• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Moving to KL

winners

Re: Living in KL and Penang... Any forumers with properties there please discuss free

however if it is just purely cost of living, hang out in JB. Properties definitely cheaper. I concur with wuqi about the other areas a bit more northern like Kulai, Pulai, Senai, Indahpura; that are growing steadliy and surely. I was at Senai airport last weekend and I noticed that there is a CW bus that runs from there to Singapore daily. I would advise you that you can stay wherever you like in Iskandar but to focus on your career in Singapore.

Not to worry. He's a share trader. As long as there's Internet connection, he can be any where in this planet.

RafflesTiger

Re: Living in KL and Penang... Any forumers with properties there please discuss free

I am definitely sure everyone means well and wants only good for RT, but seriously i do not know who fed the information to him that KL is much cheaper?? I only know of people escaping high costs and come to Johore but not the other way around.

Actually I like the vibrancy of KL... Cost is not a huge factor... I was just considering the feasibility of such a move... Tired of Singapore, maybe I am running far far away from Singapore..

Yes, I agree with some forumers that KL prices can vary a lot from area to area.. I am having plans for the future, not likely to move soon.... But all options are on the table... Just like u said Bro, we must all know we have options... We have the power to change... And yes we can

RafflesTiger

Raffles tigger... considering you made quite a rash decision moving into an area that gave you lots of problems, you should spend more time thinking about your options. I don't mean to be rude but you seem to be running away from something... your information about KL is not accurate... KL is very expensive compared to what you can earn there.. like JB there are cheap places and there are expensive places in KL... KL and peripheral is huge

The decision to move to JB is correct and I have no regrets at all... Yes the neighbour was noisy but that does not make moving here a wrong decision... As u guys know, that guy has moved away....

YES I am sick of Singapore and the moral decay... Thats all I am running away from..... As I said, I have no immediate plans, this is a thread for us all to discuss... Its about options... We can change...

As some forumers pointed out, some areas in JB are more expensive than KL, its all about the area...

RafflesTiger

Depending on your needs and preferences, you have to find out which place suits you best, which offers you highest quality of life and happiness index.

Actually what I can say is I had a discussion with someone close and was told that I am not suitable for the Singapore culture.. I need somewhere where I can fully be who I am, where I can find myself.. Its not all about costs... After so many years in Singapore, I am tired........ Very tired........ Only if u walk out can u find your true self.......

I value freedom of expression, there are many many things that I dislike in Singapore.. We come to this World empty handed, and so shall we leave empty handed.. At the end of my life, I want to be able to say

"I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race,I have kept the faith"

Thats my wish.... Its that simple

arsenal

Hi RT, all big cities such as KL is quite similar to Singapore.. You might want to have your options on East Malaysia, Sabah as well as Taiwan such HuaLian, Taichung etc..

Actually what I can say is I had a discussion with someone close and was told that I am not suitable for the Singapore culture.. I need somewhere where I can fully be who I am, where I can find myself.. Its not all about costs... After so many years in Singapore, I am tired........ Very tired........ Only if u walk out can u find your true self.......

I value freedom of expression, there are many many things that I dislike in Singapore.. We come to this World empty handed, and so shall we leave empty handed.. At the end of my life, I want to be able to say

crystal_tiong

Hello RT

Are u going to work in KL and earn RM ?
its still the best to earn in SGD and invest in RM ...

sgtsk

Thanks so much for sharing, i am sure he can still find something cheaper relatively but in terms of general living standards, i would still think KL is higher unless you go to the outskirts or even Pahang which is less than 1 hour from KL? Some of the tenants and friends from KL are always complaining about the cost so thats the impression i have. Always glad to be corrected though.

Agreed. Kl/p, being the locomotive of Malaysian economy and capital, generally more ex quite substantially than JB.

sgtsk

Hi RT,

If I understand you correctly, you are man of ideals. I am all for going after your ideals in a realistic and pragmatic way with *adequate consideration to those dear to you.*
But there are many types of ideals. Some want to contribute to society and mankind; some want to wholeheartedly serve god; *some just want to have an abode in the temple to ponder life...still, .many ideals are internal in nature, spiritual or otherwise.

Most ideals will need some means to achieve. It may very well be that you could work on your ideals where you are with some changes. Beware of the saying"the grass always looks greener on the other side of the fence/hill".*

If possible, you could rent a place in kl and Penang to try to live there for a couple of months to see if the realities at those places match your expectations.

*For myself, sometimes I think it is a good idea to live a *in a temple deep in the mountains of China as long as I could read all the books I want. Then I think ideally it is not too far from a good bookshop where I could get all the supply for books. Then I think Internet is a must too so that I could keep track daily of the geopolitics of the world and China and the world economy and my investments. In the end, probably temple in deep mountain is not suitable for me. May be a place in the outskirts of a metropolis(like jb or genting or cameron high land or some nice places in China)is more practical when I retire. All I learned so far is a lot of our needs are internal and some spiritual and once we work on those needs sufficiently, we are *more likely to know ourselves better and our place in this world and how best each of us wants to live life. If there is a suggestion I could give, I would say lay out all your aims, objectives and strategise the optimum ways to achieve those. And should it be a mistake, the cost is optimally low. Just my 2 cents.

sgtsk

Thanks so much for sharing, i am sure he can still find something cheaper relatively but in terms of general living standards, i would still think KL is higher unless you go to the outskirts or even Pahang which is less than 1 hour from KL? Some of the tenants and friends from KL are always complaining about the cost so thats the impression i have. Always glad to be corrected though.

There are also small towns in Malaysia where one could rent for 200 rm/pm for a single story 3 rooms in a decent housing garden.

westcoastbay

The apartments at Mont Kiara's look not bad.

I read from lowyat forum one staying in KL generally needs at least RM5000 monthly income for a single to live comfortably.

Otherwise, you have to think of ways to save up here and there.

I had also thought of shifting to KL, but I am not qualified for any of the high paying jobs there.

crystal_tiong

huh , RM5000 to live comfortably in KL ?? i doubt so ....
my malaysian engineers told me in KL they earn RM5k and cant afford a decent car but in SG they earn at least SGD5k abv leh. beat to death , they will never wan to go back KL to work ...

Andox

Hi All

I have been staying and working in KL since 2008 and hasnt look back since. I have a job that pays me relatively well in Malaysia terms and i think i m lucky in that sense. however, please do not convert the salary back to SGD! Its sad in that case. Lots of folks in Malaysia ask me why i made the move to KL when everyone else they knew of were trying to find some ways to earn SGD. My answer : "I m able to have a better quality of life in Malaysia" And yes, i get the stare as you would imagine but when i listed a few examples like my car and house size is perhaps double or even 3 times if what i can afford in Singapore, using my existing salary, i treasure the space i have in my life and i see opportunities in Malaysia's economy, that sets then back a bit but generally that starts them thinking.

Property wise, Klang valley is a large place. There are oversupply in certain properties like condomiums and you just have to look carefully. I bought a Semi Detached house here which is currently under construction and it cost me 1.2M rm, located around 30 mins away from the city centre. Not a bad deal, considering that is about the price of my current 4 room HDB flat in Singapore and have 7 bedrooms and 5000 Sq feet of space.

Life is not a bed of roses, lest anyone get the idea that KL is paradise. The traffic jams is defintely something that needed getting used to. Highway tolls are aplenty in KL and yes, cost of living is higher than other towns in Malaysia. 5K rm a month in KL is quite sufficient already. There are many who survive on 3-4K a month and yes, its a struggle after deducting the rent and car ownership. however, there are many opportunities around for you to do some sideline and find some extra ways to make money. My friends around me are pretty entrepreneurial and most have more than one source of income.

Bersih 3.0? I saw it online and in the news. Didnt affected me since i chose to stay at home and went around my neighbourhood on that saturday, just like Bersih 2.0. The point is, Klang Valley is large so what happens in KL city centre, has not much of an impact in another area.

Andox

Hi to all bros, I wish to discuss the feasibility of a Singaporean living in KL or Penang. Is there anyone who owns a house there?? Are the properties more expensive than in JB..

I am asking this because I am considering my options.. Please share your thoughts freely

With COE rocketing up the roof in Singapore, it seems that life will get worse.. I can consider getting a W plate to drive..

I m not too active on the prices of houses in JB but in the klang valley, prices had jump a few notches since 2009 till now. It is still possible to get in the resale market terrace house of around 300K and condominiums of 200K. It all depends on the location. The greater KL plan to enhance the capital is moving quite fast so this could potentially have some impact of housing prices, especially the MRT plan. From what i know, property prices in Penang are higher than KL since Penang is an island like Singapore, with limited land and being the top choice of the MM2H plan amongst foreigners.

Car wise, its unbeliveable when COE is 91K SGD for cars more than 1.6 L. You could possibly get a brand new E90 325 based on current offer for the end of line 3 series in Malaysia! or even a brand new golf GTI or en entry level C class!

Andox

huh , RM5000 to live comfortably in KL ?? i doubt so ....
my malaysian engineers told me in KL they earn RM5k and cant afford a decent car but in SG they earn at least SGD5k abv leh. beat to death , they will never wan to go back KL to work ...

5K, depending on your commitments..just like anywhere else. My friend who earn 5K+ in Malaysia prances around in a Golf GTI since he stay with his parents. So this is really something that depends on the individual.

crystal_tiong

5K, depending on your commitments..just like anywhere else. My friend who earn 5K+ in Malaysia prances around in a Golf GTI since he stay with his parents. So this is really something that depends on the individual.

Saw yr posts , thanks for sharing !

westcoastbay

FYI, Malaysia's government's Expat scheme is A minimum salary of RM5000.00 and above and at least 2 years’ employment contract.

RM8000.00 and above, auto approval subject to correct documentations.

sgtsk

FYI, Malaysia's government's Expat scheme is A minimum salary of RM5000.00 and above and at least 2 years’ employment contract.

RM8000.00 and above, auto approval subject to correct documentations.

A better way is to join a Singapore based company and request a kl posting. In a lot of mnc, this is quite possible as far as I know.

huh , RM5000 to live comfortably in KL ?? i doubt so ...
if u xpect 2 live wif sinkie xpectations ... go over-c trips twice a yr ... buy lv, gucci bag, ifone wen evry new design cums out ... etc, den it wil not b enuff ...

wif myr5k, ze quality of life in msia is betta ... u can haf a car n stay in landed property ... u can spend ur weekend time betta (if u stay in kl, u can go gentings wen u cant even enter ur own casino in sg, gentings got cool weather sum mor ... in sg, u wun go 2 jb bcos dat 154th say iz crime-infested, u go shopping malls ... in msia, u can go 2 ipoh, penang, malacca, taman negara, camerons ...) ... u haf betta variety of fud ... in sg, wen u tok cfud, u go east coast ... in kl, besides kl, u can go 2 kuala selangor or klang, etc ... most importantly, u r away from sinkies ...

... in SG they earn at least SGD5k abv leh. beat to death , they will never wan to go back KL to work ...
dey wil never wanna go back is bcoz dey xpect 2 b paid n equivalen of sgd5k in msia, which dey noe dey wud never get ... n dey cant overcum ze mental barrier of getting a pay of lower dan wat dey can get in sg ... if dey get retrenched during economic downturn n cannot get a new job after many application letters sent out, dey wil oso go back ...

actuarry, there cud b other reasons 4 dem not wanting 2 go back ... if dey r single, dey r afraid of being nagged evryday by parens 2 get married ... dey oso kena brainwashed by dat 154th dat oways put down msia, making dem scared 2 venture back ... in sg, got geylang, joo chiat, msia dun haf so much options la ...

if dey go back, dey can wifdraw all their cpf moni wen dey reach 50 ...

LeMans2011

if u xpect 2 live wif sinkie xpectations ... go over-c trips twice a yr ... buy lv, gucci bag, ifone wen evry new design cums out ... etc, den it wil not b enuff ...

wif myr5k, ze quality of life in msia is betta ... u can haf a car n stay in landed property ... u can spend ur weekend time betta (if u stay in kl, u can go gentings wen u cant even enter ur own casino in sg, gentings got cool weather sum mor ... in sg, u wun go 2 jb bcos dat 154th say iz crime-infested, u go shopping malls ... in msia, u can go 2 ipoh, penang, malacca, taman negara, camerons ...) ... u haf betta variety of fud ... in sg, wen u tok cfud, u go east coast ... in kl, besides kl, u can go 2 kuala selangor or klang, etc ... most importantly, u r away from sinkies ...

dey wil never wanna go back is bcoz dey xpect 2 b paid n equivalen of sgd5k in msia, which dey noe dey wud never get ... n dey cant overcum ze mental barrier of getting a pay of lower dan wat dey can get in sg ... if dey get retrenched during economic downturn n cannot get a new job after many application letters sent out, dey wil oso go back ...

actuarry, there cud b other reasons 4 dem not wanting 2 go back ... if dey r single, dey r afraid of being nagged evryday by parens 2 get married ... dey oso kena brainwashed by dat 154th dat oways put down msia, making dem scared 2 venture back ... in sg, got geylang, joo chiat, msia dun haf so much options la ...

if dey go back, dey can wifdraw all their cpf moni wen dey reach 50 ...

Nice write-upzzz... good to see you contributing to this thread

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section

Its good for you, you can only be the real judge of what is good for you or not. Despite the good intentions of people here, no one knows your current situation better than you yourself. Lots of recommendations made so its all up to you.