• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Master's degree holder sent 50 job applications without success

MarrickG

He holds a Master's degree in Literature, but was unable to find a job, even after sending out 50 resumes.

After graduating with a second class honours at a local university, Adam (not his real name), 34, obtained a Master's of Arts degree two years ago.

To the man on the street, having higher qualifications would be a golden ticket to a well-paying job, but for Adam, the process of finding a job was an uphill climb.

Adam claimed he was not picky about the job scope and salary, but just hoped to find a decent job with a salary enough to feed and clothe himself.

He sent out about 50 resumes to government organisations and companies in the private sector, but did not get a single reply.

He said desperation even drove him to apply for management trainee, administrative and librarian positions which do not require someone with a Master's degree, but to no avail.

"When I finally got an interview opportunity, the manager told me frankly that I was overqualified and they were actually looking to hire a degree-holder," said Adam.

"He even very kindly discussed my career options with me."

Adam believes he had difficulty finding employment because of his specialisation, which is "hard to market".

"While I was studying for my Master's degree, I went to an employment fair. When the representative from a statutory board realised I was doing Literature, he immediately lost interest and told me to apply for a teaching position at the Ministry of Education instead."

With much persistence, Adam eventually found a job in public relations and subsquently, as a writer in the media industry.

But the worry of facing the same problem of unemployment in the future spurred him to take up a part-time course in accountancy and business - more 'marketable' subjects.

Need more effort in marketing yourself

What should you do if you did not study a popular or marketable course at university?

"You will need to spend more effort in 'selling yourself'", says recruitment expert, Mr Liang Cang Guo.

Mr Liang says those with an Arts degree tend to be strong in their language, and can consider a career in the creative line, as a journalist, or in public relations.

Instead of looking for jobs on your own, Mr Liang also suggests signing up with a recruitment agency, which can help to promote your skills to employers.

talkleerean

Only market for this qualification is either teach English and Literature in secondary schools, work for SPH or work in UK where writers are abound. We in singapore seldom proclaim the mysteries of xxxx or read plays by shakespeare. Where got time, when everyone's face is at smartphones with ready information on hand.
Even accountancy profession is flooded with foreign talents without need by employers to pay their share of CPF. Thus, more unique skill sets in addition to qualification will be in demand by employers.

Some can write really well and it stimulate the mind...

I used to have a girl friend that got more turned-on when reading such stories as compared to watching porn leh.

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
He holds a Master's degree in Literature, but was unable to find a job, even after sending out 50 resumes.

After graduating with a second class honours at a local university, Adam (not his real name), 34, obtained a Master's of Arts degree two years ago.
But the worry of facing the same problem of unemployment in the future spurred him to take up a part-time course in accountancy and business - more 'marketable' subjects.

He has an issue with self confidence. No amount of papers chasing will get him out of his mental frame.

Looks like the MIW emphasis on papers, trainning and re-trainning has box people into a corner unable to think out of it. :rolleyes:

Agoraphobic

Welcome to the real world.

There are thousands like this dude in cities all over the world. Society is flooded with well (and over) qualified blokes with paper degrees. His chances of getting a job is still better in Sg than most cities the world over although not in his field of study. My advice to this bloke if he wants to pursue his field is to go back to academia, get a a post there.

He should try writing a book.

1. sammy, not so yet man!
2. the individual should be some ghost writer for some elite sheep here.
3. book after book were published.
4. furthermore, there are already dozens of those retired sheep going into some advisory role thing.
5. writing a memoir should be next in-line too.

If you wanna make money from writing in Singapore, you need to write rubbish books such as these...

9673-225x225-Truesingapore.jpg

515Q5EQ3FHL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

LumparChee

A sinkie (chinese, indian, malay, eurasian etc) should never study for a degree in english or literature.

First, there is no marketable value in the job market. The job openings are in media and advertising, PR, publishing and schools only. Not enough to go around for all the english and literature graduates.

Second, it is not recognised overseas. If you want to teach english in china, japan, korea etc, you will have great difficulty getting a job. They prefer to employ a native speaker even if the native speaker is not trained in language-teaching.

The accent is important. Nobody wants to learn Singapore-accented english. In china, Singaporeans' english is being looked down upon. Over there, they want to learn New York accented english.
They want to learn the kind of spoken english they heard in the Hollywood movies.

A chinese sinkie is better off getting a masters in chinese language. At least he/she can teach chinese to americans in the U.S. Learning chinese is the in-thing now in the U.S.

Perspective

I suspect the chap applied for the wrong jobs. If you graduate in engineering and apply for 100 accountancy jobs, even as an accounts clerk, how to get it? And if you apply as cleaner and people see your Masters degree, they will think you are mad. No cleaning employer wants to take in a potential IMH patient in case they hurt people with mops and brooms (serious).

Why am I not surprised that a literature grad ended up with the media industry. He should have known.

If you don't follow your passion and talents, doing 'marketable' subjects will only make your more miserable.

For example, a man detest numbers. Forcing him into accountancy or a job which requires daily computation of statistics will be a torture.

Similarly, if you don't like to meet people, give presentations or talk them into purchasing something, you will feel miserable doing sales. So what if the commissions are potentially lucrative?

Too many people just mindlessly follow the crowd, or aim for what is perceived to be the 'right path' in life.

friend, i came across someone who has a degree in journalism from cambridge and was sitting at home for a year +, but she's one odd ball probably read too much and wire up there sort sort...

btw, you think so easy to find a decent job nowadays. better cherish n protect your rice bowl even if there is a need to play fierce office politics and oust your boss out of his job...:(

Only market for this qualification is either teach English and Literature in secondary schools, work for SPH or work in UK where writers are abound. We in singapore seldom proclaim the mysteries of xxxx or read plays by shakespeare. Where got time, when everyone's face is at smartphones with ready information on hand.
Even accountancy profession is flooded with foreign talents without need by employers to pay their share of CPF. Thus, more unique skill sets in addition to qualification will be in demand by employers.

... "When I finally got an interview opportunity, the manager told me frankly that I was overqualified and they were actually looking to hire a degree-holder," said Adam.
dese ppl never screen properly b4 calling ppl 4 interview ... oni waste evrybody's time ... :rolleyes:

congo9

At this age and times, there are people thinking of having a degree can garuantee financially stability ? What has he been studying all these yrs ? All are wasted ! ! !

the thing said about schooling nowadays is that " not all graduates will be successful in life and not all school drop outs will be useless"...:(:o

i 'd think the best armour in life is self learning both from books and on the streets...:o

At this age and times, there are people thinking of having a degree can garuantee financially stability ? What has he been studying all these yrs ? All are wasted ! ! !