• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Irish Physiotherapists in Singapore Hospitals

andyfisher

That is true,
spore inc is very m$ centric compared to europe which is more os neutral and where linux is taken seriously.

the spore education sys seems to be designed to churn out rats to run the rat race at the command of their masters, but it is not designed to teach them to think critically or to ask the impt qns like, hey why the fuck are we running.

Its also what they teach that is important. I remember a very distinct difference in computer science and IT. Singapore is more about using M$ toolsets versus programming techniques.

Ash007

When I was studying in Aussieland, one of the most important thing that the professor said about the difference between University and TAFE, local ITE, Poly, is that in University you are taught to learn and think critically, while in TAFE its about learning how to follow instructions, trade skills etc. Singapore is more about the later, learning to rote learn, memorise without the acute thinking that is needed, university or poly, or ITE. I was using UNIX, with an X term during my uni days here, and immediately could see a world of difference.

That is true,
spore inc is very m$ centric compared to europe which is more os neutral and where linux is taken seriously.

the spore education sys seems to be designed to churn out rats to run the rat race at the command of their masters, but it is not designed to teach them to think critically or to ask the impt qns like, hey why the fuck are we running.

andyfisher

it should be latter, not later mate

aussie aussie aussie, oi oi oi!! :biggrin:

When I was studying in Aussieland, one of the most important thing that the professor said about the difference between University and TAFE, local ITE, Poly, is that in University you are taught to learn and think critically, while in TAFE its about learning how to follow instructions, trade skills etc. Singapore is more about the later, learning to rote learn, memorise without the acute thinking that is needed, university or poly, or ITE. I was using UNIX, with an X term during my uni days here, and immediately could see a world of difference.

Charlie99

Agree on the culture but if the local universities do not have the foresight to offer these courses in the first place, it will not be considered by parents or even students. These are vocations that have been established in the West before Singapore became independent.

Its also the role of government to educate the people on the importance of vocations that should be a foundation of the social structure. we have been focusing on the traditional professions such as doctors, lawyers, engineers etc that the rest seems unimportant.

The other thing that bugs me is that you need straight As to do pharmacy when an O level student who goes to UK, OZ does a foundation year, can get into pharmacy in their Universities and then come back here and practice. Should not more places be offered.

During my old days in NS, I met a fellow officer who was a SU pharmacy grad, and he said that there were about 35 students in each cohort at that time.
With respect, it appears that the SG govt officials possibly restricted the number of students and / or did not consider other medical and rehab medical positions.

Agree on the culture but if the local universities do not have the foresight to offer these courses in the first place, it will not be considered by parents or even students. These are vocations that have been established in the West before Singapore became independent ...
univ's n parents act on comments by ze gahmen ... n dey do act swiftly if gahmen makes a comment ...

previously, gahmen mentioned a shrtage of farmacists in sinkielan ... immediately, u heard ppl wanna take up farmasi cors ... got 1 time, gahmen mentioned lack of media comm grads ... immediately, ntu set up a degree cors ...

neddy

It is the same in the UK during the days they had Polytechnics and Universities. Now they called it Taught degree and Research degree programmes. Even in Taught degrees, you need to think critically during assignments. There is nothing worse than attending uni when one lecturer contradicts another lecturer and it is up to the students to decided who is right. Singapore/Malaysian students tend to perform badly in such subjects when they try to second-guess who set the exams and keeping their fingers crossed that they are answering according to what that lecturer "want". It is about getting high marks over learning.

Ash007

I had a very cool lecturer once. The exam is open book, he starts off asking a problem then say we can ask any question we want for the next 5 min. Then we can write whatever we want as the solution to the problem. There are also exams where there are no "correct" answer, it ranges from hardware used, cost, benefits. Mind you this is an engineering degree, I couldn't imagine this would be in an exams in Singapore. The same lecturer gave the following advise, "You are employed for your ability to solve problems, nothing else". The problem with Singapore is most people pursue the most "in" career, 10 years ago its "engineering", when manufacturing is gone, its finance now, with the casino, maybe statistics?

It is the same in the UK during the days they had Polytechnics and Universities. Now they called it Taught degree and Research degree programmes. Even in Taught degrees, you need to think critically during assignments. There is nothing worse than attending uni when one lecturer contradicts another lecturer and it is up to the students to decided who is right. Singapore/Malaysian students tend to perform badly in such subjects when they try to second-guess who set the exams and keeping their fingers crossed that they are answering according to what that lecturer "want". It is about getting high marks over learning.

lockeliberal

Dear Scroo,

We will see in our hospitals more Indian, Pakistani and even Australian doctors. The reason for the overwhelming presence is the result of an underinvestment in the past. A hospital can be built in three, the equipment ordered and delivered in a year and a half, Nurses a min of three, para medical specialist without degrees or with degrees about three to five, doctors about six, those on the specialist track about seven to ten. Throw into that potent mix a strong belief in the PAP that health care is a consumption and not an investment, an anathema to excessive investment in the belief that DEMAND will artificially grow to meet investment, an even stronger belief that costs( to the gov) have to be capped and we have stretched public health services.

Locke

Met someone who told me that about these Irish girls in Alexandra Hospital and chat with others revealed that we have people from US, Australia, UK, NZ, India, Philippines etc in the hospital system who have taken up nearly all the posts associated with para-medical care from medical scientist, sonographers, medical technicians, radiographers, various types of therapists, specialist care etc. Also heard that these people were provided with subsidised rental on entry.

These are quality jobs with requisite skill sets and with university degrees. These are jobs that can see the local vocation holder thru retirement as it is real job and with an ageing population, highly desirable and in demand. Don't tell me these too like nursing are classified as low value.

What happened to our education system. Why are we churning out kids from ITE, Poly with business studies, media, PR, and all these fluffy qualifications when I am sure most of them can be trained to do these jobs. They are now in the PMET category and easily replaced. There is no barrier to entry. No formal qualification to get in the first place.

We pay the highest salary to the cabinet and we are in this dire situation we. What the hell have the various Ministers of Education over the last 25 years done. Get the impression they spend more time with EDB allowing commercial schools and foreign universities to set up operations here to cater for 3rd world citizens to send their kids to study here. Our own kids are neglected. And we are proud to be noted for being a major regional educational hub. Seems like EDH did its job but not the rest.

coolguy

Singapore is very rich she can import the whole organisation and system here,
including the manpower.
So why would she need sgreans at all?
Education here is a viable business set to grow,
but investment on sgreans is the last word they want to hear.
Reliance on cheap labour is no longer cheap, but getting more expensive
as the days goes by.
So their solution is to get rid of foreign cheap labour and replace them
with sgreans!
It is so obvious why nobody saw through pappies grand scheme of plan?
Come 2016, if pappies are not displaced, then sgreans are destined to be
the new low wage slave of the future.

neddy

The same lecturer gave the following advise, "You are employed for your ability to solve problems, nothing else". The problem with Singapore is most people pursue the most "in" career, 10 years ago its "engineering", when manufacturing is gone, its finance now, with the casino, maybe statistics?

That is because the govt encourage and put incentive in "certain" careers, but if you are in the arts, you cannot earn a living. Look what the Singapore govt is saying, they need a bohemian creative energy. Unfortunately, Singapore also need to import these people.

Sports, also need imported people and they are turned into instant citizens and flag-bearers at major events.

blindswordsman

If these medical professionals can help to improve medical care for sinkies, regardless where they come from, well behaved, integrate well with sinkies, they should be encouraged to consider becoming citizens. Some ang moh kows are nice decent people. If they are scums from foreign lands with fake medical quali, kick them out.

amazedbyyou

from my observations, there is too much "window dressing" in iTE. It is built like castles; very elite looking.
They tear down the old ones, yes. Look at Macpherson, CCK n AMK. They built tennis courts at Macpherson
only to be seen it into a football court. All these tells much of education substances and the ppl adminstrating them.