• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Local Trainee Pilots Got Screwed After Paying $140K For Course

3_M

Re: Local Trainee Pilots (Dummies) Got Screwed After Paying $140K For Course

Spent 140k? He probably need to spent 1/3 that amount if he trains in US or 1/2 the sum if he goes Australia. All inclusive of CPL/IR rating with ATPL(frozen)

He is probably aiming at SIA like many pilot wannabes. Very risky approach as SIA have made it clear that having flying experience will not put him in an advantages position. In fact they prefer to take in ab-initio cadets than those with some experience like him.

And there is another catch, sinkies can only apply for cadet pilot after 25 yo. Foreigners got no such restriction. this put sinkies on a very disadvantage position.

nothing much he can do as ours is the only country that favour foreigners than locals. It better to get a degree and try your luck as a ab-initio candidates, if you get in, good for you. Else forget about being a pilot and settle for other career.

jimmyfallon

You need to have logged in thousands of hours before they can even interview you to fly a commercial jet. How many hours you got?

FallenAngelFlew

If James is reading this, you have my sympathy. I was in your state but only a little more fortunate because during my time (2003), I only spent $70K. Came back 2004 and waited till 2006 when I have a lucky turn of luck and got a commercial job with a local carrier. I need to stress on luck and contacts here. Know the correct person at the right time. Nothing to do with good or lousy grades.
For those who commented that he scored lousy grade, blaming the wrong people etc. What do you know regarding this industry? I was like him not granted an interview, but after I went to a MP for help, I finally got an interview and I went through the selection process even including the medical, and I even passed the medical only to be told unsuccessful after 3 months of waiting that felt like 3 years.
Mind you, SIA’s advertisement for cadet pilot always quote this at the bottom, “Those who attended tea party or final interview and unsuccessful need not apply”. It’s really like they gave MP face and made me through to the last stage and drop me once and for all so that I need not apply ever again. Maybe because they sincerely find me unsuitable to fly their aircraft. Hey guess what? I am happily flying now and with my outstanding performance, given an early promotion. Their lost not mine.
There’s no such thing as good or lousy grade, its either you pass or you fail in aviation. If I remember the criteria for SIA, minimum GCE A level with pass in GP. You can be the best cadet in your own private flying school but if you don’t have that, you don’t have a chance at all. Yet I have heard of exception in the airline. For those who suggest him to go elsewhere, did you pass your basic English because he (James) did clearly stated that other countries gave priority to their own, or most of the time they don’t even consider FT. And I concur.
For those who said probably because of his lousy grade. Do you know that SIA lay off pilots during bad times that include local? Don’t you think they should get rid of those FT first? I personally know some of them with excellent training grades who only work for SIA only 3 years flying only 70 hours in total. These days, flying for them no more iron rice bowl, mind you. Think about the sweat and effort these boys put in during NS for the Nation and now lay off by a National Carrier.
For those who so critical about the term cadet pilot, what do you know? I was a private candidate in SFC, but I do know of cadet pilot who doesn’t have contract with SIA but they went through the full training, having to observe all SIA/SFC rules and regulations like all cadets with contract. I call them cadet pilot.
For those who doesn’t understand the meaning of low hours. Minimum requirement of commercial pilot license with multi engine instrument rating will be around 270 hours plus about 30 instrument hours on small little twin so as to cross over to Jet Aircraft. Major airlines will only consider pilot’s application if they have at least 3000 hours on type, meaning if that airline looking for B777 pilot, you must have 3000hrs on that aircraft. You think so easy to strike? What if you have only 3000hours on A320? And you think hours easy to accumulate? You have to fly in a country that issue you a license that CAAS with recognize and that will only be Hong Kong and Malaysia. If not, there will be a whole lot of extra exams to take and mind you, things that we study to be a commercial pilot, you will fail if you do not have a passion to fly or be a commercial pilot so as to earn good money for yourself and family so that life can be better. I think he deserve your apologies for talking nonsense here.
For those whose friend is a pilot with SIA telling him no need to pay for training, your friend is either ignorant or lying to you. SIA make pilots who completed their training pay the training course fee back within an agreed period of time of course at a discounted rate, and it can be as low as $500 a month until the amount its fully paid!
For those telling him to do something else only clearly show how goalless your life’s are. He’s a man with a passion for something, and if he has no rights to voice his displeasure on an unfair system and just move on to be a cleaner, I will also be on your side.
For those who commented on his stupidity, what do you know about passion for a career? Its not just a job to us. I know a lot of other people who scored excellent grade in their private aviation training still waiting for the door to open. They are either flying as instructors in Malaysia because they still have to pay their bills, or as flight dispatchers. There’s a Chinese saying if you can be the emperor, who wants to be a beggar? As for me, I was one of the luckier ones who found a right door at the right time opening for me. That’s why I appreciate what I have now and sympathize James.
For those who doesn’t sympathize James, I wish that your life will forever be smooth sailing because if you hit an obstacle, and start writing in this forum, I will be the first one criticizing your stupidity.
I guess your life and job are always smooth sailing without any obstacles and you have no complains about anything, good on you, but remember not everyone out there have the same fate and luck. If you don’t share his agony and sorrow don’t spit on his passion, moron.
I salute those fallen angels out there, don’t lose your passion and get your wings ready, for the door will open when the time is right and be ready to fly.

cooleo

I don't get it. No job offer first, but he go take up a $140k course?

Isn't that like shitting in your pants first, then pulling pants down later?

manokie

This cunt fucker writes to the newspaper to criticize the company that refuses to hire him.

That is the DUMBEST Thing ever.

There is no way he can ever get hired again since he showed some characteristics of being a trouble maker and moaner

Training to be a pilot is like training to be a doctor, indeed as with every other professional career. Invest money first.

manokie

Training to be a pilot is like training to be a doctor, indeed as with every other professional career. Invest money first.

He is stupid enough to pay $140k to be a pilot when he can pay much less overseas. Also, writing to the newspaper to criticize a private sector employer is the worst thing ever. Will you hire him if you are from SIA?

What a fucking cunt he is.

FallenAngelFlew

Manokie, you really sounded like you are smart, but are you?
You are very creative, writing a whole lot of BS out of someone's misery.
I must admit, I dun find pleasure reading your inputs but I also cannot resist reading them. I guess, your next input will just only be vulgarities at me, who wanna take a bet? Lol

FallenAngelFlew

Have you ever heard of nothing venture nothing gain?
If everything in life can be calculated, tell me this sat and sun 4D first prize number

3_M

That the way the industry works in US and Europe.

There are many who offers to work for free or pay employer to work just to clock that few thousands hours.

manokie

I must admit, I dun find pleasure reading your inputs but I also cannot resist reading them. I guess, your next input will just only be vulgarities at me, who wanna take a bet? Lol

LOL

I don't know or care what you did so I won't insult you for nothing.

If he chooses to pursue a pilot job, he should at least know that there is a low chance of getting hired when the industry is bad. This is the same for all kinds of graduates in all types of courses. SMU grads also had difficulty getting hired 1 year ago and I don't see them writing to newspapers to scold the banks.

It is his own fault for putting down $140k to try for a chance to get hired. No one promised him anything. We all also know Singapore is FT friendly and this is not the only case that locals face competition.

The employer is not obliged to hire all the local graduates. And it is also up to them to hire whoever they want. This fucking cunt is trying to color his story with an anti-FT tone which is so dumb and shows how cock-up he is. There are other factors that we don't know that may have affected his chances at getting hired and how can you be so sure SIA don't have disqualifying information about him?

If he has trouble becoming a pilot, then go do something else in his life.
For example, this fucking cunt newbie pilot can go drive taxis or play the MS flight stimulator every day.

The Familee TRAITORS probably used the money they sucked from Sporns to pay the FTrash. In functional countries, this is called TREASON and the outcome is a REVOLUTION.

Still refuse to believe that the Familee TRAITORS are doing all they can to drive Sporns to extinction and leeplace them with FTrash to perpetuate 1 Familee's rule?

FallenAngelFlew

You cant compare a U grad with a Pilot grad. There are so many banks with so many branches in Singapore. That SMU grad cant find a job because he didnt try hard enough to finish off his list of banks. Singapore aint got a fabulous list of Airlines to choose from. I agree with you and the rest that SIA didnt promise anyone anything. Even on their advert, only shortlisted will be notify. No right or wrong here. SIA has a policy for their recruitment and I am sure they want the best of the best that they deem best, and its base on paper. So tell them to get a doctor and a lawyer to fly since both profession are so good with studies. Passion mean nothing here.
FYI, Sin pilot can only start at 25years old, by the time they reach 35 flying for SIA, peers of the same age from other countries who start with SIA at the age of 20 would have been Captain already. Forever a step behind FT in own country's national carrier.

He is stupid enough to pay $140k to be a pilot when he can pay much less overseas. Also, writing to the newspaper to criticize a private sector employer is the worst thing ever. Will you hire him if you are from SIA?

What a fucking cunt he is.

Yes I agree, investing in professional training is one matter, a personal decision and commitment. Getting a job is another thing, up to the employer to decide. There's no such thing as I spent $XXXK on a MBA and this bank must hire me as VP, or just because I prefer this bank or just I'm Singaporean. You don't get a girl to be your wife just because you're in love with her and spend a lot of money trying to please her if you're not what she has in mind and looks for in the first place.

Look for another bank, or in this case, look for another airline. This is fact and facet of life. Get a life. Complaining about spending so much money and not getting a job with your preferred employer, that's whinning.

I can understand your point of view too, especially since you've identified yourself to be in the same profession (and passion). I wish him well too. 此处不留人,自有留人处。东家不打,打西家。留得青山在,那怕没柴烧。

If one's good enough, one would surely find a way and make the mark eventually. Decca Records rejected the Beatles' audition in 1962. Parlophone Records took them in and the rest was history.

Maybe this would be clearer.

Each year SIA shortlist a few from more than thousand that apply each year. Many flunk out at interviews and some unlucky ones during the final tea party. Then they are accepted as cadet pilots and complete the course. The final hurdle is at the end of the course. Some are not even hired.

SIA introduced the private candidate places to cover expenses to some extent and if their proficiency is good, they are shortlisted for interviews. Very few make it. In fact all of them(locals) before enrolling as private candidates have failed in their applications process to join SIA as cadet pilot.They are hoping for a second go. Private trainees who are good need not bother to apply. The flying instructor will make the recommendation long before the course ends. They can pick out a natural by then.

SIA also has a quota where contracts are based on certain countries. This is to reduce the overall cost of pilots.

SIA: Choice of pilots based on merit, corporate fit

Letter from Raymond Tan Vice-President, Divisional Services Flight Operations, Singapore Airlines
05:55 AM May 14, 2010
<script type="text/javascript"> var fontIndex = 2; var fontSize = new Array('0.63em', '0.69em', '0.75em', '0.88em', '1em', '1.13em'); </script> WE REFER to the letter "My career can't take off" (May 13) written by Mr James Tan.

Singapore Airlines selects its pilots on merit and according to its operational requirements. Part of the process includes reviewing the potential candidate's academic qualifications, assessing the candidate to see if he has the aptitude to be a good commercial pilot and if he would fit into the company culture. While having flying experience provides candidates with an advantage, it does not automatically qualify them to be shortlisted.

It has been made clear to all privately-funded candidates enrolling in the Singapore Flying College that after graduation, they are free to apply to any airline and that SIA is under no obligation to offer them a job.

We thank Mr James Tan for the opportunity to clarify.

manokie

You cant compare a U grad with a Pilot grad. There are so many banks with so many branches in Singapore. That SMU grad cant find a job because he didnt try hard enough to finish off his list of banks. Singapore aint got a fabulous list of Airlines to choose from. I agree with you and the rest that SIA didnt promise anyone anything. Even on their advert, only shortlisted will be notify. No right or wrong here. SIA has a policy for their recruitment and I am sure they want the best of the best that they deem best, and its base on paper. So tell them to get a doctor and a lawyer to fly since both profession are so good with studies. Passion mean nothing here.
FYI, Sin pilot can only start at 25years old, by the time they reach 35 flying for SIA, peers of the same age from other countries who start with SIA at the age of 20 would have been Captain already. Forever a step behind FT in own country's national carrier.

Then DON'T aspire to be a Pilot??????

Since the terms are so bad for local pilots, DONT be a pilot. No one is forcing you to be a pilot.
If you are in Singapore, play to the rules. If you and that fucking cunt want special treatment, go overseas???

Since you and that fucking cunt are so desperate for a job (economical reason), then go for a degree that qualify you for many different jobs.

FallenAngelFlew

Haha Manokie, as soon as you input, it really shows the level of your intelligence.
If terms no good for pilot, then dun be one?
I guess the cleaners at hawker were aspire to be a cleaner since young.
Have you ever think of running for the post of PM for Singapore? I think the terms will forever be good!
Everywhere in the world needs Pilot, whether good or bad times. If one aspire to be one, you think its up to him to choose the best time to pick up the training for that job? You have a calculator for that?
A policy may be set since long time ago, it doesnt mean its the best for modern days.
I better start reading the rest of your postings and see if I can find one thing that you complain about. Seems like you are a stern follower of policies.
Example, if SAF made you a navy diver, dont you ever dare to defy that and apply to be a fighter pilot. If you choose to be a follower and submit to fate, thats you, because you are made to follow. Leaders are made when they find policies unacceptable and want to do some justice to it and have the unfair system over turn. I bet you must be a NCO not officer in SAF. Lol. I am not trying to offend you but things that you wrote without going through your brain, spitting on someone's effort and passion really annoy me.

Ramseth, I like your last statement, very well quoted

Thanks, but no match for John Lennon's famous last words: "Thank you on behalf of ourselves and the group, and I hope we've passed the audition." The last line in the last album released by the Beatles before their official breakup announcement.