• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Man fined $200 for sleeping on bench at the park

Peasants are deprived of that little freedom in our life. Even sleeping openly is not free in Singapore. I am sure those officers will find themselves buzy fining old men sleeping in china town benches.

The man Kassim have no breasts !, if not the ranger will pay him $200 for a peek into the mounds of venus...slurp!

That is why he was fine for misuse of fascility....!! ha ha ha ha:biggrin:

Park benches are not meant for sleeping. They're meant for sitting. A sleeper occupies 3 to 4 times sitting space thus depriving 3 to 4 legitimate users from using it legitimately.

Therefore, 3 to 4 times the fine of illegal parking is more or less equitable penalty.

Also, sleeping on park benches create the false impression of rampant homelessness in Singapore. They should go home to sleep. If they're really homeless, they should go to their CDCs or see their MPs for help.

Changi airport then how ?? Fine him $2,000 ??:mad:

Practically all of the sleepers in Changi Airport waiting areas are foreigners waiting for flight. If it's not too crowded, nobody cares. If it's very crowded, the passengers sort out the space among themselves.

Fine them? Not very tourist-friendly and not very reputation-enhancing.

eeoror88

Practically all of the sleepers in Changi Airport waiting areas are foreigners waiting for flight. If it's not too crowded, nobody cares. If it's very crowded, the passengers sort out the space among themselves.

Fine them? Not very tourist-friendly and not very reputation-enhancing.

You got me wrong. Changi airport means flat chested !! I am not actually referring to Changi airport !!:eek:

law for sinkies only, not applicable to FTs and foreigners. The same for littering.

ah_phah

in other words, its telling the unemployed & homeless to disappear. they can go sleep in lim chu kang cemetary or mandai crematorium where nobody will notice. n if they die, make it convenient to clear their corpses too.

pia

If ang moh sleeps there, they'll go ga ga and say "so cute.. sun tanning. We need more benches."

DrPanacea

Singapore is likely the only country in the whole world where sleeping on a bench in a park is an offence. We are a "fine" country alright!

Is this a fun country as our so called leaders have claimed?
So can I lay down a mat and have a sun tan on the Padang?
Can I walk in my swimming trunk along Orchard Road and go watch the changing of the guard at the Istana?

Yoshitei

It's far cheaper to park your vehicle in a parking lot without a parking coupon and fall asleep.

Even if you parked your vehicle on a double yellow line and fall asleep inside it's not that costly.

angie II

sleeping on bench doesn't alwiz mean homeless...
coz liang liang (cooling) ma...
coz home cannot afford aircon...
n gahmen fine them is bcoz dey damn tulan opposition used dis 2 fire at them...
n so the excuse is 2 impose fine...
use it 2 reward their robots... :rolleyes:

angie II

2 f88king ensure ah peks dun use them for sleeping...
new benches will come with grille at the centre..
try 2 lie down n ah pek will look like he is doing breakdance... :rolleyes:

sage

Those rangers should be pressured to pick up used condoms scattered all over the parks. This message cannot be right - sleeping ALONE cannot but screwing someone can. People should stomp their finds of used condom so that the rangers are forced to work at night, also fewer crimes and dead bodies in parks.

metalslug

Sleepers' corner

http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,4136,181879,00.html?

SLEEPERS' CORNER
Park rangers also face litterbugs, amorous couples and 'aggressive' park users
By Lediati Tan

October 31, 2008

NP_NEWS_1_CURRENT_LTRANGER-8FF.jpg

LUNCH TIME NAP: NPark rangers Hasnah Ibrahim and Shahrizal Sidi patrol Changi Beach Park, walking past two park users resting in a shelter. TNP PICTURES: KELVIN CHNG

THEY'RE verbally abused almost every day, and get called nasty names like 'government dogs'.

Sometimes, they are even threatened with bodily harm.

And all that, just because they're trying to keep our parks clean and enjoyable for everyone.

Indeed, the job of a park ranger is no walk in the park.

A team from The New Paper found that out when we followed two National Parks Board (NParks) rangers, Mr Shahrizal Sidi and Ms Hasnah Ibrahim, on their patrols at Changi Beach Park last week.

The two are among 18 NParks rangers who work in more than 300 parks and green spaces here.

One of the biggest problems, they said, is that park users can turn aggressive when they are caught flouting park regulations.

NP_NEWS_1_CURRENT_LTRANGER.jpg

Ms Hasnah, 37, a park ranger for almost 10 years, said: 'We try to talk to them nicely, but they can be very aggressive and use bad words on us.

'We have even been threatened with glass bottles and wooden shafts. But if they become too aggressive, we call the police for help.'

But not all park offenders are confrontational. Some try to run when approached, said Ms Hasnah and Mr Shahrizal, 31, who has also been a ranger for about 10 years.

Once, a couple was caught making out in a toilet cubicle for the disabled at Bukit Batok Nature Park. They tried to escape by climbing out of a high window but could not.

Another time, a man was almost hit by a bicycle while running away from park rangers who had caught him littering in East Coast Park. He later fell after tripping over a safety rope.

Fear

NP_NEWS_1_CURRENT_LTRANGER-HGG.jpg

Indeed, the sight of rangers appears to strike fear in some park users.

When we were with Ms Hasnah and Mr Shahrizal, some workers who were resting in shelters during their lunch hour sat up as soon as they saw the pair approaching.

Ms Hasnah said: 'We usually leave genuine park users alone unless they cause inconvenience to others.'

She and Mr Shahrizal insist park rangers do not go out of their way to fine errant park users.

Two weeks ago, this paper had run a report about a man who was fined $200 for sleeping on a park bench while he was taking shelter from the rain. Many readers said NParks had been overly harsh.

Ms Hasnah said: 'The most important thing is to maintain the safety and security of park users and ensure that parks are clean and enjoyable.'

The rangers said the most common offences in parks are littering and squatting.

NParks said that more than 2,600 people have been fined for littering this year, while about 60 squatters are believed to be staying in parks.

Squatting, in particular, is a big problem for park rangers. Ms Hasnah said: 'Too many squatters deter genuine park users from enjoying park facilities.'

Experience helps rangers to weed out the squatters from the genuine park users.

Ms Hasnah said: 'Parks in the east tend to see more squatters as there are more parks near to one another. The conducive environment of being near the sea also attracts them.

'They usually come as a family and often stay at a certain spot. We will then make a record of it and observe them. We also educate them on the dos and don'ts in parks.'

If they need help and have nowhere to go, the rangers refer them to the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports, said Ms Hasnah.

'We don't fine them. We usually just leave them alone unless they commit an offence like littering or disturbing others.'

But even after they get help, some squatters keep going back to the parks. It is only then that the rangers ask them to leave.

Ms Hasnah said: 'Some will take their time to pack to test our patience.'

Little they can do

But sometimes, there's little the rangers can do to chase away stubborn squatters who claim they have nowhere else to go.

Ms Hasnah said: 'As long as they don't pose problems to others or commit an offence, we just monitor them.

'We always try to talk to them first. Enforcement action is our last resort. That is taken immediately only for acts like littering, poaching of protected animals and feeding of monkeys.

'For minor offences, we advise people to follow the rules and regulations and tell them not to do it next time.'

Despite the challenges, Ms Hasnah and Mr Shahrizal are in no hurry to throw in the towel.

Ms Hasnah said that having 'a passion for parks and meeting people' keeps her going.

As for Mr Shahrizal, he said: 'If we face something difficult today, it makes us stronger.'

Bigfuck

So CSJ walk in park must be fined! Opposition. Illegal assembly of 1. Born with name CSJ. LKY hater! Sorry this list for CSJ not exhaustive.