Chitchat My Uncle's diary - Life as a driving instructor KNN

Just in case some jobless members are keen to know more about this job, they will be able to get some hindsight on what it takes to be a successful driving instructor and not to plunge blindly into this industry even if you are not able to find a job KNN
To begin with my uncle did not took up this job desperately back then KNN it was becas he was sick of his last job and decided to try out something totally different to what he used to do for his entire life and his passion towards driving KNN
While writing this post my uncle is no longer a driving instructor and blessed with a cushy job that is redundant yet (kind of indispensable to a certain extend) and the best thing is the celery is 1.5X as much as that of a instructor KNN

Long story keep short KNN

1. How to apply as a driving instructor - you don't have to wait for ads KNN anytime can write in to the driving centres or even hardcopy resume can be sent by hand to the reception KNN
2. How is the pay structure - With a local polytechnic diploma his starting pay was $2260 basic salary KNN for Air level All level they are paid approximately $1900 KNN
With all other allowances and OTs (which are expected to do) his pay averages about $3300 to $3500 per mth KNN
3. Upon selection the main thing you will need to consider carefully is the 1 year bond KNN becas upon signing the agreement the school will cover you with training course KNN many candidates did not consider carefully this clause and ended up compensating the school with thousands of dollar (depending on at which point of the training you chicken out) KNN During my uncle's batch there were 5 new trainees and end of the course only 2 pop KNN the other 3 chicken out at different stages and their compensation ranges from $70 to $4k+ KNN the leeson were all unable to cope with the pressure from the chief trainer KNN
4. How the working pattern - There are am and pm shifts KNN during both shifts you are required to conduct 4 sessions (2 sessions before lunch and 2 after lunch with only 30mins of lunch break KNN) of 100mins each with only a 10mins break in between KNN for newbie this precious 10mins is not enough for you to go smoke, pang jio and prepare for the next lesson becas you could be assigned a different car number and lesson stages and also you will need to quickly digest what are the topic in that lesson KNN
5. How the training is rike - As a existing class 3 license holder you are still required to retake the basic and advance theory class and book for the tp test KNN for practical lesson you will need to retrain the circuit just rike a new learner but with added juice on talking while driving KNN not to worry for this as after many rounds of practice and self talking you will become a robotic driver by end of the training and be ready for the tp test KNN the passing mark for a instructor is 8 demerit points but we strive for 0 points KNN as for my uncle he achieve a 0 point too KNN
6. What are the perks - The only perk as expected is the opportunity to get close to chiobu and their kar tui KNN but ongoing there will be polis coming to the class to remind all the teeko pek to be careful on this KNN
7. A big point to note is that if you transit from a orfit job to this job you will find a big challenge during the am shift if you are allocated lesson 1A on orientation you will be practically sun tanning the whole morning KNN and worse is when you are a newbie instructor the assigner always assign the sai kang to you KNNalso if you are not able to become rike a army recruit during the training period then better not take up this job KNN

8. Name 1 bestest experience - KNN during my uncle last week of service he broke the area boundary rule and told the chiobu to drive anywhere she rike KNN the chiobu very happy KNN

9. Name 1 worst experience - KNN of course all instructor will not want to teach bangla and cope with the smell but it is not possible KNN

Right topic.
May i ask.
If passed and get licence, is it common to give angpow to the instructor?
Market rate?

10. If you are below 40 years of age during joining you will be expected to be trained as a motorcycle instructor even if you don't have a class 2 license you will be expected to go for it KNN

11. During the entire training they actually did not teach you how to teach KNN first part of the training is focus on getting you familiarise back your driving skills then move on to individual circuit to train you to talk (rike a tour guide) while driving and talk all the sightings KNN so during your virgin lesson there will be a senior instructor sitting behind you together with the learner KNN this will make you rook bad if the senior is a lj lang and keep correcting you KNN

KNN becas of this my uncle as usual beat the senior instructor to a pulp and leeport it to the mgt that this is very bad KNN if the tp can pass my uncle means he is qualified to teach and teaching is a freestyle KNN why must my uncle follow the senior style is what my uncle told the mgt and after that no more senior behind him lol KNN

12. Rast time instructors was expected to clean the car during am shift before lesson starts then mgt hired tiongs to do the cleaning but not a good thing as the extra time now is used to squeeze in more lessons per shift KNN

13. If learners never leeport for lesson the instructor will be asked to be controller or clean new cars so don't hope your students never turn up for lesson KNN

14. During cny hari raya instructors are allowed to book their car and drive home for a few days KNN

15. During training period you will need to greet the chief instructor as SIR KNN while you still be in civilian clothes KNN basic and advance theory lessons you will mix with the regular learners whereas practical you will be using the allocated cars that are free from the lesson bookings KNN it is deemed a serious offence to forget to remove the L plate upon taking ownership and driving especially out of the driving school premises KNN during the retraining of the circuit you will rikely perform worst than a new learner becas you already forgotten all the sightings so sometime some eyes will wonder why this car have no L plate yet keep mounting the kerb KNN

16.During the basic and advance theory test you will drive the car (together with the chief instructor) to tp hq at Ubi and take the test there KNN

17.When the chief instructor feel that you are ready for the practical test he will book a test date for you KNN same time a tailor will come to the driving centre to tailor your uniforms KNN 3 sets each KNN the pants is very ugly kind so most fashionable instructors (rike my uncle) will later bring it to another tailor to make shape correction KNN

18. Here comes the important day - practical test day KNN the chief instructor by now already treating you rike a friend as compared to the training time KNN he will be as kan cheong as you while waiting for the ah pek tester to arrive KNN early morning he go breakfast with you to calm you down KNN after breakfast he will ask you for a final round of evaluation KNN by now you are already rike a robot driver so he will not scold you anymore KNN

19. Here is how the practical test is designed KNN
You will start off with greeting the ah pek tester outside the vehicle but the tester is slightly friendlier than when they are testing a new license testee KNN first hurdle to pass is to orientate him the vehicle I.e to describe the external vehicle parts and the tyres KNN this is done by walking round the vehicle KNN

20. Next you invite the tester to your car but don't need to open door for him lah KNN after he is seated comfortably you need to ask his permission to start the engine KNN

21.Chief instructor told my uncle rast time got a few candidates ever surrender at this point after entering the vehicle their mind just went blank and surrendered even before starting engine KNN the tester will give them chance to reconsider after taking a cool down break KNN but some just decided they cannot face the pressure KNN

22. Once you get engine started next is to orientate him all the inside parts and it's functions KNN you will need to explain in details in sequence KNN when leech the seat belt part put on the seat belt at same time and be prepared to move off before that asking permission to move off vehicle KNN

23. Once you move off he will start to give direction same rike normal test to visit all the circuit course KNN before leeching every course you need to describe the purpose of this course and the sighting points before entering the course KNN while inside the course you also need to describe every moves that you do KNN eg where to start steer and how many turns of steering etc KNN

24. After you completed all the courses without committing any immediate failure as usual next step is out to the road KNN the public road test is different from normal test only in area of describing KNN eg when you see a road sign you are expected to volunteer to tell him what the sign is for etc when approaching a bus lane or schools you need to tell him what are the dos and don'ts etc KNN the difficult part of this is when doing lane change KNN becas attention were already put on the lane change risk so it is not easy to coordinate with describing KNN

25. After finishing the test drive back to driving centre and make sure don't be over confident and flung on the rast part inside driving centre KNN he will point to you which slot to park the car KNN make sure you don't screw up on this KNN

26. After park the car you will not meet the tester for review KNN he will tell your chief instructor whether you pass or fail or any other comments KNN he told the chief instructor my uncle got full Mark's and 1 of the best testee he ever conducted with no comments KNN KNN KNN

- The End
download.gif