• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

In the end, it is this forum anti-PAP lunacy that help PAP the most

zeroo

In the end, it is not us supporters, it was the VOTE THEM OUT anti-PAP lunacy on social media that help the most. Thank You.
[And things were not much better at Aljunied GRC.

WP’s “A” Team, which included party chief Low Thia Khiang and chairman Sylvia Lim, retained their seats but not without drama. (See report on facing page.)
Was it a case of PAP doing well or WP doing badly?

After all that talk of opposition parties making headway in 2011, did it turn out that the swing at that time was because of angry votes against the People’s Action Party (PAP)?
And are voters less angry now, causing the national swing even in WP strongholds?

There are the feel-good factors with SG50 goodies being rolled out and other policies introduced post-2011.
But Singapore Management University law professor Eugene Tan had another perspective — fear.
“Social media probably did PAP a favour because they were just pointing to a massive defeat for the PAP.
“That probably galvanised the middle-ground voters. The haze is a reminder of Singapore’s vulnerabilities, and these vulnerabilities made it even more important for voters to make an intelligent choice,” he said.

VICTIM OF SWING

While it appears the Aljunied team was hurt by the town council saga, Hougang may just have been a victim of the national swing towards PAP.
In 2011, Mr Low sensed the ground was sweet and gambled big, moving out of Hougang SMC to lead a team in the five-seat Aljunied GRC.
The team included WP’s star player, corporate lawyer Chen Show Mao.

But for GE 2015, the WP leadership decided against risking all even though it attracted a good crop of candidates.
While it was keen to expand beyond Hougang and Aljunied, the party leadership sensed the ground wasn’t sweet enough for a top name from Aljunied GRC to move to East Coast GRC or even Fengshan SMC, where the party was expecting close fights.

Ms Lim had teased voters with a picture of her tucking into a plate of fried oyster or orh luak at a food centre in the ward.
Her “taste of Fengshan — heavenly” comment sparked speculation that she was going to contest in Fengshan.
Instead, WP counted on a vote for blue, whoever the candidate.

In Fengshan SMC, it fielded shipping lawyer Dennis Tan against Ms Cheryl Chan, a PAP grassroots worker of 10 years. WP lost.
In East Coast GRC, WP talked up its team which included team leader Gerald Giam, business consultancy CEO Leon Perera and National University of Singapore (NUS) Associate Professor Daniel Goh. WP spoke of leadership renewal, pointing to the East Coast team.
At an East Coast GRC rally, Ms Lim introduced the team as the party’s next leadership.
The East Coast team also lost.

WP didn’t do itself any favour by dismissing talk of a grand coalition with other opposition parties. It even skipped a second meeting with the opposition parties which were trying to carve out seats to avoid three-cornered fights.

TAKING OWN PATH

In MacPherson SMC, WP made it clear it was unhappy when the National Solidarity Party decided it was also going to contest the seat.
Mr Low himself had said previously that the party was under pressure in 2001 to join the newly formed Singapore Democratic Alliance.
“We built ourselves up and today, after 20 years, we are still talking about opposition unity.
“The Workers’ Party has taken its own path, and I believe that is the path on which we can build a credible party to offer Singaporeans a credible choice. And I think we will continue with that path,” said Mr Low.

Mr Giam put it more bluntly at a rally speech: “The people in Singapore have demonstrated a desire for greater opposition presence. Many of them have come up to us and told us that they want to see a greater opposition presence in Parliament, but not just any opposition.”
The euphoria from 2011 was missing at Hougang stadium last night.
The mood was sombre after supporters received news of WP losing Fengshan and Punggol East.
Hougang MP Png Eng Huat tried to keep spirits up by greeting supporters and shaking their hands with the crowd chanting “huat ah!”.
But the smiles were forced.
-TNP

zeroo

Extreme anti PAP website and bloggers know that all your effort in defaming, telling half truth or some outright lies will not fool the people anymore.
Pls continue with your good work.:wink:

If this forum is even remotely capable of helping any party or individual. I worry. How many read SBF in S'pore?

bigboss

.....But Singapore Management University law professor Eugene Tan had another perspective — fear.
“Social media probably did PAP a favour because they were just pointing to a massive defeat for the PAP.
“That probably galvanised the middle-ground voters. The haze is a reminder of Singapore’s vulnerabilities, and these vulnerabilities made it even more important for voters to make an intelligent choice,” he said....

This professor talked cock ... by now, the imported foreign sinkies form a sizeable portion of voters. They voted pappies out of feat due to rumour mongering that if they voted oppos parties, their shitizenship would be taken away. Also, there are no good reasons for them to support oppoo parties and all good reasons to vote pappies.

Call a spade a spade and don't talk about vulnerabilities. These imported foreign sinkies don't care a hoot about vulnerabilities. They always have a return ticket on hand to go back home, anytime they wish. What vulnerabilities? Vulnerabilities affect only local sinkies...die die no where else to go.

There are no middle ground voters. They don't exist. Either you are pro-pappies or you are pro oppo parties. Only "could not care less" voters existed, those who cast spoilt votes deliberately and those who simply did not want to vote.

Locals have no fear to vote for oppo parties. LKY's era is long gone. Only the new imported shitizens tipped the balance in favour of pappies, and in time to come, they will also become pro oppo parties supporters when they find disillusionment, frustration, social injustice and silly judges in the island nation.

bigboss

Extreme anti PAP website and bloggers know that all your effort in defaming, telling half truth or some outright lies will not fool the people anymore.
Pls continue with your good work.:wink:

Don't be too happy, hor. Pappies must now work harder like blue arse fly to please this new crop of imported foreign sinkies who supported pappies and they will expect pappies to deliver more and more to make it worth their while to become shitizens.

Should pappies fail to please or appease them they would become pro oppo parties supporters in next GE. It is like playing musical chair and the music must never stop.

Locals have already become immune to pappies' nonsense but to these foreign imported shitizens... well.. belum try, belum tau...

kukubird59

If this forum is even remotely capable of helping any party or individual. I worry. How many read SBF in S'pore?
hahaha...true to your flip flopping nature...very fast u changed your tune...
now u say SBF is not a credible site..basically confirming that it is a site for retarded oppo to masturbate each other...lol.

RandomNexus

SBF was great in the early days and I believed it has a part to play in those years to shift the perceptions towards PAP and how PAP was mellowed and adjusted in response. This part of history will never be written in books.

But now, it is a different thing. Once this place is capable of some good exchanges, now I cannot even find much. Even ISD would have stopped monitoring this place.

This place belongs to those who need to post to get therapy for their fantasy hatred against MIW.