• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Merchants associations are not even part of grassroots

tomychua

Article Source: https://goo.gl/1POG7B

12993583_983299975040640_517973616179692656_n.jpg

GOOD REBUTTAL, AS SEEN IN TISG POST’S COMMENTS...

“Merchants associations are not part of grassroots. They look after the welfare of neighbourhood businesses and represent merchants' operations in HDB areas. They are free to choose whom they wish to back or support.

If the tables were turned and CSJ was invited to the carnival instead of Murali, I don't think we'll see spiteful articles like this, right? I can alr imagine the headlines singing praises for CSJ plastered across all the alternative or political sites.

At the end of the day, since when do we need to invite an "elected politician" to such events? Sad that coverage for a meaningful event could be contorted into something so distasteful and petty"

Thats pure BS. If you attended a CCC meeting in any of the Constituencies, you will see representatives from local merchant groups, among other reps. And they are each and every meeting. These guys wear multiple hats - PAP, PA, RC and CCMC etc. They are the worst PLps - Years ago, the HDB relented and allowed these arseholes to take over public walkways to sell and store their goods behind their shop boundaries. Even the Coffeeshops were allowed to add more tables, put their dirty etc.

Why you think that CCC matters are kept quiet and only the PBM and BBM when are announced that you see the PLps names.

Article Source: https://goo.gl/1POG7B

12993583_983299975040640_517973616179692656_n.jpg

GOOD REBUTTAL, AS SEEN IN TISG POST’S COMMENTS...

“Merchants associations are not part of grassroots. They look after the welfare of neighbourhood businesses and represent merchants' operations in HDB areas. They are free to choose whom they wish to back or support.

If the tables were turned and CSJ was invited to the carnival instead of Murali, I don't think we'll see spiteful articles like this, right? I can alr imagine the headlines singing praises for CSJ plastered across all the alternative or political sites.

At the end of the day, since when do we need to invite an "elected politician" to such events? Sad that coverage for a meaningful event could be contorted into something so distasteful and petty"

Cosmos10

Thats pure BS. If you attended a CCC meeting in any of the Constituencies, you will see representatives from local merchant groups, among other reps. And they each and every meeting. These guys wear multiple hats - PAP, PA, RC and CCMC etc. They are the worst PLps - Years ago, the HDB relented and allowed these arseholes to take over public walkways to sell and store their goods. Even the Coffeeshops were allowed to add more tables, put their dirty etc.

Why you think that CCC matters are kept quiet and only the PBM and BBM are announced then you see the PLps names.

Agree with you! I posted something similar in my thread earlier: http://www.singsupplies.com/showthr...-fools-is-it-Who-paid-for-all-this-Wayang-huh

Please read my post here: http://www.singsupplies.com/showthr...for-all-this-Wayang-huh&p=2430251#post2430251

Channel NewsAsia said: "The event was organised by the People's Action Party's (PAP) Bukit Batok Branch Chairman and by-election candidate Murali Pillai and the Bukit Batok Merchants' Association."

Question: Who is the chairman of the Bukit BATOK Merchants' Association?

Answer: The Chairman of the Merchants’ Association is also the Bukit Batok RC Chairman and PA member

His name is : Mr Ong Gee Hong

Notes below: Thanks to Vernon Chan and Andrew Loh for pointing this out on Facebook:

***Shouldn't Murali have declined the collaboration in order not to bring the PA into disrepute or any controversy, given that the merchants association's president is also a PA member and RC chairman? Should not would-be Members of Parliament draw such a line so as to keep the grassroots unpoliticised, and seen to be so? Especially when he is involved in a very political by-election? This makes the deputy chairman of the PA, Chan Chun Sing, look like a complete idiot.***

12994522_1192927737398840_4941809172020357081_n.jpg
13063390_1192927754065505_2389249461842748839_o.jpg
13015237_1192927774065503_8511914152351521815_n.jpg
12983236_1192927784065502_1486810798712314022_o.jpg

shittypore

Every National day period, Cc and tis Association walk hand in hand, some times hold hands going shop to shop collecting donation for NDP dinner.

Cosmos10

SDP applies to Town Council to hold health screening event in Bukit Batok

We will wait and see what kind of excuses the Jurong-Clementi Town Council (JRTC) will give if they refuse to let the SDP hold the following event at the SAME location that was previously approved for Mr Murali's event two days ago. :biggrin:

http://www.singsupplies.com/showthr...for-all-this-Wayang-huh&p=2430471#post2430471

http://yoursdp.org/news/sdp_applies...creening_event_in_bukit_batok/2016-04-19-6117

Question to the kind SBF brothers here: What do you think? Do you think the Jurong-Clementi Town Council (JRTC) will give permission to the SDP or not? Ha ha :biggrin:

Official letter by the SDP to Jurong-Clementi Town Council (JRTC) on 19 April 2016:

The SDP has written to the Jurong-Clementi Town Council (JRTC) for permission to conduct a Health Screening Day for Bukit Batok residents. The event will be held at the basketball pavilion beside Blk 210, Bukit Batok East Avenue 6, on 30 April 2016, from 10 am to 4 pm. With qualified doctors and nurses, we will conduct screening for blood pressure and blood glucose levels on that day.

It was reported that Mr Murali recently held a carnival there and we look forward to organising our own event for Bukit Batok residents. Will keep you informed of JCTC's response.

Will be very surprised if the grant SDP's request and I am sure no one is holding their breath having seen opposition request repeatedly turned down.

Cosmos10

Will be very surprised if the grant SDP's request and I am sure no one is holding their breath having seen opposition request repeatedly turned down.

If they could approve for Mr Murali to conduct activities like hair cuts and assistance with job searching, they better give a good excuse for NOT approving the SDP to conduct health screening for the Bukit Batok residents.

Actually hor, if I am a Bukit Batok resident, there is no need to think so hard lah, just bravely vote for the SDP! :smile:

If the SDP wins, for the next four or five years, these BB residents will be the envy of Singapore! They will receive the best of attention from both the SDP and the PAP!

Dr Chee and the entire SDP team will work their hardest in Bukit Batok to prove themselves and to gain the residents' trust and approval.

The PAP will also work to try to win them back.

Because this is a by-election, it is a no-brainer SURE WIN situation for the BB residents if the SDP wins.

BB residents will gain nothing by voting for the PAP in this by-election, because the PAP will continue to take their votes for granted.

Our grassroots and CCC people are influential and deeply involved with community work. Their endorsement of Murali would encourage voters to vote wisely and keep the Chee out of our beautiful Bukit Batok.

SDP applies to Town Council to hold health screening event in Bukit Batok

We will wait and see what kind of excuses the Jurong-Clementi Town Council (JRTC) will give if they refuse to let the SDP hold the following event at the SAME location that was previously approved for Mr Murali's event two days ago. :biggrin:

http://www.singsupplies.com/showthr...for-all-this-Wayang-huh&p=2430471#post2430471

http://yoursdp.org/news/sdp_applies...creening_event_in_bukit_batok/2016-04-19-6117

Question to the kind SBF brothers here: What do you think? Do you think the Jurong-Clementi Town Council (JRTC) will give permission to the SDP or not? Ha ha :biggrin:

Official letter by the SDP to Jurong-Clementi Town Council (JRTC) on 19 April 2016:

The SDP has written to the Jurong-Clementi Town Council (JRTC) for permission to conduct a Health Screening Day for Bukit Batok residents. The event will be held at the basketball pavilion beside Blk 210, Bukit Batok East Avenue 6, on 30 April 2016, from 10 am to 4 pm. With qualified doctors and nurses, we will conduct screening for blood pressure and blood glucose levels on that day.

It was reported that Mr Murali recently held a carnival there and we look forward to organising our own event for Bukit Batok residents. Will keep you informed of JCTC's response.

SDP's application will be denied. The public facilities should not be used for political canvassing. PAP has never done so, so why should SDP get special privileges?

Mr Murali conducted his outreach under the PA banner. There is no mention of PAP or any display of its banners. SDP has every intentions of displaying its party logos and flags at their outreach, making it a political activity.

The town council would be doing the right thing to ensure a level playing field by rejecting the SDP application. Even if Murali applied for a PAP activity to conducted on town council property, the PAP town council should do the right thing and reject Murali. This would be fair to both political parties.

Cosmos10

SDP's application will be denied. The public facilities should not be used for political canvassing. PAP has never done so, so why should SDP get special privileges?

Mr Murali conducted his outreach under the PA banner. There is no mention of PAP or any display of its banners. SDP has every intentions of displaying its party logos and flags at their outreach, making it a political activity.

The town council would be doing the right thing to ensure a level playing field by rejecting the SDP application. Even if Murali applied for a PAP activity to conducted on town council property, the PAP town council should do the right thing and reject Murali. This would be fair to both political parties.

Your comment has just proven that the PA is not neutral. The PA is helping Murali, a PAP candidate, using taxpayers money.

To the residents, the PA is synonymous with the PAP, flags or no flags.

If Murali could conduct his outreach under the PA banner, could the SDP also do their outreach under the PA banner huh?

Cosmos10

Our grassroots and CCC people are influential and deeply involved with community work. Their endorsement of Murali would encourage voters to vote wisely and keep the Chee out of our beautiful Bukit Batok.

Strictly speaking, the PA, using taxpayers money, (like the Civil Service and other stat boards), should be neutral and not endorsing any political candidate. Anything else is conflict of interest. Period.

The PAP should raise their own campaign funds, just like the opposition parties have to work hard to raise their own campaign funds.

All these years, the PAP has been unfairly and unethically making use of taxpayers money for their own political campaign activities, indirectly through the PA.

Faker

cosmos10,
How you and your sdp friends signed yourself up as grassroots volunteers? I am suggesting to turn the grassroots to your advantage.

The problem is with the system, not PAP. PAP is just using the system left behind by the British. It was not devised by the PAP. The election rules make it clear that the political party that secures the majority of the parliamentary seats, ie. 50.001%, will form 100% of the government and control 100% of all government agencies, while the opposition, even if they make up 49.99% of Parliament, will be left with zilch to run save for the local town councils.

The PA is a stat board that serves only the government of the day. Since PAP is 100% of the government, it is no surprise that PA will therefore serve PAP. PA can also turn against PAP like a fiend if WP or SDP gains power and forms 100% of the government.

Cosmos10

The problem is with the system, not PAP. PAP is just using the system left behind by the British. It was not devised by the PAP. The election rules make it clear that the political party that secures the majority of the parliamentary seats, ie. 50.001%, will form 100% of the government and control 100% of all government agencies, while the opposition, even if they make up 49.99% of Parliament, will be left with zilch to run save for the local town councils.

The PA is a stat board that serves only the government of the day. Since PAP is 100% of the government, it is no surprise that PA will therefore serve PAP. PA can also turn against PAP like a fiend if WP or SDP gains power and forms 100% of the government.

The PAP is a political party, just like all the other political parties.

The PA should serve the citizens, not serve the PAP.

Faker

Mr Porlumpar, I absolutely agree with you if we are on a 2-party system. By the way, everyone knows your objective in grassroots is merely to advance your business interest and eat some mangoes along the way.

Cosmos10

cosmos10,
How you and your sdp friends signed yourself up as grassroots volunteers? I am suggesting to turn the grassroots to your advantage.

Hi bro Faker, your suggestion/idea would be good, except for the fact that the PA’s Chairman is the Prime Minister. It is not politically neutral. Only PAP MPs can be appointed as PA Grassroots Advisers, opposition MPs cannot.

You meant they r busy lining their pockets n the gangland association is anything but serving the interest of voters