Overcrowding MRT

The real problem is increase in population and the infrastructure is not able to cope up. Not only on the buses and trains there are queue and jams everywhere. The infrastructure is just not ready and demand is outsriipping supply that is why you are witnessing price hike in hdb, erp, food, etc.

running more trains at peak hour and jamming up the end stations?

you are not solving the problems but creating more.

We the "lesser mortals" did not create this overcrowding. The PAP created this situation because of their greed for $$$.

There is really nothing we can do about it except to vote wisely & hold them accountable. If Sporeans vote in enough opposition, maybe next time around the PAP won't mess up so badly.

increase the cost of MRT by factors of 10 will reduced the number of passangers in MRT, directing peasants and cheap FT to SBS bus and thus reduced the number of people using MRT.

and the next set of complains would...... buses are getting crowded by FTs??

the buses are already crowded anyway along certain routes.

BTW, increasing the mrt fares do not solve the problem, in fact it would increase cost of living across the board.

The solution is right in front of the eye. Reduce the influx of ft and over night many problems will be solved.

I guess we all have to be patient. New MRT tations are been built and it does takes time.

Complaining wont make the stations built any faster.

I guess we all have to be patient. New MRT tations are been built and it does takes time.

if wanna make noise, make 1 hell of a noise b4 any impending erection ...

Why wait for stations to be build fast when an immediate solution is in hand and we dont need to spend billions. Reduce the influx of ft and problems will go away immediately.

http://www.straitstimes.com/PrimeNews/Story/STIStory_478692.html

Jan 18, 2010
6.39 pm
By Kevin Lim, PHOTOJOURNALIST

ST_14527586.jpg

It's that golden time of the day when things start to wind down, people head home, and friends and family start getting together. Straits Times photographers show their take on that moment in the Prime pages every Monday entitled 6.39pm.

Same predicament, different reactions for these two women. One saw the funny side of the squeeze, while the other was literally squeezed, in between the mass of bodies and the closing train doors. The scene: rush hour at Dhoby Ghaut MRT station.

and the next set of complains would...... buses are getting crowded by FTs??

the buses are already crowded anyway along certain routes.

BTW, increasing the mrt fares do not solve the problem, in fact it would increase cost of living across the board.

Yes, it would turn out to become like ERP.

It would reduce MRT passengers in the short run, but a few months later, people who used to frequently take the MRT will realise that the MRT is still their best mode of transport.

And then you see the crowd flocking back to take the trains, each of them paying the premium of the fare increases.

ST_14527586.jpg

Same predicament, different reactions for these two women. One saw the funny side of the squeeze, while the other was literally squeezed, in between the mass of bodies and the closing train doors. The scene: rush hour at Dhoby Ghaut MRT station.
u can c ze funny side of a squeez n laff @ others ... but not wen u r cot deep in n ugly squeez urself ... :eek:

Maybe public transport should be implement peak hour charge eg. extra 50 cent per tapping Ez link card during peak hour. And discount 20 cent during off peak. It will encourage maybe 5~10% people change timing using public transport.

Why wait for stations to be build fast when an immediate solution is in hand and we dont need to spend billions. Reduce the influx of ft and problems will go away immediately.

I dun think right now reducing FT will help very much.

An immediate solution is for the bastard old fart to die.

I m actually quite fearful for his death.

yes, if he dies, things might look easier. But we are talking about possible power struggle here and if the oppositions were made to look like the fall guy, it wont be helpful.

Yes, it would turn out to become like ERP.

It would reduce MRT passengers in the short run, but a few months later, people who used to frequently take the MRT will realise that the MRT is still their best mode of transport.

And then you see the crowd flocking back to take the trains, each of them paying the premium of the fare increases.

Maybe i m not thinking out of the logical box here.

Apart from building more lines and station to divert the human traffic from the more densely routes, i cant seem to see any way out in the short term.

Its not about about stations being built. It is about lines. 2 lines at City Hall, 2 lines at Raffles and one line at Orchard. To solve this problem we need more lines. We need new stations at around the three that I had mentioned to divert commuters.Probably another 10 to 15 years time, by then there will be another problems. We would by then reaching 10 millions. Life stll go on.

So much complains about the overcrowded MRTs, but how about solutions?

All the million $$ salaried Ministers cannot find the solutions for a small land mass like SINGAPORE?????

Transportation of workers over long distances requiring MRT/buses occur because the work place is too far from the residence.

NOW if the worker's residence can be as near as possible to the work place, the need to use MRT/SBS does not arise and the surging crowd disappears. But, does the PAP want to really solve this problem of overcrowding (translates into profits for their GLC/GIC pockets)? If the PAP is truly concerned for the welfare of the people, then their objective for running public services should not be for PROFIT at all. In fact, all profits generated from the GLC/GIC should not go into a non-transparent "RESERVE" for LKY's eyes only. All generated profits should go back to the STATE coffers to be spent maintance and improvements or even lowering of fares, only 10% of profits should be ploughed back for that 'rainy' day with a maximum CAP on reserves not exceeding 1 yrs operating costs.

One way is to DECENTRALISE the CBD, with all the online, WIFI etc etc. There is no need for all the law firms, banks, business houses and govt depts to be in the CBD.

For factories, they can incorporate dormitories for singles within their factories and special family units with creche/childcare services for newly married couples. Or the factory can buy up entire nearby HDB blocks to house all their employees who have the option of renting the HDB flats or lease them from the factories concerned. When they quit the company, they have to sell the flats back to the factory at the stipulated prices to prevent escalating prices of HDB flats (that is currently the case) that eat up all their CPF leaving almost nothing for retirement.

So much complains about the overcrowded MRTs, but how about solutions?

What?? Your million dollar ministers need our suggestions and solutions? Doesn't that make them chiak liao bees? (but they already are!) Do we need to tell them that reduction of ftrashs will solve the problem? Or do you want the OA to kick your ass? :D

All the million $$ salaried Ministers cannot find the solutions for a small land mass like SINGAPORE?????

Transportation of workers over long distances requiring MRT/buses occur because the work place is too far from the residence.

NOW if the worker's residence can be as near as possible to the work place, the need to use MRT/SBS does not arise and the surging crowd disappears. But, does the PAP want to really solve this problem of overcrowding (translates into profits for their GLC/GIC pockets)? If the PAP is truly concerned for the welfare of the people, then their objective for running public services should not be for PROFIT at all. In fact, all profits generated from the GLC/GIC should not go into a non-transparent "RESERVE" for LKY's eyes only. All generated profits should go back to the STATE coffers to be spent maintance and improvements or even lowering of fares, only 10% of profits should be ploughed back for that 'rainy' day with a maximum CAP on reserves not exceeding 1 yrs operating costs.

One way is to DECENTRALISE the CBD, with all the online, WIFI etc etc. There is no need for all the law firms, banks, business houses and govt depts to be in the CBD.

For factories, they can incorporate dormitories for singles within their factories and special family units with creche/childcare services for newly married couples. Or the factory can buy up entire nearby HDB blocks to house all their employees who have the option of renting the HDB flats or lease them from the factories concerned. When they quit the company, they have to sell the flats back to the factory at the stipulated prices to prevent escalating prices of HDB flats (that is currently the case) that eat up all their CPF leaving almost nothing for retirement.

Not sure you would like that, but living near an industrial area, albeit even a low-density industrial area (light manufacturing) is not the choice of many people.

Health risks and low property prices will be some problem if you situate residential areas right alongside industrial parks.

Not to mention not everyone is a white-collared worker whose workplace is an air-conditioned office that operations 8am-5pm.

sadfcuk:<<"Not sure you would like that, but living near an industrial area, albeit even a low-density industrial area (light manufacturing) is not the choice of many people.

Health risks and low property prices will be some problem if you situate residential areas right alongside industrial parks.

Not to mention not everyone is a white-collared worker whose workplace is an air-conditioned office that operations 8am-5pm. ">>

Factory operators are usually low income and staying near their workplace (factories) means not having to wake up earlier and every $ saved from expensive MRT/SBS fares counts.

Health risks (pollution) from industries, if any, would affect every Singapore whether you live 1km from a factory or 5 km given the small congested land area of Singapore.

Low Property prices?: This obsession with having high property prices is a DELUSION or drug that is being fed by the PAP to S'poreans. Unless you have several properties, high property prices mean NOTHING if you only have one roof over your head. High property prices mean only one thing, you work like a slave to your dying day for a 99 yr leased property to service your debt to HDB.

Decentralising the CBD, likewise mean white collar workers living in HDB estates also get to work near their offices (banks, govt depts, etc) now situated within HDB estates.