• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Many Pappys don't like OngYK..not Team player.

OYK poses with an unmasked man. :biggrin:

333231025_242189361469821_8025061752740731979_n.jpg

OYK would like to welcome Dr Teo Ho Pin, who assumes the role of Chairperson of the Traditional Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board (TCMPB). :thumbsup:

Ong Ye Kung

1 d ·
I would like to welcome Dr Teo Ho Pin, who assumes the role of Chairperson of the Traditional Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board (TCMPB) from tomorrow.
Dr Teo takes over from Mrs Yu-Foo Yee Shoon who has helmed the Board for the last nine years.
During her term, Mrs Yu-Foo led the work of a committee to review the TCM landscape in 2019, and made wide-ranging recommendations on how TCM can better contribute to our healthcare ecosystem.
During her time, the TCMPB also further enhanced the standards and education of TCM practitioners, and improved its workstreams and processes.
Dr Teo is a familiar face, having served as a Member of Parliament for 24 years. He is also a patron to many clan associations, voluntary welfare organisations and Chinese temples.
I look forward to working closely with him to further strengthening the practice of TCM in Singapore.
I would also like to express my sincere appreciation to Mrs Yu-Foo for her valuable contributions. I have known her for many years, and she has always been a big sister to me.
Photo credit: Lianhe Zaobao
May be an image of 7 people, people standing and indoor

from straitstimes.com:

Those with chronic illness can sign up earlier for Healthier SG programme​

aihealthier2602.JPG

Under the programme, people will enroll with a primary care doctor who will holistically manage their health. PHOTO: ST FILE
thamyuen-c.png

Tham Yuen-C
Senior Political Correspondent
UPDATED

27 FEB 2023, 6:40 PM SGT

FacebookTwitter

SINGAPORE – Patients with chronic illnesses will get to enrol earlier in the Healthier SG programme, which allows Singapore residents to choose a dedicated general practitioner to manage their health.
Health Minister Ong Ye Kung on Saturday said the national programme, announced last year, will hold a pre-enrolment exercise from May for those aged 40 years and older who have chronic illnesses.
Healthier SG is slated to kick off in July, starting with those who are at least 60.

To qualify for early enrolment, patients must have been seeing the same GP regularly for the management of their chronic illness, and their GP’s clinic must have signed up to be in the programme, added Mr Ong.
The move to have people see a dedicated family physician comes as Singapore shifts to a healthcare model based on prevention, instead of reactively caring for those who are already sick.
Speaking to reporters on the sidelines of a ministerial visit to Pasir Ris Central, Mr Ong said doctors have raised concerns that their patients may be crowded out if response to Healthier SG is too overwhelming.

Under the programme, people will enrol with a primary care doctor who will holistically manage their health.

Those who sign up will have a free consultation on their first visit, during which the doctor will work out a health plan that can include diet adjustments, an exercise regimen and regular health screenings.
Mr Ong said the pre-enrolment exercise in May will ensure that people with chronic illnesses can register first and continue to see their GP, noting that 40 years is the age when most chronic illnesses start to develop.
He added that the benefits of the programme will kick in in July.

In the next two years, those in the 40-59 age group will also be able to sign up for the programme.
Health experts and analysts have said that this model of healthcare will hopefully result in better health and keep people out of hospitals, which are expected to come under increased strain as the population ages.
Mr Ong, responding to a question on whether there is a hospital bed crunch because of an uptick in Covid-19 cases in the past weeks, said it was not Covid-19 that caused the hospital workload to shoot up, but rather other viral, respiratory and chronic illnesses.
While some people had posted on social media about waiting for 20 hours for a hospital bed, this was more the exception than the norm, he said.
He said those who go to the accident and emergency department of hospitals will be seen by doctors or nurses on arrival. If their cases are deemed urgent, they will be admitted right away.
For non-urgent cases, the wait for a bed in most hospitals is four to five hours, though it can go up to even 20 hours in the busiest hospitals, he acknowledged.

Mr Ong added that the heavier workload at hospitals is “a trend we need to tackle”, noting that it is compounded by society ageing.
This underscores the importance of keeping Singaporeans healthy and active, he said.
Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office Desmond Tan, who is the MP for the Pasir Ris Central division of Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC, said some grassroots activities in his constituency have been geared towards getting seniors to embrace active ageing.
Besides holding health screenings and sports activities at the sports centre there, there are also food distribution and free haircut drives to get seniors out of the home so that they can forge friendships with neighbours and keep active.
“I think it’s also a platform to bond together,” he told reporters.

OYK has a major announcement about a major transformation. :thumbsup:

Ong Ye Kung

1 h ·
Our healthcare system is undergoing a major transformation.
At Ministry of Health, Singapore's Committee of Supply Debate today, I explained how the healthcare system is actually three interlinked systems:
1f3e5.png
The acute care system which is mature and well-developed, treats people who are very sick. We will continue to expand it to meet rising healthcare needs.
1f45f.png
The population health system that is in its adolescence. We need to put stronger emphasis on good health and preventive care. We are building it up through Healthier SG, which is rolling out in July.
‍
‍
The aged care system that is in its infancy, and still developing. We want to make ageing in the communities the default with the help of our community partners and Active Ageing Centres.
The impetus to act now is COVID-19, which has made things that were hitherto impossible, possible.
Read my full speech at go.gov.sg/moh-cos2023-speech
May be an image of 1 person and sitting

OYK makes a serious announcement. :cool:

Ong Ye Kung

1 h ·
Today, Ministry of Health - Singapore announced that the MediShield Life claim limit for cancer drug services will be increased from $1,200 to $3,600 per calendar year from 1 April 2023.
To recap, in September last year, we introduced two key changes.
1️⃣
The Cancer Drug List (CDL) was introduced, to give MOH more leverage to negotiate for lower prices of cancer drugs. We have since managed to reduce prices of drugs in the CDL by 30% on average, and by over 60% for some drugs.
2️⃣
A separate claim limit for outpatient cancer drug services such as scans, blood tests, doctor consultations and supportive care drugs.
For cancer drug services, we received feedback that the MediShield Life claim limit may not be adequate for some patients. We have therefore reviewed the limits and have decided to increase it.
Like many policy changes, the recent moves on cancer drugs serve to make treatment affordable. But it requires the support of stakeholders, and feedback like this that can help us improve and fine-tune the policy.
May be an image of 1 person

OYK wants to prolong his active years. :biggrin:

Ong Ye Kung

3 h ·
While we cannot change our age, we can prolong our active years by taking care of our health and our minds.
我们虽然改变不了自己的年龄,但我们能改变对待年龄的看法。若能照顾好自己的身体,保持身心健康,就算人老,心也不会老。

OYK underwent a partial knee replacement. :cautious:

Ong Ye Kung

8 h ·
More than 10 years ago, I tore the meniscus in my right knee while playing football in a labour union tournament.
Thereafter, the cartilage wore out quickly, and I have been experiencing bone on bone pain in the right knee. I gave up football, long distance running and long hikes - which are the activities I enjoyed. I started cycling, swimming, and taking shorter walks (and very occasional Wushu and Taekwando) which I can still handle.
Now that we are in Dorscon Green, and after discussing with my doctor, I decided to undergo a partial knee replacement. It was successfully completed this morning. So my right knee is now half titanium.
It’s six weeks of rehab from here. I hope to be able to go about daily activities, including going to office and attending meetings after a couple of days of rest. But I will need to cut down my external engagements, including suspending my home visits which involve a lot of stair-climbing.
Many thanks to the care team at National University Hospital - NUH for performing the surgery so competently, and taking care of me. The doctors, nurses and therapists have been most kind and helpful. Bravo!
May be an image of 1 person

from straitstimes.com:

Food distribution drives in Pasir Ris Central to help alleviate cost of living pressure​

2023022577879129dsc5852-01_2.jpg

Grassroots volunteers teamed up with community organisations to give out free food and sundries to residents. ST PHOTO: ARIFFIN JAMAR
thamyuen-c.png

Tham Yuen-C
Senior Political Correspondent
UPDATED

25 FEB 2023, 11:35 PM SGT

FacebookTwitter

SINGAPORE – Large heads of broccoli, bags of spinach and boxes of tangerines were among the groceries on offer at a makeshift market of sorts set up in the Costa Ris estate in Pasir Ris Central on Saturday.
Grassroots volunteers teamed up with community organisations to give out free food and sundries to residents there. Besides fresh produce, the residents also received dried goods and canned food.
The Grocery Runs initiative, which has been running since March 2022, is among several food drives started in the area to help residents alleviate the impact of the rising cost of living.

Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office Desmond Tan, who oversees the area as an MP of Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC, said: “There are people who need some help, whether in jobs or in some kind of cost-of-living management. So we want to be there for our residents.
“We want to make sure nobody gets left behind.”
Singaporeans have been affected by rising prices, with worldwide inflation hitting record levels in 2022 due to soaring energy prices, prompting the Government to roll out three packages that year totalling more than $3.5 billion to help people cope.

With core inflation here rising to 5.5 per cent year on year in January, the highest since November 2008, cost-of-living issues featured prominently last week as MPs debated the Government’s Budget statement.

Core inflation, which excludes the costs of private transport and accommodation, is said to reflect the daily expenses of Singapore households more accurately.
Madam Hong Ming Zhu, who is among the beneficiaries of the fortnightly Grocery Runs, said her family of four has had to spend less on groceries.
The 74-year-old added: “Fish and vegetables are very expensive now, so this helps.”

Her family is one of more than 480 households living in the four blocks of two- and three-room flats in the estate.
Ms Keena Tay, chairman of Costa Ris Residents’ Network, which works with Riverlife Community Services and other grassroots organisations on the initiative, said all residents in the four blocks are eligible for the free groceries.
The aim is not just to help lessen the cost-of living pressures, but also to get to know the residents better so that grassroots volunteers can help if they have other problems.
Mr Tan said that over time, the food distribution drive has become like a kampung activity because residents turn up early for drinks and snacks and sometimes even entertainment.
On Saturday, they were serenaded by Health Minister Ong Ye Kung, who was on a ministerial visit to the division.

2023022546086062dsc5720-01_1.jpg

Health Minister Ong Ye Kung greeting residents at the Costa Ris estate in Pasir Ris Central on Saturday. ST PHOTO: ARIFFIN JAMAR

“We want to create more platforms like this to allow residents to interact, to stay healthy both physically as well as mentally,” said Mr Tan, who is the grassroots adviser for the area.
Besides Grocery Runs, there is also a Bread Runs initiative, which is held weekly on Saturdays, to deliver fresh bread – sponsored by local bakeries, individuals and food charity Food from the Heart – to needy families.
As part of the Bread Runs initiative, local business D’Best Recreation, which runs a fishing pond within Pasir Ris Central, has also joined in to supply fresh fish to needy residents.

from straitstimes.com:

Healthier SG participants can get $20 in vouchers, opt for enhanced chronic drug subsidy tier​

20220302863327669k7a2591-01_12.jpg

Those with high chronic medication needs and bills who enrol with a GP clinic can opt for a new Healthier SG chronic tier. PHOTO: ST FILE
joyceteo.png

Joyce Teo
Senior Health Correspondent
UPDATED

3 MAR 2023, 10:24 PM SGT

FacebookTwitter

SINGAPORE – With hospitals and clinics well-placed to treat those who are very sick, the nation’s healthcare priorities are now focused on helping people stay healthy, and keeping seniors out of hospitals and nursing homes.
When Singapore’s major preventive care strategy known as Healthier SG kicks off in July, for instance, Singapore citizens and permanent residents who enrol with a general practitioner (GP) clinic or polyclinic will get $20 worth of Healthpoints upon completion of the first free health plan consultation, Health Minister Ong Ye Kung said in Parliament on Friday.
The 3,000 Healthpoints, available through the Healthy 365 app, can be exchanged for vouchers or credits from participating merchants such as FairPrice or TransitLink.

Those with high chronic medication needs and bills who enrol with a GP clinic can opt for a new Healthier SG chronic tier to access certain common drugs at prices comparable to those at polyclinics from early next year. This is an enhanced subsidy for chronic drugs at GP clinics for Healthier SG enrollees who are Community Health Assist Scheme (Chas) cardholders, said the minister.
Apart from this preventive health strategy, the Ministry of Health (MOH) is also focusing on developing the aged-care system to make it easier for residents to age in the community, instead of in nursing homes, while continuing to increase hospital capacity and build more polyclinics to meet rising needs.
MOH now looks at healthcare as three interlinked systems, Mr Ong said during the debate on his ministry’s budget on Friday.

One is the mature and well-developed acute care system, which treats people who are very sick through hospitals and specialist clinics.

Then there is the population health system, which stresses good health and preventive care through Healthier SG.
The third is the aged-care system that is in its infancy and still developing, but needs to focus on aged care taking place predominantly in the community, said Mr Ong.
The imperative for this transformation is the rapidly ageing population, which he believes is the biggest social development of this generation.

Mr Ong first described Healthier SG, which seeks to shift the gravity of care from hospitals to the community, at last year’s Budget debate.
Enrolment in the initiative will start in July with those aged 60 and above, but younger residents with chronic illness who are aged 40 and above can pre-enrol from May with their GPs, if their doctors have signed up with Healthier SG. The initiative will be progressively rolled out to those aged between 40 and 59 in the next two years.
The idea is to get residents to build a long-term relationship with one family doctor, who will help them take charge of their health.

Traditionally, many patients with complex chronic diseases prefer to get their medications from polyclinics because of the lower prices. Their current Chas benefits are not enough to pay for the drugs at GP clinics.
But with the new chronic tier, they will be able to get their supply of chronic drugs from GP clinics at around the same price as at polyclinics, said Mr Ong.
MPs such as Dr Tan Wu Meng (Jurong GRC), Dr Lim Wee Kiak (Sembawang GRC), Mr Ang Wei Neng (West Coast GRC) and Ms Ng Ling Ling (Ang Mo Kio GRC) had asked for updates on Healthier SG.
Most Healthier SG enrollees, however, likely will not need to switch to the new tier.
Mr Ong said that today, Chas already provides significant subsidies for patients who have lower chronic medication needs. They pay nothing or very little for doctor visits and medications for their chronic conditions.

Under this new tier, there is no dollar cap attached to the 50 per cent to 87.5 per cent subsidy for a selected white list of drugs, which are those commonly used in polyclinics, such as metformin and losartan. The subsidy level depends on income level.
But there will be a lower yearly cap for the subsidies for consultation, investigations, other non-drug related care and non-white-listed drugs, compared with the original Chas chronic tier, which is for all components of the patient’s bill, including all medications.
Healthier SG enrollees with Chas cards will have the same Chas subsidies for common illnesses. There is no change for Chas cardholders who do not enrol in Healthier SG.
Also, from early next year, enrolled residents with chronic conditions can use their MediSave savings to pay for their full treatment at their primary care clinic, subject to a withdrawal limit, instead of having to co-pay 15 per cent of their bill in cash.
Dr Tan said the healthcare system must allow sufficient time for consultations, particularly in Singapore’s ageing society.
“If a clinic is too busy and consultation times are too short, it becomes harder to promote health,” he said. “Six sessions of five minutes each are not the same as a half-hour conversation.”
So far, about 800 of the 1,200 GP clinics that are on the Chas scheme are part of a primary care network, which is a prerequisite for Healthier SG. Eligible residents will be invited to register and choose their preferred clinic with the HealthHub app.
In his speech, Mr Ong also said his ministry is looking into the growing issue of abuse in healthcare institutions, and will share its plans on this later this month. This will help to keep healthcare staff motivated, particularly given how tight the healthcare manpower situation is, even as the nursing and support care workforce is being beefed up.

MOH will also invest in the right IT tools and systems to allow patients’ key health data to be shared across health providers in a safe and secure manner.
Mr Ong said the ministry is supporting GPs in many ways, including offering IT grants and paying annual service fees for the GPs to look after Healthier SG enrollees.
As MOH will be fully funding preventive services such as nationally recommended vaccinations and health screenings for enrolled Singaporeans, GPs will very likely have to deliver more of these services, he said.

OYK was touched by this card. :smile:

Ong Ye Kung

8 h ·
Many thanks for all your well wishes. Was especially touched by this card which was hand delivered by the children at my MPS (unfortunately I could not be there to receive it personally).
Am diligently doing my exercises, taking my meds, and gradually getting back on my feet.

334981184_877222373577010_6439299187198105045_n.jpg

OYK congratulates the NCCS team. :thumbsup:

Ong Ye Kung

3 h ·
Since opening its first clinic in Dec 2022, the National Cancer Centre Singapore (NCCS) has fully moved into its new premises at 30 Hospital Boulevard today.
All clinics and patient services, including pharmacy, imaging and radiology services are now operational in the new 24-storey building.
The latest to make the move is the Ambulatory Treatment Unit (ATU). With a total of 109 chairs for patients to receive chemotherapy treatment, the ATU has a 70% increase in capacity compared to before.
Besides being five times larger than the previous centre, the new NCCS offers dedicated research space to enable greater collaboration between researchers and clinicians. Supportive care is also available to patients through the Singapore Cancer Society which is located in the same building.
Congrats to the NCCS team on the successful move and I wish you all the best in your new home.

from straitstimes.com:

Ong Ye Kung suspends home visits after partial knee replacement to address old football injury​

acongyekung060323_1.jpg

Over 10 years ago, Health Minister Ong Ye Kung tore the meniscus in his right knee while playing football in a labour union tournament. PHOTO: ONG YE KUNG/FACEBOOK
goh_yan_han.png

Goh Yan Han
Political Correspondent
UPDATED

6 MAR 2023, 2:19 PM SGT

FacebookTwitter

SINGAPORE - Health Minister Ong Ye Kung underwent a partial knee replacement at the National University Hospital (NUH) on Monday, and will be cutting down on external engagements while he recovers.
In a Facebook post, Mr Ong said that rehabilitation will take six weeks, during which he hopes to be able to go about daily activities, such as going to the office and attending meetings, after a couple of days of rest.
He will cut down on external engagements, which also means suspending home visits that involve a lot of climbing of stairs, he added.

Mr Ong said that more than 10 years ago, he tore the meniscus in his right knee while playing football in a labour union tournament.
The cartilage then wore out quickly, and he said he had been experiencing bone on bone pain in the right knee.
He had to give up activities he enjoyed – football, long-distance running and long hikes – and started cycling, swimming and taking shorter walks instead, with occasional wushu and taekwondo sessions.

Since Singapore has shifted back to green on the Disease Outbreak Response System Condition or Dorscon framework, Mr Ong discussed with his doctor and decided to undergo the surgery, which was successfully completed on Monday morning.

“So my right knee is now half titanium,” he said.
Partial knee replacement is generally considered elective surgery. Many such procedures were delayed or cancelled here amid the Covid-19 pandemic to ease the load on the healthcare system.
Mr Ong thanked the team at NUH for “performing the surgery so competently, and taking care of me”.
“The doctors, nurses and therapists have been most kind and helpful. Bravo!”

from straitstimes.com:

Forum: Educate people more about home palliative care​

UPDATED

6 MAR 2023, 5:01 AM SGT

FacebookTwitter

Health Minister Ong Ye Kung was spot-on when he presented the survey findings on the majority of Singaporeans wishing to spend their final days in the familiar surroundings of their home rather than in hospitals (Patients receiving home care can use MediSave to pay bills from second half of 2023, March 3).
While the Ministry of Health and its agencies can look at the clinical aspects of home palliative care, as a society, we must start to educate our population more on the final stages of our lives.
Often, fear and uncertainties prevent many families from fulfilling the wishes of their loved ones. These are compounded by superstition and beliefs regarding death.

To slowly but surely encourage more families to choose the option of home palliative care, we need to have more education about what it involves, and how family members and caregivers can manage the final journey of their loved ones.
The process can, and indeed will, be a dignified one if properly managed.
Having experienced what it was like for my late mother to receive home palliative care, I can vouch for the expertise and capability of the service providers in Singapore.

Bernard C. G. Law

OYK is delighted. :laugh:

Ong Ye Kung

9 h ·
I read with great delight that Changi Airport is once again the best airport in the world, after missing out for the last two years due to COVID-19.
When I was Transport Minister in 2020, I described Changi Airport as a lung of Singapore, as it connects us with the outside world, and energises every sector of our economy.
More importantly, I said that while the pandemic had been a trying time, like a hardy bougainvillea, Changi will bloom again. This is due to the dedication and resilience of all the great people in the aviation sector.
Congratulations!

335138641_1298585334082004_4549240582814989199_n.jpg

OYK looks forward to the outcomes of the cooperation. :thumbsup:

Ong Ye Kung

1 d ·
Singapore and Indonesia MOH renewed an expanded Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) on Health Cooperation at the Singapore-Indonesia Leaders’ Retreat today.
Witnessed by the leaders of both countries, the MOU represents our shared aspiration to build capacities in the health sector through partnership and cooperation.
Some potential activities under the MOU will include the sharing of information, exchange programmes, and joint projects on severe disease-causing pathogens, and the development of medical countermeasures.
We look forward to the outcomes of the cooperation.
Photo credit: Ministry of Communications and Information (MCI)

336487382_240695721645403_943985960909274981_n.jpg

OYK seeks the public’s support in standing with our HCWs, against abuse. :barefoot:

Ong Ye Kung

1 d ·
Today the public healthcare family took a united stand against the abuse of our healthcare workers (HCWs).
HCWs are the heart and soul of the healthcare sector, and by and large, are treated with respect and appreciation.
However, there is always a small minority of the public who behave badly towards our HCWs.
Abuse comes in various forms - discriminatory insults, threats, requests for very unreasonable things, or even physical assault.
Therefore, the Tripartite Workgroup for the Prevention of Abuse and Harassment of Healthcare Workers has recommended adopting a stronger stand against the abuse and harassment of HCWs.
This involves a three-pronged framework to:
1️⃣
Protect HCWs who face abuse and harassment
2️⃣
Prevent situations that lead to abuse and harassment
3️⃣
Promote positive relationships between HCWs and patients/caregivers
Ministry of Health, Singapore, the healthcare clusters, the Healthcare Services Employees' Union (HSEU) and I, as the Minister for Health, fully support the Workgroup’s recommendations.
In the coming months, we will work to translate these recommendations into practices on the ground.
HCWs deserve to be treated with respect. We seek the public’s support in standing with our HCWs, against abuse.

OYK is going for rehab. :barefoot:

Ong Ye Kung

1 d ·
Since my knee surgery, going for rehab has helped me regain my mobility and strength. These exercises can also help seniors prevent frailty.