• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Manpower Minister Gan questioned adequacy of CPF

†††††

MPs question adequacy of CPF savings for old age
By Rachel Chang

MEMBERS of Parliament yesterday pressed Manpower Minister Gan Kim Yong in Parliament on the adequacy of the Central Provident Fund (CPF) for old age.

Opposition MP Chiam See Tong (Potong Pasir) asked for a review of the interest rates paid on CPF accounts, and suggested that the rates be pegged to the returns of Singapore's investment company, Temasek Holdings.

But Mr Gan said that a thorough review had been undertaken in 2007, and the findings debated in Parliament.

'We should recognise that Temasek invests in higher-risk assets and the returns are not guaranteed - even the principals are not guaranteed,' reiterated the minister yesterday.

In the recent global economic crisis, Temasek's investments were adversely affected, he pointed out, adding that 'most Singaporeans would not want their hard-earned savings exposed to such volatility and potential losses'.

He also defended the state of the CPF to Madam Ho Geok Choo (West Coast GRC), who was worried that not enough Singaporeans would amass the Minimum Sum set by the Government in their accounts by the time they turn 55.

Mr Gan said that more than 40 per cent of those who turned 55 last year had in their savings the Minimum Sum.

The proportion would be about 60 per cent if those who had their savings invested in housing were included.

He added that the CPF changes recently announced in the Budget statement, which will increase employers' CPF contributions by 0.5 percentage point to 16 per cent and move the CPF salary ceiling up from $4,500 to $5,000, would help to boost Singaporeans' CPF accounts.

According to the Ministry of Manpower's calculations, the two changes together would help a 45-year-old earning $5,000 a month to increase his real CPF savings by $22,200 in 10 years.

This is another example of PAP non sequitur speak, this time by Minister Ganneh. Someone forgot to remind him that all the Temasek money was supposed to be part of the national reserves, and for a "rainy day fund", now he confirmed that they are actually in investments that have "volatility and potential losses". I can understand why people say chiam is a fake oppo. He should have jumped on Ganneh's comments right away and ask "WTF, u mean our national reserves are invested in volatile investments and can lose money?". In other words, Ganneh has just admitted the PAP gamble the national reserves when they invest.

By the way, the correct answer to Ho's question of whether there is enough CPF for the common sinkie is NO. As long as the HDB flat prices continue to go up, CPF will be depleted to provide the down payment and to fund the monthly mortgage. Therefore, not enough when they retire.

batman1

Another MIW Porky Pig who can afford to talk cock,the reason for CPF inadequacy? Wages have been suppressed for too long by MIW as if he don't know.KNNCCB!

Wage suppression is part of the PAP policy to reduce future CPF obligations.

By Rachel Chang

MEMBERS of Parliament yesterday pressed Manpower Minister Gan Kim Yong in Parliament on the adequacy of the Central Provident Fund (CPF) for old age.

Opposition MP Chiam See Tong (Potong Pasir) asked for a review of the interest rates paid on CPF accounts, and suggested that the rates be pegged to the returns of Singapore's investment company, Temasek Holdings.

But Mr Gan said that a thorough review had been undertaken in 2007, and the findings debated in Parliament.

'We should recognise that Temasek invests in higher-risk assets and the returns are not guaranteed - even the principals are not guaranteed,' reiterated the minister yesterday.

In the recent global economic crisis, Temasek's investments were adversely affected, he pointed out, adding that 'most Singaporeans would not want their hard-earned savings exposed to such volatility and potential losses'.

He also defended the state of the CPF to Madam Ho Geok Choo (West Coast GRC), who was worried that not enough Singaporeans would amass the Minimum Sum set by the Government in their accounts by the time they turn 55.

Mr Gan said that more than 40 per cent of those who turned 55 last year had in their savings the Minimum Sum.

The proportion would be about 60 per cent if those who had their savings invested in housing were included.

He added that the CPF changes recently announced in the Budget statement, which will increase employers' CPF contributions by 0.5 percentage point to 16 per cent and move the CPF salary ceiling up from $4,500 to $5,000, would help to boost Singaporeans' CPF accounts.

According to the Ministry of Manpower's calculations, the two changes together would help a 45-year-old earning $5,000 a month to increase his real CPF savings by $22,200 in 10 years.

Ha ha.......if middle income those monthly salary $5k dont have enough saving what about lower income.
Actually good question is been ask. They are shooting at theirs own feet.:biggrin:

Coolsaint77

Chiam's point is more interest should be paid on CPF... the PAP MP's point is CPF contribution rate should be increased... they are driving at different directions but stupid fella reported as if it is the same

This fella chilli craps franchise CEO, cannot differentiate between Luxury & necessity, you expect this lower crass writer to see the forst from the trees??:wink:

That's right. Basically, what Chiam should have outright done is to stop beating around the bush. he should have looked Ganneh in the eyes and said "u pay us only 2.5% on our CPF money, take the money and invest it with Temasek and earn over 10%, how about u give us 10% instead" See whether Chiam green face or not.

Ha ha.......if middle income those monthly salary $5k dont have enough saving what about lower income.
Actually good question is been ask. They are shooting at theirs own feet.:biggrin:

Yes, actually these talk cock sessions are quite revealing if you read between the lines and fathom out the real points of contention, not what they tell u to figure out.

kukubird58

hahaha.....if any fund manager offers u guaranteed returns of 10%......you better take your money and run away as quickly as possible.

1. bro, good one man!
2. yes, remember what's lehmens bro too.
3. porky pig just has kosong ground sentiments.
4. it does not bother him at all what an average joe has at the end of the day as long as piggy is fed handsomely.

annexa

I am very disappointed nobody questioned this. Where this $5,000 come from? Also 45 year old. How many 45 year old sinkies are earning 5k a month? Is this number a magic number? If you are 45 and not earn 5k a month, are you a anomalty and what is ministry or whoever minister in charge doing to help you to earn 5k a month or have some subsidy to top up to 5k a month?

This is the rate of return (actually higher than 10%) THAT TEMASEK CLAIMS IT HAS OVER THE YEARS. so what chiam said is reasonable. He is not asking people to look for fund managers who can guarantee 10%, he is asking for the interest in CPF (which is guaranteed by the govt.) to be pegged to the returns of Temasek, i.e. over 10%. I see no problem with this suggestion, since Temasek is using our CPF money anyway.

I am very disappointed nobody questioned this. Where this $5,000 come from? Also 45 year old. How many 45 year old sinkies are earning 5k a month? Is this number a magic number? If you are 45 and not earn 5k a month, are you a anomalty and what is ministry or whoever minister in charge doing to help you to earn 5k a month or have some subsidy to top up to 5k a month?

aiyah, don't read too much into any examples that MOM makes, its just a fantasy unrealistic assumption. $5000 a month is more like an household income rather than an individual income. Having said that, I know people who earn $20K a month salary ( not commision). U already know that teh so call increase in CPF by $22K is already wiped out by the interest he has to pay on the additional $100K he has to borrow to buy his new flat due to the price increases.

Soundwave

Probably the same civil servant that prepared the report and used his or her own experience as the benchmark.

denzuko1

By Rachel Chang

...'We should recognise that Temasek invests in higher-risk assets and the returns are not guaranteed - even the principals are not guaranteed,' reiterated the minister yesterday.

He is right, with Ho Jinx at the wheels, the risk is even higher.