I find that rental income can be a good source of passive income against inflation.
The important thing is to get into the habit of putting aside something each month. The trouble in Spore is that here's not much oppurtunity to grow what you have saved because of the high overheads that is charged.
Something you can consider is to invest in Malaysia stocks. Simple to do:
Open a Malaysian trading account in JB.
Save some $SIN.
When the exchange rate is favourable, convert to ringgit & use the ringgit to buy Malaysian blue chip stocks.
When the stocks pay a dividen use it to buy more stocks.
Keep doing this until you retire.
If you do it right, you'll minimise your exposure to the foreign exchange fluctuations. The reason I am suggesting investing in Malaysia & not Spore is because of the highe over heads in Spore.
In Malaysia they don't charge a monthly fee for holding your stocks.
There is no gst charged for the stocks bought & on the dividens.
You can buy shares in 100 lots vs in Spore where a lot is 1,000 shares.
Hey johnny333,
You still want to argue when forummers here tell you that Apple shares has started its bear trend ? Or are you in denial mode ?
You still think you are very smart ?
Hmm, Msian stocks. Will one end up buying a stock that does not exist ? I have heard of people buying property that does not exist![]()
I find that rental income can be a good source of passive income against inflation.
You mean REITs?
Hmm, Msian stocks. Will one end up buying a stock that does not exist ? I have heard of people buying property that does not exist![]()
Riady's First REIT, good? about 10% on dividend last year.
ur brokerage firm penalizes u oni if u r holding msian shares (not sure about us shares) n dun trade ... dey dun hold ur sinkielan shares 4 u (cdp holds 4 u), so if u hold oni sinkielan (no msian) shares n dun trade, dey oso wun charge u fees ...When I buy a share I keep it for a long time i.e. investor & not a trder. The Spore system penalizes investors like me e.g. charges a monthly holding fee.
So that's why I sold ALL my Spore shares and am only involved in the US & Malaysian markets.
If anyone needs to track shares in the Spore, US, Malaysian,...markets. I find Bloomberg's portfolio tracker very useful. It allows you plug in a list of stocks you follow in one window. All the important stats is linked to ones portfolio: opening & closing prices, weekly & yearly highs & lows, etc.
What I find useful is the dates that a dividen is expected. Very useful to know for my Malaysian stocks
I was talking to someone & the the discusson on just how much you need per year came up. If one has already got a home fully paid up. No intention of owning a car. Can a single person survive on only $50,000 per year for the next 20 years
I remember someone mentioned a figure of retiring with $1.3 million, is this really enough? Or should someone consider moving out of Spore?
If you have 50K passive income per year and are retired, get the fuck out of SG and live like a king somewhere else
You mean REITs?
ur brokerage firm penalizes u oni if u r holding msian shares (not sure about us shares) n dun trade ... dey dun hold ur sinkielan shares 4 u (cdp holds 4 u), so if u hold oni sinkielan (no msian) shares n dun trade, dey oso wun charge u fees ...
CNBC iPad app is very good as well. Gives you real-time price movement of your pre-selected portfolio.
Nice thing about the iPad is that many banks are starting to support this platform.
They are starting from scratch without the old baggage from like IE(Int explorer)
In the case of Maybank you can use an iPad for trading. However if you use a PC or Mac you can only do so if you are using IE.
That's why I am planning to get an iPad.
Do not get the cheesy iPad mini. Get the retina display regular iPad.