• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New SAF Ration : Low Fat, High Carbohydrate, High Protein

If you are an young active serviceman or a farmer or a construction worker you need high energy foods. These guys aren't trying to keep their waistlines down.

Abit of army issued vanhouten chocolate to go with the dog tack for every bite, or put pineapple jam lor. Last time where got meat cube:confused:

The dog biscuit is anytime tougher than my teeth.. Must combined with meat cube than taste good.

Well after a week of eating nothing but the yucky combat rations, i ate the stuff in the cookhouse with relish. Hot yucky food better than cold yucky food.

After that we got smarter, we just brought the biscuits, fruit bar and desserts with us. Threw n buried the main entrees to save weight

i beg to defer. instant noodle served with hotdog or braised groundnuts and roti with tuna spread beat SAF cooks hand down. it help when we had vehicle to store food than u infantry guys to lug ard in a fullpack. my reservist PC even pack a small gas cooker to faciliate cooking.

If the SAF has to set up camps overseas do they take along the NTUC cooks :confused:

my time still have cook vocation so trip to thailand, saiyok camp, the kitchen still manned by the training unit cooks. not sure of arrangement nowsaday.

That's true. But usually the NS men will not give a damn and go straight to the canteen for meals.

not exactly, must see the training troop RSM lah. i been there as Opfor b4, the assessing unit troops were banned by their RSM from entering the canteen. Then when my unit turn for assessment, RSM bohchap. Anyway also cannot every meal canteen in those days as NSF allowance only $330 tops.

I'm talking about reservist training overseas. No RSM/officer would dare to fuck with reservists by banning them from visiting the canteen. The natives would be very displeased, as Sinkie reservists are a great source of revenue for them.

the only thing i eat from the combat ration was the SFI butter biscuit. we dun bring the whole package of combat ration outfield. what my bunk mates and me will do after combat ration was issued was to seperate the edible from the inedible. ie... biscuits, fruit bar, milo, orange powder, isontna powder, holick tablets, koka instant noodle from the indeible stuff ie.. pasta, glutin rice etc..etc.. into a carton box and supplment the it with ayam brand tuna and tulip brand hotdog and roti brought during nite off and store them into the M113. find a quiet spot then cook noodles and have a cup of hot nescafe, really increase morale in a cold wet nite out in lim chu kang.

Are u sure its not Chua Chu kang area D? I see, so u all know how to hide the illegal rations in the M113 too. LOL. usually, the pre-exercise inpection done by some capt. rank who is infantry trained. They don't know where all the hiding places are. Usually, we let the men book out the night before an exercise, and all of them would go to Bukit Timah Plaza or BT Shopping centre and come back with bags of canned food. They disliked tuna. Usually, they buy sharks fin soup, etc., high end canned food. In the M113, there is no place to heat up the canned food, but in AMX-13, u put it in the tool compartment next to the exhaust. If you do this 1 hour before exercise cut for the night, u will have nice hot canned food.

As for the hard tack, even my dog would not eat it, and he ate everything. I tried to feed it to him, but he siamed it. Basically, all SAF combat rations for the last 20 years until today is designed to give you constipation. Its not uncommon for soldiers to not shit for 2-3 days if on combat rations. I think its for tactical reason. I asked an MO about it one time, andhe did not know if my theory is correct.

nonsense, SAF hardtack biscuit is the best biscuit, most tasty in the world. h

you got to be kidding, you have not eaten the 'dog biscuit' in my time!! & the unlabeled curry chicken, which was Yeo Hup Seng test, before they mass market that product... anyway to each his own...you must be loving it! "shrug my shoulder"

i remember offering cookhouse food to stray dogs that hang around gedong. the dog took one sniff and walk off. SAF cookhouse food not even good enough for dogs.

During my 'slavery' days, I ate only at the Malay Cook house, the other cookhouse food I don't want to remember!, we had an army cook that used his socks to filter coffee powder to make coffee, the margarine or butter in the morning, look like the scene from Close Encounter of the third kind, the kway teow soup looked like guppies taking a bath & the bread ( by courtesy of Changi Prison) can bounced when you drop on the floor. The rice is full of other nutrients like, sand, rocks & things, the vegetables is so woody, that has so much fibers for your good health, not mention the same "sand, rock & things" that are included & not to mention, the occasional caterpillar ( which is full of proteins). The SAF back then really looked after us, with such healthy food that is full of fibers, proteins, etc.. really wondered how we survived!

Like you mentioned, the dog won't even want to eat..but only the swines eats them for they have no choice...

During my 'slavery' days, I ate only at the Malay Cook house, the other cookhouse food I don't want to remember!, we had an army cook that used his socks to filter coffee powder to make coffee, the margarine or butter in the morning, look like the scene from Close Encounter of the third kind, the kway teow soup looked like guppies taking a bath & the bread ( by courtesy of Changi Prison) can bounced when you drop on the floor. The rice is full of other nutrients like, sand, rocks & things, the vegetables is so woody, that has so much fibers for your good health, not mention the same "sand, rock & things" that are included & not to mention, the occasional caterpillar ( which is full of proteins). The SAF back then really looked after us, with such healthy food that is full of fibers, proteins, etc.. really wondered how we survived!

Like you mentioned, the dog won't even want to eat..but only the swines eats them for they have no choice...

Friend, don't make sleaguepunter tulan lah. Its obvious he was in armour. Armour where got Malay cookhouse? Therefore, no choice must eat in Chinese cookhouse. In armour, only got chinese and indian cookhouse. I liked to eat indian cookhouse. Otherwise, have to eat canteen, but the canteen food in armour camps are excellent.

I, too, have gout for more than 15 years. I have done many research on gout, experiment with many supplements etc, but will occasionally have gout attack when I am not careful with what I am eating. Overtime, I learned how to managed the pain when the gout flared and when symptoms appears. I have my Serrapeptase and Cherry capsules (for anti-inflammation and pain management); Vitamin C to flush out uric acid; Sodium bicarbonate to alkaline my blood on standby most of the time.

To make the story short, if you have time, goes through the lecture by Dr. Robert H. Lustig in "Sugar: The bitter truth" at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dBnniua6-oM and you get the understanding on how sugar is the cause of many illness and one of them is Gout (uric acid).

Straight to the point, reduce and if possibly, eliminate all processed products containing sugars or produce like fruits. Take note that all Carbohydrate will break down into glucose and fructose (that is carbohydrate is actually Sugar) in our body before it can be utilize as energy. Excess and unused sugar will be converted to fat/triglycerides for storage which make us fat.

Should you want to have sugar in your food/drinks, use minimum amount (example 1/3 teaspoon in beverages) but take sugar occasionally. Go sugarless if possible most of the time.

We have always been told by medical doctors that gout sufferer should drink lot of water to flush out the uric acid from the body. That was totally wrong. I realized that when I drank less water per day (less than 2 liter when not sweating) or when needed, my body is able to flush out the uric acid (urine is yellowish) efficiently and effectively. Moreover, excessive intake of water cause our body to be bloated, water toxicity, dilution of sodium in our blood (result in high blood pressure), etc.

I have experiment the above (reduce sugar and water consumption) for a few weeks and then test it by consuming lot of livers, kidney, anchovy, sardines, all the high-purines deadly gout-inducer (over a 3 weeks period) which gout-sufferer will told to avoid. Then I wait and observe whether any of the gout symptoms appear. Ha, ha, ha, ha. Now, I know the answer.

Another experiment which I have tried: At the end of two weeks reduce sugar dieting, I went to eat a bowl of high sugary dessert; the following day, inflammation of some of my joints appear. I repeat the same experiment a few weeks later. Yep, stay away from high sugary dessert.

Rice is carbohydrate. I ate equivalent to about 6 tablespoonfuls of rice for lunch and dinner. Lot of meats, eggs, less vegetable and additional 1-2 tablespoons of coconut/olive oils blend; minimum fried meats (due to high polyunsaturated oil, omega-6). 2 slices of bread in the morning, (I intend to reduce it further at a later date) with lot of butters and additional 1 teaspoon of fish oil (omega-3; twice a week)

Try the experiments yourselves to suit your personal perference, result can varies from person to person. At least, personally, I know what causes gout to appear in me.

My apologies for giving such a short and incomplete account of dealing with gout and stopping it. If you wants to know the details, let me know and I will spend some times writing it or open another thread relating to Gout.

Take care.

Me not into caring with our SAF rations, but more interested on your Last para..
..can share with me on your dieting styLe.Have been wanting to do away with my Gout attacks
for years..;)

i beg to defer. instant noodle served with hotdog or braised groundnuts and roti with tuna spread beat SAF cooks hand down. it help when we had vehicle to store food than u infantry guys to lug ard in a fullpack. my reservist PC even pack a small gas cooker to faciliate cooking.

Yeah well, no creature comforts for boots like us in the jungle. Every lanjiao thing has to be tactical at night, where got time to cook maggi mee, you have to take cover even for a smoke :mad:

Friend, don't make sleaguepunter tulan lah. Its obvious he was in armour. Armour where got Malay cookhouse? Therefore, no choice must eat in Chinese cookhouse. In armour, only got chinese and indian cookhouse. I liked to eat indian cookhouse. Otherwise, have to eat canteen, but the canteen food in armour camps are excellent.

uncle, your time got indian cookhouse? sure or not? u meant vegeterian izzit? heard from old birds old time many indians but by 90s, indians are rare, concentrate in battlion HQ as lobo. combat teams have one or two only, even they are not pure indian but mixed blood catolic. machiam as if even the indian cannot be trusted, only mixed blood christians can enter armour.

Yeah well, no creature comforts for boots like us in the jungle. Every lanjiao thing has to be tactical at night, where got time to cook maggi mee, you have to take cover even for a smoke :mad:

same lah, we also take cover, using the vehicle as a screen to shield. Unlike infantry, armour laagar (all round defense) over a large area. as long far from OC vehicle can liao. but pity the runner as tally-J (no sure of exact spelling) wire better be long enough to connect to X9 command vehicle. PC a reasonable guy, he knew small creature comforts do wonder to morale, so he dont care as long dont get him in trouble.

The rice is full of other nutrients like, sand, rocks & things, the vegetables is so woody, that has so much fibers for your good health, not mention the same "sand, rock & things" that are included & not to mention, the occasional caterpillar ( which is full of proteins). The SAF back then really looked after us, with such healthy food that is full of fibers, proteins, etc.. really wondered how we survived!

i kenna extra in cookhouse duty so i see with own eyes how the cooks operate. Not sure of your time but during the 90s, the only meal the cooks really cook was lunch only, both breakfast and dinner the cooks only reheat the cooked food deliver from SFI. Even lunch was not all by SAF cooks, the curry or fish still from SFI but the vegies was stirred by the chief cook but it the preparation that was horrible. it was shocking to me when the cook ask me to clean the vegetable by first chopping into small piece then rinse once in the water. by the time i finish, the water in container turn green and have a thick layer of sand inside. From then on, i dun eat mass produce vegie dish, even now i dun eat zhai cai fan. but my stint inside the cookhouse gained me friendship with the cooks so i get extra of the good stuff during meal time and they also allow me to raid their giant freezer for fresh eggs or other stuff when cooking instant noodles or eat soft boil eggs.:D but u r rite, SAF cooks really horrible in those days, and the prison roti is good enough to use as sandpaper.

i had a stint back at tekong but i only eat rarely at the malays cookhouse as the chinese cookhouse was also great as run by ntuc foodfare. best time of my NSF, friday book out, monday morning book in. most time sleep inside store.

uncle, your time got indian cookhouse? sure or not? u meant vegeterian izzit? heard from old birds old time many indians but by 90s, indians are rare, concentrate in battlion HQ as lobo. combat teams have one or two only, even they are not pure indian but mixed blood catolic. machiam as if even the indian cannot be trusted, only mixed blood christians can enter armour.

I am way before your time. Definitely armour got many indians at that time, hence Indian cookhouse. They are usually MT drivers, and some were officers and instructors too. In SOA all gunnery instructors were mostly indians, and the driving instructors were mostly chinese. This is because indians can't drive for shit. Indian cookhouse was much smaller, and Keat Hong Camp 1 in those days had one. But they cooked the food in smaller batches, so actually it was quite good and spicy. It was not vegetarian either.