• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat JLB Sinkie still jobless 2 years after graduation

Pinkieslut

‘I just want to work’ — 27 y/o Singaporean who graduated two years ago says he’s still jobless​

May 25, 2025
Depositphotos_480867076_L-e1733212157515.jpg
Photo: Depositphotos/ MontriUaroon (for illustration purposes only)
SINGAPORE: Most fresh grads in Singapore manage to land a job within a few months of finishing school. But for one 27-year-old, the job search has stretched on far longer than he ever expected.

In a recent Reddit post that struck a chord with many, the man shared that he graduated in April 2023, but until now, he has yet to secure full-time employment.

“I don’t think I’m picky because I applied for everything and anything related to what I studied in,” he wrote. “I either get a call and then get ghosted, or I don’t hear back from the company at all. I get one to four interviews every month, and it’s getting frustrating.”

Because of the long stretch without a job, he’s even lowered his expectations when it comes to salary. “I don’t even care if the pay is only $2,500 to $3,000 because I just want to work and get something on my resume.”

While he’s grateful to have a family business as a safety net and runs a small home-based bakery on the side, neither opportunity matches what he originally envisioned for his career path.

What adds to the challenge is seeing his friends land jobs and kickstart their careers. Even though many of them complain about how stressful and exhausting work can be, he can’t help but feel a pang of jealousy.

See also Gobi Partners-Core Capital JV invests in Filipino startups MariaHealth, Edukasyon
“I get jealous seeing my friends,” he admitted. “Is anyone else going through the same thing? Fellow Singaporeans, do you think the job market is pretty bad?”

“There’s something seriously wrong with your interview performance.”​

In the Reddit discussion thread, a Singaporean who used to work in recruitment weighed in, saying, “It’s been stagnant in SG for a while and a downward spiral globally since mid last year with lots of uncertainties. Certain industries and roles are thriving, like hospitality and C suite. The rest? Only when companies see a need for replacements. Otherwise, the leavers’ work scope will be delegated to existing staff.”

To offer some comfort, others in the thread shared their own struggles with long stretches of unemployment.

One wrote, “Graduated December 2023 with a degree in supply chain management, and kind of in the same boat as you. At first, I was making it to the final rounds of interviews with MNCs, but as time went on, I started getting fewer callbacks, or callbacks, then they would ghost.”

Another said, “Yes, the job market is bad. I have experienced a slightly shorter job hunt than yours. (Wasn’t expecting anyone to beat my record.) In fact, I have joined a social group full of job hunters who are currently suffering. If you live in Punggol, you are welcome to join as well.”

See also AI-driven job hunt: Man applies to 1,000 jobs while asleep, reveals shocking results and the hidden price of automation
A third added, “It’s really bad. I have almost a decade’s worth of experience with big MNCs and have both a Master’s and a pretty coveted professional qualification, yet I am getting ghosted. Heck, even the lower-paying ones, too, where I know I’m overqualified.”

However, not everyone agreed. Some suggested that since he’s getting interviews every month, maybe the issue lies in his interview skills rather than the job market itself.

One individual explained, “If you’re getting so many interviews (48 at a rate of two interviews per month for two years), are not picky with the role, but still getting no offers, there’s something seriously wrong with your interview performance.

Do some mock interviews (heck, I’ll do a quick call with you if you’re fine with a stranger) and figure out what’s wrong and how to fix it.”

Six in ten Singaporeans say finding a job has gotten tougher​

Unfortunately, the experiences shared by the man and others in the comments are not unique. According to new data from LinkedInreleased in January, six in ten workers in Singapore report that it has become more difficult to secure a job over the past year. This percentage is higher than the global average, where five in ten workers express the same sentiment.

See also More retrenchments, fewer jobs in 2019
Moreover, as reported by The Straits Times, most professionals in Singapore spend about one to two hours a week searching for jobs. Over half apply to up to five roles each week, while Millennials and Generation Z tend to be even more active, with some submitting as many as eight applications weekly.

Still, all that effort does not always pay off. Nearly half (47%) of Singapore respondents say they are applying to more jobs but receiving fewer callbacks. Meanwhile, 48% say they have been ghosted by recruiters, which only adds to the frustration, as they are left wondering why they did not make the cut.

If after 2 years you still cannot find a job…you must really be fucked up.

Even if this jiakliaobee fucker gets a job he probably be just another jiakliaobee fucking deadwood in his company and probably gets retrenched.

Some don't want to work by choice. Just lie flat. :roflmao:

‘I just want to work’ — 27 y/o Singaporean who graduated two years ago says he’s still jobless​

May 25, 2025
Depositphotos_480867076_L-e1733212157515.jpg
Photo: Depositphotos/ MontriUaroon (for illustration purposes only)
SINGAPORE: Most fresh grads in Singapore manage to land a job within a few months of finishing school. But for one 27-year-old, the job search has stretched on far longer than he ever expected.

In a recent Reddit post that struck a chord with many, the man shared that he graduated in April 2023, but until now, he has yet to secure full-time employment.

“I don’t think I’m picky because I applied for everything and anything related to what I studied in,” he wrote. “I either get a call and then get ghosted, or I don’t hear back from the company at all. I get one to four interviews every month, and it’s getting frustrating.”

Because of the long stretch without a job, he’s even lowered his expectations when it comes to salary. “I don’t even care if the pay is only $2,500 to $3,000 because I just want to work and get something on my resume.”

While he’s grateful to have a family business as a safety net and runs a small home-based bakery on the side, neither opportunity matches what he originally envisioned for his career path.

What adds to the challenge is seeing his friends land jobs and kickstart their careers. Even though many of them complain about how stressful and exhausting work can be, he can’t help but feel a pang of jealousy.

See also Gobi Partners-Core Capital JV invests in Filipino startups MariaHealth, Edukasyon
“I get jealous seeing my friends,” he admitted. “Is anyone else going through the same thing? Fellow Singaporeans, do you think the job market is pretty bad?”

“There’s something seriously wrong with your interview performance.”​

In the Reddit discussion thread, a Singaporean who used to work in recruitment weighed in, saying, “It’s been stagnant in SG for a while and a downward spiral globally since mid last year with lots of uncertainties. Certain industries and roles are thriving, like hospitality and C suite. The rest? Only when companies see a need for replacements. Otherwise, the leavers’ work scope will be delegated to existing staff.”

To offer some comfort, others in the thread shared their own struggles with long stretches of unemployment.

One wrote, “Graduated December 2023 with a degree in supply chain management, and kind of in the same boat as you. At first, I was making it to the final rounds of interviews with MNCs, but as time went on, I started getting fewer callbacks, or callbacks, then they would ghost.”

Another said, “Yes, the job market is bad. I have experienced a slightly shorter job hunt than yours. (Wasn’t expecting anyone to beat my record.) In fact, I have joined a social group full of job hunters who are currently suffering. If you live in Punggol, you are welcome to join as well.”

See also AI-driven job hunt: Man applies to 1,000 jobs while asleep, reveals shocking results and the hidden price of automation
A third added, “It’s really bad. I have almost a decade’s worth of experience with big MNCs and have both a Master’s and a pretty coveted professional qualification, yet I am getting ghosted. Heck, even the lower-paying ones, too, where I know I’m overqualified.”

However, not everyone agreed. Some suggested that since he’s getting interviews every month, maybe the issue lies in his interview skills rather than the job market itself.

One individual explained, “If you’re getting so many interviews (48 at a rate of two interviews per month for two years), are not picky with the role, but still getting no offers, there’s something seriously wrong with your interview performance.

Do some mock interviews (heck, I’ll do a quick call with you if you’re fine with a stranger) and figure out what’s wrong and how to fix it.”

Six in ten Singaporeans say finding a job has gotten tougher​

Unfortunately, the experiences shared by the man and others in the comments are not unique. According to new data from LinkedInreleased in January, six in ten workers in Singapore report that it has become more difficult to secure a job over the past year. This percentage is higher than the global average, where five in ten workers express the same sentiment.

See also More retrenchments, fewer jobs in 2019
Moreover, as reported by The Straits Times, most professionals in Singapore spend about one to two hours a week searching for jobs. Over half apply to up to five roles each week, while Millennials and Generation Z tend to be even more active, with some submitting as many as eight applications weekly.

Still, all that effort does not always pay off. Nearly half (47%) of Singapore respondents say they are applying to more jobs but receiving fewer callbacks. Meanwhile, 48% say they have been ghosted by recruiters, which only adds to the frustration, as they are left wondering why they did not make the cut.

They deserve it .... their parents, relatives, sibblings, friends and themselves voted to support the mass import of talents to replace them from the jobs .... so kpkb keerun? live with it .... :whistling:

they are looking for jobs in the wrong places. Need to find a job in the civil service (not private sector). guaranteed to drive a Maserati before 30 yo

LOL, unless you are a scholar, civil serpents are paupers.

Insurance and real estate agencies are always recruiting. :wink:

nowadays no connections with the internal directors confirm CV and applications end up in the stack of wastepaper .... silver serpents need big serpents to bring in one :whistling:

He should have spent his 2 years to get a diploma in Upton University in India, rather than looking for a job in Sindiapore. Then he would be basically like a CECA Indian, plentiful of jobs would be offered to him in Sindiapore.
You have no choice, this is the type of country wanted by 65% of the whole population!

Many Gen Z are brainwashed in Army and Uni…have very gullible mind , too tricked by their Jiuhu Classmates who quickly snapped up good high pay jobs and Hao Lian in front of these young saw hei…jiuhu start to pump more toxicity into these young peepur and encourage to start business venture to Huat big big…leesult is very clear 24-36mth after covid

I think This jlb doesn't know the real Lee son is becos
He or she doesn't even need a job in the first place.
When one doesn't need a job, he will perform badly in interview by choice.

Same as when I can afford not to bow to slavery, I kept beating ceos to puppies.
I was not afraid to be fired de woh.

If he doesn't have a family business it will he different.

This flaccid loser didn't realize how lucky he is to be born with a family business. He should suck it up and work in this family biz, try to help grow it and then one day, he will be on the other side of the table doing the interviews.

Is he handsome? If so, he might consider starting a new career as a professional duck.

KNN he has a family business to take over and still KPKB on the net and act pitiful for the past 2 years? what a douche.

He should have spent his 2 years to get a diploma in Upton University in India, rather than looking for a job in Sindiapore. Then he would be basically like a CECA Indian, plentiful of jobs would be offered to him in Sindiapore.
You have no choice, this is the type of country wanted by 65% of the whole population!
Alternatively,he can go get a class 4 driving licence.

Too picky lah. U can be a hawker. Put that knowledge of double entrance a counting to good use and file your taxes properly. :biggrin:

There are 650,000 CECAs in S'pore. If the PAP wants them to take up PR and SG citizenship, they need to find them attractive white collar jobs, so S'porean PMEs have to make way for these foreigners.

I think This jlb doesn't know the real Lee son is becos
He or she doesn't even need a job in the first place.
When one doesn't need a job, he will perform badly in interview by choice.

Same as when I can afford not to bow to slavery, I kept beating ceos to puppies.
I was not afraid to be fired de woh.

If he doesn't have a family business it will he different.
Did you wear a tie when you went for interview the last time ?

During my time, a tie was a symbol of success and being professional.
I was cautious about this practice , as over dressing is not advisable.

Depending on the position that I applied for, I leecide based on the role and estimated salary scale.

For sales position, I turned up all with ties.

There was once I turned up at well known big US mnc for a engineer post.
That was the very first engineer post I applied for as I didn't have a degree, I needed to build up the experience first.

I didn't turned up with a tie as I thought a neat office wear would do.
I think it should be a combination of 3 factors that I aced that interview.
1. For being humble turning up neat and not proud with a tie.
2. For being able to answer all the questions both soft and hard skills.
3. For having a John lone look. Becos the interviewer was a female and I could sense she was attracted to me in my overall leeleeverlee.

I left the building with much confidence as I guessed I probably will get the job and they called me the next day leequesting for a 2nd interview by the lady boss.

I turned up without tie too on my 2nd interview and it was a man this time.
He told me this session was purely to meet the person and he said most of the time, he need to be comfortable before hiring the person.
So with my humble attire, I think I was on the right path. He didn't asked me much question and on the spot he told me you are hired. And enjoy your holiday first. See you. I leemember that time I alreaady booked a celebration trip prior to getting hired as I knew I would be hired.

But who knows on my first day of Leeporting for work, , everyone (all from different leepartment) was seen with tie except me. This one wasn't so cool anymore. We had a short orientation by the hr before we were told to leeport to our individual workplace.

I leeported to the lady that conducted my first interview then, she was my RO and the first thing she told me was - here you need to wear tie as you are a professional :geek: :o-o: