• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

More Pinoys are returning to Pinoyland from US

More fun to be Pinoy, immigration data show

ynewslogo-071424_075919.png

<cite class="byline vcard" style="font-style: normal; color: rgb(125, 125, 125); font-size: 12px; font-family: Georgia, Times, 'Times New Roman', serif; vertical-align: middle; line-height: 2.2em; display: inline-block !important;">By Kim Arveen Patria | Yahoo! Southeast Asia Newsroom – <abbr title="2013-01-04T10:38:53Z" style="border: 0px;">Fri, Jan 4, 2013</abbr></cite>

thousands-people-celebrate-public-square-20111113-011917-580.jpg

Thousands of people celebrate in a public square as national boxing hero Manny Pacquiao is announced the winner of his bout against Mexican Juan Manuel Marquez, in Manila on November 13, 2011. 32-year-old Pacquiao retained his World Boxing Organisation welter weight title but only after a hard fight which initially left some Filipinos fearful their hero might lose for the first time since 2005. AFP PHOTO / JAY DIRECTO (Photo credit should read JAY DIRECTO/AFP/Getty Images)

Not only is it more fun in the Philippines; it's also more fun to be Pinoy, with the government noting a surge in the number of Filipinos who reacquired citizenship in the Philippines last year.

A total of 30,362 applications for dual citizenship have been reported by the Bureau of Immigration (BI) in 2012, up 57 percent from 19,328 a year ago.

Of the total, 5,564 petitions were filed at the bureau's main office in Manila, Immigration Commissioner Ricardo David, Jr. was quoted in the government's news agency as saying.

The rest coursed applications through various Philippine consulates abroad, David added.

Naturally born Filipinos who are now American citizens topped the list of applicants, the Philippine News Agency quoted BI legal officer Marc Anthony Antonio as saying.

They were followed by Britons and Canadians, with most of the petitions filed at the Philippine consulates in Washington D.C., San Francisco, Los Angeles, New York, Honolulu, Ottawa, Vancouver, Toronto, and London.

Dual citizenship is granted under Republic Act 9225, which allows naturally born Filipinos who became naturalized citizens of other countries to remain Philippine citizens.

Aside from submission of required documents, the application involves taking an oath of allegiance to the Republic of the Philippines and a processing fee of P3,000.

Since the implementation of the dual citizenship law in 2004, about 150,000 natural-born Filipinos worldwide have availed of the process, Antonio said.

Dual citizenship recently gained attention in the Philippines amid a disqualification case filed against actor Aga Muhlach, who is running for Camarines Sur representative.

A Camarines Sur resident has accused Muhlach of being a Spanish citizen, having applied for citizenship in Spain while failing to apply for dual citizenship.

The 1987 Constitution requires those running for government positions to be "naturally born" Filipino citizens.

Muhlach's lawyers have asked for the case to be dismissed, however, noting that the actor is Filipino and did not swear allegiance to Spain.

Muhlach's father was a naturalized Filipino and his mother was a naturally born citizen.

jubilee1919

Do we Singaporeans have a choice? Should there be any monumental disaster to befall Singapore, we have no where to run to.:(

Americans must be happy these locusts are going home...........if breed with local population mah jialat........

i hate interracial breeding of any kind............

jubilee1919

Americans must be happy these locusts are going home...........if breed with local population mah jialat........

i hate interracial breeding of any kind............

They are not going home but registering for the worst possible scenerio. Things are pretty bad in the US at present but many believe will get worse, hence the precaution.

Loofydralb

"Dual citizenship is granted under Republic Act 9225, which allows naturally born Filipinos who became naturalized citizens of other countries to remain Philippine citizens."

No wonder they taking up Singapore pink IC like candies. And the stupid govt doesn't know about this?

Do we Singaporeans have a choice? Should there be any monumental disaster to befall Singapore, we have no where to run to.:(

well sinkie deserve the shit they get for being a coward from such govt.. Hence no choice for sinkies..

I honestly think many Pinoys will commit suicide if Manny Pacquiao dies during a boxing match.

'National hero'... silly patriotic pride to boost your ridiculously low self-esteem. What losers these Pinoys are! :rolleyes:

I honestly think many Pinoys will commit suicide if Manny Pacquiao dies during a boxing match.

'National hero'... silly patriotic pride to boost your ridiculously low self-esteem. What losers these Pinoys are! :rolleyes:

those goons use their hearts too much.............

even jailed crooked politicians also can run for president..............

They are not going home but registering for the worst possible scenerio. Things are pretty bad in the US at present but many believe will get worse, hence the precaution.

and Philippines won't suffer ?

when angmohs go down..........everyone goes down............

Peiweh

Curious, how are things bad in the us?. economy is doing well, so wondering how things are bad?

jubilee1919

and Philippines won't suffer ?

when angmohs go down..........everyone goes down............

The Americans are not exactly angmohs as they are made up of many nationalities. Your view of Americans is quite narrow. Out of about 308 million Americans about 27.5% are non-whites which is about 85 million people. The Pinoys comprised about 1.1% which is about 3.4 million.

"when angmohs go down..........everyone goes down............"

Not necessarily so.

longbow

Make sense. Unless you had high paying jobs retirement there is expensive. One big sickness kena sued for any small thing and you are bankrupt.

It's up to each individual to hedge against such a situation well before it happens.

Many of my contemporaries have acquired residency elsewhere while continuing to live and work in Singapore.

In life, you have to safeguard your own interests and wellbeing. Nobody else is going to do that for you.

the pinoy population in the u.s. are having the best of both worlds: earn decent peon incomes in the u.s. and vacation like royalty back in the philippines. they understand the theory of relativity and practise it in real terms. :p

longbow

Now idea how the CPF works there but if it is just deposited into bank account, US$1K a month can live like King in Philippines. So it makes great sense for them to move back.

many of them rely on social security when they reach 62. if they work for over 20 years with average annual income of usd60k (typical but low end without factoring overtime), their individual ss payout per month after age 62 is around usd1200. very comfortable for them to buy a house in luzon and live half a year there. moreover, many game the welfare system and suck the system dry with fellow pinoy working as welfare clerks in county and state welfare departments.