• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

No more automatic death penalty; one big step forward for Singapore.

Television

Re: Death penalty no longer automatic for some offences: DPM Teo

I bet that the real kingpins responsible for the drug trade are frequent visitors to Spore:confused:
Some their children are even attending school in Spore.

These changes will only affect the small fry e.g. mules, users,...

No one will take up your bet because everyone knows they will lose.

Television

To Sinkies, a criminal is a criminal. Criminals don't deserve sympathy. To mete out punishment proportionate to the crime is to be tolerant of criminality. Sinkies want your heart, lungs and liver for an eye.

The majority of Singaporeans still have 3rd world mentality. Just look at their behavior and thoughts.

littlefish

Looks like Singapore is finally taking a step in the right direction. Death sentence is barbaric. Killing is wrong. Two wrongs don't make a right. Before anyone jumps in to ask how would I feel if the criminal murdered my family, I would feel very strongly about killing the criminal but that would not bring my family back to life. It will only make me satisfied that I have had my revenge. If I just want to slake my thirst for vengeance, there would be no need for the courts or prisons system, the police can just give me a gun to shoot him dead. Not supporting the death sentence does not mean I want the criminal to go unpunished or be treated humanely. He could rot for eternity in prison for all I care. It will also take away those cases where some can get preferential treatment and escape a date with the hangman.

Television

Anyways... Ravi is saying currently there are 40 people on death row while state media is saying 28.. Which is which?? Do they even have to cook the books when it comes to people on death row?

ray_of_hope

It would be of interest if this change is read by the couriers that they can chance it over the Causeway. Any surge in arrests at the checkpoint over the next few months will speak for itself.

Agoraphobic

Looks like Singapore is finally taking a step in the right direction. Death sentence is barbaric. ..........................

Yes, At least the authorities are relooking at that stupid law.

Television

It would be of interest if this change is read by the couriers that they can chance it over the Causeway. Any surge in arrests at the checkpoint over the next few months will speak for itself.

PM Najib has already been talking about removing the D.P all together.

ray_of_hope

PM Najib has already been talking about removing the D.P all together.

He has been saying a lot of populist things, though not necessarily doing them. The coming M'sian GE will be even more eventful that our own.

Bigfuck

U all memory so short heroin Korean got away no die b4 this incident leh.

Television

He has been saying a lot of populist things, though not necessarily doing them. The coming M'sian GE will be even more eventful that our own.

Quite true.. Many wayang also that guy

Boliao

I bet that the real kingpins responsible for the drug trade are frequent visitors to Spore:confused:
Some their children are even attending school in Spore.

These changes will only affect the small fry e.g. mules, users,...

Nah.. this is a step for the rich and elite. Remember Dinesh Bhatia? Now can openly take drugs and no need to spend 3 months jail.

That's the most ridiculous case. He said someone gave him the drug but cannot tell who. Judge said because he there was no intent as he did not purchase the drug but was given to him at the party (one sided story woh)...

Television

Nah.. this is a step for the rich and elite. Remember Dinesh Bhatia? Now can openly take drugs and no need to spend 3 months jail.

That's the most ridiculous case. He said someone gave him the drug but cannot tell who. Judge said because he there was no intent as he did not purchase the drug but was given to him at the party (one sided story woh)...

Come on man, Son of a judge being defended by The Minister of law today.. of cos.. 3 months in prison after which 3 months home detention.. "He did not know it was drugs that he was snorting up his nose" Classic.

Stupid lah ...they should increase use of death penalty to save money. If death penalty is the only sentence for all crimes, then don't need to have many prisons. The amount of money saved would be in the hundreds of millions. Need less judges, less lawyers, less prosecutors, less policemen etc.

bryanlim1972

Good step forward.. But then.. They still hang someone for 500grams of Cannabis.. And that is b.s

i believe a few years back, some white girl was let off from a more serious sentence on the technicality that the "pure" amount of cannabis she had was less than 500g. that set a precedent and i believe it has been followed to date. another baby step forward.

bryanlim1972

An interesting development. But I doubt very much that most Singaporeans support such a change.

most singaporeans probably don't care, but for those who do care, its a positive step forward.

bryanlim1972

Come on man, Son of a judge being defended by The Minister of law today.. of cos.. 3 months in prison after which 3 months home detention.. "He did not know it was drugs that he was snorting up his nose" Classic.

if memory serves me right, shortly after this case, the law was changed for 1st time drug offenders (not sure if it applies to all classes of drugs) - only DRC and no criminal record.

i believe it led to a growing realization amongst the policy makers that (some) drugs are going to become as socially acceptable as alcohol... its just a matter of time.

Looks like Singapore is finally taking a step in the right direction. Death sentence is barbaric. Killing is wrong. Two wrongs don't make a right. Before anyone jumps in to ask how would I feel if the criminal murdered my family, I would feel very strongly about killing the criminal but that would not bring my family back to life. It will only make me satisfied that I have had my revenge. If I just want to slake my thirst for vengeance, there would be no need for the courts or prisons system, the police can just give me a gun to shoot him dead. Not supporting the death sentence does not mean I want the criminal to go unpunished or be treated humanely. He could rot for eternity in prison for all I care. It will also take away those cases where some can get preferential treatment and escape a date with the hangman.

It's more that just closure or satiating a desire revenge.

Harsh crimes deserve harsh sentences, as a deterrent.

A life for a life is fair and just, but I am not for the death penalty being meted out for drug-related offences.

i believe it led to a growing realization amongst the policy makers that (some) drugs are going to become as socially acceptable as alcohol... its just a matter of time.

Singapore already has two legal casinos and semi-official red light districts. The anti-vice argument against drugs rings hollow now.

Time to open up and be the Amsterdam of the East.

Capano2121

So Singapore is going to hang these characters the next time they set foot in the little red dot???:eek:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Politics_of_Burma#Members_of_Government_of_Burma

Transfer the money into Singapore first, set up whatever venture under the new investment guideline & they will be welcomed as new residence & eventually new citizens! Whatever that is in the past stays in the past lah! The stop at two campaign was never mentioned again by any one of these shit in white!

Stupid lah ...they should increase use of death penalty to save money. If death penalty is the only sentence for all crimes, then don't need to have many prisons. The amount of money saved would be in the hundreds of millions. Need less judges, less lawyers, less prosecutors, less policemen etc.

dont you know that singapore prison is making money ?