• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

National Service in Singapore

Taiwan to reduce length of military service

TAIPEI: Taiwan will reduce compulsory military service from one year to four months, the defence ministry said on Wednesday, in what is widely seen as a first step towards scrapping conscription altogether.

Benefiting from improved ties with mainland China, the island's young men will have to spend shorter time in uniform beginning from early 2015, after parliament passed an amendment to the conscription law late Tuesday, it said.

"We are gradually introducing a professional military, so there will be no holes in our defence capabilities," said David Lo, the defence ministry's spokesman.

The ministry plans to eventually maintain a permanent professional military of 215,000 soldiers, down from 275,000 conscripted and professional soldiers at present, he said.

Phasing out conscription was a campaign pledge by President Ma Ying-jeou in the 2008 election and he has stressed that a "small, elite and strong" voluntary military rather than conscription is best for the island's defence.

Taiwan's relatively large army is a legacy of decades of tensions with China, which still regards the island as part of its territory awaiting reunification, even though the two sides split in 1949 after a civil war.

However, ties have improved markedly since Ma took office three years ago on a Beijing-friendly platform. He is running for a second four-year term in January.

- AFP/de

Taiwan doesnt abuse its conscripts the way the pap does to NSFs and NSmen

You Are From PAP ah ?

hahaha.... finally TS cannot resist and start a thread on National Service.

national service dont make men submissive. As u have no "balls" so cannot have the experience of national service and have to count on stories from your pamper brother for info. Dunno better dont anyhow say. While i have no love for National Service and i dont agree NS make a better man out a of a boy nonsense, nevertheless, i dont agree to your logic of NS make timid and submissive men.

Pengkias from tough vocations will agree with me that it not always officers and nco who call the shots in army. i had seen PCs suffer breakdown from pressure from top and insubordination from the pengkias. Pengkias openly refuse OC's orders till CO have to address the issue with no punishments to the pengkias. Many served as "thinking soldier" ie.. do the mininium requirements while there will always a 1-2 really patriotic singaporean who give all out in national service.

singaporean men served national service because it the law. but that does not mean you can make fun of their services to the nation. there nothing more tulan than have a woman who never understand what went on in NS yet make stupid comments about National Service and Servicemen/Reservists.

Wah, you PAP ah ?

SAF = Fascism Protector

With all this foreign Influx and Free and Easy of giving away P.R AND Citizenship it has turn this country into a country of no "Identity", it had some how made many Singaporeans say FUCK THIS COUNTRY, but on the other hand many of us born here esp those 3rd generation and above see themselves as natives to this Island and going to N.s is a right of passage for many of us, Their father when true it, they go thru it and their son will go thru it. I can tell you honestly that those who are 3rd generation and above Sinkies really love this country but they are just too shy to say so and they will do anything to protect it..But lately with all this PAP foreign policies it has diluted a good amount of loyalty and love for this country.

You are another PAP PRO ah ?

No Difference To The Current Fascist

is the SAF effective with so many unmotivated and abused NSFs and NSmen. I think it is not...so i agree that it is a waste of time and also an abuse of SG guys

He was singing a slightly different tune saying that although he is now an opposition, he is no difference to the current fascist. LOL

Fight fascism today !

Re: No Difference To The Current Fascist

Maybe Sinkapore can start at ASEAN level to be friendly neighbors and we can also reduce our years of reservist...

Taiwan doesnt abuse its conscripts the way the pap does to NSFs and NSmen

Taiwan NSF march to the range, 3-tonner strictly for equipment only...SAF NSF take coach...last time 3-tonner, now air-con coach.

girls should serve NS, and undergo basic nursing course lah! i wan hot nursing officers and medics!!!

then nxt time on the streets, if i am beside a hot girl, i can faint and she give rescue me! coz she been thru NS and know how to nurse a sick man! :D

YSL loudly and clearly proclaimed his support for NS to the extent of voluntarily extending his reservist. He loudly and clearly proclaimed that he'd rather vote for a PAP MP if he deems him to better than the opposition contestant. He won election with even higher margin than LTK. What does that tell you?

Tonychat would say most are Sinkies but that doesn't matter to me or even politics. Democracy has its ways. Majority wins.

PRs will leave SG once there is war..

I asked a Myanmar S'pore PR Engineer ,who is very grateful to PAP for enabling him to own a HDB house and to have a job in Singapore ,Why he don't want to be a Singapore Citizen ? He smiled and said "What for ? When I go home I can sell and make good profit ! "
U thing PR want to stay and fight for Singapore ? U must be retarded and mad
U thing PR want to stay here permanently ? U must be retarded and mad

sinkee always boost about achievements in ns. but outsiders all whisper how come sinkee men so stupid.
the female version of nsmen are spg sluts. all also the pea brained windbags

Re: No Difference To The Current Fascist

Maybe Sinkapore can start at ASEAN level to be friendly neighbors and we can also reduce our years of reservist...

Good suggestion!!!

Yes, we can use diplomacy more.

NSF of 2yrs is too much. SG guys are disadvantaged and it is not right of the pap to impose such heavy burden on the guys

YSL loudly and clearly proclaimed his support for NS to the extent of voluntarily extending his reservist. He loudly and clearly proclaimed that he'd rather vote for a PAP MP if he deems him to better than the opposition contestant. He won election with even higher margin than LTK. What does that tell you?

HG residents like what they hear?

I asked a Myanmar S'pore PR Engineer ,who is very grateful to PAP for enabling him to own a HDB house and to have a job in Singapore ,Why he don't want to be a Singapore Citizen ? He smiled and said "What for ? When I go home I can sell and make good profit ! "
U thing PR want to stay and fight for Singapore ? U must be retarded and mad
U thing PR want to stay here permanently ? U must be retarded and mad

PRs are here to make money. Is there any doubt about that?

sinkee always boost about achievements in ns. but outsiders all whisper how come sinkee men so stupid.

SG guys are so elated when they are given a medal or certificate of appreciation. but what value is the medal or certificate when you are not really appreciated?

So many pap running dogs are so excited when awarded National Day medals.