• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

One in four chances of finding work in Canada

Hock

This chap is immigrating to canada after living for 22 years in Australia.

http://www.canadavisa.com/canada-im.../canada-or-australia-migration-t14527.30.html

I live in Australia and moving to Canada now, so I can share these points very well (I think).

Canada:
1) Cheaper to live
2) More opportunities and more interesting things to do in Canada and also near USA
3) North America in general is a better place for Business Owners especially
4) Cheaper schools
5) Much cheaper food & electronics, clothing..etc
6) Housing price (Vancouver) is more or less same as Sydney (Australia); but Toronto & Montreal are much cheaper than Australia
7) Rental in generally is much cheaper in Canada (around 20% to 30% less)
Cars are much cheaper in North America

But the weather is a factor, Canada has longer winter time, although. hardly snow in Vancouver. Australia is freaking hot every year, summers can be as long as 6 months, and it is really hot, this has added to huge costs for utilities.

Australia
1) Job market "seems" to be better than North America now, but it can be a misperception, a lot of jobs do not even exist in Australia especially those relating to IT, Multimedia, Hi-Tech industries. For instance, if you are in network or telecommunications or semiconductors, then it will be hard to find job in Australia, so make sure your skills are relevant to Australiane economy.
2) Cost of living in Australia is a joke, it has been rising every year and is now catching up to Europe. Food is especially expensive here because of fewer competition, high petrol price.
3) Racism is not really an issue in Australia or Canada, back in 1980s and 1990s, it was a big problem. Although, I do not find Australians as "open-minded" as Canadians in terms of accepting other cultures in some rural areas and cities. Generally, it is OK.
4) Not a great place to be a business owner, but a better place to be an "Employee"
5) Do not be fooled that people are laid-back in Australia, living cost is high, so many people have 2 jobs or double-income families; you have to work hard either in Canada or Australia.
6) Utilities bills have skyrocketed over the past few years unfortunately.
7) Very far away from the rest of the world and not many cities to visit in Australia, travel & accomodation costs are very expensive compared to North America. It is close to Asia though if you like to visit Asia regularly (min. 7 hours flight).

I have lived here for over 20 years; the living cost is what has driven many people leaving for overseas, that said, Australia is growing, but at a cost of many benefits; family benefits are not as good as before, fundamentally, it is a small country (population wise), and this means higher cost of living.

Rental cost is very high here, it is normal to see rental A$500/week just for a 2-bedroom apartment in some not-so-good areas.

Interest rate here is also about 3 to 4% higher than Canada, and housing is actually more expensive.

Visit both countries first, go to realestate.com.au to get an idea for property market in Australia.

Both are great countries; I am more in favor of Canada as I like colder weather; and most of my businesses are outside Australia anyway.

chewed

http://www.canadavisa.com/canada-im.../canada-or-australia-migration-t14527.30.html

I live in Australia and moving to Canada now, so I can share these points very well (I think).

Canada:
1) Cheaper to live
2) More opportunities and more interesting things to do in Canada and also near USA
4) Cheaper schools
6) Housing price (Vancouver) is more or less same as Sydney (Australia); but Toronto & Montreal are much cheaper than Australia

But the weather is a factor, Canada has longer winter time, although. hardly snow in Vancouver. Australia is freaking hot every year, summers can be as long as 6 months, and it is really hot, this has added to huge costs for utilities.

Australia
1) Job market "seems" to be better than North America now, but it can be a misperception, a lot of jobs do not even exist in Australia especially those relating to IT, Multimedia, Hi-Tech industries. For instance, if you are in network or telecommunications or semiconductors, then it will be hard to find job in Australia, so make sure your skills are relevant to Australiane economy.
2) Cost of living in Australia is a joke, it has been rising every year and is now catching up to Europe. Food is especially expensive here because of fewer competition, high petrol price.
3) Racism is not really an issue in Australia or Canada, back in 1980s and 1990s, it was a big problem. Although, I do not find Australians as "open-minded" as Canadians in terms of accepting other cultures in some rural areas and cities. Generally, it is OK.
4) Not a great place to be a business owner, but a better place to be an "Employee"
5) Do not be fooled that people are laid-back in Australia, living cost is high, so many people have 2 jobs or double-income families; you have to work hard either in Canada or Australia.
7) Very far away from the rest of the world and not many cities to visit in Australia, travel & accomodation costs are very expensive compared to North America. It is close to Asia though if you like to visit Asia regularly (min. 7 hours flight).

I have lived here for over 20 years; the living cost is what has driven many people leaving for overseas, that said, Australia is growing, but at a cost of many benefits; family benefits are not as good as before, fundamentally, it is a small country (population wise), and this means higher cost of living.

Rental cost is very high here, it is normal to see rental A$500/week just for a 2-bedroom apartment in some not-so-good areas.

Interest rate here is also about 3 to 4% higher than Canada, and housing is actually more expensive.

Visit both countries first, go to realestate.com.au to get an idea for property market in Australia.

Both are great countries; I am more in favor of Canada as I like colder weather; and most of my businesses are outside Australia anyway.

this guy is not very smart, for A$495 a week, you can rent this in Ashburton, Melbourne, which is a pretty decent suburb

6479467_1_FS.JPG

Aussie Prick

Canada:
1) Cheaper to live
4) Cheaper schools

Australia

This is exactly what I have been saying for over 2 years. Yes Australia is an amazing country but its just too expensive and the opportunities there are drying up.

neddy

Good for you. Tell us how things are in Canada.
I think we are beginning to see some of the disadvantage of Australia being too close to China. Too much hot money coming to Australia, but not into my wallet.

If China do not go into a Jap-type recession within the next 5 years, I will move to Tassie or NZ. Canada too cold for me. :biggrin:

Interestingly the global financial crisis has helped a lot of countries except Australia where the cost of living has been rising relentlessly without a break.

You now hear more stories of people heading to US and Canada. China indeed is fueling the rise.

This is exactly what I have been saying for over 2 years. Yes Australia is an amazing country but its just too expensive and the opportunities there are drying up.

Good for you. Tell us how things are in Canada.
I think we are beginning to see some of the disadvantage of Australia being too close to China. Too much hot money coming to Australia, but not into my wallet.

If China do not go into a Jap-type recession within the next 5 years, I will move to Tassie or NZ. Canada too cold for me. :biggrin:

kingrant

An illegal immigrant or a refugee is in a more privileged position than a bona fide migrant waiting in the queue. It is by law necessary for the govt to grant him a chance to appeal even when he was least thinking of it, much less thinking he would succeed. During the long long wait for his case to be called. he is covered by health care services, freedom to move about as he pleases, and entitled to due process of law.

Canada does have issues in recent decades with higher than expected unemployment among migrants. However there a number of factors and one is the liberal dependency based migrations such as marriage and extended families which were more liberal than other emigrant destination countries.

Canada has 2 well established migrant trails which are seldom published in the name of political correctnesss. - the HK and the Sikh exodus where the qualification of dependents are not up to standards. The medical degrees from India for instance is an issue.

Singaporeans do not have to worry. I have yet to hear of qualified Singaporeans failing to cut he mustard. Anyway with such a resource rich country, a determined individual can succeed.

neddy

Interestingly the global financial crisis has helped a lot of countries except Australia where the cost of living has been rising relentlessly without a break.

You now hear more stories of people heading to US and Canada. China indeed is fueling the rise.

I am in a situation where I can move to another place easily. Compared to getting out of Singapore, which is tough because of the numerous restrictions.

I have the flexibility to come back to Perth if I want to.

It is ridiculous to sell my properties at high prices and continue buying at even higher (unsubstained) prices still. Better move to a cheaper place, and have the option to return later when prices are more sensible.

I want to sell out in 6-8 months when the properties completed.

I am similarly mobile. I doubt that housing prices are going to correct as the rise has been steady. Only 2 things can bring the housing prices down - (1) China's economy falters and or (2) Australia's immigration policy is curtailed significantly. The education policy is also fueling the housing market as those with study visa can buy property for the duration and the like the Indonesian families this will go on from one kid to another until they secure PR.

What I foresee is that there will tremendous pressure to subdivide on the planning authority and council. The rentals are also high so you might want to hold to the landed property and rent it out. Sell the strata properties as these are impacted more. Landed property closer to the city can hold very well in the worst of times as it is finite.

I am in a situation where I can move to another place easily. Compared to getting out of Singapore, which is tough because of the numerous restrictions.

It is ridiculous to sell my properties at high prices and continue buying at even higher (unsubstained) prices still. Better move to a cheaper place, and have the option to return later when prices are more sensible.

chewed

I am similarly mobile. I doubt that housing prices are going to correct as the rise has been steady. Only 2 things can bring the housing prices down - (1) China's economy falters and or (2) Australia's immigration policy is curtailed significantly. The education policy is also fueling the housing market as those with study visa can buy property for the duration and the like the Indonesian families this will go on from one kid to another until they secure PR.

What I foresee is that there will tremendous pressure to subdivide on the planning authority and council. The rentals are also high so you might want to hold to the landed property and rent it out. Sell the strata properties as these are impacted more. Landed property closer to the city can hold very well in the worst of times as it is finite.

i think you're wrong on that 1st pt.

one of the reason that many Asian migrants came over to Australia is due to the fact that the economy is rather insulated against the GFC aka the shit.

now that Asia ie China is increasing it's production output again, quite some of these migrants, are going back to CHina where the $$$ is.

together with the clamping down on migrant quota, the real estate market should see some downward pressure

China's demand and industrial output is driving price of minerals sky high. As OZ supplies China's need significantly in the sector, prices for all things in OZ is following including housing prices. The Australian dollar is called a "commodity currency" for this very reason - heavily influenced by the price of mineral resources. OZ top 2 largest exports by dollar value are Iron Ore and Coal and the biggest buyers are the Chinese.

I do however agree that its economy is not tied to the events of GFC.

one of the reason that many Asian migrants came over to Australia is due to the fact that the economy is rather insulated against the GFC aka the shit.

now that Asia ie China is increasing it's production output again, quite some of these migrants, are going back to CHina where the $$$ is.

together with the clamping down on migrant quota, the real estate market should see some downward pressure

Aussie Prick

Then you are indeed fortunate - but I dont think your property prices will become "more sensible" anytime soon. Simply put, until Australia sorts out its chronic housing shortages property will always be "costly". I think you might make more money than you realize but I notice you see replacement costs might be a factor in the future.

Another question I see you asking now - is this sustainable? Now that is the question.

neddy

1. More Chinese are coming because they are buying up Aussie resource companies, including that silly Chinaman who was caught with underage pornographic materials. He is here on instructions to spend spend spend on asset asset ass.

2. The GFC is ran thru its course in a different part of the world. The part where China-USA are like 2 hands c/slapping each other is over. USA came out the loser. hahaha
The second game involve China-Aus. The hands will clap until China has the upper hand in vertical integration, and Aus finish worse off.

3. China is playing a dangerous game. Its property bubble will burst anytime, bringing Australia along.

neddy

Then you are indeed fortunate - but I dont think your property prices will become "more sensible" anytime soon. Simply put, until Australia sorts out its chronic housing shortages property will always be "costly". I think you might make more money than you realize but I notice you see replacement costs might be a factor in the future.

Another question I see you asking now - is this sustainable? Now that is the question.

how can property prices be "more sensible" if Gorgan coolies workers earning insane amount will be snapping up properties like they won lottery. Worse, engineers are earning $250k up!

That is why the bikie gangs are coming to town to grab the lottery wealth!!! I need to invest in the 3 Bs ... beer companies, brothels and bars, to have a cut from the $52 billion wealth.

What replacement cost? My math no good but I can smell a rat faster than a Chinese developer in China.

Chronic housing shortages will be around for a long time, thanks to council urban planners. I have been getting calls from agents to see if I am interested in buying land in Perth. - You know what that means. No one is buying the overpriced land. Last time, agents don't even bother to entertain my calls!!!!

No one is building houses ???? because my developer has the Midland bricks at low price and tell me he is putting roofs on his other project (6 month completion) and he can speed up mine. (no other project???)

What is sustainability? If your buyers has to ask the bank for 100% loan. Die lah! Better sell off-the-plan.

chewed

1. More Chinese are coming because they are buying up Aussie resource companies, including that silly Chinaman who was caught with underage pornographic materials. He is here on instructions to spend spend spend on asset asset ass.

2. The GFC is ran thru its course in a different part of the world. The part where China-USA are like 2 hands c/slapping each other is over. USA came out the loser. hahaha
The second game involve China-Aus. The hands will clap until China has the upper hand in vertical integration, and Aus finish worse off.

3. China is playing a dangerous game. Its property bubble will burst anytime, bringing Australia along.

I think the number of PRCs coming overer in the next year or so will not be the same numbers that came in 07-09 due to the fact that they are reducing immigration intake.

and for those that came over, the very same numbers are going back to mainland China cos the economy is "recovering" and there is money to be made there, rather than in Australia.

and thats why i said there will be some downward pressure in the medium term.

neddy

I think the number of PRCs coming overer in the next year or so will not be the same numbers that came in 07-09 due to the fact that they are reducing immigration intake.

and for those that came over, the very same numbers are going back to mainland China cos the economy is "recovering" and there is money to be made there, rather than in Australia.

Let's hope so.

naori

Glad you found out the actual facts about GIS, if not you will be taken for a ride by Charlie. I recommend that you start investing in RRSP because whatever OAS and GIS payment you receive from the government won't get you very far. If it does, why do you think the banks are doing a roaring business in RRSPs?

I'm not even going to comment about that $300 rental housing bullshit from Charlie. As you pointed out, this is 2010, no where in Canada you can find rental housing for $300 a month, to debate with Charlie will be a waste of my time. I think I've done my part in informing the potential migrant that there is no such thing in Canada :biggrin:

Well $300 doesn't get you a rental house it gets you a room in Vancouver I can't say much about other places.

Canada is a big place, there are cheaper places other than Vancouver & Toronto. Even in those cities you can choose cheap(er) or more expesive places.

Compared to Spore where the only option for "cheap" housing is the "subsidised" HDB :rolleyes:

I wonder what someone relying on CPF, $300/ month, can get in Spore :confused:

IWC2006

Mainland chinese dominates 19% of the world's human population. Even just 0.1% migrating is enough to flood a small country with sizeable populations.