• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Nursing is a profession - Prof Satkunanantham

SINGAPORE: Singapore's Director of Medical Services in the Ministry of Health has paid tribute to the role of nurses in Singapore's healthcare system.

Writing on the Health Ministry's Facebook page, Professor K Satkunanantham said he had to write the post as a doctor and as the Director of Medical Services, because of the events that unfolded over the last couple of days.

He stressed that nursing is not a job that just anybody can do - it is a profession.

Prof Satku explained that it takes a special kind of person to be a nurse - someone who is compassionate, caring, and who is willing to put the interests of others above their own.

He said nurses are often specially trained, and need to keep up with new developments in their field.

They work in difficult situations, and have to remain professional in the face of challenges.

As a surgeon, Prof Satku said he has worked with very highly-trained nurses, without whom much of his work would have been impossible.

In the operating theatre, nurses ensure that the most complex operations are carried out smoothly.

In the wards, nurses work to ensure the well-being of patients and continue to do so long after everyone else has gone home.

Prof Satku said nurses are often under-appreciated and taken for granted.

He said Singapore's healthcare system would not function without nurses as hospitals, clinics and hospices rely on them.

Prof Satku thanked all those in the nursing profession.

On Friday, on the concluding day of the debate on the White Paper, Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean issued a corrigendum to the document in Parliament in relation to footnote 12 on page 40 of the White Paper.

The footnote included two sentences - "Certain low-skilled jobs like personal services, retail, and nursing are hard to offshore. They will still be needed even as the economy upgrades".

Mr Teo said this segment will be deleted.

Mr Teo said this classification of low-skilled jobs is not correct and apologised to those whose professions have been unintentionally misrepresented.

Mr Teo said he personally has the greatest respect for the nursing profession. He said it is a noble and caring profession that all depend on and appreciate.

Mr Teo said the matter was brought to his attention by friends in the nursing profession and unions.
- CNA/xq

Morning kopi...hor boh? people say i am u leh...how..

samsengkia, people here in this forum, always say such things
any newbie that comes here and expresses some alternative views
is considered kopi unless proven otherwise
nevermind lah, i will adopt a very low profile and only say good things in the year of the snake...

don't worry okay...steady steady and move steadily in this snaky year...HUAT!!!!

SamSengKia

samsengkia, people here in this forum, always say such things
any newbie that comes here and expresses some alternative views
is considered kopi unless proven otherwise
nevermind lah, i will adopt a very low profile and only say good things in the year of the snake...

don't worry okay...steady steady and move steadily in this snaky year...HUAT!!!!

kopi sir must have many enemies ah...ranging from that stupid Sarong to AK and many others ah...

Look at all the doggies crawling out of the woodwork in full force to do damage control for the pappies. :rolleyes:

Why not just be honest and admit that you despise nurses. Outsourcing nursing jobs to cheap FTs and depressing wages for everyone is just one of the way you despise the nursing profession.

kopi sir must have many enemies ah...ranging from that stupid Sarong to AK and many others ah...

this is a very powerful forum
controlled by very powerful groups
warlords and godfathers
don't worry about them
just say what you want
don't be afraid
we have a very fair and just BOSS
he will take good care of good forummers
so don't worry...HUAT AH!!!!

you walk into an ICU, who are running the show - the nurses
you walk into an operating theatre, who are running the show - the nurses
you walk into a hospice, who are running the show - the nurses
you walk into any busy ward, who are running the show - the nurses

if you want to see a doctor or even speak to a houseman you have to wait ...and then " doctor too busy to talk to you..." doctors are very clever to avoid talking to relatives...they can't handle such delicate situations...

some of the nursing officers are better equipped and more knowledgeable than some arrogant doctors ....without the nurses and the nursing officers, the hospital might as well shut down...

a little respect and appreciation for the nursing profession will go a long way....HUAT AH!!!!!

Prof....the minister & the scholars look down on NURSES..period!! they thumb their noses up on them & with stiff upper lips..they say they are lowly. Now we know, what kind of people we have, they have inadvertently let the cat out of the bag.

Wildfire

Yes Uncle, I agree ...

Nursing is a profession, so is prostitution!

With 6:9, will the floodgate opens for them too!

LoL ... Happy New Year!

OMG! when you speak and present something important in parliament, don't you read with more care and with more scrutiny....and you have to do a U turn so soon and apologise for your "misjudgement".....oh dear....HUAT AH!!!!!!!!!!

You need to have a Medical Director to come forward to appease the nursing profession...smooth the ruffled feathers and calm down the storm which was created.....quite sad ...

Fook Seng

I have only one question. Who according to that scholar is not a low-skilled but professional person? I need an honest answer.

griffin

SINGAPORE: Singapore's Director of Medical Services in the Ministry of Health has paid tribute to the role of nurses in Singapore's healthcare system.

Writing on the Health Ministry's Facebook page, Professor K Satkunanantham said he had to write the post as a doctor and as the Director of Medical Services, because of the events that unfolded over the last couple of days.

On Friday, on the concluding day of the debate on the White Paper, Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean issued a corrigendum to the document in Parliament in relation to footnote 12 on page 40 of the White Paper.

The footnote included two sentences - "Certain low-skilled jobs like personal services, retail, and nursing are hard to offshore. They will still be needed even as the economy upgrades".

Mr Teo said this segment will be deleted.

Mr Teo said this classification of low-skilled jobs is not correct and apologised to those whose professions have been unintentionally misrepresented.
- CNA/xq

The idiot who drafted this portion of the White Paper and the fool who vetted it must have their bonuses cut. Will the government do it?

Sir_Fcuk

Lunch Corporal
if you want to see a doctor or even speak to a houseman you have to wait ...and then " doctor too busy to talk to you..." doctors are very clever to avoid talking to relatives...they can't handle such delicate situations...

some of the nursing officers are better equipped and more knowledgeable than some arrogant doctors ....without the nurses and the nursing officers, the hospital might as well shut down...

a little respect and appreciation for the nursing profession will go a long way....HUAT AH!!!!!

A short while ago you were singing praises of Dr Koh Poh Koon like he was a son of god. Now you are into nurses. What's next?