• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is escalating property prices in Singapore fuelling increases in COE?

lifeafter41

A politician that could have earned tens of millions of dollars if they had stayed in the private sector!?
And indeed all of these meagerly paid million dollars ministers have droves of jobs that are waiting for them in the private sector ready to pay them tens of millions or even more if they were to leave the public service!
Singaporeans are paying for budget flights tickets but are getting first class service on Tiger airways!

And apparently 60% of the population believe this is true & PAP have been telling telling these lies for so many years that it has become the truth, at least for the tax payers fed fat dogs in white coats!

My thoughts would be for some of them (very small minority), but DEFINTELY not all of them.

Happy 2013 New Year too all:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

LeMans2011

I am simply at a loss as to why the government keeps REFUSING to rein in the property prices.

You are very right in that the govt is REFUSING to rein in property prices... and the well known reasons are stated by a few bros like JW and Laksa.

It is extremely easy to rein in property prices, a classic example is how the Aussies do it:

In April 2010, the government announced amendments to policies to "ensure that foreign non-residents can only invest in Australian real estate if that investment adds to the housing stock, and that investments by temporary residents in established properties are only for their use whilst they live in Australia."[13][14]

Under the rules, temporary residents and foreign students will be:

Screened by the Foreign Investment Review Board to determine if they will be allowed to buy a property.
Forced to sell property when they leave Australia.
Punished if they do not sell by a government-ordered sale plus confiscation of any capital gain.
Required to build on vacant land within two years of purchase to stop "land banking".
Failure to do this would also lead to a government-ordered sale.

Kuailan

What ever happened High COE , High Property prices, High ERP, High Road Taxes,
High GST, High Fines, High Assess, these are FIX / DONE
by our gahmen they want more money, more taxes, Pay And Pay policies!!!

High Pay Million dollars salaries!!!

I am simply at a loss as to why the government keeps REFUSING to rein in the property prices.

can make more money mah..........if they make prices drop, how to wipe out your CPF a/c...........no money in CPF liao leh..........it's a ponzi scheme anyway.......