• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lunar New Year

What do you guys think about the Lunar New Year? Any Chinese here who don't celebrate the Lunar New Year?

Let me tell you why I find the Lunar New Year so irritating:
-- Superstitious people wearing red and lining up for bak kwa. (Can't they eat bak kwa at any time of the year?)
-- Parents trying to get more ang pow for their children than what they give out.
-- Spoilt brat kids trying to get as much ang pow as possible to buy frivolous things.
-- People stuffing their faces with food.
-- Family members and relatives pretending to show concern for one another by gathering and having meals together or visiting one another. (Can't they do these things and show concern any day of the year?)
-- People asking stupid and irritating questions like: "When are you going to get married? (to single people) When are you going to have children? (to childless couples) To these questions, I suggest replying: "What fucking business is it of yours? To those relatives you particularly hate, try asking: "When are you going to die?"
-- People pretending to wish one another "kong xi fa cai", when it's clear that they only want themselves to fa cai and couldn't give a shit what happened to the other party.

Anything else to add?

lolabunny

Wow you are so cynical. Some of the things you listed are irritating, but aren't there any relatives you love or love to see?

It's a good time to meet and catch up with friends too! :smile:

Wow you are so cynical. Some of the things you listed are irritating, but aren't there any relatives you love or love to see?

It's a good time to meet and catch up with friends too! :smile:
For relatives and friends whom you like, you can and do meet them at any time of the year right?
In my opinion, LNY is reserved for the rest, which means that it's a bloody waste of time. :smile:

silverfox@

What do you guys think about the Lunar New Year? Any Chinese here who don't celebrate the Lunar New Year?

-- Superstitious people wearing red and lining up for bak kwa. (Can't they eat bak kwa at any time of the year?)
-- Parents trying to get more ang pow for their children than what they give out.
-- Spoilt brat kids trying to get as much ang pow as possible to buy frivolous things.
-- Family members and relatives pretending to show concern for one another by gathering and having meals together or visiting one another. (Can't they do these things and show concern any day of the year?)
-- People asking stupid and irritating questions like: "When are you going to get married? (to single people) When are you going to have children? (to childless couples) To these questions, I suggest replying: "What fucking business is it of yours? To those relatives you particularly hate, try asking: "When are you going to die?"
-- People pretending to wish one another "kong xi fa cai", when it's clear that they only want themselves to fa cai and couldn't give a shit what happened to the other party.

Anything else to add?

A lot of things you mentioned are traditions and cultures. If we don't do these, soon these traditions will be lost.

And why the rudeness in replying questions from relatives?:confused:
You mean to say these are what you reply when asked such questions of well-being and concern?

A lot of things you mentioned are traditions and cultures. If we don't do these, soon these traditions will be lost.

And why the rudeness in replying questions from relatives?:confused:
You mean to say these are what you reply when asked such questions of well-being and concern?
And I'm sure that it will be a great loss to Chinese culture if people stopped eating bak kwa during the Lunar New Year. :smile:
Ok, fair enough about the rudeness. Suggest to leave out the word "fucking".
Reply as follows to impertinent questions: "What business is it of yours?"
Honestly speaking, don't you think questions such as these are extremely impertinent? Do you really think most of these people are concerned about your well being?
Could they just ask "How have you been lately?" and let the person speak about whatever he wants to? Or why don't they ask questions like "Do you need any help or advice?" and let the person ask?
The answer is simple. In most cases, these people whom you only meet once a year just want to have gossip fodder. They won't have much to gossip about if you tell them about your passion for kite flying or if you tell them you need a loan to buy a house.
Note that I did say that the question of when they would die is only reserved for those people you hate and who have caused you trouble or problems before.

Hey, I have an idea, why don't you tell all your wonderful relatives this Lunar New Year that you are a full time gambler?
Sorry to sound sarcastic, but I used to respect you for being your own person, being a bit of a maverick and having your own thoughts and ideas. I'm not so sure now. :(

annexa

Anything else to add?

Ya lah. Same for others what.

Like giving presents during Christmas, other days cannot give meh?
Eat Turkey on Thanksgiving. Any other day also can eat Turkey what.
Wear green on St Patrick's Day. Everyday also can wear green what!
Getting drunk on St Patrick's day. Spolit brats should just be drunk daily!
Kiss under the misoltoe. Knn, you can kiss in bed or the toilet also what!
Gathering for annual Thanksgiving dinner. Knn everyday they also never think of each other, suddenly must go and get together.

See! It's everywhere!

i_am_belle

Could they just ask "How have you been lately?" and let the person speak about whatever he wants to? Or why don't they ask questions like "Do you need any help or advice?" and let the person ask?
The answer is simple. In most cases, these people whom you only meet once a year just want to have gossip fodder.

looks like yr relatives & social circle very 'low crass' cheena one ...

if u from upper class, wif highly educated, professional ppl in yr social circle, then they will ask 'how have u been' ... 'how do u do ?' 'im very well thank you' ... would u like to come for tea ... i would be delighted ... thats an excellent idea ... :biggrin: :cool:

... if u from upper class, wif highly educated, professional ppl in yr social circle, then they will ask 'how have u been' ... 'how do u do ?' 'im very well thank you' ... would u like to come for tea ... i would be delighted ... thats an excellent idea ... :biggrin: :cool:
nah! ...

dose type ... wen dey c u, 1st ting dey tel u is dey spent 46k 2 fry 2 france 2 learn useless cooking lessons ...

Neh_Neh_Pok

Anything else to add?

caishen.gif

"他妈的, how can forget about lim peh? 财神到, tong tong tong tong chiang~ Hei hei hei hei hei.. "

silverfox@

And I'm sure that it will be a great loss to Chinese culture if people stopped eating bak kwa during the Lunar New Year. :smile:
Honestly speaking, don't you think questions such as these are extremely impertinent? Do you really think most of these people are concerned about your well being?
The answer is simple. In most cases, these people whom you only meet once a year just want to have gossip fodder. They won't have much to gossip about if you tell them about your passion for kite flying or if you tell them you need a loan to buy a house.
Note that I did say that the question of when they would die is only reserved for those people you hate and who have caused you trouble or problems before.

Hey, I have an idea, why don't you tell all your wonderful relatives this Lunar New Year that you are a full time gambler?
Sorry to sound sarcastic, but I used to respect you for being your own person, being a bit of a maverick and having your own thoughts and ideas. I'm not so sure now. :(

Basically, we can think that these relatives are kaypoh, but they can also ask out of concern. I mean to say don't meet often, when meet up, sure ask what you have been doing, how's life, etc.

It's like you meet a friend on the streets where you haven't see him for a year, the first thing you sure ask him is how have you been, rather than "eh, you haven't die yet ah." It's all a form of courtesy.

Chinese New Year is like this, if one doesn't like the traditions of it, they could go overseas for holiday so as to avoid all these stuff which they hate

BTW, I am not a full-time gambler. I am in a business with a group of friends where our company invests in shares, properties and advising clients on what good stuff to invest. My field of study is more on properties. With the falling market, that is why I have more time to visit casinos.

My relatives always jio me go genting with them, just that I prefer to go by myself. Last year they even catered whole tour bus to Genting for the whole family twice. :p

Everyone have different opinions in a forum. There is no need to give an opinion which others like to read just to earn their respect. :wink:

lolabunny

Basically, we can think that these relatives are kaypoh, but they can also ask out of concern. I mean to say don't meet often, when meet up, sure ask what you have been doing, how's life, etc.

It's like you meet a friend on the streets where you haven't see him for a year, the first thing you sure ask him is how have you been, rather than "eh, you haven't die yet ah." It's all a form of courtesy.

Chinese New Year is like this, if one doesn't like the traditions of it, they could go overseas for holiday so as to avoid all these stuff which they hate

BTW, I am not a full-time gambler. I am in a business with a group of friends where our company invests in shares, properties and advising clients on what good stuff to invest. My field of study is more on properties. With the falling market, that is why I have more time to visit casinos.

My relatives always jio me go genting with them, just that I prefer to go by myself. Last year they even catered whole tour bus to Genting for the whole family twice. :p

Everyone have different opinions in a forum. There is no need to give an opinion which others like to read just to earn their respect. :wink:

Why are you guys not getting along! Be friends boys! *GROUP HUG* :wink::smile:

lolabunny

lola i find your IQ is not very high. do u read during your spare time?

I read sammyboy. Why no good meh? :cool:

Don't think that you use cute avatar then can act cute ok? YUCKS! Guy using little girl avatar is gross. :p:p:p:p:p

G

GordonGekko

Anything else to add?
I stopped attending Chinese Lunar New Year family gathering ever since I migrated overseas. For me, it's not a celebration but a useless extended family gathering which is an obligation.

ahbengsong

Anything else to add?

CNY is an occasion when family and friends get together to chill out... its like any family gathering except its nation wide in oriental countries... and in some asian communities in the west...

i find the idea of reunion dinner a good thing because nowadays people tend to be money chasing and forgot that family is the foundation of a holistic well being...

forget about the pap... GOD comes first.. then my family...

Ok noted.
But a few months ago, wasn't it you who posted in the gambling folder / thread that you did not want to tell your relatives that you were gambling for a living because they wouldn't understand?
May I now ask 2 questions:
1. Why did you say that you gambled for a living then but not now? (you did say that you had some side business as well then)
2. Why would you be concerned about telling your relatives if they were nice, understanding and concerned people?
I'm not trying to start an online battle with you, but despite the fact that we don't know one another from Adam, you should realize that you will be questioned if your forum persona is inconsistent over time. :smile: