One year wait for specialist at public hospital.....

bro,
corrections, the boner is mere spongy tissue with lots of capillaries for the blood to fill :p

thanks for the clarification bro, I stand corrected, and hope not to have a fainting spell.................... :p

this Tay Soh Hoon is contradicting herself. by writing to the press , isn't she whining like the rest. Get real. obviously one of those arrogant but ignorant type. the situation is the same everywhere even in USA, HK, Europe. In UK it is even worse. probbaly wait 1-2 year for treatment. Do they complain? teh answer is NO!!!! I know as I stayed there for a couple of years.
for commoners like her you can't have it all. want a welfare state, then pay more taxes(still generate more complains) and even then you still wait 1 year like in UK. if the waiting time for paying and public is the same, thenwho the hell would pay more for private? such simple logic for such whiners defy explanations. Like asking why Flying first class should pay more than flying economy or why budget airlines tickets are cheap in the first place. such things also neeed to explain to people like her. too many immature people out there who thinks the whole world revolves round them. like the COE saga. no money then don't drive. no wonder the system is designed to weed out unproductive whiners like her. I hate it when people ask stupid questions like who is responsible if something happens? the answer is that you are responsible for your own health by not working hard enough, not garmen. as for me I just pay for private health care. whining is for losers. this place wouklld end up like UK once the great LKY is gone.

Why shouldn't she demand that the government provide better health care? Her taxes plus all the other deductions is comparable to taxes in the West, but the quality of health care is despicable for those who opt for the public system.
As your experience confirms, a mixed system of public and private health care doesn't work. The public system can never compete against the private health as the latter squeezes consumers so much that they can afford much higher compensation which draws doctors from the public system.
Sinkapore needs to go to the single payer system.

the boner is not a bone, it's a muscle, so it can be torn but not broken............................. :p

the boner with no bone. must be a dumb american blond who came up with that word. :p

Go malacca la. Cheap and good. My father was told that he got less than a year and need to wait 3 mths before starting chemo at SGH. We go mount e, immediately he got 75% chance and start chemo the next day.

null_zps42cdeb83.jpg

你死你的事
(in Cantonese please)

HAHAHAHA ! Give you subsidized rate liao still kpkb..slowly wait la nabei you sinkie.

Why shouldn't she demand that the government provide better health care? Her taxes plus all the other deductions is comparable to taxes in the West, but the quality of health care is despicable for those who opt for the public system.
As your experience confirms, a mixed system of public and private health care doesn't work. The public system can never compete against the private health as the latter squeezes consumers so much that they can afford much higher compensation which draws doctors from the public system.

Fully booked means fully booked. What can the hospital do?

The squeaky wheel gets the grease.

So what happens if all 10000 patients demand expedited appointments? after all, in everyone's opinion, his own illness is always serious. Just go to the A&E and see.

What talking you lah? You got read or not? The GP decides if the condition warrants immediate attention. Now, if the GP is wrong, then sue him later on.

The point remains why have to wait so long to see a specialist? Sinkapore healthcare system is supposed to be lumber 1. How can a top-notch healthcare be so screw up?

What talking you lah? You got read or not? The GP decides if the condition warrants immediate attention. Now, if the GP is wrong, then sue him later on.

The point remains why have to wait so long to see a specialist? Sinkapore healthcare system is supposed to be lumber 1. How can a top-notch healthcare be so screw up?

wont work. what will happen is the patient and family will approach the gps or polyclinic and demand the dr write condition serious and needs immediate appt. if the GP/poly dr refuses, you can be sure all hell will break loose in the clinic; with idiots like the letter writer asking who will be responsible if something happens!

tertiary hospital sue a gp for referring? plse lah! cannot lah! all hell will break loose in the SMC/MOH.

wont work. what will happen is the patient and family will approach the gps or polyclinic and demand the dr write condition serious and needs immediate appt. if the GP/poly dr refuses, you can be sure all hell will break loose in the clinic; with idiots like the letter writer asking who will be responsible if something happens!

Then you humtum back lah ...the GP who frequently send all cases as urgent will be brought before SMC for a hearing of his competency. There are always going to be kiasi and kiasu and very vocal ones. It is up to the GP to use his judgment and adhere to his professional opinion.

I not sure what you are talking about. 90% of singaporeans do NOT pay any taxes at all. Max taxation here is only about 23%. In UK you get taxes of about 45%. In australia 48%, in France highest taxation of 75%, in scandinavian countries easily50-60% income taxes and GST or VAT equivalent of 20%. in Ireland the VAT is 23%. and almost 90% of their pop pay taxes and it is duducted upfront form your pay and you still get 1 year waiting time in the NHS system. sure you want that? I know as I have stayed in all these countries before. if you squeeze the public system too much, the only option is resignation for the local good doctors. ever wonder why restructured hosps/polyclinics are full of Pinoys, FT, indians and bangladeshi doctors? because nobody likes to work in a system taht just piles more and more. you think these indians/pinoys/banla are good? far from it. the good ones are in USA or australia. here we get the rejects. infact 99% of all pinoys docs failed their US exams and can only practice as nurses.
http://allnurses.com/certified-registered-nurse/foreign-mds-becoming-61376-page2.html

not such thing as cheap and good like what the former ministar said. they can't even talk dialects and my poor mum-in -law suffers from over testing. moreover alot of them brings in their arrogant shitty attitude where they think doctors are king(as in back home in india/pinoyland/banglaland). all these told tyo me by the locals docs. go figure it yourself

the same in all first world countries public health care. maybe with exception of france.

Nope you are wrong at least in the case of Canada. While I was there I had an accident fracturing my femures which required surgery & I got the operation 2 days later. I had the accident on a Friday afternoon & it took them time to Xray & diagnose the problem & assemble the team for the operation on a Sunday.

excellent point. that's why every sinkie thinks the whole UNIVERSE(not world) revolves around him/her. that's why A&E is crowded ALL the time . you even get stupid sinkie who go to A&E for mosquito bite or small cuts. pity the genuine case like the dengue young man who waited in vain. fully booked mean full even some hosp have corridor beds!!! ie overcapacity. reasons stupid people do not see (even thou they have eyes) is the same reason why MRT are crowded. to hell with 8 millions rats

i get instant appointment with my butt specialist, drs. yoni shakyalingam. :D

excellent point. that's why every sinkie thinks the whole UNIVERSE(not world) revolves around him/her. that's why A&E is crowded ALL the time . you even get stupid sinkie who go to A&E for mosquito bite or small cuts. pity the genuine case like the dengue young man who waited in vain. fully booked mean full even some hosp have corridor beds!!! ie overcapacity. reasons stupid people do not see (even thou they have eyes) is the same reason why MRT are crowded. to hell with 8 millions rats

Shows the hospital is 3rd world. In first world hospital, there is a triage nurse in emergency to categorize the need of patients. So, the guy who has a mozzie bite will wait for hours while the one with an abdominal pain will get seen sooner.
Why are we spending so much on hospitals when we can't even have it staff adequately?

I not sure what you are talking about. 90% of singaporeans do NOT pay any taxes at all. Max taxation here is only about 23%. In UK you get taxes of about 45%. In australia 48%, in France highest taxation of 75%, in scandinavian countries easily50-60% income taxes and GST or VAT equivalent of 20%. in Ireland the VAT is 23%. and almost 90% of their pop pay taxes and it is duducted upfront form your pay and you still get 1 year waiting time in the NHS system. sure you want that?

Hello, you forgot about cpf and medisave deductions. And the rich can afford to pay more. See link below.
http://thehearttruths.com/2013/08/23/how-are-taxes-built-for-the-rich-in-singapore/
In those countries you cited, their taxes cover more than just health care ...there is a host of social services provided for the taxes paid.
The NHS started to go downhill after private healthcare was allowed. See my point?
I think that people should not have to worry about bills when they are hit by illness. And paying the taxes is like buying health insurance.

I know as I have stayed in all these countries before. if you squeeze the public system too much, the only option is resignation for the local good doctors. ever wonder why restructured hosps/polyclinics are full of Pinoys, FT, indians and bangladeshi doctors? because nobody likes to work in a system taht just piles more and more. you think these indians/pinoys/banla are good?
If there was NO private system, where would the doctors go? They either work here or leave.
The public system is facing the pressure because of the parallel private system. Our tax dollars are spent to train the doctors and after serving for 6 years, they leave for the private sector because of the compensation.

not such thing as cheap and good like what the former ministar said. they can't even talk dialects and my poor mum-in -law suffers from over testing. moreover alot of them brings in their arrogant shitty attitude where they think doctors are king(as in back home in india/pinoyland/banglaland). all these told tyo me by the locals docs. go figure it yourself

There is cheap and good ....look at the scandinavian countries. For the extra taxes they pay, they get a host of freebies which if they have to buy in the private sector, they wouldn't be able to afford most of them.
I am for higher taxes to provide for good healthcare for all and safety net.

you never realise how good, efficient and competent our medical care is until you yourself met with a medical emergency. after the event, you will come here and kiss the ground of singapore and write tons to praise the doctors and our healthcare system. you will even come here to rebut those who run down our healthcare system here.

we have one of the best healthcare systems in the world and we have one of the best healthcare financing schemes in the world.

we are a model to the world.

good points. The fact is when you call up.for appointment
it is the operator that give you the date based on availability
not a doctor. Like the time I called up for my neighbor...they say
6 months....how does the operator at call center know that my
neighbor can.afford to wait 6 months?