• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is $50,000 per year enough to retire in Spore?

John boy canada immigration opens in May. Try your luck dude. I'll be giving it a shot. Plus also trying for NZ or OZ. Doesn't matter as long as me and my family are out. Was in Perth on a 457 visa last year but I felt it was too tide down being on a slave visa. I'm a chef, whats your profession.?

You look like a clever doctor I've seen somewhere before definitely not chef.

1. :D:D:D
2. how much is sufficient to retire is pretty subjective leh.
3. it shall depend on the respective individuals too.
4. what's equally vital: medical insurance coverage.
5. an able body with sound mind.
6. and how to spend time meaningful during the 2nd half:p

I was talking to someone & the the discusson on just how much you need per year came up. If one has already got a home fully paid up. No intention of owning a car. Can a single person survive on only $50,000 per year for the next 20 years:confused:

I remember someone mentioned a figure of retiring with $1.3 million, is this really enough? Or should someone consider moving out of Spore?

The average Singaporeans don't even earn 50K a year any idiot that tells U 50K is not enough should be shot

Can a single person survive on only $50,000 per year for the next 20 years:confused:

bro,
several questions. 50K a year, how is it derived from? from savings? or passive income?
20 years, no cars needed, house purchased and paid for, what is he gonna do for the next 2 decades?

$50,000 per year?

U better pray hard that you don't get sick or otherwise. The stay at ICU is $10,000 per day.

This seems to be everyone's worry, getting ill & facing expensive health bills.
I had a taste of Spore's ICU when I had my heart attack. The room cost me about $400 a day. For that price I only consumed oxygen, & no food. If one needs $10,000/day then obviously a serious case . Something like what the Gecko must have experienced before she up the lorry. In my opinion probably a good time to good bye to the world.

I am going to make sure to get some health insurance from some reputable company.

look into the AMD too bro...i had posted this recently.

This seems to be everyone's worry, getting ill & facing expensive health bills.
I had a taste of Spore's ICU when I had my heart attack. The room cost me about $400 a day. For that price I only consumed oxygen, & no food. If one needs $10,000/day then obviously a serious case .

bro,
several questions. 50K a year, how is it derived from? from savings? or passive income?
20 years, no cars needed, house purchased and paid for, what is he gonna do for the next 2 decades?

Don't know how my friend came up with his figure. Sporeans are sensitive about $$:o
However he is about the same age as me & I am getting $50k in dividens from shares i.e. I am not touching the principal.

We have paid for our homes. As a retired person he doesn't really need a car. I have also given up my car years ago.

What we will be doing for next 2 decades is the subject of this thread:D Trying to determine if $50k is enough for a comfortable lifestyle in Spore.

Datok,

If no wine, women and song, 50k annually, definitely enough if no debts.:)

if you get recurrent income of 50k annually from blue chip shares then you are in pretty good shape....These shares should appreciate over time to at least keep pace with inflation so that your principal is protected

Don't know how my friend came up with his figure. Sporeans are sensitive about $$:o
However he is about the same age as me & I am getting $50k in dividens from shares i.e. I am not touching the principal.

We have paid for our homes. As a retired person he doesn't really need a car. I have also given up my car years ago.

What we will be doing for next 2 decades is the subject of this thread:D Trying to determine if $50k is enough for a comfortable lifestyle in Spore.

Don't know how my friend came up with his figure. Sporeans are sensitive about $$:o ...
cannot anyhow say how much u nid 1 ...

different ppl got different lifestyle ... u oso gotta compare wif ur current lifestyle ...

watz ur (or ur frenz) lifestyle now? ... how much is ur (frenz) yearly expenditure? ...

if u spend 100k yearly now, r u willing 2 cut it down 2 50k? ... u gotta cut down on a lot of tings u noe ...

if u spend 50k yearly now, u gotta factor in tings u r not needing now (eg medical) ...

if u spend 30k yearly now, is n xtra 20k sufficient 2 cover tings u r not needing now? ...

ofcos, if u r stil paying 4 a car now, u gotta replace dat wif public transpot costs ... nobody noe how much u travel ...

nobody noes exactly how u spend ur moni yearly ... oni u noe ...

John boy canada immigration opens in May. Try your luck dude. I'll be giving it a shot. Plus also trying for NZ or OZ. Doesn't matter as long as me and my family are out. Was in Perth on a 457 visa last year but I felt it was too tide down being on a slave visa. I'm a chef, whats your profession.?

I'm a retired lesser mortal:)
Canada is a nice place. In fact I plan to visit to get some $ that I invested there years ago.

The concern I have with Canada is that you have to spend at least 5 years before you can apply for citizenship. Currently I intend to travel a bit while I'm fit & have the energy.

dividends 50K per year, inflation will erode this sum significantly in 2 decades. must grow capital.
survival more than enough, comfort level depends :):):)

cannot anyhow say how much u nid 1 ...

different ppl got different lifestyle ... u oso gotta compare wif ur current lifestyle ...

watz ur (or ur frenz) lifestyle now? ... how much is ur (frenz) yearly expenditure? ...

if u spend 100k yearly now, r u willing 2 cut it down 2 50k? ... u gotta cut down on a lot of tings u noe ...

if u spend 50k yearly now, u gotta factor in tings u r not needing now (eg medical) ...

if u spend 30k yearly now, is n xtra 20k sufficient 2 cover tings u r not needing now? ...

ofcos, if u r stil paying 4 a car now, u gotta replace dat wif public transpot costs ... nobody noe how much u travel ...

nobody noes exactly how u spend ur moni yearly ... oni u noe ...

Maybe it's easier for me to ask what kind of a life style will $50k/year buy me in Spore for the next 20 years:confused:

Friend & I will adjust our lifestyle to what $50k can comfortably pay for. Since we are already old we don't need to get big ticket items like car or home. For health we'll get health insurance.

If we have to sacrifice too much we can always chose to move to a hotel with a different cost structure.:o

$700 pm is a bit tough even for a man living alone in retirement. A sum of $1,000is more reasonable according to my old friend who is retired. He is in his mid 50s, unmarried, staying alone in a 3-rm HDB flat (fully paid) and no car. Told me he is surviving on $1,000 pm. Not too bad lah considering that the average joe here is all like that what . Below is how.....
Meal - $ 450 ($15 X 30)
Transport - $50 (mrt/bus)
4D/toto - $100
Massage - $200 (X2)
Misc - $200 (utilities, handphone, haircut...etc)

Boss Sam recommendation of min 3mil is for people in different league. My league is more like your old friend. But I will skip the 4D tot $100 and massage :) But Boss Sam mention about inflation which is 1 factor .
Another bro said can be just sleep, eat and surf sbf, and they passed away, which is true, cos I have seen people retire and within 4-5 yrs of sleep, ea and surf sbf they really up lorry :eek: Hence in between sleep, eat and surf sbf, need to do some free exercise e.g. cycling, swimming, etc

I was in the same boat but I always put aside something for investment. Took decades to build up my portfolio. Just make sure to invest your $

Currently my small investment only generates side income of abt $300 per mth for me :( May I know how much u started with for the investment part ?

Maybe it's easier for me to ask what kind of a life style will $50k/year buy me in Spore for the next 20 years:confused:

Friend & I will adjust our lifestyle to what $50k can comfortably pay for. Since we are already old we don't need to get big ticket items like car or home. For health we'll get health insurance.

If we have to sacrifice too much we can always chose to move to a hotel with a different cost structure.:o

anyone who is still in sinkieland in 20 years time is a complete failure.

dividends 50K per year, inflation will erode this sum significantly in 2 decades. must grow capital.
survival more than enough, comfort level depends :):):)

I don't see myself just sitting around & doing nothing on the financial front for the next X years.
I'll probably set aside some $ to trade ETFs. Will see how it goes

Hey johnny333,

You still want to argue when forummers here tell you that Apple shares has started its bear trend ? Or are you in denial mode ? :D

You still think you are very smart ?

Boss just a question for you about NZ, I was thinking of starting a transportation business. Delivery of goods and shit. I got my bro who drives a truck in peesai, thought of doing it small first with a rig, pickup or those refrigerated trucks. Any ideas would be swell.

I don't know anything about the transportation industry in NZ so I'm not in a position to offer any advice.

Currently my small investment only generates side income of abt $300 per mth for me :( May I know how much u started with for the investment part ?

The important thing is to get into the habit of putting aside something each month. The trouble in Spore is that here's not much oppurtunity to grow what you have saved because of the high overheads that is charged.

Something you can consider is to invest in Malaysia stocks. Simple to do:
Open a Malaysian trading account in JB.
Save some $SIN.
When the exchange rate is favourable, convert to ringgit & use the ringgit to buy Malaysian blue chip stocks.
When the stocks pay a dividen use it to buy more stocks.
Keep doing this until you retire.

If you do it right, you'll minimise your exposure to the foreign exchange fluctuations. The reason I am suggesting investing in Malaysia & not Spore is because of the highe over heads in Spore.

In Malaysia they don't charge a monthly fee for holding your stocks.
There is no gst charged for the stocks bought & on the dividens.
You can buy shares in 100 lots vs in Spore where a lot is 1,000 shares.