• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lunar New Year

What do you guys think about the Lunar New Year? Any Chinese here who don't celebrate the Lunar New Year?

Let me tell you why I find the Lunar New Year so irritating:
-- Superstitious people wearing red and lining up for bak kwa. (Can't they eat bak kwa at any time of the year?)
i buy them whenever i pass by Jalan Kayu. Only eat that brand
-- Parents trying to get more ang pow for their children than what they give out.
i never give ang pow, only my wife give
-- Spoilt brat kids trying to get as much ang pow as possible to buy frivolous things.
dunno, i get less than $30 when i was a kid, so not much to buy.
-- People stuffing their faces with food.
er... dunno leh, i eat the smae amount as any old day.
-- Family members and relatives pretending to show concern for one another by gathering and having meals together or visiting one another. (Can't they do these things and show concern any day of the year?)
i dont visit relatives or friends on CNY, at most only those Elders which is getting less and less as year goes by.
-- People asking stupid and irritating questions like: "When are you going to get married? (to single people) When are you going to have children? (to childless couples) To these questions, I suggest replying: "What fucking business is it of yours? To those relatives you particularly hate, try asking: "When are you going to die?"
what the big deal, as a single, just say no gf, recommend me lor.
-- People pretending to wish one another "kong xi fa cai", when it's clear that they only want themselves to fa cai and couldn't give a shit what happened to the other party.
i give them the benefit of the doubt

Anything else to add?

anyway, just treat CNY like christmas lor. Give us non christians a chance to eat and drink mah.:biggrin:

Ok noted.
But a few months ago, wasn't it you who posted in the gambling folder / thread that you did not want to tell your relatives that you were gambling for a living because they wouldn't understand?
May I now ask 2 questions:
1. Why did you say that you gambled for a living then but not now? (you did say that you had some side business as well then)
2. Why would you be concerned about telling your relatives if they were nice, understanding and concerned people?
I'm not trying to start an online battle with you, but despite the fact that we don't know one another from Adam, you should realize that you will be questioned if your forum persona is inconsistent over time. :smile:

bro jw5, nobody want to be label as a "lan4 du3 gui3". Trust me, there are many ppl out there who spend couple of hundreds on each 4D draws, yet when they know that u are a horse racing punter or casino customer, they will treat u like a compulsive gambler. forgeting the fact they probably "donate" more to the Tote Board than u.

I punt on local and HK horse racing, a fact known to many of my relatives. Everytime see me, first thing ask got win or not, then start a lecture on the sin of gambling. KNN, their single 4D draw spending more than i spend on a whole month of racing calander (selective betting, can go weeks without placing a single bet). So now meet any of them, just say no bet liao and end of story, spare my ears form the lecturing.

silverfox@

anyway, just treat CNY like christmas lor. Give us non christians a chance to eat and drink mah.:biggrin:

I don't have wife, but I still have to give ang pow to elders:o

Everytime people ask me have gf boh, when get married? I love it.

Because its the time where I get to meet up with more girls, know more distant relatives showcasing their daughters.
Mai siao siao, got some very pretty ones too. :biggrin:

If people wish me gong xi fa cai, whether is true to their hearts or not, I don't really bother, better than they wish me the negative stuff.

Actually, CNY is a joyous occasion, just think of all the positives and it will be a happy year. I don't like to think of the negatives, because think too much, everything also lousy, mood also lousy.:p

bro jw5, nobody want to be label as a "lan4 du3 gui3". Trust me, there are many ppl out there who spend couple of hundreds on each 4D draws, yet when they know that u are a horse racing punter or casino customer, they will treat u like a compulsive gambler. forgeting the fact they probably "donate" more to the Tote Board than u.

I punt on local and HK horse racing, a fact known to many of my relatives. Everytime see me, first thing ask got win or not, then start a lecture on the sin of gambling. KNN, their single 4D draw spending more than i spend on a whole month of racing calander (selective betting, can go weeks without placing a single bet). So now meet any of them, just say no bet liao and end of story, spare my ears form the lecturing.
I'm usually highly tempted to answer back to these clowns but as I grow older, I tend to adopt your method and avoid confrontation.
Saves time and effort. :smile:

Originally Posted by silverfox@
Basically, we can think that these relatives are kaypoh, but they can also ask out of concern. I mean to say don't meet often, when meet up, sure ask what you have been doing, how's life, etc.

It's like you meet a friend on the streets where you haven't see him for a year, the first thing you sure ask him is how have you been, rather than "eh, you haven't die yet ah." It's all a form of courtesy.

Chinese New Year is like this, if one doesn't like the traditions of it, they could go overseas for holiday so as to avoid all these stuff which they hate

BTW, I am not a full-time gambler. I am in a business with a group of friends where our company invests in shares, properties and advising clients on what good stuff to invest. My field of study is more on properties. With the falling market, that is why I have more time to visit casinos.

My relatives always jio me go genting with them, just that I prefer to go by myself. Last year they even catered whole tour bus to Genting for the whole family twice.

Everyone have different opinions in a forum. There is no need to give an opinion which others like to read just to earn their respect.

Ok noted.
But a few months ago, wasn't it you who posted in the gambling folder / thread that you did not want to tell your relatives that you were gambling for a living because they wouldn't understand?
May I now ask 2 questions:
1. Why did you say that you gambled for a living then but not now? (you did say that you had some side business as well then)
2. Why would you be concerned about telling your relatives if they were nice, understanding and concerned people?
I'm not trying to start an online battle with you, but despite the fact that we don't know one another from Adam, you should realize that you will be questioned if your forum persona is inconsistent over time. :smile:

You want to reason with this sinkie cock? I suggest you save your effort and just treat him as a joke as it is proven in that thread of mine:
http://sammyboy.com/showthread.php?t=15255