• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is this the Singapore for Singaporeans?

[h=2]Is this the Singapore for Singaporeans[/h]
dmca_protected_sml_120n.png
PostDateIcon.png
June 18th, 2014 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

Prof-Tommy-Koh-what-we-have-achieved-so-far-is-a-prosperous-but-unfair-society1.png

Read the case of a 43 year old Singaporean with a BA from NUS and a MBA from a UK university. He was forced to leave his job and had 19 years of corporate experience. He has a family to feed. He sent out many resumes but still unable to get a job. He had an A for Economics at A level and at MBA level. He even tried to be a tuition teacher to teach A level Economics but no one wants him. He is desperate and suffering from depression.

Another 42 year old with a B of Commerce degree also could not find a decent job in the banking industry. This is a man who tried to upgrade himself, a lot of fight, and got a degree at 39. This is not a man who gives up. But nobody wants him. Recruitment agencies recommended him to work as an operator in a call centre. Is this what a Singaporean with a degree is fit for? His may not be the normal degree but he worked hard for it.

How many Singaporeans in their 40s and 50s are caught in such dire situations? The sickening thing is that this country is providing PME jobs to at least half a million foreigners. This is becoming like a country that has no place for its own citizens.

Would MOM and Tan Chuan Jin start to do something seriously to see that young Singaporeans in their 40s and 50s who are willing to work get a decent job? They have heavy family responsibilities, children and mortgages. This is very serious matters and may drive them to suicide. They have no dignity, losing their confidence and self-respect, and unable to put food on the table or money in their children’s pockets.

What kind of country is Singapore becoming when its own citizens cannot find decent jobs and foreigners keep flooding in with jobs ready for them? Can someone tell the jobless Singaporeans what is happening? I am puzzled that things are still so peaceful in the streets.

I hope Singaporeans do not talk nonsense to rubbish these Singaporeans in trouble over getting a job. Please have a heart, no nasty silly remarks. The problem in Singaporean getting a decent job is a very serious matter. Please don’t ask them to go and eat shit. They deserve some respect for trying very hard and desperately wanting to get a job.

But the millionaires would probably have more important things to do, like where is the best place to take their families for a holiday. You can see them everywhere with their smiles of contentment written all over their rich faces and not a worry to care. Even if you tell them that Singaporeans are desperately seeking for jobs, they would just smile as if they were non-events.

Gilbert Goh’s transitioning.org has many such cases pleading for help. This is not politics but survival. The cost of living here is one of the highest in the world and not having a decent income is frightening and a death threatening thing. These Singaporeans need help urgently. MOM must set up a team or unit to help them quickly. Stop wasting time and resources on the good to have things like kindness movements, save the dogs and cats, more parks and bicycle lanes. These people need a job urgently. They are not asking for charity or subsidies. What is the point of bragging about full employment when our citizens are going to starve while foreigners are having a party here?

Chua Chin Leng aka redbean

* The writer blogs at [url]http://mysingaporenews.blogspot.com[/URL]

blogger-image--1214767149.jpg

Who did you vote for? Me right? So donch comprain and just accept your wretched fate! *hee*hee*

<cite class="fn">Orwellian in SG:</cite>
June 18, 2014 at 10:03 pm Orwellian in SG(Quote)
The farking problem is PAP’s obsession with GDP growth at all cost. They measure their achievement, their manliness, their pride, their dick and justify their million dollars pay & ebonuses based on GDP figures.
Beneath the complexities of the numbers, they obfuscate the figures by using a simple modus operandi.
At the very top make Singapore a tax haven for the wealthy and big businesses, at the bottom bring in 3rd world cheap foreign workers who have nothing here but to work their ass off. Seeing an opportunity in real estate due to our limited land, the government cut up lands to be auctioned off to the highest bidder. In turn these bidders will develope the land and sell or lease it out at a King’s ransom.
Foreign MNCs enjoy massive corp tax incentives and together with SMEs this government help them by opening the flood gate to cheap foreign PMETs in the middle. Thus government and developers make from real estate, employers will rake in from cheaper labour cost.
Singapore workers have to pay CPF, disrupt for NS, expensive, has family commitment, work life balance.
It becomes a no-brainer for employers toperfer cheaper foreigners and keep more for themselves.

<cite class="fn">G T Raj:</cite>
June 18, 2014 at 10:30 pm G T Raj(Quote)
What was cited with two case studies are real and just a tip of the iceberg. That Singaporeans whose generations past have done a service for the Nation to make it what it is only to be enjoyed by the hordes of foreign PMETs becomes glaringly apparent. Unless some drastic and draconian measures are taken the situation will grow from bad to worst. Once the foreign herd instint takes over the culture of bringing their own kind grows ever more so. Human Resource Managers are not there to look at every case. They turn a blind eye and the situation will only get worst in time to come.

Each family unit has at least 5 to 10 voters and if the pain of their jobless fathers and mothers and even siblings were felt they will turn for options and the opposition appears to have the best alternative. At least voting them in Parliament in numbers will do a world of good in bringing the essential balance.

A Government and Leadership that has forgotten to keep their eyes and ears to the ground will see themselves ostracised as increasingly Singaporeans sees the ill effects of having too much power and nothing done while promises are made.

Having the best education in the world does not do any good when such graduands are pitted wrongly against the foreign invasion of many PMETs using the kaki nang approach. Apple to apple comparison will see Singaporeans any time better than the foreign PMETs. The age of foreign colonisation of some of the top jobs from banking and IT we have aleady seen.

When will some postive and effective measures be taken? We are still waiting and as we say Tang Ku Ku????

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

Rating: +19 (from 19 votes)

<cite class="fn">Very Lousy PM:</cite>
June 18, 2014 at 10:26 pm Very Lousy PM(Quote)
“Our founding fathers created wealth by their own blood, sweat and tears: inspiring Singaporeans to work hard together to create success and prosperity. The problem really is that for many years now, we have focused on the outcome and not the process. So while we focused on building wealth for Singapore, we didn’t pay as much attention to how we were doing this. In recent years we have shifted the focus away from growing through motivating and encouraging Singaporeans to importing talent that the government feels will contribute to the nation’s bottom-line – our GDP. Today we are willing to achieve growth by transplanting what others, including foreigners can do into Singapore – an “instant tree” mentality of sorts — what pride do Singaporean have in such a prosperity? ” – Inderjit Singh

<cite class="fn">Concerned Housewife:</cite>
June 19, 2014 at 12:51 am Concerned Housewife(Quote)
Thank you Sir for this truthful article. The employment figures of Singaporeans and Permanent Residents should not be mixed together. I am not xenophobic, but my husband lost his career when he was 40+ immediately after a colleague obtained his PR. This PR was young and inexperienced in the job, but his PRship gave the boss the idea that he is employing someone from the same employment grouping. The local boss forgot that the local man, a non-graduate he axed had parents and family to support in Singapore as compared to the young graduate from neighboring country.

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

Very hard. Once you are 40 in Singapore and retrenched, say goodbye to your career and perhaps your life. Jobs are created for foreigners not Singaporeans. Unless policies are put in place, a Singaporean first policy, Sinkies will be gradually weeded out of management/professional roles, driving them to the low wage sector. That is the legacy of the PAP. Nothing is going to change for the forseeable future and the only advice I can give is put your affairs in order.

The sooner Singaporeans realise that life is never fair, the better it will be for everyone.

thats true.....how u can have a kid that looks like michael jackson merged with gandpa herbert and another kid that looks like smeagol the deranged hobbit....sigh... the sins of the father is the burden of the son....