• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

on HDB pigeon holes and private properties...

something caught my attention as me read the StatesTimes recently and there was this article by a guy by the name of Daniel Tong W.J. the article was primarily a question that was posed on the different rules being applied on concurrent HDB and private housing ownership.

he mentioned something about HDB owners being able to hold on to their HDB as they upgrade to private property, but owners of private housing having to let go of their private property once they down-grade to a HDB. why different sets of rules on HDB ownership?

was thinking Daniel is stressing that if HDB doesn't allow dual-ownership of HDB and private property for private property owners, the same rule should apply to those HDB up-graders.

would the pool of dual-property owners affect the market that much? or the ruling should be blanketed across the board? your views?

My humble take...property prices going to crash in next 12-18 months. Dump them like Ron Sim who is going to dump his GCB. Lots of them are dumping too. Sun Ho and Con Hee will be dead if they dun dump their Sentosa Cove now. The crash is looming...

I am waiting to buy.

I used to think like that, but not any more. The property market will keep defying gravity as long as there is a steady inward migration.
Contrary to official statements there is no appreciable stemming of inward migration.

I used to think like that, but not any more. The property market will keep defying gravity as long as there is a steady inward migration.
Contrary to official statements there is no appreciable stemming of inward migration.

This time with the TDSR, the market is surely affected big time.

Maybe, maybe not.

TDSR is an issue for Sporns not FTs. Cash-rich PRCs and Indians will keep dumping cash into our property market.
This is especially so for the Indians given the weakness of the rupee and their need for a safe-haven currency.

Everyday I notice more and more Indians and PRCs in our midst, certainly not less. It can't be my imagination! :(

Maybe, maybe not.

TDSR is an issue for Sporns not FTs. Cash-rich PRCs and Indians will keep dumping cash into our property market.
This is especially so for the Indians given the weakness of the rupee and their need for a safe-haven currency.

Everyday I notice more and more Indians and PRCs in our midst, certainly not less. It can't be my imagination! :(
Eventually the gushes of rich prc and ah nehs will dry up as their homelands suffer from deep recession, and as they are attracted to other countries. Last time it was the honkies and Indons. No trend last forever.

something caught my attention as me read the StatesTimes recently and there was this article by a guy by the name of Daniel Tong W.J. the article was primarily a question that was posed on the different rules being applied on concurrent HDB and private housing ownership.

he mentioned something about HDB owners being able to hold on to their HDB as they upgrade to private property, but owners of private housing having to let go of their private property once they down-grade to a HDB. why different sets of rules on HDB ownership?

was thinking Daniel is stressing that if HDB doesn't allow dual-ownership of HDB and private property for private property owners, the same rule should apply to those HDB up-graders.

would the pool of dual-property owners affect the market that much? or the ruling should be blanketed across the board? your views?

This rule is designed to prevent HDB market from becoming overinflated, while allowing private property market to go up to as much as it wants. You see, when someone already owns HDB, he has already put his money into the HDB market so he can't affect it anymore. But when someone only own private, and he wants to play HDB market, he can affect the HDB market with his new purchase. The rule is to discourage that.

Unfortunately, this has not worked, because both markets go up together in a vicious cycle of inter-reinforcement./

if me read Daniel correctly, he probably found someone living in the private property and renting out the HDB :D:D:D

This happened for a long time. The rental yield from that HDB property is much much better than FD plus the potential (& mostly realisable) capital gain, the returns is unbelieveable.

I have always wonder why the government allows such practices.

Market crash market crash market crash. I have been hearing this since 2010. Today I still see ulu 99 years private property selling above $1200psf. I will believe the market crash only when I see it.

for some unknown reasons, this issue is picking up once again...

There are a lot of people, foreigners included, taking advantage of loopholes in the system. Our housing system is really screwed up. Want to release supply, one group will suffer, want to tighten supply, another group will suffer. Meanwhile, FTs can own pty, rent it out, sell for a profit after several years and then fuck off. Where got justice in this.

Read somewhere the govt is thinking of building underground cities. KNN nicole highway also cannot build properly, want to build underground cities.

I wonder how will they price the underground land. But no matter, it will still be left hand go into right hand, unless PAP is voted out once and for all.

I just read on cpf website that hdb owner buying second property from private market must at least have half the minimum sum inside his/her cpf OA, the only cpf fund the buyer can use for the second property is the excess from the half MS. So buyer cannot use pay second property using cpf till the maximum as every July MS adjust for inflation. So can use cpf for installments only but cannot use it for deposit unless have at least 200k inside OA after hdb flat fully repay.

Only possible for high income earners only.