• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

NS Man who refused to downgrade

Think might be possible. During BMT, there are a few of these super 'siao on' in my company. KNN, the whole section 'pa kart' already not to do more than 6 pull up. Everyone very steady except these super 'siao on'. As usual, they POP to go OCS.

Must be Cpt. GMS. Now he can't even pull-up 1.

Even though I persistently failed my IPPT, I still miss NS alot.

When you hold on to your 'wife' and starts shooting, the feeling is damn liberating!:D

Yeah man, shooting is the best. The best of the best is police night shoot. It's not like rifle night shoot with tracer. It's one hand with revolver and the other with torchlight in a dark room. Then flash your torchlight to find the target and shoot. More exciting stuff than Jackie Chan police story movies. Then there's obstacle course shooting. You run across the field through a mini obstacle course (not as tough as standard obstacle course, just to simulate chasing criminal) before you reach the range and start shooting in all kinds of positions, prone, kneel, behind wall etc. You're armed with 10 bullets. The first must only be fired after you cleared the obstacles. The last 5 must only be fired when you reach within the last 5 metres of the target, practically stand and fire point blank execution style.

The shit comes when you have to go and find and pick back your spent shells to account for your bullets fired. There's a reason for this. I believe army may practise this too whenever practicable. It's to prevent police or soldiers holding back fire pretending to have fired but keep bullets for private use.

IPPT is best. Extra bonus S$400 to collect. :) :D

Yeah man, shooting is the best. The best of the best is police night shoot. It's not like rifle night shoot with tracer. It's one hand with revolver and the other with torchlight in a dark room. Then flash your torchlight to find the target and shoot. More exciting stuff than Jackie Chan police story movies. Then there's obstacle course shooting. You run across the field through a mini obstacle course (not as tough as standard obstacle course, just to simulate chasing criminal) before you reach the range and start shooting in all kinds of positions, prone, kneel, behind wall etc. You're armed with 10 bullets. The first must only be fired after you cleared the obstacles. The last 5 must only be fired when you reach within the last 5 metres of the target, practically stand and fire point blank execution style.

The shit comes when you have to go and find and pick back your spent shells to account for your bullets fired. There's a reason for this. I believe army may practise this too whenever practicable. It's to prevent police or soldiers holding back fire pretending to have fired but keep bullets for private use.
Army don't have lah. So many rounds in a magazine. Just clear whatever empty shells you can find and put in a sandbag. After that, all fall in and 'sompah'. 'Sompah' is lead by a PC and goes something like this, I, rank, name, IC no. blah blah .....declared I do not have any....in my pocession, SIR'. Still remember, the last word 'SIR' must shout out very loud some more. Then all go back 3 toner.

You kidding right? I enjoy range as well but I wouldnt want to go thru all the shit just so I can fire a gun.

Some of my mates back then were looking forward to overseas reservist because of the R & R....
I told them hell man, I wont waste 3 weeks in the field just to get 3 days of R & R....I just buy an airticket.

Why dont they have shooting ranges in sgp for target practise like those gun shops in US?

I missed those times. Police standard issue mp5 is most fun. See those 9mm poking holes damn shiok.

Army don't have lah. So many rounds in a magazine. Just clear whatever empty shells you can find and put in a sandbag. After that, all fall in and 'sompah'. 'Sompah' is lead by a PC and goes something like this, I, rank, name, IC no. blah blah .....declared I do not have any....in my pocession, SIR'. Still remember, the last word 'SIR' must shout out very loud some more. Then all go back 3 toner.

OIC. Think a lot of jungle training, not practicable to demand trainees to find and pick back the spent shells. Police has rifle training too (to standby for anti-riot red bus or sniper duty). Police doesn't have range big enough for long distance rifle shooting like 300m. My time, SPF borrowed SAF Maju Camp. The magazine was 30 rounds. But still yes, we were required to go find and pick back the shells for the count. But police rifle training of course can't be compared to army in jungle terrain.

No lah again. BMT only rifle range and is favorite because it's a time wasting exercise. Recruits go fire by details. Detail 1, detail 2 etc. The rest just wait in the training shed waiting for their detail to be called out. Recruits love range cos' got canteen break and smoking break. Also can pretend to sleep with the eyes open. Night firing lagi no need to say. All the above are referring to the normal and chow keng recruits. Best of the best is grenade throwing. Knn, spend one whole day just to wait for your turn to throw a grenade which is over in less than 10 seconds.

I'm sceptical. Probably staged propaganda ........

Pure propaganda by the spin doctors at ST. For every misguided idiot like him, there are thousands who can't wait to get downgraded and to stay downgraded. We don't see ST reporting on those.

refuse to downgrade... ok sounds heroic at first, BUT at the expense of your own LIFE, sinkie!

Pure propaganda by the spin doctors at ST. For every misguided idiot like him, there are thousands who can't wait to get downgraded and to stay downgraded. We don't see ST reporting on those.

I've been very frank about this. If I could get downgraded and exempted from NS, I'd say thank you, doctor. But fact was, I was classified PES A. An army posting would probably mean a very tough vocation. So I ran to PA. They said I couldn't choose, it all depended on CMPB, unless I would choose to sign on. So I did.

Five years instead of two years, but with regular pay instead of NS pay. Fuck it. Take it. Save some money and five years later, fuck off. That I did too.

I've been very frank about this. If I could get downgraded and exempted from NS, I'd say thank you, doctor.......

We do what we need to do, to mitigate a tough/bad situation. Many ways to skin a cat, your choice was a viable one.

I've been very frank about this. If I could get downgraded and exempted from NS, I'd say thank you, doctor. But fact was, I was classified PES A. An army posting would probably mean a very tough vocation. So I ran to PA. They said I couldn't choose, it all depended on CMPB, unless I would choose to sign on. So I did.

Five years instead of two years, but with regular pay instead of NS pay. Fuck it. Take it. Save some money and five years later, fuck off. That I did too.
Almost went that path but under pressure from kakis who just want to serve and fuck off. Ironically, one of them signed on as a regular and became a colonel. To be frank, I was always jealous of the regular servicemen pay during NS. Knn, all doing same thing but get different rank and pay. Remember my pathetic SGD 200 pay was very 'cham'. 3rd month in BMT was forced to buy extra big size postcard from some charity organization. Also have to donate some money to don't know what charity if not, the OC will 'counsel' you.

If someone is disciplined enough, could have saved quite a handsome sum. Imagine sign on 2x6 years at age 21. Finish contract only 33. But think about the money, assuming no gf, not married.

Everyday stay in = no need buy house. Army prepares a bunk for you.

Everyday eat at cookhouse.

Wanna drink, drink at mess.

Horny, then think of chief clerk and PCC

Every year bonus around 2.5-3months. End of contract got money also. Huat ah :D

Also have to donate some money to don't know what charity if not, the OC will 'counsel' you.

Yeah, whether NS or regular, army or police, always got donation drives. I always said, money, I haven't got enough to donate. Blood I have, take it. Literally.

Worked wonders many years later. As a regular blood donor on record, when I was hospitalised, I got priority immediate blood tranfusion to save my life.

Silly man. As much as he fights to be in combat, he will lose out to his SAF scholar colleagues.

Not surprised that an Indian has grabbed the headlines.Most enjoy the attention esp those in my former unit who typically displayed the same garang-action triats.ONly when something goes wrong,their pattern changed 360.I hope he doesn't get to fly a fighter plane as his heart may not be able to take on the g-force.

Want to play for national team somemore.

An irresponsible son any father would be proud of.