• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Karaoke bars and building new housing

wendychan

can anyone just open a Karaoke bar anywhere in a shop house?
i just went to the opposite shop house , 1st floor, 2.45am to tell them to turn it down - the music volume.

was told by a bunch of china girls that they cannot tell their customers that. saw through the glass a bunch of drunk old men 2 of which were like high and dancing to the music.

one of them came out and i told him the music could be heard opposite where people trying to sleep

he gave me a f u ck you look

the girls told me - you cannot scold our customers

fine i said im going to call the police

There are noise limits they have to adhere to. If they don't, they get warned/fined/licence revoked (usually in that order). I think NEA is setting those noise limits but so late at night only the police will come out to check.

It's never a good idea to confront them directly. Let authorities handle.

Thats why the rent i s socheap wendy.....

When you call police dun say noisy....say got fight or suspected murder....like this they will send more poodles.
Call the newspapers/cna hotline at same time say got police raid naked ladies running around in the streets.
Call SCDF say got fire.
Call for ambulance also all at once.....
Sit back and enjoy the show.....
If after that still back to square one then throw a Molotov cocktail and make calls again.

When you call police dun say noisy....say got fight or suspected murder....like this they will send more poodles.
Call the newspapers/cna hotline at same time say got police raid naked ladies running around in the streets.
Call SCDF say got fire.
If after that still back to square one then throw a Molotov cocktail and make calls again.

hahahhah
LOVE IT!!!!

scroo and me la......who else could they have been?

. saw through the glass a bunch of drunk old men 2 of which were like high and dancing to the music.

one of them came out and i told him the music could be heard opposite where people trying to sleep

Can give me the location? I can go check it out for you.

i just went to the opposite shop house , 1st floor, 2.45am to tell them to turn it down - the music volume.

was told by a bunch of china girls that they cannot tell their customers that. saw through the glass a bunch of drunk old men 2 of which were like high and dancing to the music.

the girls told me - you cannot scold our customers

fine i said im going to call the police

Call SCDF say got fire.

Ya , later she Kena charged for making false police report ;)

Depends on the pub licensing , if the license is until 6am , there's nothing you can do ;)

Police? you will probably have to tell them what to do for such matter. perhaps they are better in dealing with criminals.

My personal experience some years back.

One of my neighbours was blaring their music away the whole night through as they were having a party. Tolerated till abt 2am and called the police.

Told the police sergeant who came to my house the noise and the where about the unit. He went off and came back a short while later with this reply.

"Sir, the house is a private property and I can't get in". I looked at him in utter disbelief! I am staying in the same type of house (colonial type). I asked if he meant to say that private property is off limit to police. He kinda looked stunned momentarily. I questioned him if a murder were to take place, are you saying that the police also cannot gain access? He kept quiet and did not answer me. He managed to gain his composure and told me he will try to get into the unit and get the owner to lower the volume. After 5 mins or so, the music died off.

Eh Wendy; guessed this Bar have been around since time immemoriaL Liao..:cool:

i got it wrong. the address is 315b or 315 c jln besar... new world bar is the main bar round the front ground/first level
.. 315 is round the corner same building. and the bar is on the 1st floor. 2nd floor is rented to a church run by filipinos... and some of them live there as well. live band sunday services.... dunno why not a cathoic church....

its amazing that journalists in singaproe can write about the so called "gentrifying" of jln besar and there is still so much of this shit around, a lot of which involves foreign nationals

now fo the spies that are floating around , go do something about it, instead of letting this country go to the gods, instead of having the perpetual "buat bodoh " attitude