ha ha

That's the first one who spotted the bayi will ask others the color of the turban.
You ask bayi simi shek first.....while pinching the guy nearest to you.
The one who can't give it give wrong answer will kena pinch.
The one who can't spot the turban or give an answer can 'chope'.....that's shouting chope and showing the V peace sign to prevent from getting pinch.

That's the first one who spotted the bayi will ask others the color of the turban.
The one who can't spot the turban or give an answer can 'chope'.....that's shouting chope and showing the V peace sign to prevent from getting pinch.

Oh Narong, so this is how the phrase "Bayi what colour" originated.

I often hear the guys saying that, but not sure why they are guessing colours. Haha :)

This actually happened a very long time ago, I was on the way to school in a private car, a Bayi was cycling next to a bus, in the bus were a couple of school boys, in those days, the buses had opened sliding windows; the boys...shouted " BAYI CHOPE" & went about slapping each other back, never mind, guessing the colour of the turban. The bus stopped at the traffic lights, for it was red...the Bayi rode abreast the bus, got up the steps of the bus & f$#$^$^$ the daylights out of the school boys....it was hilarious!...

BAYI CHOPE!....:D

You beat me to it.
Perhaps the grandparents taught the kid but unlikely too as now kids dun speak a word of dialect

This one I can vouch for, kids these days, had no knowledge of dialects....I cheekily taught a young one in Cantonese....something that rhyme with the word ' si fatt'..... this bounced back on me, when the kid Sunday School teacher from Hong Kong came to me & asked what did I teach the kid in Cantonese?? I was puzzled...the story was, she ask the kid, " you speak Cantonese"..."Yes!"...& the kid said " xxxxxx, neigh gore si fatt ( xxxxx your backside)..... it was meant to be a tete a tete between me & the kid, not to go beyond that..but kids are kids... " I went red....& said, it was meant to be a joke ..."

You beat me to it.

moi once show some clip of yester year to moi nephew...combat, mash, happy days, voyage to de bottom of de sea, lost in space...even newer one like space 1999...he look at moi with terrifying eyes...and say...uncle...how defug chiu survive childhood huan...nah beh...:mad::D

dun think can find many modern day kids impressed with yesterday year show...:p

moi once show some clip of yester year to moi nephew...combat, mash, happy days, voyage to de bottom of de sea, lost in space...even newer one like space 1999...he look at moi with terrifying eyes...and say...uncle...how defug chiu survive childhood huan...nah beh...:mad::D

dun think can find many modern day kids impressed with yesterday year show...:p

You should have shown him, Johnny W... " Oyee Oyee Oh"...or the TV Series " It's About Time"? or some technology stuff beyond their years in " Thunderbirds Go" or "The Jetsons"...kids, these days, have no imagination....

he say one punch man much better...moi disagree...den moi go watch...hey...really better wor...:D

What is " one punch man"??

jap anime...fail Chinese...but can watch jap movies and play jap games...knn...:D

moi was looking at de subtitles all de while...moi ask him lidat watch shiok meh? He say he dun look at subtitles...he understand every words dey say...wtf :D

I think "Oyee Oyee O is the local translation of the jungle calls Tarzan makes when he need to summon the assistance of his animal friends (Chita, the elephant, Simba the Lion, and I think a chimp named ??? can't remember), the series was shown on Channel 5 every Saturday afternoon and was a regular family event to gather in front of our Black& White TV and eat chestnuts. There was no goddamned person who invented the Singlsih nursery rhyme, but many people just "aped" Tarzan's call, and being SIngaporeans, this was how it turned out. If this causes goosebumps on you, wait till you hear some kid yell "Birrrrdman, and runs down the street screeching like a hawk!"

Also, if you have watched any Tarzan movies (TV or big screen) - have you ever wondered why he is always clean shaven?

............................................................................................................................................................................................................
By the way, can anyone explain what does this idiotic phrase "Oyee Oyee O, Tarzan Bo Cheng Ko" really mean??? And who's the idiot who invented this goddamned Singlish nursery rhyme!?!

I think "Oyee Oyee O is the local translation of the jungle calls Tarzan makes when he need to summon the assistance of his animal friends (Chita, the elephant, Simba the Lion, and I think a chimp named ??? can't remember), the series was shown on Channel 5 every Saturday afternoon and was a regular family event to gather in front of our Black& White TV and eat chestnuts. There was no goddamned person who invented the Singlsih nursery rhyme, but many people just "aped" Tarzan's call, and being SIngaporeans, this was how it turned out. If this causes goosebumps on you, wait till you hear some kid yell "Birrrrdman, and runs down the street screeching like a hawk!"

Also, if you have watched any Tarzan movies (TV or big screen) - have you ever wondered why he is always clean shaven?

Thanks Agro. :) I knew there was such a movie when I was young, though I didn't expect the hokkiens to bastardise the call. :)

King of the jungle in Africa and Tarzan is white! Outrageous!

[video=youtube;rtxfTEyJZg4]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rtxfTEyJZg4[/video]

Definitely! You think the animals would ever agree to their king being a chink? Chopsticks don't look cool in jungle buffets!

King of the jungle in Africa and Tarzan is white! Outrageous!......

Thanks Agro. :) I knew there was such a movie when I was young, though I didn't expect the hokkiens to bastardise the call. :)

'Bastardise' the call? I would want a word with your father and your form teacher on this ethnic profiling.