• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
haha just ignore all these silly comments. I am driving a low-class japanese car worth only $70k when i bought it a few years back. Now I am still driving it because of my very frequent travels to malaysia. I am sure there are a lot of bigger time bosses who are damn rich and driving normal cars to keep low profile too in jb.

I know many sinkies who root in jb and who are millionaires with at least a few paid-up properties in Singapore. I have a few properties in singapore though but because of my desire to live in a place with larger space and less pple, i love jb over singapore.

Agree, this part i have to agree with also what myo said about low profile. Just keep low profile and don't boast, if outside people ask about your property, just say you are renting it from others. Even if you paid in cash for a car or house, always tell them you got it financed or mortgaged.

Never show off for any reasons, its good to be always prudent and humble even if someone shows off in front of you and flaunts a 150k annual pay, just smile and say he is really good and always stop the missus from blurting out anything she should not say.

It keeps one safe and no one will target you as they think you are poorer than them, in fact they might be happy if you don't visit them as they may be concerned that you may borrow money from them! :biggrin:

One doesn't need to win every battle, as long as the wife, family or close friends know where you stand is good enough. Those who have deep pockets might not necessarily be driving big cars.

You can only really tell who your friends are when you are seen to be "in trouble", false friends and those who have always been boasting about their wealth can easily be caught out. Real friends will stand by you, thats what friends are for.

HarrChono

yes i have been there. this taman laguna is very good in a way its near to the coastal highway so its considered near to the causeway and 2nd link is quite convenient too

the space is quite large for a terrace i must say.. 3000+ sq feet? the price is very reasonable and i got a feeling they purposely put the price at slightly over 500k because they know mostly sinkie will buy.

but if u are looking for class, of cos its not as classy as HH but at prices over rm500k, your neighbours cant be that bad, lah!

Good buy and great capital appreciation. In fact, this is one of the other developments i am aiming to invest soon. Only factor drawing me back is the rental part.. pple would choose to rent and stay in HH than taman laguna for sure!
Thanks for the feedback. Yes 3000+ sqft for Terrance is sure much larger then most sinkie Terrence here. Around my area is like 1670+ sqft and imagine paying like more then 1.5Mil. For this sum, can really invest in a big bunglow or s few units of those nice Terrance in HH.

Well, any good Terrance to recommend over in HH or EL?

HarrChono

Yes, its a very nice place actually, a bit remote and right next to Orang Aslis area but i know of quite a few SG folks who are staying there. Nice community.

Its a bit too remote for my liking though but near to seafood and also fishing ponds. They have cameras and concertina wire near the ulu part so security wise not that bad. I didn't much like their basketball court and playground outside though as its located outside the compound and not fenced.
Yeah, Taman Laguna is near to Orang Asli and this is what troubles me. Though very unlikely this people will create trouble but never know. Yup it is all gated with security but then again, hard to say as well. As for remote, the reason I like about this place is also because of this. I do not like to be in a mass community like in SG whereby always flooded with FTs and Chins... Prefer to be in a quite neighbourhood. At the moment my place is not too bad as it is not as crowded or filled with Chins compare to my last place in Jurong.

Well, I am still contemplating on buying. Tmn Laguana and open to look out at HH or EL as well

HarrChono

Agree, this part i have to agree with also what myo said about low profile. Just keep low profile and don't boast, if outside people ask about your property, just say you are renting it from others. Even if you paid in cash for a car or house, always tell them you got it financed or mortgaged.

Never show off for any reasons, its good to be always prudent and humble even if someone shows off in front of you and flaunts a 150k annual pay, just smile and say he is really good and always stop the missus from blurting out anything she should not say.

It keeps one safe and no one will target you as they think you are poorer than them, in fact they might be happy if you don't visit them as they may be concerned that you may borrow money from them! :biggrin:

One doesn't need to win every battle, as long as the wife, family or close friends know where you stand is good enough. Those who have deep pockets might not necessarily be driving big cars.

You can only really tell who your friends are when you are seen to be "in trouble", false friends and those who have always been boasting about their wealth can easily be caught out. Real friends will stand by you, thats what friends are for.
Agrees with you too! Keeping a low profile in Malaysia is always important. We need to bring ourselves down to the local common level to make friends too. Showing off will only invite trouble. Hmm... guess I need to dispose my beemer soon.

Wah, if someone show me the 150k annual pay, I would say u very rich lor hehe... :smile:
Nothing interesting to compare also lah. Just be ourselves and life our normal life and don't act act lor.

Yes it does keeps one safe and will not be targeted as they think we are local like them or as poor like them. Haha... Yeah, I think they will be happy if we don't visit else their door will be tight shut.

flyer380

Hi guys, i saw some videos on Iskandar Malaysia on property guru. i am not sure about the details of the surounding areas, so i might be going to the seminar at suntec this sat and sun. i heard there were some security problems with the road on the way to leisure farm? is this true? and any incidents in east ledang? anyone now staying there and working in singapore?

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Any brother has any view on whether HH or EL offers better security as looking at these two landed properties. Other than LF which is near to 2nd Link, any other good landed developements that is close to second link that might be priced lower than HH, EL or LF, with gated and guarded security?

HH has slightly better as its less remote and is on a hilly terrain, EL is good too.
LF and Ledang Heights security not so good but they are improving. There are also many others, Nusa Duta, Nusa Idaman, etc.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
I'm in a deliema. State consent not approve yet and becos of Fengshui we need to tear down the kitchen wall n seal up the aluminium gate frame with wall. It is a major renovation n we r renting the house. My fear is the state consent. If not approve but we had invested a sum of $$ into the place.
Under what circumstance state consent not approve. M I worry too much n go ahead with the Reno while assuming the house will be mine?

Thanks
Regards

This is something that a lot of us faced, many of us, myself included went ahead without it and spent a lot of time during precious weekends and money renovating.

For one of his houses, one bro even put in 280k worth of renovations without the state consent. State consent is not 100% but very seldom would you ever have it not approved. Thats why so man y just go ahead, many have at least 80-100k sunk in even before the approval.

If you want to be 100% safe and have lower risk, then just wait until its approved.

2bFree

Been reading this thread for the past 2 weeks and finally registered to post.

Never really considered MY as an option but with the way SG is turning out (sky high COE prices, increasing cost of living, property bubble growing, loss of citizen identity etc), coupled with the fact that I am working in both countries more frequently now and my eyes are finally opened, I am exploring finding a place that I can really call my own around the Iskandar region!

So far I have seen semi-D, terrace, bungalow type of homes, are there condos/apartments for a single person like me? :smile:

euphony

what's this talk about mistresses I was like thinking is it for real?!! haha.

I think increasingly people are getting more aware of what jb's got to offer beyond the 'shanty' criminalious town. my colleague was bugging me to show her family around with specific interest to acquire a property. looking at some of your discussions I must I say some of you have really expansive knowledge. can i tompang bros here instead. hurhur.

Thanks also for the info on exchange rate. I know the cash back is not that great cos of exchange rate but comparing back and forth I am not at losing end either just that can do better. I try to carry as little cash on me as possible preferring to change ringgit when the rate is good and make it last as long as possible without going way out to change for more repeatedly which negates the savings. btw i thought old woodlands central have the best rates no?

any forumer resides more towards the eastern side (straits view, molek pines no?) seems like majority at western (EL, LF, HH, etc). with senibong taking shape i wonder if the eastern side will slowly morph into a more notable area for residing.

Coolsaint77

Just perusing the Alliance Bank loan offer letter and almost freaked out... i think i will avoid these confusions and go for another bank with a conventional loan.

Apparently they offer only the islamic package, what does that mean? Well it uses different terminology due to need to comply with islamic rules, etc... i was told it is essentially the same as a conventional loan, except you pay no facility charges etc. One other feature is the floating rate interest is capped at 9.9% to protect you from hyperinflationary interest environment.

Those familiar might know the principal is referred to as the bank's "buying price", whereas "principal + total interest over loan tenure" is referred to as the bank's "selling price" to you. The issue i have is... the offer letter states the "selling price" at the capped interest amount of 9.9%.

Now... this sounds to me to be a way the bank protects itself... but definitely not something i would sign!

contra

Hi forumers,

Took half day off work today and did an afternoon trip to JB with my family and dined & grocery-shopped at Jusco Bukit Indah. Followed by a short drive into HH. We have been to HH, like many others from Singapore who mostly visit over the weekend. (A salesperson told us that in the weekends, people from Singapore come to view the houses earlier than the sales people themselves). Is interesting that on a weekday night it is much more quiet. Security did not stop us at Main gate and at each roundabout islands at entrance of Gateway & Golf there is a guard with a light-stick (not sure how effective they can be vs the missing ones at Main gate). I did not go into the Gateway & Golf compounds and I am sure they will ask ID etc. Also noticed many houses unoccupied. So may I ask for those who are staying there.... do you feel secure and lonely? Or secure and happy for the privacy?

I am seriously looking to buy a unit in HH, therefore the night visit to check out night feel. Would like your feedbacks to the question.

(I would like to share that I enjoyed my little trip and I believe is the feeling of serenity & privacy afforded by the ample & nice space of Bukit Indah and the dark 2nd Link Hway back to Singapore, which had a positive effect in bringing down my stress level and unexpectedly rejuvenated me when I reached back into Singapore , along AYE and finally to home... Thumbs up to all you who danced to your own beat and invested early as the prices have gone up and keep going up. I am tossing and turning over the decision to invest in a terrace house (for weekend & holiday getways to destress from pigeon-hole living & ultimately retirement , not counting on rent as perhaps you who owned semi-ds will have first bite of cherry). The forum has been great. Thanks wuqi256 for being the leader here. I also thank the naysayers for their honestly and laying out the cons as is an important part of the decision process of going with eyes wide-opened. It is indeed very important to come see for yourself. This is quite a different JB from the one I entered from Woodlands).

toyohon

what's this talk about mistresses I was like thinking is it for real?!! haha.

I think increasingly people are getting more aware of what jb's got to offer beyond the 'shanty' criminalious town. my colleague was bugging me to show her family around with specific interest to acquire a property. looking at some of your discussions I must I say some of you have really expansive knowledge. can i tompang bros here instead. hurhur.

Thanks also for the info on exchange rate. I know the cash back is not that great cos of exchange rate but comparing back and forth I am not at losing end either just that can do better. I try to carry as little cash on me as possible preferring to change ringgit when the rate is good and make it last as long as possible without going way out to change for more repeatedly which negates the savings. btw i thought old woodlands central have the best rates no?

any forumer resides more towards the eastern side (straits view, molek pines no?) seems like majority at western (EL, LF, HH, etc). with senibong taking shape i wonder if the eastern side will slowly morph into a more notable area for residing.

The eastern side - Tebrau/Plentong areas are more "heartland" so to speak. The amenities, commercial and other services are already in place and more matured. You have your Giants/Jusco/Tesco, hospitals, colleges, not to mention the port (Pasir Gudang). Popular residential areas are Mt Austin, Adda Heights, Molek, Ponderosa, Redang, Senibong (Australian developer) & Permas Jaya. Condos coming up at Century Gdns (KSL), and also the planned residential/commercial hub along Jln Bakar Batu (Tmn Sentosa/Pelangi) by Southern Key.

euphony

So far I have seen semi-D, terrace, bungalow type of homes, are there condos/apartments for a single person like me? :smile:

2b, that's right in my alley. =) I've been digging around for places like this too as a singleton the big space is lost to me. HH has some smaller apartments (fairway suites) though people will also tell you that the money you're ploughing in may buy you a handsome terrace for it. there's also the sky residence by setia though its soldout by now. Do note you've got to buy something in the region of 500k if sgrean though. There are a splattering of other choices too like 1medini which is yet to be launched i think and elsewhere like palazio, austin perdana etc.

flyer380

saw on TODAY paper Page B3 that they are lauching pre launch phase 8 limited corner / garden facing units. suntec convention centre 11 12 dec sat sun, iskandar talk 2pm and 4pm room 207. anyone going for the talk too?

flyer380

2 to 3 murders is scary. what did the police do? if the murderers are not caught aren't they still roaming around ? is there a police station near ledang east? at least in singapore police caught most of the slashing cases etc. i hope johor will hire more police.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Been reading this thread for the past 2 weeks and finally registered to post.

Never really considered MY as an option but with the way SG is turning out (sky high COE prices, increasing cost of living, property bubble growing, loss of citizen identity etc), coupled with the fact that I am working in both countries more frequently now and my eyes are finally opened, I am exploring finding a place that I can really call my own around the Iskandar region!

Good for you, yes there are, you can rent or buy them easily by going to:
www.iproperty.com.my and do a search.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi Contra, the main gate is not checked, its only to keep out those on foot. Only the entry to the precints are screened. In the evening and at night, its mainly to check outgoing contractor lorries, vans, etc to see if they have taken anything they shouldn't, with them.

Secure and happy as we have park areas and a few close neighbours where we can go for tim sum and yum cha on lazy weekend afternoons.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Oh yes, security is very tight. Even though my relatives were listed as occupants, there was one time they didn't bring their access card and were in another car. No entry at all.

Another time, another relative came without informing us, they were escorted in but were asked to leave when they found out we were not around.

Status
Not open for further replies.