• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Master's degree holder sent 50 job applications without success

People should learn to work for themselves instead of begging for crumbs from other people.

There are blogshop owners who make 30 grand a month. You just have to find your niche area. Its not as hard as people make it out to be.

Leongsam said:
Anything beyond a basic degree is a waste of time. The ROI on a tertiary education is decidedly negative in this day and age unless you're getting a recognised professional qualification from a top notch university.

Very right. The possession of an advanced degree is useless and a total waste of time if you don't have the working experience to back you up unless you happen to be working for the military or in the civil service where they cannot evaluate your merit without looking at your papers.

He should have sent in his application to http://www.pap.org.sg/ and attend their minum kopi session, pity his father don't own a coffee shop or he will be picked for a stellar career move. The name Adam, sound like......... ??

This also highlights the hiring inflexibility with sinkie employers. One stupid thing is organisations only recruit candidates based on qualifications in the relevant field.

Few managers acknowledge the training received during the course rather than the field of study. I know someone who graduated in specialist science course but applied for a very technical banking/finance role in UK. And she is doing very well today.

If she had applied for a bank job in sinkieland, I bet her CV wouldn't even have made it past the HR assistant.

Another problem with the system here is the general condemnation of liberal arts degrees like literature, philosophy and psychology. I will stick my head out to say that some of the more competent colleagues/bosses are liberal arts graduates (and I am working in a technical field btw). And they've all picked up the technical/business knowledge during apprenticeships and/or subsequent post-graduate courses. They are very powerful critical thinkers who can always see the big picture.

Exactly..peesai is shit. The only way to survive here is to be assimilated. Resistance is futile. So if you have a degree that no sinkee sheep employer wants, you better know how to give good BJs to pappies.

these days, jit learning is the new norm. a degree is what you get for engineering, medical or accountancy.
master or phd for academics.

get a masters in literature in singapore??? overpriced, overeducated and not built to market purpose.

Agree with you in the main.

Usually at entry level, organisations consider everyone. It only when someone leave the workforce to pursue a second qualification then organisations become very selective. Your choice of second qualification will indicate your interest and supposedly your long term goal. If you then apply for a job that does not relate to your second qualification, you have only yourself to blame.

I have seen people especially ladies taking up HR post grad qualification as they want to pursue HR as a specialisation. If you then choose something else, employers will wonder. Same with this guy. At age 32, he pursued Literature. That is a signal. There are hundreds of discipline why literature.

This also highlights the hiring inflexibility with sinkie employers. One stupid thing is organisations only recruit candidates based on qualifications in the relevant field.

Few managers acknowledge the training received during the course rather than the field of study. I know someone who graduated in specialist science course but applied for a very technical banking/finance role in UK. And she is doing very well today.

If she had applied for a bank job in sinkieland, I bet her CV wouldn't even have made it past the HR assistant.

Another problem with the system here is the general condemnation of liberal arts degrees like literature, philosophy and psychology. I will stick my head out to say that some of the more competent colleagues/bosses are liberal arts graduates (and I am working in a technical field btw). And they've all picked up the technical/business knowledge during apprenticeships and/or subsequent post-graduate courses. They are very powerful critical thinkers who can always see the big picture.

Some can write really well and it stimulate the mind...

I used to have a girl friend that got more turned-on when reading such stories as compared to watching porn leh.
Your mind is the biggest sex organ...

As I've argued ad nauseam, make capital work for you, not the other way round. :)

[video=youtube;yMpqxvboPrY]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yMpqxvboPrY[/video]

He holds a Master's degree in Literature, but was unable to find a job, even after sending out 50 resumes.

After graduating with a second class honours at a local university, Adam (not his real name), 34, obtained a Master's of Arts degree two years ago.
:
:

Tim Johnson (born 1962) is an American animation director specializing in CGI animation. Johnson has directed in many films such as Antz, Sinbad: Legend of the Seven Seas and Over the Hedge.

Johnson studied at Northwestern University where he earned a BA in English Literature, he also produced two animated films, both of which he earned Richard Grant Organization Award.

Upon graduating, he worked for two years as a freelance animator and director. His introduction to computer animation came in 1985 while he worked on the staff at Post Effects in Chicago. He also directed the first CG Pillsbury Doughboy commercial. He later joined Pacific Data Images (PDI) in 1989 and co-founded the animation division in 1995.

Tim won two Annie awards on Antz and Over the Hedge and an Audience Award on Over the Hedge and a Grand Prize in The Simpsons' Treehouse of Horror VI.

He served as executive producer for How to Train Your Dragon in 3D.

He has most recently served the director of the Kung Fu Panda Holiday Special.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tim_Johnson_(film_director)

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0426333/

Your mind is the biggest sex organ...

200px-Stephen_Hawking.StarChild.jpg

I bet Stephen Hawking arouses many women with his intelligence.

Tim Johnson (born 1962) is an American animation director specializing in CGI animation. Johnson has directed in many films such as Antz, Sinbad: Legend of the Seven Seas and Over the Hedge.

Johnson studied at Northwestern University where he earned a BA in English Literature, he also produced two animated films, both of which he earned Richard Grant Organization Award.

Upon graduating, he worked for two years as a freelance animator and director. His introduction to computer animation came in 1985 while he worked on the staff at Post Effects in Chicago. He also directed the first CG Pillsbury Doughboy commercial. He later joined Pacific Data Images (PDI) in 1989 and co-founded the animation division in 1995.

Tim won two Annie awards on Antz and Over the Hedge and an Audience Award on Over the Hedge and a Grand Prize in The Simpsons' Treehouse of Horror VI.

He served as executive producer for How to Train Your Dragon in 3D.

He has most recently served the director of the Kung Fu Panda Holiday Special.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tim_Johnson_(film_director)

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0426333/

Thats why he should immigrate. Sinkee sheeps dont value and appreciate people who are passionate at what they do no matter what the degree is. Only 1st world countries and 1st world thinkers would appreciate him.

If the specialisation is accounting,engineering or law,better chances of getting hired by employers.

Probably the procurement of a master's degree is but an exercise in humility.

It also doesn't mean that "master" is the master of his fate too.

You like the sound of your own voice, don't you? WTF are you doing replying to your own post? :D

If the specialisation is accounting,engineering or law,better chances of getting hired by employers.

Great scott Batman! I understand where you are coming from. But this is the reason why sinkees dont excel in what they do. Get an engineering degree in order to get a job. But in the end, are they passionate about it? Look at all the useless scholars in the civil service. All paper but not much brains.

The people I know who are making good money, none have any master's degree. They are only masters of their own destinies.

Li Ka Shing, Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, Ingvar Kamprad, Larry Ellison, Michael Dell, Richard Branson and the list goes on and on.....

Successful people don't have to study for a Masters degree. They'll be awarded an honorary doctorate.