• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Local family suicidal and struggling with debt, and no gambling involved.

UltimaOnline

http://therealsingapore.com/content/suicidal-mum-struggling-hubby’s-debts

Hello Gilbert,

I hope you are well. I came across your FB posting on the man who attempted to jump at Bedok Blk 16.

I decided to write to you, knowing the situation I went through recently and almost took my own life too.

Please pardon my grammar and phrasing of sentences, as I am writing to you on impulse and in an unstable state.

I am in your friends list and am (or perhaps was) an active volunteer, working together with charity bodies and movements and even came down to support your rallies at HLP on few occasions.

However, now, I am losing the hope to live.

The troubles began when my husband took up loads of loans. It’s a huge amount, owing 8 legal/licensed moneylenders and 1 illegal (loanshark).

All to pay for his outstanding taxi rentals and accident excess.

One thing led to another and everything snowballed over time.

We have a huge bill piling up too – unpaid power supply, unpaid Singtel, unpaid HDB loan etc.

HDB sent letter to repossess the flat some time back, but we went down to the HDB office to explain and bought some time.

My Singtel, residential home phone, MIO, wifi have all been cut off due to our inability to pay the bills.

Our conservancy and SP bills all mounting to more than $1k each.

Power will be cut off tomorrow if we cannot pay $500 at least.

I still have 2 schooling kids and I’m trying to figure out how can we live in such a state.

Loansharks sent threat messages and made my life hell.

I have reported twice to the police. I cried myself out every night, until my eyes are swollen and black.

My heart aches alot…till I cannot breathe and get mini attacks.

I am trying to live day by day.

After all this, we advised him to return the taxi…as the taxi gave us too much problems from the beginning.

He cannot make ends meet, thus took loans from both legal and illegal sources.

Unable to pay the existing loans and bills, he took up more and more loans to try and cover them up.

Everyday, he’d drive his taxi, just to pay off the daily loans and interest.. without paying the taxi rentals.

When the taxi rentals pile up, he took another loan to pay the outstanding rentals. It’s a big messy cycle.

We wanted to see the MP, but they are only available on the 9th March, taking 2 weeks leave due to CNY.

There are lots of things currently in my mind.

Don’t know until when I can hold on. My nights are sleepless and full of worries.

I checked the main door ever so often, and even sat at the stairs through the night, just to make sure no one came to spray paint.

I am so tired. I wish i can just sleep and never wake up. I’ve totally given up with this life. Today is my birthday, but i don’t feel anything special. Life is suffocating.

Recently, I have borrowed a sum from my cousin to pay the final payment to the loanshark… coz that has to be settled first.

Now, am left only with the licensed ones.

However, the harassing still continues. The taxi has since been repossessed, and my husband has been jobless for almost 2 weeks.

The kids need to go to school, but we do not have anymore daily income, nor do we have any savings. It is a struggle for us to live on a daily basis.

Last Friday, i accompanied my husband for a debt counselling session.

We were advised and provided with solutions and strategies, to overcome all our liabilities (mounting up to $30k+).

One of which was to engage an OA (Official Assignee) and be prepared to go up and down the supreme court.

Pretty rough road, but that’s the best solution to settle the debts once and for all.

Whole process will probably take about 2 months. But to get an OA, we have to come up with $1800. That’s the tough part as both of us are jobless.

Therefore, this problem will continue to be unsettled until we can get that $1800 and begin the process.

I need to seek for financial loan and assistance (mainly for the utility bills).

FYI, I’m staying in a 4 room flat. Banks won’t allow personal loans, especially when both myself and husband are not working. The HDB loan itself is a killer, as we have to pay $1050 cash every month.

We do not have anymore CPF savings.

Looking at the DAILY loans, stretching to as long as 5 weeks.. I am frequently getting mini heart attacks. Cannot even think straight now.

This is not yet inclusive of the utilities and other bills like.

I am sorry to bore u with my life story.

All I need is someone to release my tension to. My parents have disowned me due to this, although it seemed unfair, as its not my mistake to begin with. They wanted me to get a divorce, but i was against it.

Why should I, when my husband doesn’t have any bad habits like gambling, taking drugs, drinking alcohol etc?

He is also not an abusive husband. His only mistake is his loans.

So, due to my reluctance to give in to my parents, they disowned me.

Now I am alone. I do not have many friends and have always kept my circle very small.

I am trying to be strong (for the kids) but it is very difficult to stay focused these days.

Thinking of the possible power cut tomorrow and whats for lunch/dinner gets me stressed up again…

Regards,

Siti

Transitioning.org note: We have verified some of the bills via email and they are genuine. We will be transferring $100 in financial aid to the writer and providing her with our counselling support.

*Letter first appeared in Transitioning.org, a support site run by Gilbert Goh.

no money why need to use MIO?

MIO is a luxury, not a necessities....no money, still want MIO...last time cases like this, children can carry wicker baskets, go round HDB flats sell, " curry pok", " curry pok"....& hmm! can work in "joget" bar earn extra...

bullshit, no money still need to use wifi?
mother fucker.
this race (i dont know what is siti race) has no shame

Taxi drivers can earn $7000 per month thanks to the PAP.

MPs earn $16K, ministers earn millions, thanks too to the PAP :rolleyes:

There is nothing to stop a taxi driver from becoming an MP too. All he needs to do is run an effective campaign. If LTK can do it anyone can.

what is the reason to earn so much money when singapore is the world most expensive country,
lppl correct

So that they can afford to live here, never mind the rest of us. PAP pays handsomely for loyalty.

There is nothing to stop a taxi driver from becoming an MP too. All he needs to do is run an effective campaign. If LTK can do it anyone can.

If only it were that simple. You talking about that LTK from the PAP team B? :p

what is the point of writing to Gilbert? That guy is worst, he is unemployed.

Siti should write to Sam instead. At least he can help and find her a job as FL.

Brown sugar is quite popular in the industry.

Has Siti approached her local RC for help? The grassroots volunteers can help connect her to the right people to provide support. The grassroots also offer student bursary to needy students.

Someone is lying here.

TJC said taxi drivers make more than 3k on single shift and more than 5k on double shift per month.

And the husband cannot pay for his taxi rental?

And Ah John go fuck off with your crass looters advice lah!

They are worst than 'gangsters in white' or are the gangsters already in white? LoL

Iv been poor most of my life but I have no sympathy for these dumbass peasants.knowing Singapore is such a expensive country,one has to be extremely careful just to survive even as a single person.these dumbass uneducated peasants even though they barely have qualifications to drive taxi want to get married want to have a house want to have children before even considering their financial capability.worse still when they run out of money,they get into huge debt to fund their fantasy life.I work a shitty minimum wage job in SG,have 14k in stocks and bond funds,play poker for side income,and I have to think long and hard before I even buy a 600 bucks lenovo laptop.didn't own a fucking smartphone until 2013 when the cheapest smartphone in the world came out the moto g.

Guess what from your description about yourself.

You are a loser with a cheapo outlook in life.

No wonder the Sinkie bitches are running even into the arms of the shit skin nowadays if they cannot net a ANG MO first! LoL

if drive taxi lose money then give up mah..........why borrow money to continue ?