• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

No more automatic death penalty; one big step forward for Singapore.

Re: Death penalty no longer automatic for some offences: DPM Teo

It's more that just closure or satiating a desire revenge.

Harsh crimes deserve harsh sentences, as a deterrent.

A life for a life is fair and just, but I am not for the death penalty being meted out for drug-related offences.

bro, harsh sentence can never be a deterrent . theres still many ppl who bring in drugs to singapore every day :wink:

if memory serves me right, shortly after this case, the law was changed for 1st time drug offenders (not sure if it applies to all classes of drugs) - only DRC and no criminal record.

i believe it led to a growing realization amongst the policy makers that (some) drugs are going to become as socially acceptable as alcohol... its just a matter of time.

you will have a drug record if you go in DRC ..

Nothing to do with taking the right step.

The kids and grandkids of PAP politicians who are based overseas want to be liked and join their peers. They do not want to scolded or ostracised from western society. It no different to the Burmese drug kingpins kins who can't go west so they end up in Singpaore.

TheWhiteHorse

"In this world nothing can be said to be certain, except death and taxes."

The day they can tax abusers, no one needs to die.

bryanlim1972

"In this world nothing can be said to be certain, except death and taxes."

The day they can tax abusers, no one needs to die.

it actually makes more economic sense to legalize certain classes of drugs, regulate and tax it. of course, there is the political fallout to consider from the right wing religious nuts.

Television

if memory serves me right, shortly after this case, the law was changed for 1st time drug offenders (not sure if it applies to all classes of drugs) - only DRC and no criminal record.

i believe it led to a growing realization amongst the policy makers that (some) drugs are going to become as socially acceptable as alcohol... its just a matter of time.

i believe a few years back, some white girl was let off from a more serious sentence on the technicality that the "pure" amount of cannabis she had was less than 500g. that set a precedent and i believe it has been followed to date. another baby step forward.

Are you talk about the german girl who got jailed 2 years instead of receiving the Noose after the German chancellor appealed on her behalf?

Yes, Right after bhatia's case, 1st and 2nd time offenders of all drugs(or certain drugs) do not receive a criminal charge/no going to court and facing a judge, they go straight to DRC for 6 - 1yr.

But for cannabis/opium consumption, they have been decriminalized since the late 90s for 1st/2nd time offenders,(+6months leg tagging and 1.5/2years probation) 3rd time offenders will receive LT1. Anyways they can still play your backside and charge you for trafficking even for a small bag of cannabis for personnel consumption.

Are you talk about the german girl who got jailed 2 years instead of receiving the Noose after the German chancellor appealed on her behalf?

Yes, Right after bhatia's case, 1st and 2nd time offenders of all drugs(or certain drugs) do not receive a criminal charge/no going to court and facing a judge, they go straight to DRC for 6 - 1yr.

But for cannabis/opium consumption, they have been decriminalized since the late 90s for 1st/2nd time offenders,(+6months leg tagging and 1.5/2years probation) 3rd time offenders will receive LT1. Anyways they can still play your backside and charge you for trafficking even for a small bag of cannabis for personnel consumption.

for any first time drugs user including cannabis users is 6 mths jail + 6 month tagging + one year probation . second timer is 18month jail + 2 years probation . all dont need to go court once your urine is positive . yes , you will have a drug record if you kena screen by police on the street .

The ang moh super rich must be delighted. One more reason to relocate to this tax haven and snort as much cocaine as they like.

1. bingo!
2. i am surprise about such "about turn" thing.
3. old record can never "agree" to it mah!
4. what's the motive behind such change?

soIsee

So Singapore is going to hang these characters the next time they set foot in the little red dot???:eek:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Politics_of_Burma#Members_of_Government_of_Burma

No, they're not from now, so the Columbian and Mexican dug lord will set foot as well and they can start the Mexican Drug war like what they have over there!

Then these balless Sinkie will reinstate the death penalty like what it was!:biggrin:

1. bingo!
2. i am surprise about such "about turn" thing.
3. old record can never "agree" to it mah!
4. what's the motive behind such change?

bro , i think the change is because of large amount of FT flooding singapore and if im not wrong , theres also tons of FT angmo who is drug users :wink: the new law is for FT cause the goverment dont want to drive those ft away .

Agoraphobic

bro , i think the change is because of large amount of FT flooding singapore and if im not wrong , theres also tons of FT angmo who is drug users :wink: the new law is for FT cause the goverment dont want to drive those ft away .

I have a feeling this (influx of foreigners) is likely the main reason to reconsider the law. But whatever it is, it is long time overdue to review the draconian method of dealing with this so-called "problem" especially with Sg wanting to be the hub of arts and swinging parties in Asia. No matter how "cool" the leaders of Peesai want to make the island to be, it will be a drag without the mood-altering drugs.

Television

I have a feeling this (influx of foreigners) is likely the main reason to reconsider the law. But whatever it is, it is long time overdue to review the draconian method of dealing with this so-called "problem" especially with Sg wanting to be the hub of arts and swinging parties in Asia. No matter how "cool" the leaders of Peesai want to make the island to be, it will be a drag without the mood-altering drugs.

You want a vibrant art scene, Then legalize cannabis.

Agoraphobic

You want a vibrant art scene, Then legalize cannabis.

Agreed. But - for Sg, "art" is defined by the upper classes - so it is for those who can afford t0 patronise the "art scene": the entrance fees, the auction bids, and for those who can travel to Paris, New York, Tokyo and now Shanghai. It is not considered artistic when it is developed from the common "street" folk. Nobody in Sg writes songs of the sufferings/plight of the poor, hardships of the regular Joe, they will never be publicized, only nationalistically spirited songs will receive the broadcasts and telecast to display the good deeds and achievements of the city-state. Art in Singapore is progaganda. In the sixties, seventies, and even up to the eighties, there were a good number of Sg formed bands from blokes who loved music. They only had a small handful of followers (due to Peesai's small size). Today? Hardly. Despite the affluence, music schools, etc.,blokes prefer the imports. Also, in Sg, the drug scene has shifted to ketamines, ecstasy. Glad I grew up in the seventies, it was more organic then.

you cant be artistic if you are drugs-free . all of my designer friends take drugs ..you cant be creative if your mind is sober :wink:

Television

you cant be artistic if you are drugs-free . all of my designer friends take drugs ..you cant be creative if your mind is sober :wink:

True, Almost all great artist have consumed drugs.

Cruxx

Boss, same as casino lah. Everything the PAPzis do is down to $$ :rolleyes:

lau ta , i dont think the goverment will legalize weeds because of money ...its political suicide .

Television

lau ta , i dont think the goverment will legalize weeds because of money ...its political suicide .

We need another 20yrs before we can start talking about Cannabis legalization(Or at least wait till Usa/Britian legalize cannabis 1st), But for now total decriminalization of cannabis consumption for medical reasons would be very good.

Anyways.. The movement in Singapura has already started, There is already a Blog for Cannabis awareness. I'm thinking of doing something to support the cause as well.

We need another 20yrs before we can start talking about Cannabis legalization(Or at least wait till Usa/Britian legalize cannabis 1st), But for now total decriminalization of cannabis consumption for medical reasons would be very good.

Anyways.. The movement in Singapura has already started, There is already a Blog for Cannabis awareness.

cannabis awareness in singapore ? is that a joke ? CNB will be watching that site .