• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Most hawkers kept prices of food, drinks steady . Sure or not ? Portion less ?

Eugenics

Most hawkers kept prices of food, drinks steady . Sure or not ? Portion less ?
by Channel NewsAsia
04:45 AM Jul 27, 2011

http://www.todayonline.com/Singapor...st-hawkers-kept-prices-of-food,-drinks-steady

showimageCC.aspx

SINGAPORE - The majority of hawkers here kept the prices of their
food and drinks steady over the last three months.

According to the Hawker Food Price Survey commissioned by the Retail Price
Watch Group, almost 94 per cent did so. But the survey also found that 80
stalls raised prices, with most from the west - where one in 10 of stalls
surveyed increased their prices.

The survey covered about 1,300 stalls in hawker food centres and coffee shops
islandwide. It counted the number of unique hawker stalls that had changed
the prices of their food items in each month, compared to the prices they
charged in March.

According to the latest consumer price index released on Monday, prices of
hawker food rose by 0.22 per cent in June compared to May.

The Department of Statistics said 98 per cent of hawkers surveyed maintained
their prices in June from a month earlier.

The Watch Group was formed in February to keep tabs on excessive price hikes
of daily necessities and anti-competitive behaviour among businesses.

It also works with grassroots leaders to ensure that information about the
availability of more competitive alternatives reaches the public.

cooleo

Aiya price remain the same, but less portion lor. Nowadays, those hawkers damn KNN. Everything also give a little bit.

==

cannot really blame the hawkers. Their costs are rising too. For us, we have a choice, we can avoid those expensive hawker stalls. actually if NEA really want to keep the prices - they shld also commit to keep utilities and rentals stable for the corresponding period.

groinroot

Why blame the coffee-shop or food stall operators? In many places they charge $1/- for coffee or tea. Some even charge $1.20. If you can, you can easily show your displeasure by brewing your own drink at home. Of course it is not possible all the time, especially when you are meeting friends. But when you can prepare the drinks and breakfast yourself and stop complaining. I hear that in Japan many officer workers, even executives, bring their own lunches. It is also healthier.

cooleo

==

cannot really blame the hawkers. Their costs are rising too. For us, we have a choice, we can avoid those expensive hawker stalls. actually if NEA really want to keep the prices - they shld also commit to keep utilities and rentals stable for the corresponding period.

Avoid expensive hawker stalls? U wanna take a bus or drive further to save like 50 cents to a dollar?

Forvendet

What a cooked report - raise rental, utility and transport etc. costs, then cast the report as if hawkers are the cause to be watched and blamed for inflation. Everything's going up, including...:oIo:

groober2011

What a cooked report - raise rental, utility and transport etc. costs, then cast the report as if hawkers are the cause to be watched and blamed for inflation. Everything's going up, including...:oIo:

Bro...absolutely agree on that. The hawker food rises in tandem with the rise in prices of goods and services. The problem we faced is that the portions also get smaller and sometimes you finish eating still a little hungry.

groober2011

Why blame the coffee-shop or food stall operators? In many places they charge $1/- for coffee or tea. Some even charge $1.20. If you can, you can easily show your displeasure by brewing your own drink at home. Of course it is not possible all the time, especially when you are meeting friends. But when you can prepare the drinks and breakfast yourself and stop complaining. I hear that in Japan many officer workers, even executives, bring their own lunches. It is also healthier.

Drinks are expensive and it is better to bring your own which is also healthier.

ahpong

Drinks are expensive and it is better to bring your own which is also healthier.

Agreed. The coffee shop earns from the rentals and stalls and makes a big profit from selling drinks. There are so many stalls to compete for customers, but selling drinks is a monopoly, every customer must order from them.

hairylee

==

Yes, if the biggest landlord on this land willing to take less, costs will not be rising at this rate.
Landlord wants maximum profit but wants peasants to keep cost down.

Hahahaman

I agree, dun worry about these hawkers. Let them make noise if there is no business.